Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II will expand the Sonic 4 storyline with new areas to speed through and new challenges to face.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    It’s going to need to become more than a sum of its parts if it wants to compete in this modern gaming era though.
  2. May 22, 2012
    60
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is a solid though unremarkable continuation of the long-running formula.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    Apart from a couple of nuances it's a collage of elements as old as Sega itself. [August 2012, p.82]
  4. Jul 28, 2012
    60
    "Just another Sonic game" is the best description of Episode 2. A colorful, but flavorless platformer.
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    34
    Play never feels fluid, a problem compounded by the horrible, poorly ported PC controls. [Sept 2012, p.61]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    At first glance Episode II looks pretty identical to Ep I except with the sidekick Tails included. However, there are more differences betweenAt first glance Episode II looks pretty identical to Ep I except with the sidekick Tails included. However, there are more differences between the episodes than it first seems. First of I want to mention that because this episode allows not only single player but also for two players to play, all the controls and key bindings are now different to the first episode, and so the PC controls are pretty bad. I would highly recommend to play this game with a gamepad controller that can be connected to the PC.

    Now that we’ve got Tails to help us, there have been several new moves added which Sonic and Tails perform together, like getting a chance to fly for a short distance or to produce a power roll that can destroy certain obstacles on the way. At first I wasn’t too fond of these additions as I simply wanted a more old-school gameplay fun, but the more I played the game, the more useful I started to find these new moves. In fact they make Tails a lot more useful than to simply mindlessly follow you around like your tail (sorry for the pun!)

    With the stages, they take on a similar format as in the first Episode three acts and then a boss fight. The first one, Sylvania Castle Zone, quite noticeably borrows its inspirations from the Aquatic Ruin Zone (Sonic 2) and Marble Garden Zone (Sonic 3), and basically takes place among ancient ruins that have been overgrown with plant life and with some underwater areas too.

    White Park Zone takes place in an amusement park in the snowy mountains with some parts requiring us to run on speedy rollercoaster tracks.

    Oil Desert Zone is really stunning looking and as the name implies takes place in a Middle-Eastern-looking area with challenges such as having to traverse the quicksands before you sink into them, sliding on oil streams, managing to get past the sandstorms, and having to traverse on the inside of vertical structures which get quickly filled up with sand.

    Sky Fortress Zone is, as you might’ve guessed already, very similar to the Wing Fortress Zone from Sonic 2, where we have to make our way through a giant airborne structure that’s floating in the skies. The first act of this zone has us flying aboard a Tornado airplane (just like in Sky Chase Zone from Sonic 2). I had mixed feelings on this act since there were parts in it where you had to bounce and use homing attack on the aerial enemies, but lock-on feature not always working as intended would sometimes cause you to fall to your death. Acts 2 and 3 were a lot more enjoyable as they were pretty much the classic Wing Fortress Zone but a lot more high speed. They were definitely my favourite acts in this game without a doubt.

    Once we’ve cleared the Sky Fortress Zone, we head to the final stage that is the Death Egg mk II. What I liked about it is that it’s been split into two parts, as opposed to bundling everything together like the first episode did.

    The special stages have been done in the style of 3D half-pipe sequences, similar to those in Sonic 2, and so in my opinion are a lot more fun than the ones in Episode I. And finally there are also some bonus stages added too where we get to play as Metal Sonic.

    Also really worth mentioning the boss fights. Not going to reveal too much due to spoilers, but the boss fights really do shine in this game as each one of them is unique and different to all the others. I’ll admit that I wasn’t too fond of the first boss fight, but most others were great. The ones in White Park Zone and Oil Desert Zone certainly come to mind as highly enjoyable fights, and the Final Boss fight was fantastic as well. It was much better, in my opinion, than the final boss fight in Episode I.

    And so overall I really enjoyed this entry in the Sonic franchise. Apart from a few minor hiccups, Episode II actually does improve on many aspects from Episode I. The graphics are very colourful, the stages tend to throw a variety of challenges your way, the boss fights really stand out from each other, and the soundtrack is really addictive to listen to. As far as sidescrolling platformers go, in my opinion you won’t find many better than this as it’s a really well-balanced and all-rounded game. So I am not sure why it gets all the negative responses here. I am certainly looking forward to Episode III, and seeing that most stages so far have been heavily inspired by stages from the original trilogy, I am hoping at least one of the stages in Ep III will be inspired by the Starlight Zone from the original Sonic.
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, has graphics, that you can look at, with your eyes (Preferably) but not on Friday's as it's busy looking out window's like you should be... Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great and improves greatly on Episode 1. Better graphics, better physics, and multiplayer which can be very addicting. Only realThis game is great and improves greatly on Episode 1. Better graphics, better physics, and multiplayer which can be very addicting. Only real flaw in this game is the pointless collecting of red rings. At least in Sonic Generations we were awarded something like abilities or music. In this its just for an achievement. But this doesn't affect my over all view of the game since it isn't that big of a deal. The multiplayer as I said is really fun. The addition of the partner system makes going through the levels with a friend a different experience than playing solo. Granted this only proves true if you play with someone who knows how to play, but I am not gonna put the game down because of a bad teammate. In my opinion this is a game any sonic fan should buy. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A decir verdad me cuesta creer que Sonic 4:episodio 2 hay tenido menos puntuación que sonic 4: episodio 1 por parte de la criticaA decir verdad me cuesta creer que Sonic 4:episodio 2 hay tenido menos puntuación que sonic 4: episodio 1 por parte de la critica "Experta"...pero bueno no me quiero distraer. Primero que nada esta critica esta basada en el modo un jugador, no el multijugador online o el cooperativo, ahora... el episodio 2 es un excelente juego, que cumple el objetivo de ser superior al episodio 1 en mi opinión. MUCHA mas innovación que el primero, excelente banda sonora, excelentes gráficos, muy buena e innovadora jugabilidad, una nueva e interesante historia en la franquicia por así decirlo, Correcta dificultad, ETC. Quizás no le pongo 10 por algunos detalles como por ejemplo la duración, me hubiese gustado que sea mas largo, pero aun así considero que es correcta, o el hecho de que Sonic 4 se divida en dos episodio casi sin razón alguna creo yo, o también que no exista formato físico para el juego, cosa que creo Sonic se merece, pero en fin esos son simple detalles poco objetivos. En conclusión creo que todo Sonic 4 es na digna secuela de los Sonic en 2D, aquellos que hicieron grande a Sonic, y si algún día hacen un Sonic 5, me gustaria que sea igual de bueno que este episodio. Gracias Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    8
    One thing that can be said about Sonic 4 Episode 2, is that it is a definite step in the right direction. Episode 2 tends to stray furtherOne thing that can be said about Sonic 4 Episode 2, is that it is a definite step in the right direction. Episode 2 tends to stray further from the formula of rehashing (while still lightly grasping it) with some new, original moves and new, creative stages. The games has an improved physics engine, along with a much better graphics engine and musical improvement. The only complaints would be some boss fights, as they can drag on a bit, but are still very fun; along with some songs in the soundtrack, sounds pretty bad. The music itself isn't terrible, but there are some nasty tracks and some amazing tracks that balance it out. I would recommend this game to Sonic Fans, Platformer enthusiasts and retro gamers. This is a solid addition for your library and you might have some minor disappointments. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Game is great! Its Run Fine.to me
    Bosses are also Great , this time more challenging! *Finaly* no copy and paste
    Level design Is also Good.
    Game is great! Its Run Fine.to me
    Bosses are also Great , this time more challenging! *Finaly* no copy and paste
    Level design Is also Good. but i prefer Solo, to play,
    Music: neh its not old good one., Effects are much nicer than the previous.
    Controls: its veryy Much better

    My Opinion More Episode!
    Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2013
    2
    I really, really despise this game. It takes Sonic 4 episode 1, a okay game, and completely ruins it. Most levels are completely automatedI really, really despise this game. It takes Sonic 4 episode 1, a okay game, and completely ruins it. Most levels are completely automated with boost pads and springs, the music is god awful, and the overall level design just sucks. Apart from Shadow the Hedgehog and Sonic and the Secret Rings, this is the only Sonic title I have never went out of my way to complete. Episode 1 is 100x better than this game. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews