Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II will expand the Sonic 4 storyline with new areas to speed through and new challenges to face.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    It’s going to need to become more than a sum of its parts if it wants to compete in this modern gaming era though.
  2. May 22, 2012
    60
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is a solid though unremarkable continuation of the long-running formula.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    Apart from a couple of nuances it's a collage of elements as old as Sega itself. [August 2012, p.82]
  4. Jul 28, 2012
    60
    "Just another Sonic game" is the best description of Episode 2. A colorful, but flavorless platformer.
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    34
    Play never feels fluid, a problem compounded by the horrible, poorly ported PC controls. [Sept 2012, p.61]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    While the game isn't perfect, let's examine it as it is: cheap. I pre-ordered it for $15 and was not disappointed. It was fast paced, and in a similar format to the Sonics that were on Sega Genesis. There's loads of new game play features, as well as some familiar ones. Despite its lackluster controls, this game has given me hours of entertainment, almost reliving the Sega Genesis days. (Although I also have Sonic 2 from Steam for that :P ) Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, has graphics, that you can look at, with your eyes (Preferably) but not on Friday's as it's busy looking out window's like you should be... Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great and improves greatly on Episode 1. Better graphics, better physics, and multiplayer which can be very addicting. Only real flaw in this game is the pointless collecting of red rings. At least in Sonic Generations we were awarded something like abilities or music. In this its just for an achievement. But this doesn't affect my over all view of the game since it isn't that big of a deal. The multiplayer as I said is really fun. The addition of the partner system makes going through the levels with a friend a different experience than playing solo. Granted this only proves true if you play with someone who knows how to play, but I am not gonna put the game down because of a bad teammate. In my opinion this is a game any sonic fan should buy. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 is a great improvement of the first game with adding a bit more to the storyline and action in the game. A far more variety as well has been added to the overall design along with the fact that there is a nice addition of two returning characters with one character being a focus with a remake of the first episode's levels in its core storyline. The new Team combo system adds a bit more to the overall gameplay that you never experienced in a Sonic game and thanks to the visual design and the ear relaxing music this game is a instant buy for any Platformer and Sonic lover. The game also adds a bit more challenges and replay options that were missing from the first game. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    A good game. Excelent soundtracks, Excelent stages, a the game is easy do play.
    The game is fun, and more fun with cooperative mode.

    One
    simple problem, don't have a good story, the story is too simple.
    I'm comparing my last funny 2D game that i played "sonic & Knucles", but i think if sega do a continuation from this game, like a "sonic 4 ep III" i think the game will be bigger than sonic & Knucles, that is what i belive.

    My point is 8 for this game, excelent work sega
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    7
    It's certainly an improvement over the atrocious Episode 1, that's for sure. It's actually playable. But besides the jump physics and uncurling, as well as new graphics and a pretty cool tails coop gimmick, nothing has changed. Music still sucks, the level design is average, and overall it's just an average platformer. That's not to say I didn't have fun, though. Collapse
  7. Dec 16, 2013
    2
    I really, really despise this game. It takes Sonic 4 episode 1, a okay game, and completely ruins it. Most levels are completely automated with boost pads and springs, the music is god awful, and the overall level design just sucks. Apart from Shadow the Hedgehog and Sonic and the Secret Rings, this is the only Sonic title I have never went out of my way to complete. Episode 1 is 100x better than this game. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews