User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1868 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    9
    An impressive work for a humorous tie-in videogame.
    You'll like it if you like politically incorrect comedy or want a good satire of fantasy rpg.
    You'll love it if you'r a fan of the tv show. It's story is about children (South park gang ) playing high fantasy. The player will see a bizarre fantasy world made up by elementary school kids, living epic adventures in their backyards. It's
    An impressive work for a humorous tie-in videogame.
    You'll like it if you like politically incorrect comedy or want a good satire of fantasy rpg.
    You'll love it if you'r a fan of the tv show.
    It's story is about children (South park gang ) playing high fantasy. The player will see a bizarre fantasy world made up by elementary school kids, living epic adventures in their backyards.
    It's very funny and has enjoiable gameplay aspect.
    Like other have already stated this game grab every aspect of the show and put it in a good video game, with the addition of new element and characters perfecly in line with the show spirits and humor
    To be fair thoug: It's gameplay isn't deep like "hardcore rpg" like Temple of elemental Evil or Dragon Age or but it was not it's intentions.
    I will look for other pc videogame from Obsidian Entertainment &South Park Digital Studios
    Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2017
    10
    This is one of my favorite games in the RPG genre. This game is a masterpiece! But it has a lot of immoral content, and, I think, it's not everyone's liking. And for the fans of the South Park, amoral and lovers of quality games - 10/10. For all the other (very moral people) - 9/10
  3. Nov 30, 2017
    9
    This is the most hilarious game I've ever played. I freaking love it. I'm huge South Park fan and this the game we deserve! This is not only amazing south park game but this is piece of really good RPG. Combat System is very good. I love soundtrack in this game, I FREAKING LOVE IT. What can i say more? If you are South Park fan, than, what are you waiting for dude? Oh you have already goneThis is the most hilarious game I've ever played. I freaking love it. I'm huge South Park fan and this the game we deserve! This is not only amazing south park game but this is piece of really good RPG. Combat System is very good. I love soundtrack in this game, I FREAKING LOVE IT. What can i say more? If you are South Park fan, than, what are you waiting for dude? Oh you have already gone through the game....three times.....than do it again!!! Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2017
    10
    nice bonus game for the fractured butt whole sequel plays well but to do think the combat in the fractured butt whole is better the combat here is too simple and easy to predict which kinda makes it more boring.
  5. Oct 25, 2017
    9
    A triumph.
    Although I am a South Park fan, I didn't really look forward to play an actual computer game based on it. So I never bought it, until a friend gave it to me as a gift last week.
    How wrong was I.... This game is as funny as the best moments of South Park but without recycling the TV show's jokes. The reason it really stands out is because it manages to be hilarious by placing
    A triumph.
    Although I am a South Park fan, I didn't really look forward to play an actual computer game based on it. So I never bought it, until a friend gave it to me as a gift last week.
    How wrong was I....
    This game is as funny as the best moments of South Park but without recycling the TV show's jokes. The reason it really stands out is because it manages to be hilarious by placing you next to the kids of South Park. Suddenly, the whole place comes alive! Every piece of dialogue, every action, every mission is very funny, and not in a TV way, but in a PC game way.
    South Park was developed by Oblivion, a company that knows how to make great RPGs, while the dialogues and script were written by the famous duo behind the series.
    As a result, the game is primarily story driven, and more entertainment than challenge. The missions are hilarious and not at all repetitive, and the overall experience will blow your mind. But this is exactly the point: you play this game to laugh.
    The absolute highlight of the game is the trip to Canada, where the humor reaches Monty Pyhtonesque heights.
    There has been a lot of criticism regarding the repetitive and somewhat boring fighting in the game. I disagree. It is hilarious, and although some animations are long and after some viewings, they may end up being boring, there are enough companions to the main character to break the monotony. However, if you really are looking forward to exceptional RPG turn-based fighting, do yourself and play Pillars of Eternity (also by Oblivion).
    This game has no flaws. It is a unique experience and if you like South Park, you must absolutely play it. I played it with a friend and we ended up staying up all night, laughing our guts out. I don't think I have ever laughed this much with another game. Smile yes, but actual laughter?
    Final note: you must like the show.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2017
    9
    If you enjoy Southpark, you will indeed enjoy this game becasue it is basically a big intractable episode of Southpark!. Thus, if you do not like Southpark's humour then you may want to stay away from this game. For those who may not know Southpark, but love RPGs, this game may not be the best of its kind, but it will not be dull and you may grow to love it (both the show and the game).If you enjoy Southpark, you will indeed enjoy this game becasue it is basically a big intractable episode of Southpark!. Thus, if you do not like Southpark's humour then you may want to stay away from this game. For those who may not know Southpark, but love RPGs, this game may not be the best of its kind, but it will not be dull and you may grow to love it (both the show and the game). The only complain I have is the length of this game, it is a bit short to be RPG. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2017
    9
    Lemme just say this: if you like South Park as much as I do, get this, even though I'm definite you have. It feels like an extended movie episode, and it really captures everything people loved about this series for 20 years now. The humor and art is the same, lots of gross-out, offensive, wacky and insane **** flies around in this game, which really brings to up to a hilarious and greatLemme just say this: if you like South Park as much as I do, get this, even though I'm definite you have. It feels like an extended movie episode, and it really captures everything people loved about this series for 20 years now. The humor and art is the same, lots of gross-out, offensive, wacky and insane **** flies around in this game, which really brings to up to a hilarious and great status. The callbacks in items, enemies, characters, side-quests will be hilarious to fans and non-fans alike. This game appeals so much to both audiences as I'm sure people unfamiliar with the show will have some hilarious reactions. Scenarios you'll find yourself in the game are hilarious, but I'd hate to spoil them. Just think gingers, Mr. Slave, and sex. The game boasts with classic SP charm, as for the gameplay, and this is coming from someone who cares little for turned based RPGs, is standard, but fun. you have physical attacks, fart magic, special attacks for each class and your buddies (which have some amazing references like kicking the baby, Professor Chaos, and the ending to the 1999 movie). Some items will give you abilities and stat boosts as well. I wish the game's battles were a bit more involved, although everything works here and is pretty equal to traditional RPGs like Paper Mario and older Final Fantasy games. Exploring the town of SP and areas like the sewer and finding characters like Mr. Hankey, the ****ty Wok guy, and others, hearing songs from old episodes, again flexes the shows charm. My only real complaint is that the game could be longer, although I'm sure they wanted to save more the follow-up. (so much hype), as well as the terribly explained fart tutorials. They make sense after a while but the demonstrations early on are pretty atrociously said and might be frustrating to pull off. All in all, this game is worth it just for it being "South Park", although the gameplay is just fine. All in all, a hilarious and very fun game. Expand
  8. May 23, 2017
    10
    As a fan of the show, my expectations of this being a entertaining game was unquestionable. Yet my worries were in regards to this being a quality RPG. Not only does it deliver on both aspects, the experience is just like being thrown right into a South Park movie. Almost every item is an easter egg, show reference or fan service. Side quests are potatoes to this steak dinner andAs a fan of the show, my expectations of this being a entertaining game was unquestionable. Yet my worries were in regards to this being a quality RPG. Not only does it deliver on both aspects, the experience is just like being thrown right into a South Park movie. Almost every item is an easter egg, show reference or fan service. Side quests are potatoes to this steak dinner and compliment the game perfectly. Combat is turn based, but refreshing, with the inclusion of button prompts to add effects to abilities, summons and attacks.

    South Park: TSoT has tons of hilarious material and the story fits perfectly to the game. For fans like me, it's an easy 10 for simply because I enjoyed myself from start to finish.
    Expand
  9. May 8, 2017
    8
    It is South Park - and that should be enough for any fan.
    However, if you are not a fan - i think you will still enjoy the game. As an RPG - it is not. It is rather a highly thematic (South Park) interactive adventure, although the basic elements of an RPG are satirized with good skill, which provides for a fun game.
    Story is linear, unlike in a self-respecting RPG, and the
    It is South Park - and that should be enough for any fan.
    However, if you are not a fan - i think you will still enjoy the game. As an RPG - it is not. It is rather a highly thematic (South Park) interactive adventure, although the basic elements of an RPG are satirized with good skill, which provides for a fun game.
    Story is linear, unlike in a self-respecting RPG, and the replayability is pointless.
    But i enjoyed South Park the Stick of Truth immensely, and give it my recommendations - fan or not.
    Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2017
    8
    Funny game with references to the old series. Sometimes I had the feeling that this is not a game, but a cartoon. People who have not watched the South Park series will not understand the humor. Other will have fun and remember the old series.
  11. Mar 13, 2017
    9
    Gioco dalla comicitá spettacolareeeeee.
    mai giocate 25 ore di gioco in cosi poco tempo.
    unico difetto il postgame povero. la serie é tradotta perfettamente a videogioco.
    voto 90/100.
  12. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    Good game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. Jan 23, 2017
    8
    A very enjoyable game. It has pretty good mechanics and is a standard RPG game. You really do need to be a fan of the tv series to enjoy it all and if you are this is definitely worth playing. Not great replay value but good fun.
  14. Nov 23, 2016
    9
    10/10 in every aspect of this game
    Everything is here, Al Gore's Manbearpig, mr. hankey, alien anal probes, lol, every random thing is here, including the mongolians.

    But theres a really important thing missing.

    TRANSLATIONS.
  15. Aug 26, 2016
    8
    South Park The Stick of Truth
    A Refreshing RPG
    In stick of Truth you play as the new kid, You get to customize this new kid in the beginning, and you’re tasked by your parents to go out and make new friends… You keep track of your new friends via Facebook… When you meet up with the neighborhood kids you find they’re in the middle of an elf vs human war, you start out on the human side
    South Park The Stick of Truth
    A Refreshing RPG
    In stick of Truth you play as the new kid,
    You get to customize this new kid in the beginning, and you’re tasked by your parents to go out and make new friends…
    You keep track of your new friends via Facebook…
    When you meet up with the neighborhood kids you find they’re in the middle of an elf vs human war, you start out on the human side and get to choose 1 of the varying classes, its then up to you to sabotage the elves and recruit new members for the kingdom
    Stick of Truth was a relaxing time but the gameplay for me was just a bit too repetitive..
    It didn’t take long for me to get bored with the combat...
    This is a turn based rpg where you take turns attacking enemies with potential elemental damage, and effects like bleeding, or gross out…
    with a bag on consumables for healing
    Nothing special…
    You have mana which is used for fart magic you unlock as your progress through the game, and power points for special moves…
    You also have 1 buddy with you when you battle…
    Buddies are unlocked with story progression and can be swapped in and out like Pokémon at any time...
    There’s a buddy for every ones playstyle or to balance your class out…
    So a lot of thought definitely went into balancing this game…
    You can also collect new weapons and armor in backpacks, or buy them at shops…
    This game pokes fun at the rpg genre throughout, which is the only thing I really found charming here…
    I personally found no humor during the combat nor really in the game even though they clearly tried really hard…
    Humor is subjective.. I find games like fat princess adventures to be hilarious while others may look at me strange for saying this… but bathroom humor just doesn’t quite tickle my funny bone, though the game did manage to get few laughs out of me... but not necisarily with the ridiculous things going on like giving an abortion to stans dad, or farting all over the place to progress through the levels.. But when the game would sarcastically make fun of itself... these were the best moments for me as someone not really a fan of the TV show…
    I feel like you need to be a fan to truly enjoy this and get the belly laughs I’ve heard so much about before playing...
    There’s so much fan service here…
    The entire town is mapped out and can be freely explored with tons of collectibles…
    You can do side quests... search the characters drawers for junk, to sell for some pocket change, collect frustratingly missable collectibles like chimpokomon
    It will keep fans of the show entertained for hours…
    The biggest mistake I feel this game makes though is the whole having to fart or use these different abilities to progress…
    It feels a little awkward switching through fart types, or shooting an object then switching to give commands…
    I could’ve done without this needless slowdown…
    Shooting arrows is fine for the collectible aspect or knocking things down in the environment, setting up traps to kill enemies before you get into a battle with them… but I feel like the shrinking, the anal probe thing, and buddy commands got in the way.
    While I didn’t get the laughs I expected, I can still appreciate this game for what it is though as a whole…
    A well balanced, but repetitive, rpg with a decent story to keep you moving forward..
    I give Southpark The Stick of Truth
    an 8/10
    Expand
  16. Aug 7, 2016
    9
    Ubisoft titles on PC do not have a good reputation. Because of that I approached this game with trepidation. I am glad to say that it doesn't require that god awful Uplay.

    The game itself is what you would expect of South Park. The game feels as though you are seeing/playing an actual episode of the titular show. Your favorite characters are here including Cartman, Butters, Tweek,
    Ubisoft titles on PC do not have a good reputation. Because of that I approached this game with trepidation. I am glad to say that it doesn't require that god awful Uplay.

    The game itself is what you would expect of South Park. The game feels as though you are seeing/playing an actual episode of the titular show. Your favorite characters are here including Cartman, Butters, Tweek, Jimmy, Craig, Kenny and more. You start by creating your very own character who is a bit of a blank slate. In true South Park fashion Cartman starts the mud slinging as soon as you give your character a name. Its from this moment that you nod your head knowingly that this is indeed South Park.

    You are on a quest to protect the stick of truth and keep it from the hands of the elves. Along the way you will meet meth addicts, aliens and more. Its hard to write a review without spoiling some of the great moments in the game that will put a smile on your face.

    Beneath its crass, crude and faithful exterior is a surprising amount of depth in the gameplay itself. You have magic, ranged and melee attacks and find various bits of gear to equip. You have abilities that use PP while others like your fart attacks use mana. The game makes clever use of allowing you to time a counter and block incoming damage. One of my favorite abilities is kicking enemies in the nuts to stun them. Completing sidequests can also net you some powerful summons that you can use as well.

    In the end Stick of Truth is not only one of the more faithful licensed games I have played. But it may just be one of the best licensed games I have played. If you are a fan of South Park you are sure to enjoy this adventure. Preorder the sequel and get this one for free.
    Expand
  17. Jul 26, 2016
    9
    This game I thought I would say it is okay but it is actually a very fun game and it based on the tv series greatly and this game is a bit flawed but the game in metascore I would give a 90.
  18. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    Ubisoft titles on PC do not have a good reputation. Because of that I approached this game with trepidation. I am glad to say that it doesn't require that god awful Uplay.

    The game itself is what you would expect of South Park. The game feels as though you are seeing/playing an actual episode of the titular show. Your favorite characters are here including Cartman, Butters, Tweek,
    Ubisoft titles on PC do not have a good reputation. Because of that I approached this game with trepidation. I am glad to say that it doesn't require that god awful Uplay.

    The game itself is what you would expect of South Park. The game feels as though you are seeing/playing an actual episode of the titular show. Your favorite characters are here including Cartman, Butters, Tweek, Jimmy, Craig, Kenny and more. You start by creating your very own character who is a bit of a blank slate. In true South Park fashion Cartman starts the mud slinging as soon as you give your character a name. Its from this moment that you nod your head knowingly that this is indeed South Park.

    You are on a quest to protect the stick of truth and keep it from the hands of the elves. Along the way you will meet meth addicts, aliens and more. Its hard to write a review without spoiling some of the great moments in the game that will put a smile on your face.

    Beneath its crass, crude and faithful exterior is a surprising amount of depth in the gameplay itself. You have magic, ranged and melee attacks and find various bits of gear to equip. You have abilities that use PP while others like your fart attacks use mana. The game makes clever use of allowing you to time a counter and block incoming damage. One of my favorite abilities is kicking enemies in the nuts to stun them. Completing sidequests can also net you some powerful summons that you can use as well.

    In the end Stick of Truth is not only one of the more faithful licensed games I have played. But it may just be one of the best licensed games I have played. If you are a fan of South Park you are sure to enjoy this adventure. Preorder the sequel and get this one for free.
    Expand
  19. May 14, 2016
    10
    Very funny, very enjoyed all the references and south park, as also great gameplay, can play for hours!
    Obsidian studios done great job on game, hope for sequel
  20. Apr 27, 2016
    6
    South Park and the Stick of Truth is a fairly traditional JRPG. You are the New Kid, a… new kid in the town of South Park. You are quickly recruited by the children of South Park in a make-belief roleplaying game involving beating each other with fake weapons.

    The titular Stick of Truth is a stick which is said (in the game in the game) to grant its wielder control over space and time.
    South Park and the Stick of Truth is a fairly traditional JRPG. You are the New Kid, a… new kid in the town of South Park. You are quickly recruited by the children of South Park in a make-belief roleplaying game involving beating each other with fake weapons.

    The titular Stick of Truth is a stick which is said (in the game in the game) to grant its wielder control over space and time. It doesn’t; it is just a stick.

    But that doesn’t stop the kids from fighting over it.

    The game is more or less designed to be an episode of South Park, though it is obviously vastly longer than any episode. The game revolves around the characters of South Park, and their struggle after a UFO crashes in town and a government conspiracy targets both South Park and the New Kid for destruction, all while the kids play their game and somehow fight off aliens, zombies, and the US government in the process.

    The game’s core attraction is its branding and story; the game shows South Park’s standard quality of humor, for better or for worse. The characters have lots of funny things to say, and the interactions between the main characters – Stan, Kyle, Cartman, Kenny, and Butters – are all pretty fun. Pretty much every major character from the show makes at least a brief appearance, and Stan’s dad plays a fairly substantial role in the plot.

    That said, while the game can be funny, it also is extremely crude. While South Park is often crude, the game revels in its crudity. The protagonist’s “magic” is his farts, Cartman’s own “spells” are his farts, there is an enormous amount of scatological humor, one of the standard status ailments (which many characters will inflict every battle) causes enemies (or allies, if you’re struck with them) to vomit, the protagonist can **** his pants if he eats too many burritos (which restore your mana)… the list goes on. While ordinarily this would be more of a side thing, this plays a central role in the plot, and using your farts in the world is a major aspect of gameplay. The game also features a visit to the abortion clinic (in a sequence which crosses the line twice), Nazi zombies, full frontal nudity (non-sexual – in fact, deliberately offputting), and a trip up Mr. Slave’s ass. There are a lot of references to sex (though the kids don’t really seem to get them) and, of course, copious amounts of swearing.

    The overall plot itself is kind of nonsense, but it is deliberately so – the kids are making up a plot, while random, weird stuff goes on in town around them. Of course, it is possible that some amount of it is taking place in the children’s imagination, and it isn’t always clear how much of what is going on is real, and how much of it is the game within the game.

    Frankly, this game doesn’t have much for you if you aren’t a fan of South Park, and even if you ARE a fan of the show, if you aren’t a fan of crude humor, this still might be offputting. If you aren’t a fan of the show, this game probably holds little for you, and if you’re easily offended, or don’t like scatological humor, you definitely don’t want to touch this.

    The actual gameplay itself is hit and miss. Actual combat is pretty dull; while early on it is quite difficult, after you’ve gained a few levels and gotten some equipment it becomes progressively easier, until by the end of the game you’re often curbstomping the enemies so quickly they don’t even get the chance to attack. You get summons which can instantly end non-boss battles which just don’t end up being worth using because all of those battles are over so fast, they just don’t have any purpose. Even the bosses are weaklings; most of the bosses can be eliminated in 1-2 rounds of combat, and even the final boss goes down in fairly short order.

    The out of combat stuff is actually okay. You have eight abilities which allow you to interact with the environment in various ways, and they’re used to solve various simple environmental puzzles. While it isn’t anything amazing, it can influence the battles and also allows for a bit more variety than just “run down the halls into combat.” The environmental interaction makes the game feel much more interactive, and without it, I doubt it would even be all that interesting to play. Alas, bypassing the battles is mostly pointless, seeing as they’re so easy anyway, but still, there’s some feeling of satisfaction in taking out every enemy with the scenery when it is possible to do.

    The game is full of sidequests which serve to get the New Kid to wander around town and do more stuff, adding friends on the in-game facebook and gathering equipment and cosmetic items to change your character in-game. Ultimately, though, the game is pretty short; the core story just isn’t very long, so unless you do everything, the game itself is likely to end up being only a bit over 10 hours long. Even 100%ing it as I did stretched it only to about 21 hours of gameplay, and frankly, at that, it was too long.

    This is for South Park fans only.
    Expand
  21. Apr 21, 2016
    5
    I didnt enjoy that game much. Sure, the beginning is very funny, because the story is funny. But then the boring and arcade gameplay is taking part and the game cant hide their weak sides. The saving system is frustrating too, because it is not free. In addition the graphics is extremely low. After few hours I deinstalled and played another RPG....a real RPG ;)
  22. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    First thing I'm going to say about this game is that if you don't like Southpark, you are probably not going to like this game. It's going to feel like a run of the mill RPG. If you do like Southpark then this game is a friggin GEM! I don't want to spoil a single thing so all I can say really is that this game IS Southpark.
  23. Mar 17, 2016
    9
    Don't expect an unbiased review here, I am an outright huge South Park fan.

    Whilst it downloaded I remember thinking to myself, "Will I regret this pricey purchase", and "Will this end up just another South Park failure in the media of video games" ... It's been a long journey here, let's face it. All the previous South Park games felt like the scripts were lifted from the episodes
    Don't expect an unbiased review here, I am an outright huge South Park fan.

    Whilst it downloaded I remember thinking to myself, "Will I regret this pricey purchase", and "Will this end up just another South Park failure in the media of video games" ... It's been a long journey here, let's face it. All the previous South Park games felt like the scripts were lifted from the episodes and, if anything, made me think "Trey Parker, stop stealing my money for **** ... but then... the game opens... I create a character (charming, in that South Park way) and then enter the town of South Park and straight into meeting Butters & shortly after, Cartman.
    At this point, just 10 minutes in, I loved it. Unapologetically loved it. Like a giant ball of South Park memorabilia, exploring the town and playing "Lord of the Rings" with the kids was exceptionally fun, and I was happy. Then the game takes a darker turn. Then a darker turn after that. Then it goes to the bottom of the bucket of all that is poor taste and scrapes along eagerly to be the outright offensive. This is when you know the boys did good. Finally a South Park game gamers can not only enjoy for being the lure of South Park itself, but also for being a genuinely fun RPG!

    I won't put in spoilers, but farting on balls, Manbearpig, nazi zombies and a lot worse make for an incredible little journey whereby you will get to meet or use every character in the South Park world.

    Why not a 10?

    The game ended. It ended and left me upset. It is only 30hours long or so, and I completed it in 38hours including collecting everything etc.

    I can't wait to get South Park Fractured But Whole in the near future now on my PS4 ideally!!
    Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    sdafdfsafdsafdsaadfafdfdasfdsafdsadsadasfdfsadfsadfsadafsfdasfdsafdsafdsafdsafdasfdasfdsadafsfdsafdasfdsfdasdafsfdsfdsadafdfafdafdsfddffdsaafddfsafdafdafdasfdsdfs
  25. Mar 3, 2016
    9
    I may have a bias opinion due to my long time love of South Park. However this game was amazing. Good game play, humour you would expect, great open world aspect. You can tell they put their time into a great game rather than just pumping out a game to earn them money. If you're looking for something to play, buy this game. One of the first games ive enjoyed enough to get the 100%.
  26. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    The price tag is absurd. No matter how good of a game you have it's just insulting to charge 60$ for this. For a game that has 0 replayability and absolutely horrible combat mechanics, you get away easy with just about anything just because it looks and feels like a South Park episode. Funny how ironic this is considering how South Park makes fun of idiots. Maybe it's a hidden messageThe price tag is absurd. No matter how good of a game you have it's just insulting to charge 60$ for this. For a game that has 0 replayability and absolutely horrible combat mechanics, you get away easy with just about anything just because it looks and feels like a South Park episode. Funny how ironic this is considering how South Park makes fun of idiots. Maybe it's a hidden message to some of the fans? Who knows?

    For 10-15$ it's definitely worth the playthrough. Don't get me wrong it's actually quite fun though it's not gameplay heavy you get to explore South Park like never before. They didn't screw it up like the other franchised games based on cartoon series.
    Expand
  27. Feb 12, 2016
    3
    I know it is South Park, but the game has far too much focus on ass jokes with farting, pooping, and anal probing taking such a heavy role, and I couldn't stand it anymore. You have a dragon shout from skyrim in the form of a fart that you have to use quite often to push stuff out of of the way, and every time you do it you have to listen to Butters snickering, or Cartman making a stupidI know it is South Park, but the game has far too much focus on ass jokes with farting, pooping, and anal probing taking such a heavy role, and I couldn't stand it anymore. You have a dragon shout from skyrim in the form of a fart that you have to use quite often to push stuff out of of the way, and every time you do it you have to listen to Butters snickering, or Cartman making a stupid joke about it. It gets annoying fast.

    If you are ok with an excessive amount of toilet humor then you will probably enjoy this game as the mechanics are solid for a turn based combat RPG. Lots of South Park characters make cameos here so it does fit in well with the show, and there are a lot of side quests to help them out. It kind of feels like playing an interactive season of the show. I have heard the game is a bit short, but I wouldn't know as I never got far enough to finish it.
    Expand
  28. Jan 27, 2016
    7
    It's a great... South Park cartoon episode. It's as simple as that - the license and a good scenario made of everything that appeared in SP cartoons make this game noticeable. If not the SP paint all over it, no one would even know such game exists.
    Because the game is awful and by its nature doesn't deserve any price tag at all. There were more compelling flash games on Newgrounds back
    It's a great... South Park cartoon episode. It's as simple as that - the license and a good scenario made of everything that appeared in SP cartoons make this game noticeable. If not the SP paint all over it, no one would even know such game exists.
    Because the game is awful and by its nature doesn't deserve any price tag at all. There were more compelling flash games on Newgrounds back in early 2000.
    Expand
  29. Jan 25, 2016
    8
    I never seen another dumb game like this. it's hilarious and ridiculous game i ever played. Otherwise this game have rpg elements and , a good story you can tell.
  30. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    What an absolutely brilliant game from start to finish. I have just finished it and I'm honestly stunned at just how good it was, I was expecting it to be good but not this good. I am left with that "I've just experienced something special" feeling that I'm rarely left with after finishing a game. I have to say the last few hours of the game were some of the most enjoyable I've everWhat an absolutely brilliant game from start to finish. I have just finished it and I'm honestly stunned at just how good it was, I was expecting it to be good but not this good. I am left with that "I've just experienced something special" feeling that I'm rarely left with after finishing a game. I have to say the last few hours of the game were some of the most enjoyable I've ever experienced, they really turned it up to 11 towards the end.

    If you're a fan of South Park you know the type of humour to expect and The Stick of Truth is South Park at its absolute best, the writing is huge reason as to why it's so amazing. I have never laughed so much while playing a game, every time you thought it couldn't get funnier or more ludicrous it did, some of the stuff they have you do is beyond offensive and I absolutely loved every minute of it. Looking past what you'd expect from a South Park there's also a decent turn based RPG underneath, the combat felt great if not a little unbalanced and easy (I highly suggest playing on hardcore) but there were some really tough fights a long the way, surprisingly not the last one which I one shot, though. Overall the gameplay was solid and didn't hurt the game whatsoever but it could definitely be improved upon for the sequel. I honestly think even if you've never watched South Park you can fully enjoy this game, assuming you have a good sense of humour and aren't offended easily (or at all in some cases).

    Whether you're a South Park fan or not I highly recommend this game as it's an absolute blast to play that will have you howling like a loon every 10 minutes!
    Expand
  31. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Just completed this game a few mins ago and boy was it fun!

    I love south park and after years of enjoying the show I though I would check out the game since it was on sale, and I'm super glad I did. The RPG turn based gameplay is super fun and easy to pick up without being an RPG vetran. The game looks and feels just like playing an episode of south park with all the characters acting
    Just completed this game a few mins ago and boy was it fun!

    I love south park and after years of enjoying the show I though I would check out the game since it was on sale, and I'm super glad I did. The RPG turn based gameplay is super fun and easy to pick up without being an RPG vetran. The game looks and feels just like playing an episode of south park with all the characters acting and sounding just as they do in the show. The crude, dark, surreal and out right silly humor is ever present though out and nothing ever feels OC about the game. The plot is ridiculous but in a good way, its classic south park right until the end.

    I highly recommend this game to fans and even to people who have never watched the show (although you'll be missing out on a lot running jokes)

    10/10 a must have game for fans of silly ridiculous humor!
    Expand
  32. Nov 27, 2015
    9
    Humorous, Geeky and to put it all into perspective IT IS SOUTH PARK more than any other attempt at a video game like this. It contains EVERYONE from south park including CHEF!!!
  33. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    I will start off by saying that I am not the biggest fan of South Park. Don't get me wrong, I do get some amusement out of the show, but I am a huge sucker for RPGs, and so I thought that an RPG with potty humor would be pretty fun to try. And yes, it was. To start off, the combat system is surprisingly deep, and the amounts of quests is quite large. Which is good, considering that you canI will start off by saying that I am not the biggest fan of South Park. Don't get me wrong, I do get some amusement out of the show, but I am a huge sucker for RPGs, and so I thought that an RPG with potty humor would be pretty fun to try. And yes, it was. To start off, the combat system is surprisingly deep, and the amounts of quests is quite large. Which is good, considering that you can beat the main story in a mere 10 hours or less. The dialogue is all well-scripted and contains plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. Expand
  34. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    Another game very funny as hell. Gameplay is so cool .
  35. Aug 31, 2015
    8
    Great graphics, looks amazing. Had a good time playing it. A little inmutare for my liking in some parts but hey that is the show I guess.

    Completed in about 15/20 hours with most of side missions, except the collectible bulsh**.
  36. Jul 14, 2015
    8
    Muy bien lograda la mezcla del mundo south park y el rpg. La historia muy buena y nunca se hace monótona. Quizás se podría haber aprovechado mejor poniendo más personajes en las luchas.
  37. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    This game is really fun and I enjoyed every minute when playing this game. The soundtrack is awesome and it was hilarious. The only reason why I give this a 8 is because its a little to easy to play but besides that it was a good buy.
  38. Jul 1, 2015
    8
    Finally, we have come full circle where a turn based RPG like Paper Mario and Final Fantasy 7 is bringing it once again. It is a seamless TV to game port the way you always wanted them to be and it is about time somebody nailed it. You will be in a 15-16 hour mini season completely immersed in the South Park World. The obvious full support and participation of the show creators go far toFinally, we have come full circle where a turn based RPG like Paper Mario and Final Fantasy 7 is bringing it once again. It is a seamless TV to game port the way you always wanted them to be and it is about time somebody nailed it. You will be in a 15-16 hour mini season completely immersed in the South Park World. The obvious full support and participation of the show creators go far to make this game what it is. I only snatched two points for the price to time ratio ($4.00 an hour is insane) and how easy to beat it can be. Compared to the 80-100+ playing hours of full RPGs and the easy to win factor this is certainly more a JRPG. Those negatives aside, its worth the overprice.This game is a lesson game studios should take note of. I would love to see more of the Final Fantasy type turn based games to sit along side this overdue masterpiece (developers take a hint). More please (=:) Expand
  39. Jun 30, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i liked the game but i could not choose between kyle and cartman and some audio files went missing. aside from that the game features some great rpg elements and it is very fun to be a part of the south park universe Expand
  40. Jun 25, 2015
    4
    60$ wasnt worth it, The game is short, references are good but some stuff makes me sad like forced to be douchebag go in someones butthole overloaded poop jokes that are useless millions of needless secret well the game isnt fun but i guess its mediocre?
  41. May 21, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  42. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    This game is incredible. Trey Parker and Matt Stone did an excellent job of integrating the shows humor and exploration in this game. Although the main quest lacks content there is still side and exploration content. Great RPG and game.
  43. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    An impressively fun game, as long as you enjoy South Park humor that is... Even though I'm not such a big fan of South Park (I've only watched a few episodes here and there), I spent the whole time playing with a large grin on my face, because the game is so incredibly funny and full of surprises. The gameplay itself isn't particularly exciting, the controls yell "console port", but noneAn impressively fun game, as long as you enjoy South Park humor that is... Even though I'm not such a big fan of South Park (I've only watched a few episodes here and there), I spent the whole time playing with a large grin on my face, because the game is so incredibly funny and full of surprises. The gameplay itself isn't particularly exciting, the controls yell "console port", but none of that really matters because you're too busy having fun and looking forward to the next unexpected stupid joke to happen. Thumbs up! Expand
  44. Apr 15, 2015
    8
    This game is a fantastic, wise-cracking, video game trope mocking, charming experience, even with the presence of giant aborted Nazi fetuses. If you aren't a fan of South Park, than this isn't a game you should buy. But for everyone else, you get to experience a whole season of South Park, and you are the main character. It has plenty of fart jokes for the immature, and deeper humor forThis game is a fantastic, wise-cracking, video game trope mocking, charming experience, even with the presence of giant aborted Nazi fetuses. If you aren't a fan of South Park, than this isn't a game you should buy. But for everyone else, you get to experience a whole season of South Park, and you are the main character. It has plenty of fart jokes for the immature, and deeper humor for the immature with good taste. From using poop nuggets as a weapon, to deeper jokes mocking overdone video game cliches (such as Nazi Zombies and finding Audiolog collectables), it will make you smirk. Loved characters from the series, both main and supporting, show up. You'll become Facebook friends with all 4 leading boys, Priest Maxi, Al Gore, the Prince of Canada, and everyone in between.
    The only negative aspects of the game is its appeal to only those who enjoy South Park, and its little to no re-playability. There are no class specific weapons or abilities to justify playing it again as a different class. I was a "Mage", but ended up using mostly melee weapons to knock the crap out of some of Cartman's humans.
    However, it is a great piece of work that will make you laugh maniacally while you explosively vomit with disgust. I absolutely recommend!
    Expand
  45. Apr 14, 2015
    8
    This game is funny, fun, and odd. I love the game, but i hate it when they put Jesus for a attack option. But it is fun. I glad that i got it for free at ocean of games. :)
  46. Mar 26, 2015
    9
    Stick of Truth isn't just one of the best video games adaptation I've played. Its not even the best RPG. It is one of the best games I've played. Stick of Truth takes some of the best ideas of its genre such as the time hits and single partner battle system of the "Paper Mario" series, status effects that matter and should be used to get an edge of the enemy but also ideas I don't seeStick of Truth isn't just one of the best video games adaptation I've played. Its not even the best RPG. It is one of the best games I've played. Stick of Truth takes some of the best ideas of its genre such as the time hits and single partner battle system of the "Paper Mario" series, status effects that matter and should be used to get an edge of the enemy but also ideas I don't see often, such as puzzles made to thin out the enemy before you fight them.

    Even if this wasn't a South Park game, any RPG fan would recommend this game base on its gameplay alone, but because it's a South Park game I can assure you that the typical humor is still here. Not just reference to the show (even those references are sometimes refreshed with a twist on them), but the game pokes fun of RPGs and games in general, while still fitting in shock and toilet humor that would probably leave you unconformable if it wasn't so brilliantly pulled off.

    Some of the best humor however is when it mixes itself so well into the gameplay. Some of it is seeing how the kids imagination translate to their special moves and how these kids can defeat their foes despite just being kids, but also some of the cut scenes. There are some particular scenes that make fun of skipping cut scenes such as encouraging you to skip some scenes where a character to babbling or stopping you from skipping a scene in which even all the characters don't want to hear some contrived backstory. These are especially funny because they involve the player into the jokes.

    If you're a gamer, play this game. Its a must own.
    Expand
  47. Mar 25, 2015
    7
    If only it were longer (main story took me 8 hours, with most of the side quests I've still not added more than 4 or so hours to that) and less buggy. I had to reload my save a few times due to character flickering or totally disappearing. I also think some of the controls were poorly implemented to pull off attacks (some I found near impossible to get perfect on pc). That aside it's anIf only it were longer (main story took me 8 hours, with most of the side quests I've still not added more than 4 or so hours to that) and less buggy. I had to reload my save a few times due to character flickering or totally disappearing. I also think some of the controls were poorly implemented to pull off attacks (some I found near impossible to get perfect on pc). That aside it's an extremely well made game and is a lot of fun. I'm a huge south park fan (the early seasons were poop jokes but it's grown and matured in to a legit great comedy) and I loved all the references and jokes, it's really just like an interactive south park movie. Expand
  48. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    All you've heard of good about this game is absolutely true. The show comes alive before your very eyes. It is funny, intelligent (in the same way the show is brilliant) and the gameplay is very amusing. RPG turn-based with four classes to play. It is a little short however, but like every episode that strikes you, you'll want to live this game again and again if you're a fan of SouthAll you've heard of good about this game is absolutely true. The show comes alive before your very eyes. It is funny, intelligent (in the same way the show is brilliant) and the gameplay is very amusing. RPG turn-based with four classes to play. It is a little short however, but like every episode that strikes you, you'll want to live this game again and again if you're a fan of South Park.

    Definitely recommended!
    Expand
  49. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    To enjoy South Park: The Stick of Truth you really have to enjoy the show, or else you will probably come into this game and leaving it saying "what the #%!$". It's humor is disgusting and crude, but very hilarious. The style will also throw you off a ton. It's like an oldschool RPG were the main characters name is douchebag! Yep!

    You may not be used to the "wait your turn" RPG style of
    To enjoy South Park: The Stick of Truth you really have to enjoy the show, or else you will probably come into this game and leaving it saying "what the #%!$". It's humor is disgusting and crude, but very hilarious. The style will also throw you off a ton. It's like an oldschool RPG were the main characters name is douchebag! Yep!

    You may not be used to the "wait your turn" RPG style of this game, but the humor is hilarious and just a blast to play through. There are different loot you can find and buy. It really is a great game for fans of the TV show. It's pretty cheap nowadays, so do yourself a favor and buy this game.
    Expand
  50. Mar 8, 2015
    10
    I bought this game late (early 2015), mostly because at first I could not justify spending $60 for a game like this. But that will remain as one of my biggest gaming regrets ever. As the new kid, you start at the bottom, so you must work your way up the social ladder of their "gang". You explore southpark completing quests to move forward along the story line aswell as do some side questsI bought this game late (early 2015), mostly because at first I could not justify spending $60 for a game like this. But that will remain as one of my biggest gaming regrets ever. As the new kid, you start at the bottom, so you must work your way up the social ladder of their "gang". You explore southpark completing quests to move forward along the story line aswell as do some side quests to obtain new equipment and abilities. The story line is every bit as adventurous and action packed as it is amusing, and hilarious. It's every bit as obnoxious, hilarious, and raunchy as the TV show. The characters you interact with are insanely loveable and I really felt like I was the new kid going on some adventure with the southpark kids. Matt and Trey really put a lot of time into developing the characters for the game as they include all of their "trademarks" and they occasionally will bring up past experiences from the episodes. Every little bit of the southpark town has been recreated to give you a quality RPG game, but its like its one long South Park episode. The dialogue and character interactions are second to none and you know the South Park creators really put a lot of time into detail and quality with their game. Overall, its the most fun I've gotten from a video game in years while having me laugh and chuckle every step of the way of the great adventure they've put you in. I would've easily spent $60 on this . Expand
  51. Feb 9, 2015
    9
    All I expected from this game was laughin my ass off and its what I was doing quite often. Except of that, the game brings also quite nice playability and mechanics.
  52. Feb 2, 2015
    8
    A brilliant (and vulgar) game that mirrors the animated television show's look and humor. there are a few bugs here and there but nothing game-breaking on the PC. even if you're not a South Park fan, you should definitely give this a go. I'm super cereal. (8.5/10)
  53. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    Great game, lots of fun and a good old South Park story.

    WAY too short but I grabbed it for 20 bucks on a steam sale, so worth my 16 hours. Not worth the full price tag, even though regular price has been lowered since launch.
  54. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    I bought the game on sale because I like rpg's, love Obsidian games, and because I'd heard it was funny. I'm not a Southpark devotee but appreciate how difficult it is to make a game truly funny. Cartman's quips are laugh-out-loud funny but much of the references are merely smile-worthy. I really felt like I was hanging with a bunch of potty-mouthed 12 year olds and I guess that reallyI bought the game on sale because I like rpg's, love Obsidian games, and because I'd heard it was funny. I'm not a Southpark devotee but appreciate how difficult it is to make a game truly funny. Cartman's quips are laugh-out-loud funny but much of the references are merely smile-worthy. I really felt like I was hanging with a bunch of potty-mouthed 12 year olds and I guess that really is the game.

    It's not really an rpg, more like an rpg spoof. Inventory has no weight, etc. But that being said, I really was looking forward to leveling up each time so I could start using more powerful weapons and armor.

    Overall, it's a fun 12 hour romp in the park for $10 but as I'm not really into Southpark, I wouldn't pay more for the game.
    Expand
  55. Jan 12, 2015
    10
    This game was very enjoyable. This game is relatively short but there are 4 classes to choose from and you can side with Kyle or Cartman. Siding with Kyle/Cartman changes the story but produces the same ending. I beat this game in about 2 days of playing and that counts the side quests. You can start a new save and have even more fun. On the second time playing the jokes still feel freshThis game was very enjoyable. This game is relatively short but there are 4 classes to choose from and you can side with Kyle or Cartman. Siding with Kyle/Cartman changes the story but produces the same ending. I beat this game in about 2 days of playing and that counts the side quests. You can start a new save and have even more fun. On the second time playing the jokes still feel fresh and funny. You can try to get all the achievements to extend playing time. I finished this game with about 700 dollars on my character and the best weapons. I bought the best weapon in the game very early on for only 20 dollars and since I was a looter I got all the items I needed. There was no struggle except for a few times where there is no available armor of your level or I forget to get new gear. This game is easy, fun, and humorous. If this game had DLC it would extend the experience. Expand
  56. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    I find the game very fun, but the game is still pretty easy, and I was done with the game in under 8 hours, even with breaks in between, leaving the game on. The game is very short, and very easy. However, it's still a pretty good game.
  57. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure if I could recommend this for someone who wasn't already a fan of South Park, but for a fan, this game does more than enough.

    Filled with references, spot on with the humor and satire of the show, and full of subtle commentary while never being heavy handed, Stick of Truth was a big surprise for me. I never thought I'd enjoy a South Park game, or even play one, but this has
    I'm not sure if I could recommend this for someone who wasn't already a fan of South Park, but for a fan, this game does more than enough.

    Filled with references, spot on with the humor and satire of the show, and full of subtle commentary while never being heavy handed, Stick of Truth was a big surprise for me. I never thought I'd enjoy a South Park game, or even play one, but this has been a pleasant surprise.

    As a game it stands as a solid but very casual RPG. Instead of stripping all semblance of RPG out like modern games have done, Stick of Truth instead opts to simplify them and make them approachable. It is clear that Stick of Truth is no Baldur's Gate, but it never tries to be, sticking more closely to a the spirit of the kids' game: make believe kingdoms of humans and elves.

    Definitely a must for South Park fans, and certainly not a bad game for weekend dungeon heroes who enjoy casual RPG experiences.

    Check it out!
    Expand
  58. Dec 18, 2014
    8
    Fun game with a good storyline. The humor falls flat sometimes but that's to be expected from something like south park. The graphics are exactly the same as a South Park episode. The gameplay is traditionally turn based, but it is too easy, even for non-gamers it's just too easy. I like easy game, but even for me it's too easy. No strategy involved what so ever. A lot of fun though!
  59. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    Another great Obsidian game. It gets surprisingly disgusting, but the gameplay is great and the story is both funny and fun, although linear. Would give it an 8 if it wasn't so friggin' awesome.
  60. Dec 5, 2014
    8
    This was a surprisingly fun game. Thanks to the Users Reviews of Metacritic for recommending it.

    Why an 8? It felt very short for an RPG. And while I like most of South Parks humor at other times it goes waaay too far lol. I felt guilty and uncomfortable at times, but that's what South Park is all about. The gameplay is easy to grasp. The story is easy to follow. And the easter eggs
    This was a surprisingly fun game. Thanks to the Users Reviews of Metacritic for recommending it.

    Why an 8? It felt very short for an RPG. And while I like most of South Parks humor at other times it goes waaay too far lol. I felt guilty and uncomfortable at times, but that's what South Park is all about.

    The gameplay is easy to grasp. The story is easy to follow. And the easter eggs are fun to find. Overall, if you can handle watching an alien probe go into someone's butt, don't mind adventuring through a human's lower intestines or pretending to give a man an abortion, then you will definitely enjoy this game.
    Expand
  61. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. I had so much fun playing it. Basically you're the main character in a 16 hour episode with almost every single character from 18 seasons in on it. Very easy to play and fluent. You can tell that they really split hairs preparing it. Haven't encountered a single bug from start to finish. Dialogs very funny, story very exciting, Must play for every South Park fan. Can't waitAmazing game. I had so much fun playing it. Basically you're the main character in a 16 hour episode with almost every single character from 18 seasons in on it. Very easy to play and fluent. You can tell that they really split hairs preparing it. Haven't encountered a single bug from start to finish. Dialogs very funny, story very exciting, Must play for every South Park fan. Can't wait for a sequel. 10/10 with stars. Expand
  62. Nov 30, 2014
    9
    Very good game! You can easily lose a good amount of hours in it enjoyably. I would recommend getting it on steam for sale like i did since it doesn't have much play back value, well maybe after 6 months or so i might play it again.
  63. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    South Park: The Stick of Truth is an absolutely brilliant game, for many reasons. Trey Parker and Matt Stone have excellently translated South Park's style into video game format - this game is fun to play, yet at the same time hilarious in every possible way.

    A large number of the characters that have ever appeared in the South Park TV show make an appearance in this game, even if some
    South Park: The Stick of Truth is an absolutely brilliant game, for many reasons. Trey Parker and Matt Stone have excellently translated South Park's style into video game format - this game is fun to play, yet at the same time hilarious in every possible way.

    A large number of the characters that have ever appeared in the South Park TV show make an appearance in this game, even if some just appear in loading screens, and the dialogue has been carefully crafted to be absolutely hilarious every step of the way, not just for fans of the original series who might pick up on some of the references - even but for these references the dialogue is still hilarious enough on its own to be enjoyable for just about any player, be they a South park aficionado or someone who has never seen the show - Some of the references went right over my head, but it did not detract from the game's experience whatsoever.

    This probably isn't the sort of game, however, for a hardcore gamer who looks for a deep and rich gaming experience - This may be an RPG, but it takes the piss out of its own genre more than it tries to emulate it, as such it's not the deepest experience gameplay-wise, however in spite of this it is still very much fun to play, because in all honesty it's clearly not supposed to be played as a serious RPG. It's meant to be played as a pisstake of the genre it belongs to, and in that sense it hits the nail right on the head.

    Another thing that makes this game unique is the fact that, in making The Stick of Truth, Trey Parker and Matt Stone have essentially translated the South Park format directly into a video game, art style and all. It truly feels like you are playing out an episode of the series, which makes for a unique and interesting gameplay experience.

    A word of warning however: In achieving the level of comedy that it does, the game is also very, very, VERY politically incorrect. Just like the original TV show, there is probably something in there that will offend everyone, from abortions to Nazis to sex - and if it doesn't offend you, it becomes absolutely hilarious.

    To summarise, South Park: The Stick of Truth is an absolutely brilliant, game. The dialogue between characters will have you aching with laughter, the gameplay is easy but fun, and the fact that it looks almost exactly like an episode of South Park makes it all the better. True, it may not be the deepest RPG experience, or a very politically correct game, but that's because it isn't meant to be. What it is meant to be is a piss-take of the genre it belongs to and an immensely offensive yet side-splittingly hilarious satire- and just like the series it is based off, it does that very, very well.

    Final score: 10/10. Most definitely worth your time and money.
    Expand
  64. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    Solid game. Little expensive for the content you get. Fun for one play through. Some replayability i suppose if you want to try a different class but only found 1 class to be much fun personally. Some really good jokes as you would expect, but also some really bad/go way to far jokes that you should also expect.
  65. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    "Never fart on someone's balls". That is pretty much the gist of it. Obsidian somehow managed to give us the freedom to make our own South Park episode. Let me tell you, it's going to be a weird time.
  66. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best RPG's I've ever played! The game completely captures every aspect of the show (animations/graphics/design, characters and story, jokes/humor, etc), and fully immerses you in the world they've WONDERFULLY re-created.

    Combat: Combat is excellent, where you (and your partner) and your enemy take turns in striking, biting, and shooting each other. There are some other
    One of the best RPG's I've ever played! The game completely captures every aspect of the show (animations/graphics/design, characters and story, jokes/humor, etc), and fully immerses you in the world they've WONDERFULLY re-created.

    Combat:
    Combat is excellent, where you (and your partner) and your enemy take turns in striking, biting, and shooting each other. There are some other features which you use in combat, such as Power Points or "PP", which allows you to use special moves that vary according to which class you choose (I will go into more detail about classes later on the review), theirs potions that have different effects and power ups, which can help you in battle.

    Story:
    The story, which is probably the most important thing in a game, especially when it comes to a T.V. Show licensed game, is perfect! Totally immerses you into the game and it's characters; where you have multiple options, each of which can change the outcome of your current situation. You can either charge in head-on, or you can take the stealthy route and sneak by, or you can use the environment around you to make upcoming combat/traps a bit easier to succeed in. The ending: VERY satisfying and funny.

    World/Environment:
    They perfectly capture the essence of South Park, with interactive characters and a beautifully redesigned world, parts which are destructible, and in most cases, hilarious. They even have a little 16-bit re-creation of Canada, which is almost as interactive as South Park itself! With all this, it really makes you feel like your living in your favorite T.V. Show's universe.

    Don't really need to say much more that except, they really couldn't of done it much better. It gave South Park fans the game they deserved! With over 15 hours of gameplay (including side quests) which is average for an open-world RPG, I PROUDLY give this game a 10/10.
    Expand
  67. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. I love South Park and I think that this game is perfect. Now I'm looking for a similar game because I had a lot of fun playing this... hard times :(
  68. Sep 24, 2014
    8
    This game is the perfect blend between video game and cartoon series. The art style and storyline really made it feel like I was playing one big 12-hour long episode of South Park. The hints and nods and references to the show are plentiful and satisfying, the gameplay is a fun spin on the traditional turn-based rpg formula, the storyline is fun and crass (just like the way a South ParkThis game is the perfect blend between video game and cartoon series. The art style and storyline really made it feel like I was playing one big 12-hour long episode of South Park. The hints and nods and references to the show are plentiful and satisfying, the gameplay is a fun spin on the traditional turn-based rpg formula, the storyline is fun and crass (just like the way a South Park game should be), and the amount of nostalgic awesomeness they managed to jam-pack into this game is nothing short of miraculous. My main complaint is the lack of replay value. The lack of differences between the classes doesn't promote more than one or two playthroughs. All three classes can equip the same weapons and armor so variations of gameplay are minuscule and nearly non-existent. However, this was an extremely enjoyable game and the perfect blend between video game and cartoon series. Expand
  69. Sep 22, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    Visually it's as close as the TV show as you can get.
    Voices are of course the same as the series and great.
    Jokes although not new, still funny.

    Cons:
    The fighting mechanism is so bad I would have preferred just not having any fighting at all.
    Nothing new, almost every joke is just a reference to something that happened in the TV show.
  70. Sep 21, 2014
    6
    If you're a hardcore South Park Fan, add an extra point: the game is definitely one of the most faithful games to a franchise I've ever played. Otherwise, if you're an Obsidian Entertainment fan hoping for something deep and meaningful (without jokes about someone's anal cavity), you'll have to look elsewhere.
  71. Sep 5, 2014
    9
    You shouldn't see this game as a serious RPG. I would call the genre "RPG satire"! The game makes fun of everything that has to do with role-playing, well, and a few other things, like alien abductions. The game is very entertaining, but never hard or challenging. But beware, this is a game for adults, not for kids! I enjoyed it even though I don't watch South Park. The best thing aboutYou shouldn't see this game as a serious RPG. I would call the genre "RPG satire"! The game makes fun of everything that has to do with role-playing, well, and a few other things, like alien abductions. The game is very entertaining, but never hard or challenging. But beware, this is a game for adults, not for kids! I enjoyed it even though I don't watch South Park. The best thing about this game is that it manages to keep you entertained throughout the whole game. You will not find endless, boring levels full of enemies like in most normal RPGs. This game was the surprise of the year for me. Expand
  72. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This is a very fun, very dirty game based on the series on Comedy Central. The game is straight from the guys who make the show and it's extremely funny. Plus it gets away with a few more things that the T.V. show can't and there's alot to love here. If you don't already like the show, this won't change your mind. It will probably make you hate it even more. But there's alot to love here.This is a very fun, very dirty game based on the series on Comedy Central. The game is straight from the guys who make the show and it's extremely funny. Plus it gets away with a few more things that the T.V. show can't and there's alot to love here. If you don't already like the show, this won't change your mind. It will probably make you hate it even more. But there's alot to love here.
    While the game is really fun it is also very easy. There's very little to grind here and very little in terms of moves. This is a very stripped down RPG and it definitely doesn't have alot of depth to it. It's goes by the way its humor goes and that goes a long way in my book. Other than that, the controls are hit or miss at times. Everything else about this game is fun and exciting and you will have a wonderful time playing it. Definitely a can't miss game IF you like the series at all.
    Expand
  73. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    If you are a southpark fan, this game have lots of things to offer you. Funny scenario, interesting missions and characters etc.. But unfortunately this is not a game, this is an interactive movie which only may satisfy southpark fans. If you ar a southpark fan my score is 9 if not it is hardly 6.
  74. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    Hilarious, as good as any episode, and the best game ever made from a TV show, book, or movie. SCORE 90/100.

    Also, only game I know where you can play a Jew, and be a total ass-kicking badass along the way. Only drawback is that it's a bit too short. I want more, lots more. Really needs to be $30 instead of $60, and then sale prices from there. It's a really solid JRPG at its
    Hilarious, as good as any episode, and the best game ever made from a TV show, book, or movie. SCORE 90/100.

    Also, only game I know where you can play a Jew, and be a total ass-kicking badass along the way.

    Only drawback is that it's a bit too short. I want more, lots more. Really needs to be $30 instead of $60, and then sale prices from there.

    It's a really solid JRPG at its core, with solid 2-member party mechanics, deep enough upgrade system, good map, small puzzles in the environment, and a pretty cool and funny story. Better gameplay than a recently released and good JRPG (Child of Light) and really reminded me of some old Final Fantasy fun.
    Expand
  75. aad
    Aug 13, 2014
    6
    Game is great for parties but there's not enough content to be considered amazing.

    The main draw of the game is the voice-over and story, which you'll see and hear all of within a day. Most people will probably finish the game around 6-10 hours.
  76. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A really fun game which almost made me to like the RPG games ( I am more into action games ) . It has a lot of black humor , like the Nazi Babies (after all it is based on South Park ) , and the only South Park which got further the average Expand
  77. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    okay this game is very fun to play and a lot of hilarious moment , but with 59.99 $ Price Tag the game should be playable (a lot of side quest) even the main quest finish.... , the game still great though it's just very easy too finish.....
  78. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    South Park: The Stick of Truth was a lot of fun to play. Not many games out there that are made with the idea of making you laugh so this was a welcome change. This game in a way to me picked up the torch of conkers bad fur day. We need more games that poke fun and parody things so don't miss out on this if your looking for something different.
  79. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Não vi defeitos nesse game , simplesmente perfeito.
    Divertido e com muita interatividade o jogo te prende do começo ao fim com direito a muitas risadas.
    Ele busca a jogabilidade do RPG de raiz trazendo os elementos de South Park que foi uma ideia genial, juntamente com a historia.
    Vale muito a pena testar.
  80. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Awesome cut scenes no denying that, some funny stuff. Wasn't to big on the gameplay. Would have been great on the 3DS. 32 more characters, mmmhmm yep.
  81. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    If you are a south park fan you will love this game.Bought it played for two days straight and beat it, One of the best RPG games iv played in a long time.
  82. Jun 15, 2014
    3
    I'll start with the good points : the game is really entertaining, fun, and goes well with the south park universe
    The bad sides, however, make me regret buying it:
    The tutorials are plain bad (ie nothing in game tells you about the cursor for the farts ) The porting is bad (move use WASD but some QTE require you tu use the arrow keys) No way to change the controls This game requires
    I'll start with the good points : the game is really entertaining, fun, and goes well with the south park universe
    The bad sides, however, make me regret buying it:
    The tutorials are plain bad (ie nothing in game tells you about the cursor for the farts )
    The porting is bad (move use WASD but some QTE require you tu use the arrow keys)
    No way to change the controls
    This game requires a console-like controller to be played, which is plain bad.
    Expand
  83. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    There is really no need for review. If you loved southpark you will play the game no matter what I say here.
    If you don't, love southpark... well, I have nothing to say to you.
  84. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    I really enjoyed SPTSOT, but the game was extremely short for an RPG and the payoff from doing side quests is miniscule. Let's start off with the positives. The visuals are exactly that of the television show, which is exactly what we've wanted in a South Park game. The story is fun and the customization is pretty good. The battles are turn-based and quite a bit of fun. Now, I'll turnI really enjoyed SPTSOT, but the game was extremely short for an RPG and the payoff from doing side quests is miniscule. Let's start off with the positives. The visuals are exactly that of the television show, which is exactly what we've wanted in a South Park game. The story is fun and the customization is pretty good. The battles are turn-based and quite a bit of fun. Now, I'll turn to the negatives. The jokes are a but lackluster, as I didn't find myself really laughing at all. Ironically, the gameplay, not the jokes, is what made this game fun. As I mentioned in my intro, the game is way too short. You'll finish everything (including side quests) in less than 15 hours. If you're playing this game on consoles, I'd recommend renting it. If you're playing on PC, just wait until it goes on sale for $20 or less, as that's around where the value of the content is. My other complaint is that the size and scope of South Park is too small. The South Park map is the size of a small neighborhood, which is underwhelming for an RPG. I know I'm being a bit harsh. but the game is being sold as a full retail game, so the bar is set a bit higher as a result. Expand
  85. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    I didn't have high expectations for this game knowing how previous South Park games were but Obsidian did a fine job with this one. I actually played it through twice since there are different classes you can choose. The story doesn't get affected differently if you play another class. Although it an rpg, it somewhat felt restricted or limited in terms of what you can do and where to go.I didn't have high expectations for this game knowing how previous South Park games were but Obsidian did a fine job with this one. I actually played it through twice since there are different classes you can choose. The story doesn't get affected differently if you play another class. Although it an rpg, it somewhat felt restricted or limited in terms of what you can do and where to go. Other than that, this game is a must have for South Park fans and rpgers. Expand
  86. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Such a masterpiece, I know this game took a while for it to come out, but it was worth it! This game is just, one word, AWESOME! Just get the game! I promise you, it's a load of fun!
  87. May 31, 2014
    10
    To describe this game in one word is difficult, but since I have to: Amazing!

    At first sight I didn't take the game seriously (I mean come on, the creators of south park), but I bought and loved every second of it. It's the perfect mix of two beautiful ingredients: humour and an RPG. They mixed it so well together that I didn't have a single moment in the game in which it looked like I
    To describe this game in one word is difficult, but since I have to: Amazing!

    At first sight I didn't take the game seriously (I mean come on, the creators of south park), but I bought and loved every second of it. It's the perfect mix of two beautiful ingredients: humour and an RPG. They mixed it so well together that I didn't have a single moment in the game in which it looked like I was being guided through it. The level design is simple, but awesome. It puts the atmosphere of South Park amazingly well into the game. The combat system is genius, I hope you like farting, since you are going to do it... a lot.

    Overall this game is amazing and is really worth buying, also on of the few games that made me laugh out loud over scenes.
    Expand
  88. May 29, 2014
    10
    It is the perfect game for southpark fan , great game mechanics , with that dose of southpark comedy , i greatly recommend this game for everyone that loves southpark and is ready to make fun of everything , the feel is 100 % what the fans wanted . 10/10 !
  89. May 28, 2014
    8
    Ready to be offended, made to laugh so hard you cough up blood, or made to say that’s so wrong. Well then this game is going to be for you. This game follows the adventure of a "new kid" through the wacky world of South Park. You will wonder how they made this game so damned funny you’ll be exploring just to find out everything they put into the game. But be prepared the game is not afraidReady to be offended, made to laugh so hard you cough up blood, or made to say that’s so wrong. Well then this game is going to be for you. This game follows the adventure of a "new kid" through the wacky world of South Park. You will wonder how they made this game so damned funny you’ll be exploring just to find out everything they put into the game. But be prepared the game is not afraid to poke fun at every stereotype imaginable.

    Down to the negatives of the game, I’ll be honest I’m nit picking here. I wish there was more stuff to explore and more stuff to do. I realize that South Park follows the show and all but I think there needs to be more depth to South Park. Some buildings you can enter others you end up walking into one room. Most though you only walk through. The game mechanics I think could use some more effort as most of the time you don’t use half of your abilities simply because you don’t have to or it’s a pain to refill the manna when a good swift slice of weapon will work.
    Expand
  90. May 27, 2014
    8
    Very decent game. Not perfect, as I would like more depth in the combat and inventory system, but let's be honest: It was never about these things! In terms of story and sense of humor it feels exactly like a long South Park episode. Animation looks familiar, multiple references to the show itself appear and it's just an extension of what You can watch. Absolutely brilliant for every SP fan!
  91. May 22, 2014
    10
    Nothing to say here that hasn't already been said, so I'll keep it brief in case mine is the first review you see.

    If you want to feel as if you've been transported into a season of South Park as a new character, get this game. If you like to be grossed out and see people push the limits of what can be acceptable humor, get this game. If you are easily offended, for the love of god do
    Nothing to say here that hasn't already been said, so I'll keep it brief in case mine is the first review you see.

    If you want to feel as if you've been transported into a season of South Park as a new character, get this game.
    If you like to be grossed out and see people push the limits of what can be acceptable humor, get this game.
    If you are easily offended, for the love of god do NOT get this game.
    If you don't think South Park is funny, why are you even here?
    Expand
  92. May 22, 2014
    8
    Simply put, the best South Park game to ever hit the shelves. As a game it self, there is little to be super impressed about, its a turn based RPG with timing clicks in combat. However, as a die-hard South Park fan, this game is a masterful display of familiar story telling and crude humor in the best way possible. The re-play ability is low, but I will certainly be watching for new storySimply put, the best South Park game to ever hit the shelves. As a game it self, there is little to be super impressed about, its a turn based RPG with timing clicks in combat. However, as a die-hard South Park fan, this game is a masterful display of familiar story telling and crude humor in the best way possible. The re-play ability is low, but I will certainly be watching for new story DLC's to dive back into this one. Worth $60? In my opinion, no. Worth $40? Absolutely. If you're looking to kill most of a day mastering the control of your cartoon anus and making as many virtual friends as possible, dive on in! Expand
  93. May 21, 2014
    8
    This game did an amazing job placing you directly inside the world of South Park, the graphics, voice acting and story telling are top notch. However underneath the hood we are given a mediocre RPG system that could have used a few more hours of development.
  94. May 18, 2014
    9
    About as amazing a game as could possibly be made within the framework of South Park. Deserves a 10 for content. Only giving it a 9 because the controls were extremely awkward on PC.
  95. May 16, 2014
    8
    TV or Movie tie-ins are rarely this good. In fact, they're typically stinking piles of crap. Stick of Truth is the exception. It perfectly captures the look and feel of the series, and thank god -- it's just as funny. And at times hilarious -- the constant nods to South Park lore, some obvious, some obscure, are endlessly entertaining. The RPG genre proves to be quite a good fit.TV or Movie tie-ins are rarely this good. In fact, they're typically stinking piles of crap. Stick of Truth is the exception. It perfectly captures the look and feel of the series, and thank god -- it's just as funny. And at times hilarious -- the constant nods to South Park lore, some obvious, some obscure, are endlessly entertaining. The RPG genre proves to be quite a good fit. Unfortunately, it's relatively short. Hopefully we'll see some DLC in the near future, or, fingers-crossed, a sequel. Expand
  96. May 14, 2014
    4
    Game wouldn't progress after I got grounded, and my last save was about 3 hours earlier. I don't even want to load it because I might just end up back at this same bug. This game is linear enough that the testers should've caught all the gamebreakers. Which is a shame because I got a lot of laughs from tSoT. My advice is to wait a year and buy it on the cheap. Maybe it'll work by then!
  97. May 13, 2014
    10
    I always thought games based on TV Shows/Movies were bad but this beauty is an exeption. It's amazing and it feels like you're playing a 15 hour fully interactive episode of South Park. Just amazing game Thx Obsidian :)
  98. May 12, 2014
    7
    It's a mediocre comedic game which relies entirely on the fact that the player is most likely a south park fan. I watch the show... find it funny sometimes but have not found that the comedy is so spectacular that they should have made a game about it. It is mostly just toilet humour and YouTuber bait to be quite frank and I seriously want people to consider whether it actually deservesIt's a mediocre comedic game which relies entirely on the fact that the player is most likely a south park fan. I watch the show... find it funny sometimes but have not found that the comedy is so spectacular that they should have made a game about it. It is mostly just toilet humour and YouTuber bait to be quite frank and I seriously want people to consider whether it actually deserves it's current Metascore. Fans of the show will make use of it as a short term source of entertainment so that's why I gave it an average score.
    I guess that everything from the actual south park universe is in the game and that will make up the mind of most fans. It also makes up the bulk of the game and to be honest that is fine by me.
    Expand
  99. May 9, 2014
    9
    While I am personally not a fan of the show, I find its over the top crude humor quite abit distastful, I say this game to be a master piece for one big reason: It was made for the fans.

    Most movie/tv show tie-in games tend to be a attempt to rip off popular games at the time to attract new people to the movie/tv show or to just try and ring some cheap profits out of the fans. Because
    While I am personally not a fan of the show, I find its over the top crude humor quite abit distastful, I say this game to be a master piece for one big reason: It was made for the fans.

    Most movie/tv show tie-in games tend to be a attempt to rip off popular games at the time to attract new people to the movie/tv show or to just try and ring some cheap profits out of the fans. Because of this they fail spectacularly. The Stick of Truth does not fall to this.

    The Stick of Truth feels you like are inside and part of a South Park episode or movie, it does not rely on cheap gimmicks or trying to "broaden the audience". The graphics are not 3d hd bloomfests with hyper realistic animation, they exactly like the show. The voice acting isn't needless celebrity voices, they are the voices from the show. The gameplay is pretty simply and intuitive, a few puzzles here and there, combat is fun and the attacks are hilarious with each class having pretty cool abilities. The companion attacks are hilarious. There is little to no "grinding" needed to continue the story, so people who don't play many RPGs are not turned off. To top it off there are more than a few homages to past and present RPGs and several satirical passes at various video game tropes.

    Going back to my original statement, this game was made for the fans. It is not some watered down, executive pandering lump of failure. I am not a fan, this game was not made for me, and it shouldn't be. It was made for the fans and that is EXACTLY how these types of games SHOULD BE.
    Expand
  100. May 6, 2014
    9
    South Park is one of the funniest RPG games I have played recently. For I can tell It is worth for it's price. The charachters are memorable and funny. Presentsion is awesome and It's true to the show. South Park is a semi-open world game althougt It's not that big nor smal but It has so many easter eggs and secret around every corner. The battle system is bit similliar to Paper Mario forSouth Park is one of the funniest RPG games I have played recently. For I can tell It is worth for it's price. The charachters are memorable and funny. Presentsion is awesome and It's true to the show. South Park is a semi-open world game althougt It's not that big nor smal but It has so many easter eggs and secret around every corner. The battle system is bit similliar to Paper Mario for concepts like button presses at presice moment to deal extra damage or block to minimize the damage you recive. Game also got inspiration from series Earthbound (Mother) like shop,items,charachters etc... You play as your own South Park charachter which you can create how ever you want. There are tons and tons of custom clothes, dyes , accesories, hairstyles to choose from. Your companions are funny and really helpfull with their attacks. Story is awesome, full of twist and turns and engaging. But there are some tiny things that bother me. After you completed 100% there isn't anyone to fight (except for pirates and animals in Canada). And there are some places missing like Raisins and Ike's room and I wish there were more classes. But at the end of the day It's game that doesn't fail to impress me and It's a must own title for South Park fans and all gamers Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    90
    I didn't expect anything from this South Park RPG, but The Stick of Truth is one of the best license games ever made. It's as obnoxious as the TV series, as it should be. The script is made with love and the RPG elements fit in to the franchise like a glove. [March 2014]
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2014
    90
    Almost flawless. [May 2014, p.63]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    The game takes its time to ramp up the pace but when it gets going, it doesn't stop. [Issue #240]