Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    83
    Space Hulk is a pretty good adaptation of a great board game. I really liked the game mechanics, so I also enjoyed the single player campaign, even though it was quite short. [Sept 2013]
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    68
    Space Hulk brings the original board game to digital life. This means good mechanics, enriched with asynchronous cross-platform multiplayer, but poor variety.
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    68
    Full Control has taken a board game and brought it to the PC, staying true to the source material all while breathing considerable life into the actual gameplay experience itself. With a bit more time, and much more content, I’d be recommending this one to any turn-based tactics fan straightaway.
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    67
    The main problem with Space Hulk, though, is that its designers couldn't let it deviate from or build on the simple rules of a board game experience that lacks tactical depth.
  5. PC Gamer
    Oct 8, 2013
    64
    Enjoyable enough, with an undeniably good design pedigree, but marked down for the rush feel and lack of polish. [Dec 2013, p.68]
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    63
    At its heart, Space Hulk is still a classic board game highly recommended by a legion of fans and well worth playing, but this adaptation is littered with thorny little issues, from superficial graphical glitches and incorrect text on the main menu to occasional UI quirks–like incorrectly calculating the optimal movement paths for marines, forcing you to do it square-by-square, and even a few exploits involving being able to re-roll or undo actions that really shouldn’t be allowed.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    The new Space Hulk is a by the numbers interpretation of the original board game. Fifteen mission, nothing more, nothing less. Far from the glory of Vengeance of the Blood Angels. [Issue#234]
  8. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    Space Hulk really lacks polish and just twelve missions are not enough to keep the interest for long.
  9. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Space Hulk misfires more often than it should have. Players disconnect at random, games crash. Glitches happen and the occasional typo will surface like a bashful shark. Still, it can be an engrossing few hours in spite of the lack of polish.
  10. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Space Hulk could have - and should have - been better than this.
  11. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    This is a satisfying game--especially to the longtime Warhammer 40K devotees who have been waiting for a new Space Hulk video game for nearly two decades--but it could have been so much more.
  12. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    There are certainly rough edges aplenty to be picked at, but also a deep love of the source material; everything from the voice-acting to the detail on gun barrels is steeped in that grim 40K atmosphere. The look and feel of this Space Hulk delights the boy in me, who long ago abandoned Games Workshop but never quite lost faith in the Imperium of Man.
  13. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    As soon as this gets a map editor, I'll happily bump up the score [twenty] whole points. Until then, this extremely authentic and well done representation of the beloved board game is frankly just missing one of its most important features.
  14. Sep 1, 2013
    55
    Space Hulk is remarkably faithful to the source material, something that works for and against it in equal measure. Altogether the game shows potential but feels undercooked.
  15. Sep 9, 2013
    54
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. games(TM)
    Oct 23, 2013
    50
    It's hard to recommend something so limited. [Issue#140, p.114]
  17. Oct 9, 2013
    50
    An ordinary game coming out from the original recognized board game. The only thing driving you forward is your effort to beat the game's developers who have chosen to create a hardcore turn-based strategy game after lots of trial and error. There's nothing more to it.
  18. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    As a replica of the board game, Space Hulk is a success. Unfortunately, as a videogame, it's barely average. [Oct 2013, p.91]
  19. Aug 21, 2013
    50
    The game mechanics of the original table top game make for an odd videogame experience. But if you know the original, you will understand this take on this classic; but unfortunately, Full Control didn't really polish the game, which is full of bugs, has poor production values, and lacks content.
  20. Aug 19, 2013
    50
    Full Control have done a very faithful recreation of the board game, and with a few tweaks it could have been fairly decent.
  21. Sep 10, 2013
    45
    Space Hulk offers little value as a videogame and is in many ways even inferior to the board game. The slow pace doesn't translate well to the digital version, with sluggish and boring games as a consequence. We'll forgive it for its lack of atmosphere and uninspired look, but that the very important multiplayer is plagued by technical problems is an unforgivable flaw.
  22. Sep 19, 2013
    40
    The moment when Space Hulk loses its charm, is two to three missions in, when you suddenly realize that you’ve already seen everything this game has to offer.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 76
  2. Negative: 24 out of 76
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    For me, the game is a 10/10. Is it the perfect game? No. Is it better than a host of other games (XCOM seems to be one bandied around a lotFor me, the game is a 10/10. Is it the perfect game? No. Is it better than a host of other games (XCOM seems to be one bandied around a lot for some reason)? No, and yes XCOM is a better game. So why is it a 10 then? Because they set up from the beginning to make as close a 1:1 digital conversion of the board game as possible, and they absolutely succeeded 100%. It is a 10 for me because it is exactly the game I wanted and expected. I love the board game, and I love this version of the board game.

    Anyone who expected something different has only themselves to blame. It was clear from the very start that this was a board game conversion. Adding any other video-gamey bells and whistles would have just detracted from the simple, tense, claustrophobic elegance of the board game mechanics. Persistent character development between missions? Weapon load out customisation? Please! How would that even work? Each "level" in the game is designed and balanced to be tackled with the squad configuration they give you at the start. The pre-set squad load out, the spawn points and numbers of genestealers, the positioning of the objectives, they are all finely balanced for a tense barely-made-it experience. Buffing your marines and swapping load outs between missions would completely wreck the entire balance of the game! To compensate for that, the developers would need to develop and build in other systems, changing genestealer behaviour abilities to react to your increasing marine stats. And pretty soon after that, you've no longer got a board-game conversion, which is what this is meant to be.

    Seriously, complaining about a lack of RPG elements character progression in this game is the same as complaining that the digital version of Carcassonne isn't more like Civilization!
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    Let me begin by saying what a great job Full Control Studios did by creating Space Hulk and keeping true to the rules and feel of the boardLet me begin by saying what a great job Full Control Studios did by creating Space Hulk and keeping true to the rules and feel of the board game. Secondly, to all those people that are trashing this game...have you even played the board game? This is the most faithful board game-to-videogame that I know of. It has the exact rules from the board game for better or worse. The point is, they marketed this game as an exact translation from one medium to the next and STILL people are criticizing this game. Before buying a game you should do some research.

    With that out of the way, the fans of the board game will be thrilled to know that this was created with complete love and devotion to Warhammer 40k and Space Hulk. Some of you wish (like I have) that you could just find the real board game and play it again, only to find that the 3rd Edition board game now sells for anywhere between $100.00(used) $400.00(brand new) on sites like Ebay or Amazon. Now you CAN play the board game and experience the joy of seeing those models on the board come to life in a videogame.

    The environment within the game is the first thing you'll notice. What with all the amazing attention to detail. The little touches here and there, the lighting, all of it was created with love. You can easily tell how big of fans the creators were of this game. The Terminators are modeled perfectly and the voices are exactly what you would imagine space marines to sound like.

    I'm not going to go into the game mechanics because this game was made for fans and for tactical turned-based strategists. So all of you who are those fans already know how this game plays out.

    Let's go on to multiplayer. Yes, you can play online with a friend. One person plays as the Terminators and the other player plays as the Genestealers, just like when playing at home with the board game. The only issue I have was that it did not launch with a co-op option in the menu. Now I'm only halfway through the game at the moment but I have not seen any achievements that allow you to unlock co-op mode, though it may be there somewhere. That being said, I do remember seeing a developer interview with him stating that the game will have co-op. He didn't say if it was at launch or if it would come in an update later so I will have to give this game a 9 out of 10 just for that. I had the intent of playing this game together as a team with friends and sadly I can only play versus. It's a simple and small complaint but it was kind of a downer to me. Fighting hordes of genestealers racing towards you with a buddy was a dream I thought I would be able to fulfill. I guess I'll have to wait to see if an update or an unlock will happen upon us in the future.

    So back to what I was saying earlier, don't let those few people distract you. They obviously didn't know what kind of game they were getting into and probably ignored all of the blatant signs of this being a tactical turn-based game replica of a board game. It's perfect in my opinion, in the fact that they said it would be the board game and guess what, it is. I just want to play co-op. Anyways, I've got to go back to slaughtering genestealers. Hope this helped!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Unless you liked the super simplistic board game Space Hulk enough to play it for hours on end, you will be very disappointed. This game isUnless you liked the super simplistic board game Space Hulk enough to play it for hours on end, you will be very disappointed. This game is for hardcore Space Hulk fans only and even then they will only get about 2 hours of game time from the Campaign.

    There is no depth in the combat, shots either miss or are 1-shot kill. No unit progression at all. Nothing between missions. No customization beyond changing a standard that hangs in the background of your main menu.

    For $30 on release, this game is only for the most hardcore Space Hulk players and really nobody else. If you can play the board game Chutes and Ladders for hours on end, get Space Hulk. If not, use your $30 towards a good strategy game like X-Com.
    Full Review »