Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the best-selling board game and set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe, Space Hulk is a 3D digital turn based strategy game that recreates the classic claustrophobic board game experience for single player and multiplayer cross-platform play between PC, Mac and on iOS.

    Space Hulk
    is set in the isolated corridors and tomb-like chambers of an ancient vessel lost in the graveyard of space. Players lead a small army of fearless Space Marine Terminators to battle in a ferocious fight for survival against hordes of predatory alien Genestealers. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    83
    Space Hulk is a pretty good adaptation of a great board game. I really liked the game mechanics, so I also enjoyed the single player campaign, even though it was quite short. [Sept 2013]
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    68
    Full Control has taken a board game and brought it to the PC, staying true to the source material all while breathing considerable life into the actual gameplay experience itself. With a bit more time, and much more content, I’d be recommending this one to any turn-based tactics fan straightaway.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    64
    Enjoyable enough, with an undeniably good design pedigree, but marked down for the rush feel and lack of polish. [Dec 2013, p.68]
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    There are certainly rough edges aplenty to be picked at, but also a deep love of the source material; everything from the voice-acting to the detail on gun barrels is steeped in that grim 40K atmosphere. The look and feel of this Space Hulk delights the boy in me, who long ago abandoned Games Workshop but never quite lost faith in the Imperium of Man.
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    55
    Space Hulk is remarkably faithful to the source material, something that works for and against it in equal measure. Altogether the game shows potential but feels undercooked.
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    50
    It's hard to recommend something so limited. [Issue#140, p.114]
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    40
    The moment when Space Hulk loses its charm, is two to three missions in, when you suddenly realize that you’ve already seen everything this game has to offer.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 72
  2. Negative: 24 out of 72
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    For me, the game is a 10/10. Is it the perfect game? No. Is it better than a host of other games (XCOM seems to be one bandied around a lot for some reason)? No, and yes XCOM is a better game. So why is it a 10 then? Because they set up from the beginning to make as close a 1:1 digital conversion of the board game as possible, and they absolutely succeeded 100%. It is a 10 for me because it is exactly the game I wanted and expected. I love the board game, and I love this version of the board game.

    Anyone who expected something different has only themselves to blame. It was clear from the very start that this was a board game conversion. Adding any other video-gamey bells and whistles would have just detracted from the simple, tense, claustrophobic elegance of the board game mechanics. Persistent character development between missions? Weapon load out customisation? Please! How would that even work? Each "level" in the game is designed and balanced to be tackled with the squad configuration they give you at the start. The pre-set squad load out, the spawn points and numbers of genestealers, the positioning of the objectives, they are all finely balanced for a tense barely-made-it experience. Buffing your marines and swapping load outs between missions would completely wreck the entire balance of the game! To compensate for that, the developers would need to develop and build in other systems, changing genestealer behaviour abilities to react to your increasing marine stats. And pretty soon after that, you've no longer got a board-game conversion, which is what this is meant to be.

    Seriously, complaining about a lack of RPG elements character progression in this game is the same as complaining that the digital version of Carcassonne isn't more like Civilization!
    Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    A great game! It is a faithful adaptation of the board game (which is out of print), with some goodies like asynchronous multi player.

    The
    developers are doing a great job at bringing updates, regularly adding content. They are also very active and responsive on the steam forums. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    This game is a truly faithful recreation of the 3rd edition Board Game and solves two major problems with the game itself, firstly finding someone to play it with and secondly that the board game being limited print has not reached many people in it's time.

    There are a lot of negative reviews regarding this game and it's clear that it's a divisive game to play but I feel that it is truly a game many Space Hulk fans would enjoy as well as a game that many TBS players would enjoy, however there are some things worth mentioning.

    The game as it stands does lack a bit of polish, there are still the occasional bugs rearing their ugly heads even after the three bug fix patches released by the excellent people at Full Control studios. A number of animations could do with some tidying up such as the fact that gun fire seems to continue on endlessly, or that doors sometimes explode before a terminator has shot at it.

    Still the game itself is an enjoyable romp, in just the same way that the Board Game is, and it's made better if you play against a friend with VOIP so you can scream and shout at each other to your hearts content, it's great to finally be able to play with my friends who love the board game just as much as I do across the distances that prevent us from doing so regularly.

    Visually the game looks stunning, it really captures the tight corridors of the hulk with bulky terminators slowly advancing down the halls and endless hordes of agile genestealers chasing, circling and hunting those Space marines down. Some concern has been raised that the animations for the terminators make them too slow but I have never failed to complete my two minute turn thanks to the ability to move multiple models at once and their movement speed perfectly fits the feel of the game and reflects how Terminator armour should be.

    Length-wise the Singleplayer campaign would roughly take an experienced player a good 8 hours against the AI, but the true replayability comes from the Multiplayer which even if you're playing with a random person if you build up a chat with them then you can have great fun, with some missions taking up to two hours to complete in a multiplayer game.

    There are many options of expanding the replayability of the game in the future, we already know that a level editor is on it's way and many of the sound files in the briefings will demonstrate this. In addition a co-op campaign and more are on their way as well, but I'd love to see some deviation from the Board game by adding new rules for players to enjoy.

    I don't see how any fan of Space Hulk fan could not enjoy this, for TBS fans tread carefully go in knowing what to expect and you won't be dissapointed. For fans of 40k this is a great addition to your video game collection but know that you are purchasing a Digital board game.

    I look forward to hearing more about the further development of the game and with some more Polish I truly believe this game could be worthy of a 9.5 or even 10 score. Currently 15 hours played and many more to come!
    Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    Overall pretty solid game, especially if you are a Warhammer 40,000 fan. I feel the game went live as described and hits the mark very well. Right now I don't think the game will have a lot of replayability, but that will come with DLC. Challenging and an all around good time, perhaps it was $10 too high, I think it would have been a steal at $19.99. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Me personally, as a former board game geek, would give this 10 out of 10.

    But objectively speaking, with all the technical problems and
    lack of new content, it feels like i can't give it higher than a 6.

    It's a good game, I had my fun. But after the few missions there is just nothing more. It feels like an editor would be really useful to make this game great.

    I still love you, Space Hulk. I just have to be fair.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    Even though Space Hulk is directly based off of an old boardgame, that is no excuse to turn it into a boring and unpolished video game. Being based on a board game to begin with isn't a bad thing, but you must make sure that everything else about the game is polished, yet nothing was. Graphics are outdated, voice acting is repetitive, marines take forever to move, etc... Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I tried playing this game but gave up after 10-15 min when I realized it takes FOREVER to move your troupes on the tiles. I hope the next WH40k game will be DoW 3 and not something like this. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews