Space Pirates and Zombies PC

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 3, 2011
    70
    Admirable, but maybe not lovable. Requires stubborn determination on the part of the player. Then it's rewarding. [Nov 2011, p.50]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 4, 2011
    70
    Pirates and zombies. Two popular themes for both filmmakers and game developers make together a strikingly entertaining space shooter. Only if devs had worked harder on A.I. and difficulty balancing. [Issue#208]
  3. Aug 26, 2011
    70
    It takes a while for Space Pirates And Zombies to really play its hand, but that's the trouble with something so wilfully creative - it takes time to peel away the layers. But if you make the effort, it's worth the effort.
  4. Aug 18, 2011
    70
    Space Pirates and Zombies still has a few minor bugs here and there, and its collection of throwback gameplay components isn't likely to appeal to everyone. For those looking to invest themselves into a fairly robust adventure on the cheap, however, SPAZ is a worthwhile investment old-school gamers may want to check out.
  5. Sep 8, 2011
    67
    The germ of a cool game, not quite ready for prime time, but with plenty of potential if the right choices are made. [Oct 2011, p.90]
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    A valiant first effort from MinMax, and worth at least a try. Especially considering that, like many indie devs, they're adding more content post release.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played in the last 3-5 years and for certain a game that sits somewhere in the best twenty games I've played. AndOne of the best games I've played in the last 3-5 years and for certain a game that sits somewhere in the best twenty games I've played. And honestly, a game that shares one of twenty seats with timeless classics and extremely fine games such as Star Control, Master of Orion, X-COM, Terra Nova and Battlezone (1998) definitely deserves all these/those praises! Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    You'll absolutely love this gem of a game, not only if you have a long history of gaming like me, going back to C64/Amiga age. It somehowYou'll absolutely love this gem of a game, not only if you have a long history of gaming like me, going back to C64/Amiga age. It somehow manages to capture the charm of some of the greatest classics like e.g. Asteroids or the Star Control games. It is also a perfect example that a small ambitious team (only 2 guys) with a great idea and a quirky sense of humour can achieve where Multi-Million Dollar Companies often fail. The 2 years of work that went into this product make it feel very solid and polished. The small amount of money you have to invest to get this game are nothing compared to the countless hours of spaceship blasting (pew pew) fun you'll have. Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    The perfect blend of strategy, resource management, tactics and space sim. Right from the start this game throws you in the deep end, but hasThe perfect blend of strategy, resource management, tactics and space sim. Right from the start this game throws you in the deep end, but has a very helpful tutorial. The graphics are simplistic but suits this game well. What is very surprising is the A.I. One of the best indie game AI I've seen so far. The AI is very responsive but has some hiccups, but very very little. The voice acting is also good. The only thing that was not too good was the difficult spike, but you get used to it in about 10 minutes. I highly recommend this game for any person who likes a strategy or shooting game. Full Review »