User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Very enjoyable and well put together 3rd person-cover shooter. The only downfall is the massive lack of players probably due to all of the untrue and misleading ratings. This game is wonderful at what it does. Sadly, at this stage there is no point in buying it because no one is there to play it with you. Yet another game ruined by rating systems.
  2. May 11, 2013
    9
    I dont understand why this game is so heavily criticized by all these game magazines For this price your in for a HELL of alot fun You can also play it competitively. Its currently on sale for 4.75$ and i think every cent was worth it.. Its fun shooting things, the graphics fit the mood.. Its awesome! I say pick it up
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    The game is a 3rd person shooter, its quick, energetic and fibrant. It rewards teamplay and is not the kind of game "campers" will do well in. I actually like the game a lot.

    The down side is that i've had my data wiped and ive been reset back to level one a couple of times. Also the playerbase is small, so getting a good game can be difficult. All in all i'd recommend this game, its
    The game is a 3rd person shooter, its quick, energetic and fibrant. It rewards teamplay and is not the kind of game "campers" will do well in. I actually like the game a lot.

    The down side is that i've had my data wiped and ive been reset back to level one a couple of times. Also the playerbase is small, so getting a good game can be difficult.

    All in all i'd recommend this game, its quite cheap and is fun when you get in a good game.
    Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    Pros: buttery smooth controls very fast paced for a 3rd person shooter neat map concept (3 different tiles gives you some variation) some great animations (any of the melee kills/ headshots) sound design is quite nice Cons: Attack dog is glitchy, spawns are glitchy (you'll spawn in the middle of fights sometimes) -Not many peoplePros: buttery smooth controls very fast paced for a 3rd person shooter neat map concept (3 different tiles gives you some variation) some great animations (any of the melee kills/ headshots) sound design is quite nice Cons: Attack dog is glitchy, spawns are glitchy (you'll spawn in the middle of fights sometimes) -Not many people playing it -Customization is relatively minimal compared to games like Black Ops 2 or Ghost Recon Future Soldier (comparable to Battlefield 3 though) with 3 attachment categories: optics, silencers, and magazines. *not all weapons have all 3 categories available* Other things to note: Hipfire is not nearly as useful in this game as others (Gears of War, Ghost recon Online) so don't rely on it.
    The reticule for most weapons blooms A LOT, so you'd better burst fire the weapon for better accuracy
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Great game, not every game can be perfect on launch day and neither was this one but the core gameplay is awesome, dont get why the critics were so harsh on it. It's more enjoyable than GoW and CoD combined!
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Oh boy at those critic reviews, most of them even didn't play it...

    Yes this game has some problems (mainly stat reset, yet fix incoming any day now) but beside that it's just awesome. Like others said: Gears of War vs TF2 vs CS SF:Team X. Just remember: It's casual and arcade but still a lot of fun.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    This game is alright I enjoy on how this games combat is like and the map switches, but several issues keep on occuring while playing that need to be improved, and also the gear doesn't have much point in getting, and the stats on the guns make no clear sense on the weapons peformance. Basicly this game is going to get boring, and lame real fast for some people unless new updates aboutThis game is alright I enjoy on how this games combat is like and the map switches, but several issues keep on occuring while playing that need to be improved, and also the gear doesn't have much point in getting, and the stats on the guns make no clear sense on the weapons peformance. Basicly this game is going to get boring, and lame real fast for some people unless new updates about fixes are made asap. Expand
  8. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    I got this game today from a steam card my wife got me for Valentines day. I was excited because I love to play the hot new games. After loading up my game it froze on the start screen, I didnt even think twice and simply crashed it out and reloaded it. Loading up the game i was a bit disheartened by the lack of customization from the start, but lets play the game. I had a VERY hardI got this game today from a steam card my wife got me for Valentines day. I was excited because I love to play the hot new games. After loading up my game it froze on the start screen, I didnt even think twice and simply crashed it out and reloaded it. Loading up the game i was a bit disheartened by the lack of customization from the start, but lets play the game. I had a VERY hard time finding a server that even had people in it! whats going on right? Finally get some games in got to level three and the game crashes out again... im pretty irritated at this point, but load it back up and im LEVEL ONE AGAIN!! Im extremely frustrated with this title right now and would find it very hard to recommend this game to anyone, i feel as if ive wasted my valentines present on a lemon! Expand
  9. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    My dad bought me this game and I hate it..............................................................................................................
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    I really did not care for this game after my level was reset. I was really hopefull too after hearing about it because i liked gears of war so much. But this just feels wrong, its like they took Gears and swapped pallets but hired a highschooler to do it. Im just dissapointed is all
  11. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    A generic, sad, Gears of War clone. This game is a buggy nightmare, level reset bug, freezing issues, and getting spawned into places you cannot move or get unstuck from. Dont listen to the paid fanboy's stay away from this title. You've been warned.
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Havent had this much fun since Gears of War 1... Besides a few bugs here and there everything works to perfection..... The game runs smooth like butter even on lower end PCs.

    Few downsides to the game is leveling up and getting new items is a bit to rewarding due to the fact that the game doesnt have matchmaking to match you with people around your level so you are stcuk going against
    Havent had this much fun since Gears of War 1... Besides a few bugs here and there everything works to perfection..... The game runs smooth like butter even on lower end PCs.

    Few downsides to the game is leveling up and getting new items is a bit to rewarding due to the fact that the game doesnt have matchmaking to match you with people around your level so you are stcuk going against people with much better items BUT you can pick up their weapons after you kill them so not to bad... And of course the level reset bug is damn annoying
    Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    Good game. Unless the player base grows, small issues are fixed, and new content is added, however, this game will have no staying power. Coolest feature about the game is that sticking close to your team mates earns you an XP multiplier. The longer you stay close to your team, the more it grows and the more XP you get for kills and support actions. Never before have I played an onlineGood game. Unless the player base grows, small issues are fixed, and new content is added, however, this game will have no staying power. Coolest feature about the game is that sticking close to your team mates earns you an XP multiplier. The longer you stay close to your team, the more it grows and the more XP you get for kills and support actions. Never before have I played an online shooter where strangers cared about sticking together and working together this system works. Additionally, active skills provide short term bonuses to those currently in your "team" when activated. Another neat feature is the ability to "build" the map in the pre-game lobby. Once you select your gear, an overview of the map comes up divided into three sections. Players vote on which prefab assets they want to occupy each of the three slots. Awesome concept, but the small amount of assets to choose from and the lack of diversity between them means you WILL play the same map twice. Other than that, this is your standard progression based online shooter with a third person cover mechanic and there is nothing wrong with that. This game deserves more attention than it is getting and I hope more people give it a chance so the developers continue to support it. Expand
  14. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Great Game! The third person cover aspect brings a fresh experience to the PC. The bullets register very well even in east coast servers, and there are sound effects and damage indicators to let you know if you are burst-firing correctly. This game is extremely fast paced and rewarding, with some of the most fun to use grenades I've ever experienced in a FPS. There are a few bugs, butGreat Game! The third person cover aspect brings a fresh experience to the PC. The bullets register very well even in east coast servers, and there are sound effects and damage indicators to let you know if you are burst-firing correctly. This game is extremely fast paced and rewarding, with some of the most fun to use grenades I've ever experienced in a FPS. There are a few bugs, but their team is working on fixing them as we speak. The only thing this game lacks is more players. Yet I've had no problem finding a populated west coast server. Bottom line? It's not pay-to-win and the guns are very balanced, allowing level 1's to easily compete against someone level 40. Expand
  15. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Special Forces Team X is not a perfect game, but it sure is close. The art-style is Borderlands-esque and refreshing, uses the cover system as well as Gears of War, and has a grit inside of the game that brings it to one of the most refreshing casual shooters of the year so far. My only complaint is that there is some bugs that don't affect the game itself, but made it loss it'sSpecial Forces Team X is not a perfect game, but it sure is close. The art-style is Borderlands-esque and refreshing, uses the cover system as well as Gears of War, and has a grit inside of the game that brings it to one of the most refreshing casual shooters of the year so far. My only complaint is that there is some bugs that don't affect the game itself, but made it loss it's immersion. Anything from hanging bodies on roofs and flying bodies during death. This game deserves alot more than what it would have. Expand
  16. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    This game currently has no equal or precedent on the PC. Multiplayer third person shooters are in short supply on our platform, and this not only fills that void, it does it greatly with style. It adds an interesting wrinkle with its interactive map remixing, but it is its combination of thoughtful cover-based tactical action and easy to get into arcade fun is its ace in the hole. TheThis game currently has no equal or precedent on the PC. Multiplayer third person shooters are in short supply on our platform, and this not only fills that void, it does it greatly with style. It adds an interesting wrinkle with its interactive map remixing, but it is its combination of thoughtful cover-based tactical action and easy to get into arcade fun is its ace in the hole. The action is smooth and quick, but thoughtful and it really encourages teamplay, the use of cover, and tactical thinking. It performs marvelously on the PC and the controls are buttery smooth and precise. The only downside are a couple of minor bugs, and the necessity of altering the config file to modify some options, but these complaints are minor and I'm confident they'll be addressed by patches. All in all this is the best game yet from Zombie Studios, and it is more than worth the $15 price. Highly recommended. Expand
  17. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    If the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out of box Esports setup, that I am sure will be created. The map generation is amazing and offers many map combinations. I have read that custom map editing tools are/will be available. I see the community taking the ball and running with it. The action isIf the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out of box Esports setup, that I am sure will be created. The map generation is amazing and offers many map combinations. I have read that custom map editing tools are/will be available. I see the community taking the ball and running with it. The action is CS fluid minus the akward moments (bunny hopping). Moving in and out of cover feels natural. At first glance it feels spray and pray however much like CS, headshots is a developed skill. In my opinion, this game is the best FPS since CS and if the community gets on board...I see this game being better with the same life span.

    Buy this game and tell your friends!

    FYI: This game is 3rd person however u do go 1st person when zoomed. It works perfectly
    Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Every game has got Issues, but this one is almost perfect, is like if Team fortress 2, Borderlands, Call of duty and Battlefield were mixed together and created a really good game
  19. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Fast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit faster in pacing. -Sensitivity is cant me modified very well
    -few players
    -some weapons like the attack dog is extremely buggy -can only connect to local servers (US/AU/EU etc) (bug or feature?) Im writing this review in hopes that this game gets off
    Fast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit faster in pacing. -Sensitivity is cant me modified very well
    -few players
    -some weapons like the attack dog is extremely buggy
    -can only connect to local servers (US/AU/EU etc) (bug or feature?)

    Im writing this review in hopes that this game gets off to a good start, as this game is incredible. I hope this game gets further support from the devs, as pc is severely lacking in quality third person shooters.

    Thanks for the game, i go play now bye
    Collapse
  20. Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Fast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit faster in pacing. -Sensitivity is cant me modified very well
    -few players
    -some weapons like the attack dog is extremely buggy -can only connect to local servers (US/AU/EU etc) (bug or feature?) Im writing this review in hopes that this game gets off
    Fast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit faster in pacing. -Sensitivity is cant me modified very well
    -few players
    -some weapons like the attack dog is extremely buggy
    -can only connect to local servers (US/AU/EU etc) (bug or feature?)

    Im writing this review in hopes that this game gets off to a good start, as this game is incredible. I hope this game gets further support from the devs, as pc is severely lacking in quality third person shooters.

    Thanks for the game, i go play now bye
    Collapse
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. May 7, 2013
    45
    Another online shooter – these three words sum up Team X nicely. It offers nothing that would keep you in front of the screen. What’s even worse – there are no people to play with. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.74]
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    50
    From the initial trailers, Special Forces: Team X showed some promise, but after spending some time with the game I find it hard to recommend it to people, especially with the problems it is faced with at the moment.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    40
    SFTX is just another in a laundry list of games trying to capitalize on the success of cover-based shooters but promptly fail to do so.