• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: May 5, 2006
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Europeans already know this is the best of the best; take the plunge and see why this is the most successful series overseas. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
  2. If you’re looking for a good fantasy game, Spellforce II is like a big fantasy nerd peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Simple, yet satisfying.
  3. Hybrids of game genres never quite seem to strike it right, but Spellforce 2 is one of those rare exceptions; fixing most of the problems suffered by the original, both its RPG and RTS elements are now considerably more enjoyable and the graphical presentation finally makes the game a serious contender amongst some stiff competition.
  4. Oh, you'll hear plenty of Diablo comparisons, and we loved the big D six years ago, but hopefully you've moved on since, because this "role-playing-made-love-to-a-strategy-game" hybrid certainly has.
  5. An ambitious effort, and a definite success. Conveying an interesting story with beautiful graphics, great voice acting, a nice soundtrack, and a tight control scheme, very few flaws are to be found in SpellForce 2.
  6. Spellforce 2: Shadow Wars combines the best features of the fantasy RPG and RTS worlds, from strong character development, to massive, resource driven battles-all strewn across gorgeous landscapes. Throw in a wealth of online options-most notably cooperative play-and you have sleeper hit in the making.
  7. Spellforce 2: Shadow Wars is the best "hybrid" game that's attempted to blend both RPG and RTS in a long line of games that have come up woefully short.
  8. A well-balanced amalgamation of RTS and RPG ingredients, set in a unique universe. If you're prepared to shell out 40 bucks for this one, you should know that the game is worth every dime, featuring plenty of content and solid replay value.
  9. SpellForce 2 is sure to satisfy action-RPG gamers.
  10. Separately, the RTS and the RPG aspects of the game can be considered mediocre – with a higher mark for the RPG if I compare it with the first title in the series. But, the game’s splendor comes from successfully combining these two genres, offering a unique experience, a friendly interface, and gameplay which is fun and addictive.
  11. Overall, SpellForce 2 offers a change from the typical RTS fare. To say that the game is a true RPG is stretching the genre to its breaking point; the game is essentially a fantasy RTS with RPG elements added to the gameplay.
  12. 84
    It's really hard to blend genres as thoroughly as Phenomic has done here and come away successful at all so it's a testament to the developer's dedication to the cause.
  13. A great improvement over the intriguing (but flawed) original. Spellforce 2 does achieve a good blend of RTS and RPG gameplay, and has gone far toward finding that perfect balance.
  14. A crusade that claims over 60 hours of play - we recommend you test this claim. [July 2006, p.67]
  15. SpellForce 2's intriguing mix of gameplay styles makes for a great divergence from the archetypal real-time strategy game.
  16. A great concept, but lacks in execution. Less generic fantasy clichés, more variety to the RTS part and character development, and it would have been more than just a nice game. [June 2006]
  17. This one has a better story that makes playing through it worth the time investment.
  18. Its gameplay is genre-bending, its visuals are intense and demanding, and there’s enough content here to keep you returning for an obscene amount of time.
  19. And tackling the huge amount of diverse RPG quests, picking up and evaluating items, advancing your character's skills to match your tactics is a thoroughly engrossing mix. SpellForce 2 is that rare beast - a thoroughly well executed hybrid game.
  20. If the game has any major flaws at all, it's that whilst the two halves of the game, RTS and RPG, mesh together brilliantly, if you take either of those elements in isolation, they're perhaps a little on the lightweight side. Fortunately, the game does have real synergy: it's greater than the sum of its parts.
  21. It has a near flawless presentation and expertly juggles the two genres it incorporates.
  22. Genre-hopping games can be notoriously difficult, but with Spellforce 2, Phenomic has hit the nail... well, not quite on the head, but certainly in its general vicinity
  23. 80
    While others have hinted at RPG and RTS crossover, or have tried and not quite succeeded, SpellForce 2: Shadow Wars delivers.
  24. 80
    It's might not be the best role-playing or real-time strategy game on the market, but when combined, it makes for something surprisingly special.
  25. Overall, Spellforce 2 is slightly above average. It take two portions of a game that wouldn’t succeed on their own and combines them into a package that proves to be fun with a large amount of gameplay.
  26. In the end, Shadow Wars is just plain fun. [Aug 2006, p.50]
  27. 78
    The difference from the first game to the second, in my experience, is like the difference between cheap pan-Asian food sold in a mall and an expensive Japanese sushi restaurant. No more greasy egg rolls: it's time for some blue-fin tuna...except, it's from Europe.
  28. The satisfaction of finally winning a battle doesn't even begin to outweigh the frustration of having to win it all over again.
  29. The scantily clad female characters, the brutal mob beating, and pool-of-blood style of violence get this game an M rating.
  30. 70
    I wouldn’t rule Spellforce 2 out completely, especially if you’re a great fan of zerg tactics and don’t mind waiting the sometimes required hours for an open game to appear online. For all you others, spend that 40 bucks on a better RTS.
  31. The combination of RTS and RPG works well, each having its very distinct place in the overall feel of the game. Throw in that multiplayer bonus and developer Phenomic is in danger of having a hit on its hands.
  32. Like its predecessor, Spellforce 2 is a bad game. It gets so many things wrong. As a real-time strategy game, it's superficial. [Sept. 2006, p.62]
  33. Tries to include facets of two genres, and feels confused and compromised. [May 2006, p.94]
  34. The large-scale RTS combat can be fun and the game flourishes aesthetically in some of the bigger areas, but life is too short to spend our time on games lacking spirit, spunk and novelty. [June 2006, p.94]
  35. For gamers who aren't particularly picky or demanding, there's still fun to be had and progression to be enjoyed in Spellforce 2.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I got this game free with my graphics card a few years ago. It was an awesome game, and I loved how it mixed RPG with RTS elements at different points of the game. The maps and dungeons etc were designed well and the graphics were great. I'd say its twice as good as Dungeon Siege. Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This is masterpice........ I enjoyed every minute! I hope that Spellforce 3 will be something like this one! This game atmosphere is so good, beautiful landscape and music! Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    I've only started playing the first couple scenes and the overall gameplay seems like it'll be good, but the reason I gave it a 5 is because of the voiceover. For such a highly rated and valued game among RPG players, you think the company wouldn't have skimped on bad acting... I just can't get past the lack of emotionalism during the dialog scenes. Full Review »