Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 364 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. 90
    Those who missed out on the XBLA release of Spelunky and want a good tough rogue-like should pick it up from Steam. It’s a little more based on reflexes than most rogue-likes, but even if you find out you’re not that good at it, it is still a riot to watch friends try to get as far as the can before making the wrong step and getting crushed by a boulder.
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Spelunky is a great fun, but when it goes down, the fun is gone and your eye goes neurotic. Still, it ranks among the best recent platformers.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 67
  2. Negative: 19 out of 67
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This game is the type of games that will get bad reviews from some hasty people. Why? Because it is excruciatingly hard. Completing even the first level may seem like an overwhelming challenge at first, but one you'll overcome with patience and practice.Standing only at sixteen (actually twenty) levels before the ''final'' boss, four for each of the worlds, the game may seem like a pretty short and simple platformer, but here comes the twist. Every single time you die (and it will happen, A LOT), you respawn at the very first level of the Mines (1-1), but it is not the same 1-1 you just went through, it is randomly generated like every other level, meaning that in a thousand successful games you would never encounter the same layout twice. In addition to that, a plethore of different enemies. events and items will keep you hooked until you know the ins and outs of everything Spelunky and you can reliably (or almost) kill Olmec on most runs. The charming art style makes it a pleasure to look at, with every of the 16 characters being unique enough to warrant a little playtime. Couch co-op and deathmatch help extend the already infinite replayability of Spelunky and add a little more chaos and family ruining fun to your spelunking evenings too!

    This game is a brilliant masterpiece, and one proof that gameplay still is at the very core of the enjoyment of a game, even when there is no story involved, at all. Go and try it, you will die at every trap, but I promise, you will soon be riding Olmec into Hell, collecting every diamond the nefarious ghost can grant you.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Spelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que são geradas aleatoriamente.
    Super recomendado para quem quer um jogo difícil, Spelunky aquele jogo que você aprende a jogar morrendo pois aí você sabe quais são as habilidades dos seus inimigos e ao passar de cada fase vão aparecendo novos inimigos tanto fáceis quanto difíceis.
    O deatmatch do jogo muito frustrante pois você vai precisar jogar muito para conseguir matar alguém pois tudo muito rápido.
    Spelunky um jogo para quem quer se aventurar em um jogo de plataforma difícil mas não impossível.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Very cute and entertaining game. If you like cartoonish graphics this is game for you. I know that i love. Random generating levels and some times very hard to play. Yes "you " will die a lot , but remember this is only a game. It has to be funny and challenging. For the low price you get a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I find Spelunky to be a brilliant game. When the concept first began on Game Maker, I thought it was amazing. At the time, I was very into Game Maker so it seemed absolutely amazing. It still is. The latest remake is the same thing, just more polished. I am a huge fan of Rogue-likes and so it feels comfortable for me. Others who don't enjoy Rogue-likes would not enjoy Spelunky. Simple as. I love the graphics style because it's not too "Look at me, I'm really sexy!" and no where near "I'm bringing 8-Bit back". On that topic, the 8-Bit market has become over-saturated and its not good at the moment.

    The levels can be a bit hard and the permadeath situations are really not nice. The music gets on my nerves a little but I can turn it off so I don't mind. It does, however, crash when I tab out. Every time.

    It looks like I've given a good score to a game that has lots of flaws. And I have. But that's only because I enjoyed the game play immensely. It is a very fun game and I can overlook those flaws. Games are about the gameplay, not the graphics style or the choice of soundtrack. If a game is good then it deserves a high score.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    This game finds its identity in being brutally hard. There isn't really much else to it. If you don't want to do the same simple tasks over and over until you can consistently make it through levels without mistakes, this game has nothing to offer you. Most of the individual components are not difficult. The game is only difficult because you can save so rarely. I'll play a game with difficulty levels, where I can choose whether I want brutal challenge or simple enjoyment, thank you. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    I like indie games and I like roguelikes (Nethack is my favorite game of all time) and I like side scrollers. I don't like spelunky. Good games find ways to keep you interested. In spelunky the levels all just look interchangeable, the collectibles are a joke, and there doesn't really seem to be any excitement. Good roguelikes are filled with a sense of wonder, the thought that you are scratching the border of a zone filled with complexity and fun...

    Spelunky reminds me of the kind of games a 10 year old would enjoy, repetitive and simplistic... I hated it.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews