User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 373

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    For everyone who loves 2D platformers this is must play. Nice controls, randomly generated levels, bunch of secrets, challenging etc. Just play it already!
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    I've played spelunky at it's original state, then the version on Xbox 360 and now on PC. No matter the platform, the game keeps evolving. As a 2D platformer it is excellent and is a must have in your "platformer collection". The game has many level types, enemies, obstacles and atmospheres. Every play-through feels and is different and you can hardly get tired of it. It's one of those games that you always want to beat your record. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Spelunky is a game that die hard gamers who want a challenge are looking for. I played the original on the PC and I was actually hesitant to buy the remake of it because I questioned how much was added for the new version. I was very pleasantly surprised by what I got. First of all the game has been remade from the ground up. The controls are tighter, the graphics are better and these things put together make the game much more fun to play. On top of that there is the added coop and deathmatch modes (which are local multiplayer modes) that are extremely fun to play with friends. There is also the addition of tons of new playable characters including DLC characters released on the xbox, new levels, and new enemies. Overall if you're looking for a punishing yet rewarding game with incredible replay value, look no further. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    A really fun little game, with simple mechanics and nice graphics, Spelunky isn't a game to get you hooked for hours, but it's on of the best time-wasters around, especially when you find yourself with an hour to kill. Not everyone will find it to their taste, however, as it can be tricky in parts. In short, a fun, nice little game, but nothing ground-breaking or enchanting.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is INCREDIBLY difficult and can be extremely frustrating, but that doesn't, even for a second, stop it from being an amazing addictive all round brilliant game that I would recommend to anyone (well at least anyone without a temper lol) Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    I had a lot of fun with this game when it was the original free version. And now it has better graphics, animations, levels, levels that will never be the same
  8. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Best game i've played for awhile and i'll probably keep playing it because it has infinite amount of content because the maps are randomly generated i recommend it so much love this game this game is fast fun and its permadeath (YOLO) Platformer (Retro)

    If you don't trust me take nerdcubed advice:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAiHzZX7Iio&feature=c4-overview&list=UUKab3hYnOoTZZbEUQBMx-ww
    dont worry its not a virus
    Expand
  9. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    I think the game is good, not a full 10 but to compensate the negative reviews by people who can't read "Yes, the game is difficult and luck and bad luck are serried"
  10. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Spelunky is a brilliant combination of tough platforming an roguelike elements. With randomly generated levels, loads of obstacles, enemies, and loot, the game provides nigh infinite replay value. The amount of depth this game has is absolutely staggering for a platformer.

    Fair warning: this game is tough. You will die a lot, especially when you start out. However, the vast
    majority of people giving this negative reviews are just suffering from bruised egos. Rest assured, if you die in this game, it's because you made a mistake. The more you play though, the fewer mistakes you will make. Eventually you will be avoiding deaths you would have previously thought "unfair".

    After countless hours of playing the original freeware version, and now the much-improved HD version, Spelunky is the one game in my collection that I keep coming back to again and again. In short Spelunky is a masterpiece, and one the best platformers of all time.
    Collapse
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Spelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que são geradas aleatoriamente.
    Super recomendado para quem quer um jogo difícil, Spelunky aquele jogo que você aprende a jogar morrendo pois aí você sabe quais são as habilidades dos seus inimigos e ao passar de cada fase vão aparecendo novos inimigos
    tanto fáceis quanto difíceis.
    O deatmatch do jogo muito frustrante pois você vai precisar jogar muito para conseguir matar alguém pois tudo muito rápido.
    Spelunky um jogo para quem quer se aventurar em um jogo de plataforma difícil mas não impossível.
    Expand
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    A superb platformer with rogue-like elements. Behind the cutesy graphics lies a world of randomly-generated levels filled with deadly traps, weapons, monsters, and treasures. You will die more times than you can count; but the game has a strange way of making you come back for more.

    Highly recommended if you're a fan of platformers, roguelikes, or challenging games.
  13. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So You want to be a hero...Well,you have to prove it by beating this game...Mind you,many have tried...You can see by all those negative ratings of this game...Those are people who have tried but got their ass kicked so they found an excuse or a way to get revenge by giving it a low rating...
    Are you ready to beat one of the hardest,diabolical game ever created?...This game is not made to boost your ego but to teach you a lesson..It will humiliate you one time after another until you will cry like a baby...
    Are you up for the challenge?It will consume your life...It will haunt your dreams...It would made you feel unworthy,pitiful human being...Are you ready to feel helpless?
    This game was made only for the elite of gamers...Those who will shout "come on,bring it on"...And it will...Up until you would fall on your knees begging for forgiveness...But it will just scorn at you and keep smacking your butt so hard you will curse the day you started playing it...
    Are you looking for fun?Don't make this game laugh...It want only one thing...To spill your guts,to hurt you,to make you suffer...
    You get only 150 seconds to survive each level...If you begin to dilly-dally, before you know it ,a ghost will come to haunt you...A ghost you can't harm in any way except getting a snapshot of it by your camera and it will only pause for a moment to pose for you, only to give you one more second to run for your life to the exit...But the exit is the most guarded place of the level...
    Each second of your gaming must be calculated...If you are smart you will pause the game many times to think carefully what to do next and not only that..You should keep a calculator handy next to you just in case you need to remind yourself how many precious seconds you have left before it will come after you...
    This game is intense and brutal...Prepare for bloodshed...Blood is so important here that if you sacrifice enough corpses to the Goddess she will give you a vessel to fill with drops of blood during battles which will give you in turn more lives...How sick is that?
    This game incorporate stealth with lightning fast battles...And if you hadn't consider all the factors before you engaged into a battle you would not stand a chance...It would be all over before you know it only to make you reflect what went wrong...How come your ass has been kicked again... What the hell is wrong with you...How could you repeat the sames mistakes so many times...
    The thing is each game is different offering you a different setting in such a way you won't be able to anticipate what is in store for you...You can't rely on your memories to help you...You prepare yourself for one scene only to get a completely different scene...So you must rely on your instincts and they must be acute to make you react so fast to deal against all kinds of ****
    Your imagination is your best tool to cope against all the enemies and traps waiting to make you bleed...When you are going to see your first enemy,it is going to be a snake coming to you peacefully and gracefully allowing you whip its ass to feel comfy about your timing...But later on it will teach you a lesson about striking at the right timing...It will jump out of pots at the most inconvenient times to bite you in the ass...And it is only the weakest enemy...
    Are you still reading?What's wrong with you?Don't blame me,I warned you not to play this game... Once you started you are doomed unless you are made of heroes stuff...Real heroes stuff...Then you are in for a hell of a time...Hero time...
    Expand
  14. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Think its the best 2d platformer game of 2013. This game surpasses Rayman Origins & Legneds in all aspects. The gameplay's great. I love playin it time to time. I love the scenery. The mechanics of the game were good.
  15. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This game is very good, a bit frustrating but just because it's a fair challenge. I really love the graphics, the inertia, fells really good playing on a gamepad or on the keyboard. One of my best purchases of this year at full price. No regrets at all.
    Some days it can get on your nerves but it's so rewarding. i think the best part of this game is watching other people failing at it
  16. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    A great roguelike-like with a competitive daily scoreboard system. A huge amount of replayability can be found in this title for fans of skill based, real-time roguelike-likes.

    The game has a steep learning curve but it offers a checkpoint system for the more casual player, making it easily possible to train your techniques for certain areas of the game. Scores on the worldwide
    leader-board are only saved, if one started the game from stage 1.

    The state of art is consistent throughout the game, nothing jumps the eye in displeasure while going though the numerous areas and their different themes. Character assets and animations are detailed and sometimes really cute. The music is a mix of remixed retro songs from the original game and original works. Multiple varying songs for each stage present in the game fit the themes but are exceptional enough to be recognized even hours after gaming. One gets literally blasted away by the soundtrack entering a new stage.

    The default keyboard controls are a bit clunky. It is advised to change them or get a gamepad to maximize the enjoyment out of the title. The controls itself feel natural for a platformer, granting a solid mix between momentum and full character control.
    Expand
  17. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    It's so good, probably the best 2D platformer you could buy, everyone who says this game involves no skill are wrong they just generally suck at video games and rage quited.
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Perhaps this game's only flaw is that the learning curve is so steep right off the bat that many players won't soldier on for long enough to experience its genius. I urge you to stick with it, because it is absolutely worth it.
  19. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This is Game best arcade 2013. Good HUD, Gameplay, and Graphics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  20. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    One of the hardest and most enjoyable platformers I've ever played. Due to the shifting level designs you never get bored and there are so many cool tools to collect that can make your job easier. The joy of finding some sticky mittens to help you climb walls, or some springy boots to get to high places, cannot be matched. Equally the frustration of dying while in possession of said items is also unparalleled, except maybe by Minecraft, the most brutally unforgiving game of all. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Really great game. Although difficult, Spelunky keeps you coming back thanks to the addicting gameplay and randomly generated levels. It has that "just one more try" addictiveness. The visual design is excellent and the music is really catchy. The game's humour is also great with some of the captions of the journal. The character models are also quite funny, especially that of the shop keeper, and the way he behaves after you steal from his shop is really cool! My one complaint is that the multiplayer is pretty weak. The deathmatch game mode is a bit ridiculous and I was disappointed to find that co-op is only local, not online. Otherwise, a really great game. Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I have read several reviews (good and bad), and if i may i will start with this:
    Comparing SPELUNKY with games such as DOTA and DARK SOULS is not only erroneous but misleading; it's like comparing apples to puffer fish ammm, both are round?.. kinda...
    Another comment that i have seen a lot here is the one about Controllers (gamepads): i don't owe a console (i actually despise all of
    them!), and i love playing SPELUNKY with my keyboard (just change the keys to your likings! Can you do that with a controller?!)

    I don't just give 9's or 10's to games, but i would strongly suggest to anyone reading reviews before they buy the actual game, to go to SPELUNKY's official homepage they have a ton of info about this great game, AND allow you to play an earlier version (2008) FOR FREE.

    The Game is great! It is of a Rogue Family (in short, meaning when you die you die, and there is no save feature) Yes, it's hell! But that's one of the things that keeps this game fresh. And the randomly generated levels will never feel the same.

    It is a HARD game. If you pass this one, you may proudly show off your steam Achievement (as opposed to some lame "kill 10 enemies" pseudo-achievements, which have no essence). SPELUNKY has a ton of secrets, which are up to you to discover. But you will die oh so many times! :D And that's also part of life, isn't it?

    At first, the game might seem ridiculous, but just hang on in there, and make your final judgement after you die 101 times Seriously.

    Good Luck!
    Expand
  23. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    You will die a lot in Spelunky, when you die you lose any items and gold you have and start all the way back at the start, but one thing you do keep is the knowledge you learnt from this attempt. That knowledge builds up over multiple attempts and before you know it, you as a player have improved. Your character is not getting stronger by leveling up, you are getting better at the game with each failed attempt. You learn what hazards to avoid, how best to deal with certain enemies, what items will benefit your character most and what secrets are hidden away. You will master the controls, and when you do the are incredibly tight.

    You will look back, remembering when reaching the Jungle in one piece was once an accomplishment, when now taking any damage before reaching there would be considered a bad run. You will look forward, trying to get that bit further than your previous run, promising yourself 'just one more run'.

    After hours upon hours of playing, you may eventually reach the boss, and die miserably. You will try and try again, it took me 370 overall attempts, but when you kill him, you feel a sense of achievement greater than any game can deliver, knowing you finally conquered this incredibly difficult, but still fair and incredibly well designed game.
    Expand
  24. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Utter genius.
    Believe the hype and play a game that reminds of you of the games you played when you were a kid (you know, ugly-looking, damned hard, really rewarding, loads of personality secrets..)
    A must buy.
  25. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    In my first few days of owning Spelunky, I've played it for 15 hours. This game does not get repetitive thanks to level feelings and one thing that I really like is that you get a shortcut to the next level when you are ready for the next level. The shortcut system, along with the whole game, was thought up by a genius!
  26. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Derek Yu, you madman, this game is flippin' badass, I promise you readers, buy this game and never forget that you played it! The graphics are cool! This game is phenomenal!!!! Buy this or I will go Slenderman on yo' ass! 10/10 or 99%
  27. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best platform games ever released.

    Note though that it requires a different mindset than most modern games to enjoy. Like, if you feel frustrated by every single death in a game or need to be constantly patted on the back with xp gains, in game unlocks or making 'story' progress then this is not for you.
  28. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Very cute and entertaining game. If you like cartoonish graphics this is game for you. I know that i love. Random generating levels and some times very hard to play. Yes "you " will die a lot , but remember this is only a game. It has to be funny and challenging. For the low price you get a lot of fun.
  29. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    People criticizing this game seem to have expected something else. This is not a single, go through the game once kind of game. You will die a lot. The point is to get better and have fun while you do it. I still haven't gotten past the jungle but you don't hear me complaining because I know that it's going to take a long time to get good enough to complete. This isn't a game for everyone, but if you enjoy classic games where it takes patients and dedication to beat, this game provides greatly. Also, the random level generation gives plenty of replay value. I would definitely not recommend playing without a game-pad of some sort, personally. It will make it harder than it's supposed to be. I would recommend however that you try to the original free version of Spelunky before you play this one to get a feel of how the game works, but the graphics in this are much better and the game-play overall feels better to me. Expand
  30. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This game is the type of games that will get bad reviews from some hasty people. Why? Because it is excruciatingly hard. Completing even the first level may seem like an overwhelming challenge at first, but one you'll overcome with patience and practice.Standing only at sixteen (actually twenty) levels before the ''final'' boss, four for each of the worlds, the game may seem like a pretty short and simple platformer, but here comes the twist. Every single time you die (and it will happen, A LOT), you respawn at the very first level of the Mines (1-1), but it is not the same 1-1 you just went through, it is randomly generated like every other level, meaning that in a thousand successful games you would never encounter the same layout twice. In addition to that, a plethore of different enemies. events and items will keep you hooked until you know the ins and outs of everything Spelunky and you can reliably (or almost) kill Olmec on most runs. The charming art style makes it a pleasure to look at, with every of the 16 characters being unique enough to warrant a little playtime. Couch co-op and deathmatch help extend the already infinite replayability of Spelunky and add a little more chaos and family ruining fun to your spelunking evenings too!

    This game is a brilliant masterpiece, and one proof that gameplay still is at the very core of the enjoyment of a game, even when there is no story involved, at all. Go and try it, you will die at every trap, but I promise, you will soon be riding Olmec into Hell, collecting every diamond the nefarious ghost can grant you.
    Expand
  31. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky

    A very difficult platformer with roguelike elements, based on "La Mulana" and "Net-Hack", this game provides procedurally (random) generated set of levels each time a new "adventure" is started, and permanent death (no checkpoints between levels, means that the player starts from 0 each adventure). The lack of forgiveness, the amount of dangers, the replay value and the (very) steep learning curve, make this game the go-to choice for any fan of platform games.

    From the beginning of the game the player is presented with a tutorial that explains the few, yet deep, mechanics of the game. The player is given a set of basic abilities like Jumping, Running, Whipping, Throwing/placing Bombs (because ALL THE LEVELS ARE FULLY DESTRUCTIBLE) and Ropes, and Crawling. All of these abilities have basic purposes in the survival of the player, and most of them can be modified with the help of other items throughout the whole game. Some dangers are shown to the player as well, which can be very varied, although initially only bats and snakes are introduced (shop keepers are shown as well, but most players choose to ignore them). Other dangers like traps (triggered by Indiana Jones-like idols)
    and spikes that sit there waiting for the player to fall into them. It is worth noticing that even though the player is given a certain amount of health and some particular ways of recovering it (tedious ones), some enemies and traps can easily one-shot the player into oblivion.

    When the player embarks on a real adventure, he/she will have to survive through 16 different levels to be able to finish the game, although there is an extension of 4 secret levels more that has to be achieved through the game’s hardest means. In total, there are at least 20 “normal” levels, other 5 (very) secret ones that are well hidden, and 7+ “level feelings” that are well scattered that make every single adventure unique.

    The levels are set in 4 floors per level and 4 levels per set of levels, and each set of levels has its own theme; there are the mines, the jungle, the ice caves and the temple initially. Each level starts at the top floor, where the player is put to the task of surviving the descent to the bottom of the level, and arriving to the exit ALIVE. The starting health of the overall adventure is 4 hp (health points), and the damage done by “small” enemies is 1, arrow traps and giant spiders hit for 2 hp, being crushed by a block/enemy or falling into a spike trap = instant death, falling into lava = instant death, exploding a bomb too close to you is 5 hp less. Let’s just say that it is easier to die than it is to live, since the main source of recovering health, is to bring the “damsel” located… somewhere in the level to the exit, going to the exit, and then transition to this next level, the player will be granted 1+ health. It is worth saying as well that there is ONLY 1 damsel per level, and that damsel will give ONLY 1 health to the player.
    “Yet another stupid death” (YASD) is a very common phrase that can be heard between players to explain how the run went.
    Despite survival being the main topic throughout the levels, on level 16, there is one of the only boss fights in the game, where the player is not tasked only by surviving, but by killing/defeating one of the only obstacles left in the game; OLMEC, a giant head (made of gold) that jumps towards the player in attempts to crush him/her to the death. It can only be defeated by making him fall into the lava that lies 12-16 layers of blocks under, and can only be achieved by bombing your way down, or making him crush (by tethering him) layer after layer of blocks to the bottom of the pit… AND… Making it to the exit alive.

    If the player wants a bigger challenge (like surviving is not enough of a challenge), collecting treasure like gold and gems is the only way of building your way up the leaderboards. There is treasure (lots) in each of the levels, but if you take too much time in a level (more than 2 minutes and 30 seconds) a ghost will appear, and will slowly approach the player. It is safe to say that if she (yes, SHE) touches you, you will die instantly.

    With this much variety and level of difficulty, Spelunky is a game that has to be experienced first, then learn, and if you are lucky enough, master it at the end (although even the best “Spelunkers” out there can end up dying on the first level). Only 2.3% of the 20,000+ players that have bought the game have been able to beat the game “The Hard Way”. It is a challenge indeed.

    Do not let the colorful cartoony images or the very calm and adventurous soundtrack that plays lie to you. Spelunky is a very difficult and FUN game that everyone should be picking up right now, because it deserves the attention and hate and love that the community gives it.

    Spelunky is hard, but fair; frustrating, but rewarding; hated, but extremely fun; limiting, but free; full of secrets, but all in plain sight.
    Expand
  32. May 27, 2014
    10
    Spelunky is a 2D platformer rougelike available for the PC and the XBox 360, and has recently been ported to the PS Vita, developed and released by indie developer Derek Yu, at Mossmouth Studios. This 2013 release is an HD remake of the original game, now known as Spelunky Classic, released in 2006, with updated graphics, improved mechanics and a bonus level for those willing to challenge King Yama and defy death itself.

    "Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a challenging new experience each time you play. Journey deep underground and explore fantastic places filled with all manner of monsters, traps, and treasure. You'll have complete freedom while you navigate the fully-destructible environments and master their many secrets. To stay or flee, to kill or rescue, to shop or steal... in Spelunky, the choice is yours and so are the consequences!"

    Or at least that's what the store page has to say about the game.

    Spelunky is decievingly cute and cheerful game, with its cartoonish graphics and bright and colorful levels. However, under this guise hides a evil and almost sadistic game.
    The game is extremely unforgiving when it comes to mistakes. One false move and you're probably going to end up impaled on some spikes.
    Being a rougelike, death is permanent and means that you must start the game from the scratch once you die.

    However, I think this adds to the overall game experience, as you end up planning your moves and advance in order not only to survive, but to gather as much delicious loot as you can get your hands on.
    For most players, this game will be a trail by fire, and you will most likely die several times before you get the hang of it, so don't take it personally if you don't make it to the end immediately. You will die, that's how the game was made to be.

    The game itself is relatively short, spanning 4 different areas (5 including the bonus Hell stage), consisting of 4 levels each. However, as I said before, you're going to most likely die dozens, if not hundred of times before you will actually have a shot at the final boss.
    That may sound boring, repeating the same levels over and over again, but that is where Spelunky's greatest mechanic comes into play: the randomly generated levels. Each level has certain tilesets that are shuffled and mixed randomly each time, giving you a different level each time, but with common elements that you can learn to take advantage of.

    The controls are pretty solid, and any mistakes you make will almost always be your fault. The game enables you to connect a XBox 360 controller and play with that instead, which I highly recommend, since the keyboard controls are absolutely horrid.
    My issue with the keyboard controls was that I felt I was constantly struggling to keep my hands in the correct position, so I usually ended up overshooting my jumps or not sprinting at the right time. I felt like I was constantly fighting the controls.
    The end result was usually me dead, and spikes having something to do with it.

    As for how intuitive the controls are, the basics you need to play the game, such as running and jumping are pretty straightforward. However, there are some more advanced tricks experienced players can use, such as aiming your throws, or boosting your jumps by stomping enemies. There is a tutorial section available for those who struggle with the controls.

    Derek Yu decided to take a different artistic direction from the original game, going from the old-school retro pixel graphics, to a more cartoonish style, with vividly colored environments. This was resented by some of the more die-hard fans of the original game, but I think it works pretty well.
    The graphics are simple, but they are also highly polished, with plenty of debris and particles flying all over the place to add to the chaos.

    The soundtrack is also different from the original, with more a more modern style to the original 8-bit style of Spelunky Classic. There are however some chiptune songs for some of the secrets hidden away in the game.

    The game doesn't have any online multiplayer features, but it does have local co-op or deathmatch modes,

    Spelunky focuses more on its gameplay than on a storyline, and honestly, there is only so much story you can cram into a platformer. The main theme of the game is that you stumble upon the mystical ruins of the great idol Olmec, and in your quest for riches and glory, you decide to challenge the ruins, and if you are brave enough, even Olmec himself!

    To summarize, I think Spelunky is well worth the $15 price tag, giving hours and hours of cave-delving and loot-grabbing, lethal, fun. I've played it for over 250 hours and I still enjoy it as much as the first time I played it. I'm comfortable giving it a 10 out of 10 and giving it the title of my favorite game of all time.
    Head to the Steam Store page, and buy it now!
    Expand
  33. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    Screw the haters, this game is amazing, and if you rage quit it's you, NOT the game. With 200+ hours on it, I can firmly say that some is random, but skill means you can adapt to anything (no that arrow trap was not "unavoidable" just whip it). It takes a ridiculously long time to get good at the game, so if you don't learn to accept the (likely hundreds) of times you die before beating it ONCE, you will hate this game. Expand
  34. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    My game of the year. It combines the needed reflexes of Rayman Legends but is better in that it allows for exploration and even despite what I mentioned, a slower pace, everything I missed in it.
    I have found this game to be deeply rewarding, very surprising (i didn't know you could pick up rats until today), and crazy blowy uppy fun.

    I hated it at first, like a lot. But I put my head
    down and played it, deciding that I had become soft and terrible at 2D platformers. But after beating the demo (quitting a few times!) I found the game to be so much more than that.

    It has some balancing issues (never worth it to rob the shopkeepers) and the typical stuff you'd expect with a roguelike, but I've just reached 1000 deaths and I'm not looking back at Rayman.

    Yes, I am dead serious with a 10. In the sequel though it would be nice to see some RPG elements, or perhaps more of a 'beat-em up' take on combat, or some differences in the characters abilities or maybe something like curses (a lot of roguelikes love these).
    Expand
  35. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Spelunky is a brilliant combination of tough platforming an roguelike elements. With randomly generated levels, loads of obstacles, enemies, and loot, the game provides nigh infinite replay value. The amount of depth this game has is absolutely staggering for a platformer.

    Fair warning: this game is tough. You will die a lot, especially when you start out. However, the vast
    majority of people giving this negative reviews are just suffering from bruised egos. Rest assured, if you die in this game, it's because you made a mistake. The more you play though, the fewer mistakes you will make. Eventually you will be avoiding deaths you would have previously thought "unfair".

    After countless hours of playing the original freeware version, and now the much-improved HD version, Spelunky is the one game in my collection that I keep coming back to again and again. In short Spelunky is a masterpiece, and one the best platformers of all time.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Spelunky is a great fun, but when it goes down, the fun is gone and your eye goes neurotic. Still, it ranks among the best recent platformers.
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.