Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 385 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. Oct 23, 2014
    95
    Excellent randomly generated level design and very high difficulty. There is no doubt that Spelunky is one of the greatest 2D roguelike platforms ever created.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    This is a superb 2D platformer that’s as easy to hate as it is to love, and your patience for punishment will be the determining factor. Players who live to overcome abusive challenges and obsess over discovering new things will hunger for Spelunky's deeply rewarding exploration.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 69
  2. Negative: 20 out of 69
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    Spelunky is a 2D platformer rougelike available for the PC and the XBox 360, and has recently been ported to the PS Vita, developed and released by indie developer Derek Yu, at Mossmouth Studios. This 2013 release is an HD remake of the original game, now known as Spelunky Classic, released in 2006, with updated graphics, improved mechanics and a bonus level for those willing to challenge King Yama and defy death itself.

    "Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a challenging new experience each time you play. Journey deep underground and explore fantastic places filled with all manner of monsters, traps, and treasure. You'll have complete freedom while you navigate the fully-destructible environments and master their many secrets. To stay or flee, to kill or rescue, to shop or steal... in Spelunky, the choice is yours and so are the consequences!"

    Or at least that's what the store page has to say about the game.

    Spelunky is decievingly cute and cheerful game, with its cartoonish graphics and bright and colorful levels. However, under this guise hides a evil and almost sadistic game.
    The game is extremely unforgiving when it comes to mistakes. One false move and you're probably going to end up impaled on some spikes.
    Being a rougelike, death is permanent and means that you must start the game from the scratch once you die.

    However, I think this adds to the overall game experience, as you end up planning your moves and advance in order not only to survive, but to gather as much delicious loot as you can get your hands on.
    For most players, this game will be a trail by fire, and you will most likely die several times before you get the hang of it, so don't take it personally if you don't make it to the end immediately. You will die, that's how the game was made to be.

    The game itself is relatively short, spanning 4 different areas (5 including the bonus Hell stage), consisting of 4 levels each. However, as I said before, you're going to most likely die dozens, if not hundred of times before you will actually have a shot at the final boss.
    That may sound boring, repeating the same levels over and over again, but that is where Spelunky's greatest mechanic comes into play: the randomly generated levels. Each level has certain tilesets that are shuffled and mixed randomly each time, giving you a different level each time, but with common elements that you can learn to take advantage of.

    The controls are pretty solid, and any mistakes you make will almost always be your fault. The game enables you to connect a XBox 360 controller and play with that instead, which I highly recommend, since the keyboard controls are absolutely horrid.
    My issue with the keyboard controls was that I felt I was constantly struggling to keep my hands in the correct position, so I usually ended up overshooting my jumps or not sprinting at the right time. I felt like I was constantly fighting the controls.
    The end result was usually me dead, and spikes having something to do with it.

    As for how intuitive the controls are, the basics you need to play the game, such as running and jumping are pretty straightforward. However, there are some more advanced tricks experienced players can use, such as aiming your throws, or boosting your jumps by stomping enemies. There is a tutorial section available for those who struggle with the controls.

    Derek Yu decided to take a different artistic direction from the original game, going from the old-school retro pixel graphics, to a more cartoonish style, with vividly colored environments. This was resented by some of the more die-hard fans of the original game, but I think it works pretty well.
    The graphics are simple, but they are also highly polished, with plenty of debris and particles flying all over the place to add to the chaos.

    The soundtrack is also different from the original, with more a more modern style to the original 8-bit style of Spelunky Classic. There are however some chiptune songs for some of the secrets hidden away in the game.

    The game doesn't have any online multiplayer features, but it does have local co-op or deathmatch modes,

    Spelunky focuses more on its gameplay than on a storyline, and honestly, there is only so much story you can cram into a platformer. The main theme of the game is that you stumble upon the mystical ruins of the great idol Olmec, and in your quest for riches and glory, you decide to challenge the ruins, and if you are brave enough, even Olmec himself!

    To summarize, I think Spelunky is well worth the $15 price tag, giving hours and hours of cave-delving and loot-grabbing, lethal, fun. I've played it for over 250 hours and I still enjoy it as much as the first time I played it. I'm comfortable giving it a 10 out of 10 and giving it the title of my favorite game of all time.
    Head to the Steam Store page, and buy it now!
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Spelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que são geradas aleatoriamente.
    Super recomendado para quem quer um jogo difícil, Spelunky aquele jogo que você aprende a jogar morrendo pois aí você sabe quais são as habilidades dos seus inimigos e ao passar de cada fase vão aparecendo novos inimigos tanto fáceis quanto difíceis.
    O deatmatch do jogo muito frustrante pois você vai precisar jogar muito para conseguir matar alguém pois tudo muito rápido.
    Spelunky um jogo para quem quer se aventurar em um jogo de plataforma difícil mas não impossível.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Very cute and entertaining game. If you like cartoonish graphics this is game for you. I know that i love. Random generating levels and some times very hard to play. Yes "you " will die a lot , but remember this is only a game. It has to be funny and challenging. For the low price you get a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I find Spelunky to be a brilliant game. When the concept first began on Game Maker, I thought it was amazing. At the time, I was very into Game Maker so it seemed absolutely amazing. It still is. The latest remake is the same thing, just more polished. I am a huge fan of Rogue-likes and so it feels comfortable for me. Others who don't enjoy Rogue-likes would not enjoy Spelunky. Simple as. I love the graphics style because it's not too "Look at me, I'm really sexy!" and no where near "I'm bringing 8-Bit back". On that topic, the 8-Bit market has become over-saturated and its not good at the moment.

    The levels can be a bit hard and the permadeath situations are really not nice. The music gets on my nerves a little but I can turn it off so I don't mind. It does, however, crash when I tab out. Every time.

    It looks like I've given a good score to a game that has lots of flaws. And I have. But that's only because I enjoyed the game play immensely. It is a very fun game and I can overlook those flaws. Games are about the gameplay, not the graphics style or the choice of soundtrack. If a game is good then it deserves a high score.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    This game finds its identity in being brutally hard. There isn't really much else to it. If you don't want to do the same simple tasks over and over until you can consistently make it through levels without mistakes, this game has nothing to offer you. Most of the individual components are not difficult. The game is only difficult because you can save so rarely. I'll play a game with difficulty levels, where I can choose whether I want brutal challenge or simple enjoyment, thank you. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    Not a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial without it crashing. It would also be nice to have the option to use buffs if you are bad at it to help noobs. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews