Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 413 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. Oct 23, 2014
    95
    Excellent randomly generated level design and very high difficulty. There is no doubt that Spelunky is one of the greatest 2D roguelike platforms ever created.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    This is a superb 2D platformer that’s as easy to hate as it is to love, and your patience for punishment will be the determining factor. Players who live to overcome abusive challenges and obsess over discovering new things will hunger for Spelunky's deeply rewarding exploration.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 74
  2. Negative: 21 out of 74
  1. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    The most well put together platform I have ever played.

    To begin- you will die. You will die often, and you will die hilariously. You
    The most well put together platform I have ever played.

    To begin- you will die. You will die often, and you will die hilariously. You will die when you least expect it, and sometimes you will die right before completing a goal. I think "you will die" is what I'm trying to say here.

    The levels are randomized, so that means no remembering them for easy run throughs later. There are plenty of hidden treasures to find, as well as characters to unlock.

    All in all, this game is great solo or co-op. One doesn't offer an easier experience over the other, as well, and I like this. A must have for any platformer fan, or anyone looking for a fun game to jump into from time to time.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Spelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que sãoSpelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que são geradas aleatoriamente.
    Super recomendado para quem quer um jogo difícil, Spelunky aquele jogo que você aprende a jogar morrendo pois aí você sabe quais são as habilidades dos seus inimigos e ao passar de cada fase vão aparecendo novos inimigos tanto fáceis quanto difíceis.
    O deatmatch do jogo muito frustrante pois você vai precisar jogar muito para conseguir matar alguém pois tudo muito rápido.
    Spelunky um jogo para quem quer se aventurar em um jogo de plataforma difícil mas não impossível.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    In my first few days of owning Spelunky, I've played it for 15 hours. This game does not get repetitive thanks to level feelings and one thingIn my first few days of owning Spelunky, I've played it for 15 hours. This game does not get repetitive thanks to level feelings and one thing that I really like is that you get a shortcut to the next level when you are ready for the next level. The shortcut system, along with the whole game, was thought up by a genius! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I find Spelunky to be a brilliant game. When the concept first began on Game Maker, I thought it was amazing. At the time, I was very intoI find Spelunky to be a brilliant game. When the concept first began on Game Maker, I thought it was amazing. At the time, I was very into Game Maker so it seemed absolutely amazing. It still is. The latest remake is the same thing, just more polished. I am a huge fan of Rogue-likes and so it feels comfortable for me. Others who don't enjoy Rogue-likes would not enjoy Spelunky. Simple as. I love the graphics style because it's not too "Look at me, I'm really sexy!" and no where near "I'm bringing 8-Bit back". On that topic, the 8-Bit market has become over-saturated and its not good at the moment.

    The levels can be a bit hard and the permadeath situations are really not nice. The music gets on my nerves a little but I can turn it off so I don't mind. It does, however, crash when I tab out. Every time.

    It looks like I've given a good score to a game that has lots of flaws. And I have. But that's only because I enjoyed the game play immensely. It is a very fun game and I can overlook those flaws. Games are about the gameplay, not the graphics style or the choice of soundtrack. If a game is good then it deserves a high score.
    Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2014
    5
    Spelunky combines random instant death with start-from-the-beginning repetitiveness, which can be fun in small amounts but is ultimatelySpelunky combines random instant death with start-from-the-beginning repetitiveness, which can be fun in small amounts but is ultimately tiresome. The word "roguelike" in game reviews seems to be a new way to say Unbalanced or Nintendo-Hard. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    Not a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial withoutNot a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial without it crashing. It would also be nice to have the option to use buffs if you are bad at it to help noobs. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews