Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. 90
    Those who missed out on the XBLA release of Spelunky and want a good tough rogue-like should pick it up from Steam. It’s a little more based on reflexes than most rogue-likes, but even if you find out you’re not that good at it, it is still a riot to watch friends try to get as far as the can before making the wrong step and getting crushed by a boulder.
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Spelunky is a great fun, but when it goes down, the fun is gone and your eye goes neurotic. Still, it ranks among the best recent platformers.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 69
  2. Negative: 20 out of 69
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky

    A very difficult platformer with roguelike elements, based on "La Mulana" and "Net-Hack", this game provides procedurally (random) generated set of levels each time a new "adventure" is started, and permanent death (no checkpoints between levels, means that the player starts from 0 each adventure). The lack of forgiveness, the amount of dangers, the replay value and the (very) steep learning curve, make this game the go-to choice for any fan of platform games.

    From the beginning of the game the player is presented with a tutorial that explains the few, yet deep, mechanics of the game. The player is given a set of basic abilities like Jumping, Running, Whipping, Throwing/placing Bombs (because ALL THE LEVELS ARE FULLY DESTRUCTIBLE) and Ropes, and Crawling. All of these abilities have basic purposes in the survival of the player, and most of them can be modified with the help of other items throughout the whole game. Some dangers are shown to the player as well, which can be very varied, although initially only bats and snakes are introduced (shop keepers are shown as well, but most players choose to ignore them). Other dangers like traps (triggered by Indiana Jones-like idols)
    and spikes that sit there waiting for the player to fall into them. It is worth noticing that even though the player is given a certain amount of health and some particular ways of recovering it (tedious ones), some enemies and traps can easily one-shot the player into oblivion.

    When the player embarks on a real adventure, he/she will have to survive through 16 different levels to be able to finish the game, although there is an extension of 4 secret levels more that has to be achieved through the game’s hardest means. In total, there are at least 20 “normal” levels, other 5 (very) secret ones that are well hidden, and 7+ “level feelings” that are well scattered that make every single adventure unique.

    The levels are set in 4 floors per level and 4 levels per set of levels, and each set of levels has its own theme; there are the mines, the jungle, the ice caves and the temple initially. Each level starts at the top floor, where the player is put to the task of surviving the descent to the bottom of the level, and arriving to the exit ALIVE. The starting health of the overall adventure is 4 hp (health points), and the damage done by “small” enemies is 1, arrow traps and giant spiders hit for 2 hp, being crushed by a block/enemy or falling into a spike trap = instant death, falling into lava = instant death, exploding a bomb too close to you is 5 hp less. Let’s just say that it is easier to die than it is to live, since the main source of recovering health, is to bring the “damsel” located… somewhere in the level to the exit, going to the exit, and then transition to this next level, the player will be granted 1+ health. It is worth saying as well that there is ONLY 1 damsel per level, and that damsel will give ONLY 1 health to the player.
    “Yet another stupid death” (YASD) is a very common phrase that can be heard between players to explain how the run went.
    Despite survival being the main topic throughout the levels, on level 16, there is one of the only boss fights in the game, where the player is not tasked only by surviving, but by killing/defeating one of the only obstacles left in the game; OLMEC, a giant head (made of gold) that jumps towards the player in attempts to crush him/her to the death. It can only be defeated by making him fall into the lava that lies 12-16 layers of blocks under, and can only be achieved by bombing your way down, or making him crush (by tethering him) layer after layer of blocks to the bottom of the pit… AND… Making it to the exit alive.

    If the player wants a bigger challenge (like surviving is not enough of a challenge), collecting treasure like gold and gems is the only way of building your way up the leaderboards. There is treasure (lots) in each of the levels, but if you take too much time in a level (more than 2 minutes and 30 seconds) a ghost will appear, and will slowly approach the player. It is safe to say that if she (yes, SHE) touches you, you will die instantly.

    With this much variety and level of difficulty, Spelunky is a game that has to be experienced first, then learn, and if you are lucky enough, master it at the end (although even the best “Spelunkers” out there can end up dying on the first level). Only 2.3% of the 20,000+ players that have bought the game have been able to beat the game “The Hard Way”. It is a challenge indeed.

    Do not let the colorful cartoony images or the very calm and adventurous soundtrack that plays lie to you. Spelunky is a very difficult and FUN game that everyone should be picking up right now, because it deserves the attention and hate and love that the community gives it.

    Spelunky is hard, but fair; frustrating, but rewarding; hated, but extremely fun; limiting, but free; full of secrets, but all in plain sight.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Spelunky, um jogo fantástico começa como um jogo bonitinho, meio infantil, mas se mostra um jogo frustrante ao passar de suas fases que são geradas aleatoriamente.
    Super recomendado para quem quer um jogo difícil, Spelunky aquele jogo que você aprende a jogar morrendo pois aí você sabe quais são as habilidades dos seus inimigos e ao passar de cada fase vão aparecendo novos inimigos tanto fáceis quanto difíceis.
    O deatmatch do jogo muito frustrante pois você vai precisar jogar muito para conseguir matar alguém pois tudo muito rápido.
    Spelunky um jogo para quem quer se aventurar em um jogo de plataforma difícil mas não impossível.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Collapse
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Very cute and entertaining game. If you like cartoonish graphics this is game for you. I know that i love. Random generating levels and some times very hard to play. Yes "you " will die a lot , but remember this is only a game. It has to be funny and challenging. For the low price you get a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I find Spelunky to be a brilliant game. When the concept first began on Game Maker, I thought it was amazing. At the time, I was very into Game Maker so it seemed absolutely amazing. It still is. The latest remake is the same thing, just more polished. I am a huge fan of Rogue-likes and so it feels comfortable for me. Others who don't enjoy Rogue-likes would not enjoy Spelunky. Simple as. I love the graphics style because it's not too "Look at me, I'm really sexy!" and no where near "I'm bringing 8-Bit back". On that topic, the 8-Bit market has become over-saturated and its not good at the moment.

    The levels can be a bit hard and the permadeath situations are really not nice. The music gets on my nerves a little but I can turn it off so I don't mind. It does, however, crash when I tab out. Every time.

    It looks like I've given a good score to a game that has lots of flaws. And I have. But that's only because I enjoyed the game play immensely. It is a very fun game and I can overlook those flaws. Games are about the gameplay, not the graphics style or the choice of soundtrack. If a game is good then it deserves a high score.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    This game finds its identity in being brutally hard. There isn't really much else to it. If you don't want to do the same simple tasks over and over until you can consistently make it through levels without mistakes, this game has nothing to offer you. Most of the individual components are not difficult. The game is only difficult because you can save so rarely. I'll play a game with difficulty levels, where I can choose whether I want brutal challenge or simple enjoyment, thank you. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    Not a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial without it crashing. It would also be nice to have the option to use buffs if you are bad at it to help noobs. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews