Spelunky PC

Spelunky Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 465 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
14th Annual Independent Games Festival winner for Excellence in Design - Spelunky
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. Oct 23, 2014
    95
    Excellent randomly generated level design and very high difficulty. There is no doubt that Spelunky is one of the greatest 2D roguelike platforms ever created.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    This is a superb 2D platformer that’s as easy to hate as it is to love, and your patience for punishment will be the determining factor. Players who live to overcome abusive challenges and obsess over discovering new things will hunger for Spelunky's deeply rewarding exploration.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 73
  2. Negative: 18 out of 73
  1. Jul 11, 2015
    10
    Spelunky is a very cool game, but he is also very hard, like retro arcarde game.
    The gameplay is really nice and the game is also beautiful.
    Spelunky is a very cool game, but he is also very hard, like retro arcarde game.
    The gameplay is really nice and the game is also beautiful. Try it if you like rogue-like games and retro games.
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Youcan either Love this game or Hate this game. Well, i LOVE it! Impossible to explain all the fun and frustration your are going to haveYoucan either Love this game or Hate this game. Well, i LOVE it! Impossible to explain all the fun and frustration your are going to have with this game :D until you actually try it. So basically, think old-school-no-save-one-life to finish the whole game scheme! :D Yep! But there are a ton of such games floating around; what make Spelunky different, is sheer fun! And the physics and logic in the game. It all makes sense. Did i mention you can play with up to 4 players!? Oh boy so fun it is! LOVE IT! Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    It's so good, probably the best 2D platformer you could buy, everyone who says this game involves no skill are wrong they just generally suckIt's so good, probably the best 2D platformer you could buy, everyone who says this game involves no skill are wrong they just generally suck at video games and rage quited. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Spelunky is quite a hard, yet very addictive indie game. Every time you die you get reset to the first level of whichever "map" you areSpelunky is quite a hard, yet very addictive indie game. Every time you die you get reset to the first level of whichever "map" you are playing, and so you have a constant drive to keep playing in order to get to that new area. Although the map randomizes, the game can quickly become boring if the map you are on is proving too hard to get through.

    Overall, it's a very good game. The ability to buy extra items is nice to help give yourself a helping hand through the levels. Just needs some additions gameplay-wise to maintain interest.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    This game finds its identity in being brutally hard. There isn't really much else to it. If you don't want to do the same simple tasks overThis game finds its identity in being brutally hard. There isn't really much else to it. If you don't want to do the same simple tasks over and over until you can consistently make it through levels without mistakes, this game has nothing to offer you. Most of the individual components are not difficult. The game is only difficult because you can save so rarely. I'll play a game with difficulty levels, where I can choose whether I want brutal challenge or simple enjoyment, thank you. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    Not a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial withoutNot a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial without it crashing. It would also be nice to have the option to use buffs if you are bad at it to help noobs. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews