Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions is a thrilling action-packed adventure set in four dramatically different universes from legendary Spider-Man lore, each with a distinct Spider-Man armed with unique skills and strengths, in one original storyline. Players will be transported to new locations never before seen in a Spider-Man game, from lush jungles and dusty deserts to various urban terrains. Acclaimed comic book writer Dan Slott takes players on a mission to contain the magical energy of the Tablet of Order and Chaos, which has been shattered and sent hurtling across parallel universes, and battle fan-favorite villains in a quest to restore the fabric of reality. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    80
    If you like the Spider-Man universe and don't expect good storytwists or a sandbox style of freedom to move, you'll have lots of fun here.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    80
    Spider-Man: Dimensions is not just a great implementation of the Spider-Man comics, it also offers a lot of awesome Villains from Spider-Man's world. Stan Lee as the narrator, a huge amount of funny jokes, and the fantastic combat system will make this game a must-have for fans of the Marvel universe.
  3. 75
    Do note that it looks good, it's fluent, excellently optimized, loyal to its universe(s) and eclectic in design. Poor, patterned and boring when it comes to mechanics, so therefore recommended rather to casual gamers, preferably diehard fans of anything Spider-Man since his first appearance.
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    It gets repetitive with time, but the concept is strong and the setting is unique even for a Spidey game. [Feb 2011, p.87]
  5. 70
    Trivial hack'n'slash on the one hand different game styles with a fistful of well-known super-villains and adrenaline fights on the other. Give Spidey better narration and more free-form play next time. [Issue#199]
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    Four Spider-Men in four parallel worlds is no guarantee for four times the fun. If the game was comic, we would skip ahead to the cool bits.
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    50
    An attempt at delivering four imaginative Spider-Man games at once ends up delivering a single disappointing one. [April 2011, p.68]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    This is the same game as the reviews for the console versions, which scored 76, 75, and 74 for the XBox 360, Wii, and PS3 respectively. However the lower rating for the PC release is unwarranted because a good or even decent "gaming system" exceeds the PS3 and XBox 360 graphically in terms of detail as well as resolutions above 720 like the consoles. The PC version is the best of the three, given you have the system to run it at high settings. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    This game is awesome. I don't really have anything else to say. But, well, except for selection of villains, like, i don't get why they took Deadpool or Juggernaut, they easily can be replaced as, i don't know, Punisher and Rhino. Gameplay is pretty repetitive and PC port a bit laggy, but game worth a while. I managed to beat it twice. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    t-bombz review is correct, it is FAR garphically superior on the pc (you will notice this on cut scenes where it shows doors unlocking etc, because they are pre-recorded under the graphical quality of the xbox 360, and its kind of funny to see the gameplay look better than the cut scenes

    but i do not believe that warrants this game a 9, i think its a5 at best, how many spider man gamesh vae been made so far? alot!

    and how many have been made with a cool free roaming sandbox environment? a few

    this game is not one of them...

    you are stuck on very boring, long, linear levels ( and i mean long! its like an hour per level at least) where basically you see the boss, chase him to the end, while beating up hoardes of the same goons every time, then eventually defeat him in an anti-climactic battle

    the web swinging is back to the old method of apparantly swinging off thin air like in the earlier games.

    i wonder why they didnt put in the controlled web swinging mechanic that was introduced in spider man 2 thr game? it is so much better

    i also must point out on the pc verison i ran into some bugs where the game goes into a cutscene, and spidermans movement is limited to only walking, but when the cutscene ends, spiderman is still stuck walking and unable to jump or anything. this happened to me about 5 times during the whole campaign, but was quite annoying....

    so yeah i would give it a 5 at best, its cool for spidey fans, as it has alot of cool collectible stuff, and it does look very nice graphically (if you have a good enough system) but i must say spider man 2 on the ps2 is still better....
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    4
    I really wanted this game to be good, i tried to like it. But its not. It's got a passable story, good enough not to turn me away from webswinging. But the controls ruin it. My specs FAR exceed the minimum and reccomended, 460 GTX, I72630QM Sandy bridge, 8 GB of 1333MHz RAM. I can run witcher on medium settings, skyrim and arkham city on nearly max. But the game has horrible input lag, despite the smooth framerate. This is something that should have been fixed in a patch, but it hasn't come yet so i'd feel pretty confident saying they dont care about their crappy port and will not be patching it. (January 5th 2012)

    Still the games not complete crap, the button delay is less noticable(Still enough to irritate me) if you drop your settings to maximum which is the only way i've been able to move forward, the levels are paced nicely and the villains are represented very nicely. I didnt like the mysterio in the opening cutscene, but i've warmed to him.

    Basically, if you are a die hard fan of spidey, this might be worth a look depending on if you can get it cheap, or rent it. But get it on a console if you can, the PC version makes a rockstar port look like gold.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    Okay...."Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions" starts out with **** controls and a inane tutorial that had no point of playing it, and continues with missions full of repetitive enemies and bosses. The story abosolutely does not make any sense and the 4 spiderman concept is just preposterous. The beenox graphics also have glitches and several flaws. This is one spiderman game that has all the reasons why you shouldn't play. Expand