• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Apr 4, 2011
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 18, 2012
    64
    Ultimately, I'd encourage you to give Spiral Knights a go as you'll know before you've expended your first 100 points of mist energy whether you want to keep playing. The question of whether you'll have the strength I lacked to grind your way out of the constrictions of the energy system is another question entirely. If you treat the game as a dip in/dip out sort of affair, then I think it's possible to really enjoy it.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    51
    Spiral Knights is fast, accessible and fun until the spiteful pricing system pops up to punch you in the face.
  3. May 18, 2011
    80
    If you're an action RPG fan, don't make the mistake of ignoring Spiral Knights just because it's an MMO, as it is a sublime example of where you can take the genre.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    60
    When I look at this game it reminds me of the humorous Diablo 3 logo. The one with the sun, rainbow, clouds and unicorns. It's this game! Having in mind that it wasn't designed for hardcore gamers, I can let some of the boredom resulting from the combat system's simplicity slide. But only some. [August 2011, p.70]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 85
  2. Negative: 18 out of 85
  1. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Actually, I hate MMOs because I've played most of them and they are all the same. I'm SO tired of the same old thing that I've been playing since the 90s. I don't want to play another hack/MUD/UO/Everquest/WoW regurgitation and so when my roommate told me about this game my jaw hit the floor because finally there was something out there that is made for ME.

    I went into it just waiting to be disappointed, just wanting to be let down again after so many games have let me down so I could just toss it aside like the rest. But I found something wonderful in this game that took me back to my childhood when I used to play games for the honest fun of it. I don't know why, but there's just something there. I can't explain it or why I'm seriously playing an MMO again but it really does something right for me. I dunno, maybe it's the music or the art or the old super nintendoey of it all but it really does something well that I've been missing for awhile.
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2011
    0
    This game was on course to become bigger than World of Warcraft...Then the developers decided to get greedy and tripled the real world cost of in game items. That mistake will cost them. Severely. Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    2
    You can get A misson or two Done before You have to pay or wait until the next day to have energy to play another dungeon or two. Or pay ... a lot

    Of course, levelling up also requires this same "energy" that you only accumulate until 100 (even though some items cost lots more than that in energy to even craft in game>
    This game is a pure example of greed fail.
    Full Review »