Spiral Knights PC

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Apr 4, 2011
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 196

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    It's a great game with nice visuals for a free game. The fighting mechanics are well made and so are the equipments. I've been playing this game for quite a while and I can tell you this is a rather mixed game. Although everything is more or less polished, the lack of content is worrisome. Like many free only RPG, Spiral Knights is a game of repetition and farming until you have the moneyIt's a great game with nice visuals for a free game. The fighting mechanics are well made and so are the equipments. I've been playing this game for quite a while and I can tell you this is a rather mixed game. Although everything is more or less polished, the lack of content is worrisome. Like many free only RPG, Spiral Knights is a game of repetition and farming until you have the money to buy a new set of equipment and so on. Gets boring after a while, but hey! It's free and will probably entertain you for at least a good 20 hours. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Quite fun to play, casual, simple action-arcade fighting game. MMO element makes it better, but fights are quite limited in players participating - its either a team of 4 vs AI-controlled monsters, or a group of players fighting each other. Both are lots of fun, both will get boring over time.
    As long as you play casually, 1-2 hours a day, you'll never have a problem with energy. And
    Quite fun to play, casual, simple action-arcade fighting game. MMO element makes it better, but fights are quite limited in players participating - its either a team of 4 vs AI-controlled monsters, or a group of players fighting each other. Both are lots of fun, both will get boring over time.
    As long as you play casually, 1-2 hours a day, you'll never have a problem with energy. And without that problem the game's quite fun to play.
    However, if you're a hardcore gamer, be ready to pay up: $6/month lifts the main 1-2 hour limitation of the game and allows you to play as much as you like (elevator pass for $6/month). If you're also impatient, a few hundred dollars will get you best gear you could ever hope to get, all in one sift move of your credit card. Quite sad, actually, as it kills the entire point of playing the game - you don't need to play for months to get best stuff, just pay up and its all open to you almost immediately.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    This game is fun, being repetitive and all it still manages to be fun and put challenges so you keep playing, unfortunately, the dungeons get repetitive and the enemies too, they also tend to get extremely hard to defeat making this game a little bit annoying. I don't know how this game manages to stand but it still keeps being fun besides endless repetition.
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    6
    This game has a lot of charm and a pretty nice atmosphere. The game style they chose was a very good design choice yet it falls flat because it was made a Free to Play game instead of a normal game.If energy was scraped and it was just a single payment of £10-£20 it would be much better.Still have a go at it I got just under 300 hours of game play from this.^_^
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    The game have a few down side to it, the biggest is that since it is free, there are a few things in the game that are locked and can only be unlock if you purchase the game. Other than that the game is pretty fun, especially if you invite your friends to play. I recommend you to download it, and give it a try!
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    7
    Spiral Knights New and Updated
    at first glance you think to yourself "there's no possible way i could like this game" but when you actually start to play it you will be amazed by how addicting it is
    While this game is Free to Play it has an energy system that takes 22 hours for it to recharge completely and that might not suit people. they can either decide that the game is worth their
    Spiral Knights New and Updated
    at first glance you think to yourself "there's no possible way i could like this game" but when you actually start to play it you will be amazed by how addicting it is
    While this game is Free to Play it has an energy system that takes 22 hours for it to recharge completely and that might not suit people. they can either decide that the game is worth their time and money and pay for more energy right off the bat, or they can decide it isn't good enough so ill take the free way.
    either way you decide you will still have tons of fun with this game
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    6
    Spiral Knights is a very deceptive game. It is free to play, if your happy with ~20 minutes a day in the same 8 recycled stages. At first it seems like a very casual, accessible game that is a great value. Unfortunately, if you want to advance, literally beyond the first 20 minutes of gameplay, you will have to spend money. Every single item in the game costs crowns, which is the ingameSpiral Knights is a very deceptive game. It is free to play, if your happy with ~20 minutes a day in the same 8 recycled stages. At first it seems like a very casual, accessible game that is a great value. Unfortunately, if you want to advance, literally beyond the first 20 minutes of gameplay, you will have to spend money. Every single item in the game costs crowns, which is the ingame "gold" and energy, which is real world money from your credit card. You get 100 energy for free, and it regenerates slowly back up to 100 in what is called "mist" which is just jargon for "free energy". Each dungeon delve takes 10 energy, and if you run out of your mist you either have to wait, sell off a MASSIVE amount of crowns (an amount that is unlikely to be gathered by adventuring with your mist reserves early on) or spend real world money to buy energy. Now is where the trap starts - once you get past the initial "tier 1" areas, you are locked form advancing further without upgrading to "2 star" equipment. It costs a small number of crowns and >50< energy to craft a single 2 star item(as well as a purchased recipe and materials that drop down in the dungeons), and you need a full outfit (4 items at least) to get to the "tier 2" stages. This gets progressively more intense, to access tier 3 you need 4 star items which cost 2500 crowns and 200 energy - more than is possible to have on your person without spending MASSIVE amounts of time grinding dungeons and hoping you do well, or spend real world money. This is all well and good, and even with a small investment you can get alot of play time (as of writing, 4.95$ USD will get you 1600 energy points) but you better be careful, because if you end up not liking your gear you will have to just live with it or spend more money to replace it, as all gear binds to you once you equip.

    It should also be noted that when you die in the game, it costs an uncapped, increasing amount to resurrect. First death is 5 energy, and it doubles each time, and there is seemingly no cap. This can get really, really expensive and you have to learn to control your natural instinct to click the "revive now!" button when you die. And die you will. This game plays like a hybrid of zelda/gauntlet/diablo and its really, really hard. Each weapon class has a different moveset, and some are better suited to certain types of enemies. Woe be to you who brings a striker to a wolver fight. Again, you are going to have to pay in order to have a robust array of gear once you get into the midlevel game. Enemies can be rather unbalanced, sometimes you will get hit for 10% of your life gauge, and in the next room face an enemy that hits for 75% of it. Enemies have a dodge move that allows them to slide around you, and there is no counter to this other than learn when they do it and be able to move or block and hope your block strength holds out. The gameplay is pretty rewarding once you learn the different enemy types patterns. The problem is there are not alot of enemy types, and eveything is just a palette swap from the low level enemies. The stages also, are supposedly randomly generated but in truth there are about 10 "layouts" that get randomly shuffled around and populated with creatures. It gets old very fast, and only someone who really gets their jolly's off on this type of "stab stab block" gameplay will want to stick around and spend the real money that it requires to advance in the game. The player run economy is pretty interesting, only to see how an items value will change over time as new items become popular. SEGA and Three Rings promise lots and lots of new content and this could provide for a very compelling experience at some point in the future, but as of right now there is not alot of depth or gameplay to be had. Luckily the entire system has a robust built in "demo" just from the fact that its a "F2P" game so you should know by the first day or two whether its worth it for you to spend actual money on the game.
    Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    Fun at first, but the frustrating limits that severely limit your progression to new levels unless you pay quickly get in your face. The fun lasts a bit longer if you play it with friends on voice chat, though.
  9. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    I've been playing the game on and off since it was advertised on Steam in the summer of 2011. I thought the game looked interesting, so me and my friends gave it a whirl. Weapons level up instead of the player, "dungeons" are random, the dungeons are divided into 3 levels based on the stars on your gear, and there's a stamina system. It was extremely fun at first and this was the firstI've been playing the game on and off since it was advertised on Steam in the summer of 2011. I thought the game looked interesting, so me and my friends gave it a whirl. Weapons level up instead of the player, "dungeons" are random, the dungeons are divided into 3 levels based on the stars on your gear, and there's a stamina system. It was extremely fun at first and this was the first game I played with said stamina system, I thought it was pretty cool. But as a reached the 2nd level with my gear things started to become a bit more lackluster and I found some of the same systems I loved to be a bit dull. The stamina system can sometimes leave a bit of want, if you play more casually the stamina bar shouldn't phase you, but I have had plenty of times where I would love to play a bit longer. The only way to play longer is to either a) pay for some crystal energy, b) buy crystal energy with in-game currency (crowns), or c) buy an unlimited elevator pay (Well you could just pvp a bit too). If you're not going to bother shelling out money, you'll be looking at option B, which I don't find ideal if you want to play another round of dungeons, because you will probably lose crowns (Ideally you want to buy Crystal energy when its around 6k or lower to make a little in-game money). Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING runs on the stamina system. You want to make the jump from Dungeon level 1 to 2? Sure, just use all your stamina and a couple days worth of it to upgrade your items. Need to revive because your entire team died? Just use your stamina to do it. Want a that trinket that buffs your weapon damage? Pay all your stamina and some Crystal Energy for the day. Want more weapons so you can be a bit more versatile in a dungeon? Pay all your stamina and some CE for the day. (Not to mention weapon and trinket slots don't stay unlocked... You have 30 days.) The cost of upgrading will increase steadily with each upgrade. So, you may find yourself taking a week off just to craft all those new weapons because making them costs your stamina. Essentially, being a Free to Player is going to be quite grindy. There's no problem with some grinding, it comes with MMOs, but expect it quite a bit from this game. I do think the game makers could give a bit of slack on the attempt to make players pay at some point, but good luck having any conversation on the forum when most of the members will sheepishly tell you to support them or leave. While I have no problems supporting a company (I admit I gave them 5 bucks for an elevator pass because it is the only sensible deal to me), but there is a difference between garnering support and milking, if they aren't "milking" their customers then they're pretty damn close. And to repay their loyal customers in September (or around that time) they unveiled a new endgame content. What was it? Just a rehash of the 4 bosses they currently have, just more difficult, oh and to get there you needed to find a shadow key in a lockbox (a rare item inside a rare item) and pay a bunch of CE/money to get it. Not to mention the key disappears after use. They eventually made the keys sold by a vendor, but I still find it a pretty jerk move to your loyal fans. On a more positive note, the art is pretty cool and the music is very classic sounding. The pvp can also be pretty fun, but of course it does have it balance issues (not surprising from a pure pve MMO). All in all, if you can stand the grinding and all that, Spiral Knights is a fun game to play. It's an ok game to play every-so-often or if you're a bit bored and only have an hour to devote. As of February 2012, they're planning on rolling out a mission/quest system and I'm hoping that will be fun and keep my interest for another few weeks until I take my next break. Expand
  10. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    Spiral Knights is indeed pretty fun, but it's probably the quickest "F2P" game I've ever seen in terms of herding you into spending real money to progress. The gameplay is pretty good but is repetitive even by the standard of the game Ian (the game's main dev) compares it to; PSO. Also the game is marred by even the slightest bit of lag; while enemies all telegraph their attacks for whatSpiral Knights is indeed pretty fun, but it's probably the quickest "F2P" game I've ever seen in terms of herding you into spending real money to progress. The gameplay is pretty good but is repetitive even by the standard of the game Ian (the game's main dev) compares it to; PSO. Also the game is marred by even the slightest bit of lag; while enemies all telegraph their attacks for what seems like forever, there can be so many enemies on screen that you can't tell what's going on in the **** of your party member's attacks and the enemys'. If this was released without a subscription and the energy thing was gone it would still be an 8/10 at best. That's not that's bad, but when you're nickel and diming me to play a "Decent" hack and slasher I'm afraid I'm gonna take a pass.

    Sorry Ian, but you do realize that Torchlight 2 is coming out soon right? The game that's a lot deeper, has free online play, mod support, and only charges you once? Hell, PSO2 is coming as well, nevermind Diablo 3. I know the F2P model tends to be like that, but you can't flatly offer an inferior product for more money and expect people not to raise an eyebrow.

    Now for people who don't totally get the energy thing:

    Mist Energy: Capped at 100, regenerates at 1 per 5 minutes.

    Crystal Energy: You buy this ingame with real money or an assload of ingame currency.

    Energy is required for crafting better items, and you need to pay it as an "elevator fee" to continue to every subsequent floor in the dungeons. It also costs an increasing amount of energy to revive on the spot if you die. Basically, if you're not crafting anything that day the 100 mist energy non-paying players get will give you ~10 floors of dungeon running which is like an hour or hour and a half of playtime.

    To get past the first "tier" of dungeons you need better gear, which is measured in quality from 0 to 5 stars. 2 star gear costs 50 energy per item to make, nevermind the mats and recipies. So basically, make two different 2-star items and you're done "playing" for about 24 hours if you're a non-payer.

    Anything over 3-stars requires more than 100 energy. Meaning, no pay, no play past Tier 2. Top tier items cost about 800 energy to craft. To give you an idea; you get a grand total of 8000 energy and a few other perks for paying $20. By the time you get to crafting Tier 5 items, you will have long since burned up 8000 energy.

    Even Korean F2P games are less annoying about forcing you to pay. Would recommend this higher if it wasn't a cynical cash-grab even for an F2P title.
    Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2011
    6
    Funny game, if you player it with your best friend
    Without any friend... After 2-3 hour it was very boring!
  12. Jun 16, 2011
    5
    Let's start with the good. This game has a pretty appealing art style and will run on low end computers without a problem. The structure of the game is also very addicting. You'll enter random generated levels with a given theme and monsters matching that theme, and can proceed down to more and more challenging levels and hoard up loot in the meantime. The loot can be used to craft betterLet's start with the good. This game has a pretty appealing art style and will run on low end computers without a problem. The structure of the game is also very addicting. You'll enter random generated levels with a given theme and monsters matching that theme, and can proceed down to more and more challenging levels and hoard up loot in the meantime. The loot can be used to craft better items back in the city where you have vendors and auction houses so you can buy or sell custom made items. The game is co-op oriented but you can play alone.

    Now the bad. The game is incredibly easy and repetitive. It won't be long before you get tired of the 5 or 6 themes the game uses and the reskinned monsters, reused rooms and the same 'triggers' required to continue further. Using items or switching weapons are done on roughly 2 or 3 seconds delay, so people used to the fast paced action of other dungeon crawlers will tear their hair out when they shoot something and quickly want to switch back to hacking at melee range.

    Despite being advertised as free to play, what you get for free is essentially just pathetically small amounts of game time a day. The game uses an energy system which depletes your energy with every essential thing you do, be it crafting, opening doors or descending to a lower dungeon level. The usual energy cost is 10. You get 100 for free and a level takes about 2-5 minutes to beat. Do the math. Your energy very slowly recharges back to 100 in the course of 24 hours so you'll be able to play your 20 minutes again the next day. The only way of getting additional energy is either buying for real life money or buying from other players for ridiculous amounts of in-game currency.

    To sum it up, if you're looking for either challenge, a free game you can fully enjoy, or just a decent dungeon crawler, this game is not it. If you've played every single dungeon crawler loot based game out there and are craving for more, this might scratch some of your itch but don't expect much from it.
    Expand
  13. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    Enjoyable game at first. But for a free game, you are REALLY limited to the stuff you are able to do in a SINGLE DAY (with intense emphasis on it). The game seems to be more attractive to people who can afford the real money to pay for it, and less focused on the freebie account players.
  14. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Spiral Knights is a cute, top-down Free to play Online Action RPG made by Three Rings that should be considered a lighthearted version of the mainstream Action RPG games like Diablo, Phantasy Star Online and Path of Exile. The game can also turn out good for those who play it with their friends on a casual level as 4 people can explore through the games unique method of generated dungeonsSpiral Knights is a cute, top-down Free to play Online Action RPG made by Three Rings that should be considered a lighthearted version of the mainstream Action RPG games like Diablo, Phantasy Star Online and Path of Exile. The game can also turn out good for those who play it with their friends on a casual level as 4 people can explore through the games unique method of generated dungeons that have branching paths that could change in attempt to keep things fresh. The main problem many will find themselves seeing is how the game limits the content. For those that are willing to take a bite at the game there are two things to consider, energy and the current in-game market driven by the players in the game. This review will focus on the game aspect more than the community of the game itself. In order to play this game you need energy, and you are given a mist energy tank that can hold up to 100 and recharges over time like a battery. Since going down to a level cost 10 energy, you can only do 10 levels a day at most, which some players may not like if they are actually enjoying the game. Another source of energy is called Crystal, it can be stocked up to as much as you can get but it doesn't recharge and you start with none of it. In order to get Crystal energy is either paying for it or buying it from the player-driven energy market which could inflate or drop prices dramatically on a whim. Another thing about energy is that you use it to make weapons and armor, upgrade, and activating certain things in game that needs it like prize gates or turrets. If you actually enjoy playing it, consider paying for a elevator pass to bypass energy cost. The gameplay is very simple compared to other games, you run around and hit things until they die while traversing a level that has some simple puzzles. People that played Legend of Zelda: Link's Awaking will feel a familiar vibe in the game's battle system and could actually configure the game controls to play on a Controller if they really wanted to. The Story takes place in the game's Missions, where you grow in rank to gain access to the game's later levels as well as recipes to make better equipment. If you're looking to scrap with other players, you can try Lockdown, a Team Versus Team mode where you capture points and fight off the other team to win; and Blast Network, A bomb blasting arena that pits you against others in a Bomberman style mode, this comes in Free for all and Team flavors. Since this game using a F2P model you could either shell out some money to get Crystal energy to get the needed amount for all of your high end equipment soon, or try to grind through the game on a daily basis which could possibly lead you to quitting if you are not patient. Being a player that played the game since beta and +200 hours after it's release, I can recommend this game to players that take their time in playing games with friends, rather than to plow through them to get the high-end items. Expand
  15. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    I played and liked it alot, but got borred, because there were no fresh content in game and they let kiddos that buy ingame things for real money to change price of energy in game currency to insane levels where f2p player had to grind few weeks to upgrade his item. Also introducing missions changed game, because everyone just play one mission to make more money instead of playing normalI played and liked it alot, but got borred, because there were no fresh content in game and they let kiddos that buy ingame things for real money to change price of energy in game currency to insane levels where f2p player had to grind few weeks to upgrade his item. Also introducing missions changed game, because everyone just play one mission to make more money instead of playing normal gates, what made it repetitive and borring as hell. Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2012
    6
    It's that kind of game that is nice to play with friends, but boring after a short time. If you play too much you risk to destroy the right mouse button. I say, maybe you should give it a try, if you like MMOs.
  17. Feb 9, 2013
    7
    I give this game a 7 because the 1st 80% of the game is really fun, action packed, though the last 20% of the game is really lacking as it becomes a grind fest and waiting for updates...
  18. Oct 10, 2013
    5
    I am definitely not a large fan of this game. It is not a terrible dungeon crawler, but the energy system and microtransactions required to play for longer than a short amount of time per day is ridiculous. For such a petty, childlike game, this game really knows how to bleed you dry with small fees found in every gameplay element.
    That being said, microtransactions aside, actual gameplay
    I am definitely not a large fan of this game. It is not a terrible dungeon crawler, but the energy system and microtransactions required to play for longer than a short amount of time per day is ridiculous. For such a petty, childlike game, this game really knows how to bleed you dry with small fees found in every gameplay element.
    That being said, microtransactions aside, actual gameplay can be entertaining with friends.
    Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    i like this game because its a game you can play when you need to see something cute and something you can take it easy and play with your friends, all the ones saying that you need pay to get somewhere have not been playing for long at all. if you play it for some time you will see that its just about killing a little.
  20. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    Sometimes, games attempt to mix many genres at once, forming a massive ball of random that is ultimately found to be a fun experience. Other times it ends up a clusterf*ck. Surprisingly enough, this game reaches a medium. Its combination of Zelda-esc puzzle solving and combat and MMO style community integration can be satisfying, however, the game has some serious downsides. Spiral KnightsSometimes, games attempt to mix many genres at once, forming a massive ball of random that is ultimately found to be a fun experience. Other times it ends up a clusterf*ck. Surprisingly enough, this game reaches a medium. Its combination of Zelda-esc puzzle solving and combat and MMO style community integration can be satisfying, however, the game has some serious downsides. Spiral Knights is poorly optimized, with long load times and unusual amounts of lag for such a graphically un-intensive game. It also has an extremely boring, long, drawn-out story that sounds like it was written for a college essay, rather than an MMORPG. The game is certainly playable, and you may have fun with it, but don't be surprised when you find yourself uninstalling the game. Also, I suggest not purchasing DLC, as this is not a game I would sink money into. Expand
  21. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    This game is eh.. But once your missions don't load and you can't get very far and you end up having to pay if you want a good weapon but I'm still saying it's eh..
  22. Aug 4, 2014
    5
    I have been a fan of this game for awhile, but this game hasn't progressed much for about several months. We haven't had a new tier 3 boss other than Seerus from Operation Crimson Hammer and most of the new content are in the form of promotion of accessories or events like the March of the Tortodrone.

    I liked the fact that the mist system is gone and everyone can play as much as they
    I have been a fan of this game for awhile, but this game hasn't progressed much for about several months. We haven't had a new tier 3 boss other than Seerus from Operation Crimson Hammer and most of the new content are in the form of promotion of accessories or events like the March of the Tortodrone.

    I liked the fact that the mist system is gone and everyone can play as much as they want in this game now. Even the battle sprites were cool when they were released. I missed the fact that you can't give half your health to revive teammates anymore. That element really helps out with teamwork and make you care about your teammates. They took that out and replaced it with a system where you use up a spark of life to revive and that you can't help your teammates get up anymore. There are some good sides to that system and bad sides. I guess they were trying to help the new players out since running a full party increases the difficulty of the run so if you have some newbie die all the time and you have to spend half of your life reviving him every time, you probably would be pissed off. Because that newbie is endangering your life and ruining the run. When party leaders see people like this, they immediately kick them out of the party and they are left to fend for themselves and the newbies usually die and left with no one to pick him or her up. They saw the flaw in that system and that it is harsh towards new players so they changed everything. Back then, people have to share vials, pills, and remedies. Now each player gets their own items, pills, and remedies and also the loot is separate. That means you can survive without having anyone drag you down to death. Unfortunately, that system is still flawed since newbies still die constantly even having all these changes. Then they proceed to use up all their sparks of lives and then they start begging for people for a spark of life. When that happens, they usually get booted or someone is kind enough to give them another spark and then they die again and they repeat the begging process. Pretty much, the newbies are not well liked here. There is the emergency revive function which gets you one free revive each level. I think that was the smartest idea they had for the whole change. People make mistakes and it what makes us human or robots or knights that spin around hence the name Spiral Knights.

    The forge system was created to make things harder for people. Back in the past, you would just heat your items up and they would go through several levels without you worrying about fire crystals. Now to level up your items, you would have to heat them through the first level, use a certain amount of fire crystals to level up your item, then go out and heat your item again. Then of course you would have to level up your item with some more fire crystals. The system is not all that bad when you realize that getting fire crystals is pretty easy except for Radiant Fire Crystals. In the past, shining fire crystals were the hardest to come by since there weren't many depths that dropped them. When OOO changed it up a bit, they made it extremely hard for people to get Radiant Fire Crystals. This nerf made people go insane. The only depth that dropped them was depth 28 and maybe depth 27. That made a lot of people leave since the amount of time to level up a 5 star weapon or armor was too long. OOO buffed the drop rate for the radiant fire crystals like 2-3 months after that nerf which made things better so now you don't have to have a grindfest. My only complaint of this new forge system is that you have either have to be in an arsenal station or in haven/ready room to forge. I see people saying brb forge, going to haven and coming back to the party. That is quite annoying for people just to go through that just to level up an item once. Also, I feel like they should add a second function for the heat you find in levels. If people already heated up their items, maybe they could use the excess heat to make some fire crystals. I go down plenty of levels and looking at the heat screen at each end of the level is quite sad. All that heat down the drain for nothing. Why did I even see heat drop from creatures if I don't need it.

    My number one complaint about this game is the community. I'm pretty sure every game has these kind of people, but I encounter these people all too often. Either you get the newbie that wants you to help him out with every single mission, or you get the arrogant veteran that tells you that your weapon choices are bad and that you should quit.

    My only hope is that the gunner update changes things up a bit. The only reason I can think of why the gunner update is delayed is that they are doing an arcade redux which was promised or some new levels and content and maybe a new boss. It seems like it since they added some more story dialogue and changed things up a bit at the end of the Roarmulus Twins treasure room along with the other treasure room
    Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    Before you read i must say that i have had the game for nearly two years and i will tell you my experience. Spiral knights DOES have a good feel to it. The music and artwork suits the type of game perfectly. It is the only MMO i enjoy playing. Unfortunately, there is a few problems.
    1. The micro-transactions will drive you insane! (but i guess that's what you will expect with a free to
    Before you read i must say that i have had the game for nearly two years and i will tell you my experience. Spiral knights DOES have a good feel to it. The music and artwork suits the type of game perfectly. It is the only MMO i enjoy playing. Unfortunately, there is a few problems.
    1. The micro-transactions will drive you insane! (but i guess that's what you will expect with a free to play) At first they had a mechanic that limited you to how many missions you could play unless you paid them money. Luckily they have half got rid of this dreadful tool that meant you could only play a couple missions a day. Now, they have put it in the revive system. Before, you revived someone by giving them half your health which is fair. Now, you have to use life crystals to revive...Which either cost money or you can wait one day.

    2. The games mechanics are very annoying! If you get this game get ready for the AI to do damage to you when they are on the opposite part of the room. When you try to switch weapons you will mash the buttons repetitively until you figure out you cant switch weapons until a couple of seconds after you have stopped attacking. This may not seem like much but when you are versing lots of mobs it gets pretty irritating

    3. Some things that will help spiral knights would be these:
    * Take out micro payments even if you put a price on it.
    *Polish up the mechanics
    * So far, the developers are fixing the mistakes from the launch date so keep it up guys

    I want to rate this a 10. If i paid money for the game and it didn't have any micro-transactions or annoying mechanics i would invest hours into it. Great idea for a game but it suffers from what most free to play's suffer from.
    Expand
  24. Oct 24, 2014
    7
    Let's start with the good or this game. The story is rich and sometimes, the game leaves you wondering. The game is one of those games with a special charm to it. Whether or not it's the graphics, game play, combat, there's just something that makes it fun. The downside is that there are sections and enemies that can be very annoying at times, obstacles everywhere, and energy, OH ENERGY!Let's start with the good or this game. The story is rich and sometimes, the game leaves you wondering. The game is one of those games with a special charm to it. Whether or not it's the graphics, game play, combat, there's just something that makes it fun. The downside is that there are sections and enemies that can be very annoying at times, obstacles everywhere, and energy, OH ENERGY! Just replace the energy symbol with **** enough said. Expand
  25. Jan 5, 2015
    7
    I really like this game, From the weapons, to the combat, to the random loot and so on. However the storyline isn't very interesting and it mostly comes in play when you complete a mission that you 50% percent of the time had to pay some cash for. Sure, it's a pay-to-play concept sometimes but for an average Joe with a lot of dough it's not a big deal but if you aren't an average Joe theI really like this game, From the weapons, to the combat, to the random loot and so on. However the storyline isn't very interesting and it mostly comes in play when you complete a mission that you 50% percent of the time had to pay some cash for. Sure, it's a pay-to-play concept sometimes but for an average Joe with a lot of dough it's not a big deal but if you aren't an average Joe the game goes very slowly without paying at least a couple of pennies, so after a while it can get tiring so a break is most oftenly in order.

    Pros:

    + Random loot keeps the game going (sometimes)

    Cons:

    - Imagination is 95% of the storyline.
    - Pay-to-play concept
    - Gets boring if you play for too long.

    In other words this is one of the games i would play just for one reason, which is pretty bad. Still, this game is entertaining in my opinion and by that: This gets a "meh but still good" score.
    Expand
  26. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    I didn't think much of Spiral Knights at first, just stopping in for the hat and moving on. But I chanced to play it with some friends and I disovered it's very entertaining in groups. It's a light-hearted, zelda-esque dungeon crawler with fairly fast-paced and entertaining combat, and obnoxious real-money purchases not withstanding, there's little to complain about. I can fairly say it'sI didn't think much of Spiral Knights at first, just stopping in for the hat and moving on. But I chanced to play it with some friends and I disovered it's very entertaining in groups. It's a light-hearted, zelda-esque dungeon crawler with fairly fast-paced and entertaining combat, and obnoxious real-money purchases not withstanding, there's little to complain about. I can fairly say it's boring when played alone, so play it with friends. Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2016
    6
    When this game came out, it was fun, it had a lot of potential, it was original, the soundtrack is good. Think of an old-school Zelda mixed with hack'n'slash and MMO in a futuristic atmosphere. This game was deep and had a lot of replayability. Until they started to change price of items to milk more money. It killed the game. It's a good game in its core, but it was badly managed (theyWhen this game came out, it was fun, it had a lot of potential, it was original, the soundtrack is good. Think of an old-school Zelda mixed with hack'n'slash and MMO in a futuristic atmosphere. This game was deep and had a lot of replayability. Until they started to change price of items to milk more money. It killed the game. It's a good game in its core, but it was badly managed (they never intended to let it live, they wanted to grab the cash and kill it rightafter). It's sad for the creators of the game, because it was a good game. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 18, 2012
    64
    Ultimately, I'd encourage you to give Spiral Knights a go as you'll know before you've expended your first 100 points of mist energy whether you want to keep playing. The question of whether you'll have the strength I lacked to grind your way out of the constrictions of the energy system is another question entirely. If you treat the game as a dip in/dip out sort of affair, then I think it's possible to really enjoy it.
  2. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2011
    60
    When I look at this game it reminds me of the humorous Diablo 3 logo. The one with the sun, rainbow, clouds and unicorns. It's this game! Having in mind that it wasn't designed for hardcore gamers, I can let some of the boredom resulting from the combat system's simplicity slide. But only some. [August 2011, p.70]
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    51
    Spiral Knights is fast, accessible and fun until the spiteful pricing system pops up to punch you in the face.