Splice PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    This is a unique take on puzzle games, where you manipulate little capsules attached to one another in order to match the shape of the outline you're given as a blueprint. You have limited moves, or splices, and small options change what you can do on each level. One will split and create a mirror of whatever is attached to it. The difficulty of the game increases, and is very immersiveThis is a unique take on puzzle games, where you manipulate little capsules attached to one another in order to match the shape of the outline you're given as a blueprint. You have limited moves, or splices, and small options change what you can do on each level. One will split and create a mirror of whatever is attached to it. The difficulty of the game increases, and is very immersive with the music. It's challenging, and very well done. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes puzzle games, and ethereal graphics. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    If you like puzzles then you will love this game. The music is fantastic and the backgrounds are a relaxing color which is a nice change after a day of stressful shooter games. With each new Sequence (level) you are given a new type of gene that has a unique ability you must use to solve the strands and there are multiple ways to solve each strand.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Using Metacritic as a reference for some time to help me decide what game to buy, I decided to pitch in and help writing reviews, this being the first because I think it is a pretty awesome game. The game is quite a masterpiece, it's simplistic yet challanging. Has one of the best soundtracks I've ever encountered and is easy to get in to.The difficulty is okay in the first sequences, notUsing Metacritic as a reference for some time to help me decide what game to buy, I decided to pitch in and help writing reviews, this being the first because I think it is a pretty awesome game. The game is quite a masterpiece, it's simplistic yet challanging. Has one of the best soundtracks I've ever encountered and is easy to get in to.The difficulty is okay in the first sequences, not too hard but has some brainbreakers. It starts getting tricky after the regular sequences and sucks you in even further, Conclusion: A must buy for people who like playing puzzle games! Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzlers I've ever played. The game does a really good job of explaining what to do without even saying anything (I learned the game entirely without looking at the help screen it offers) and the puzzles have that unique quality where they seem impossible until you have a sudden and gratifying flash of insight.

    I don't even LIKE puzzle games, and I loved this. Definite buy.
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    If you like puzzle games it is very good bet that you will like this one. Difficulty is increasing somewhat steeply i would say and playing is quite rewarding. Graphic is very simplistic but design of menus and level has some really nice element to it. Soundtrack is also great.
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    I love a good puzzle game. And this one is no exception. What captivated me was the beautiful graphics and great soundtrack. Now, this doesn't mean the gameplay was the worst part. Getting right into the game, might not be so easy. As there are no real tutorials or instructions. But, I guess that's what makes it more challenging. They leave you to figure out the basics of the game, andI love a good puzzle game. And this one is no exception. What captivated me was the beautiful graphics and great soundtrack. Now, this doesn't mean the gameplay was the worst part. Getting right into the game, might not be so easy. As there are no real tutorials or instructions. But, I guess that's what makes it more challenging. They leave you to figure out the basics of the game, and progresses in difficulty quite rapidly. Splice is wonderful casual puzzler, which is sure to delight casual gamers, and those looking for a good, calming puzzler. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    An interesting concept. I haven't seen anything like this. Once I started playing this game, I was hooked up with it immediately. Some of the puzzles are difficult enough to challenge your brains. I would recommend this game to any puzzle game lovers. Unfortunately the game is rather short. I finished the game in about 20 hrs including Angelic awards (which are awarded when you solve theAn interesting concept. I haven't seen anything like this. Once I started playing this game, I was hooked up with it immediately. Some of the puzzles are difficult enough to challenge your brains. I would recommend this game to any puzzle game lovers. Unfortunately the game is rather short. I finished the game in about 20 hrs including Angelic awards (which are awarded when you solve the puzzles by the best possible solution). This is very short compared with many other puzzle games around. I wish that they will expand the game by DLCs. Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This is one of the more intriguing puzzle games I have ever played. It has such a unique concept that you get to play with unlike any other puzzle game I have ever played. It gives your brain a nice workout without the frustration that many puzzle games bring with them. The music is utterly fantastic and complements the game beautifully just adding to this wonderful experience. I couldThis is one of the more intriguing puzzle games I have ever played. It has such a unique concept that you get to play with unlike any other puzzle game I have ever played. It gives your brain a nice workout without the frustration that many puzzle games bring with them. The music is utterly fantastic and complements the game beautifully just adding to this wonderful experience. I could not be more pleased with this game. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    The design, graphics, and soundtrack of Splice are amazingly beautiful and simple. Though the game is on the short side, it remains challenging without being frustrating. Altogether, it is very elegant and absorbing for a casual puzzle game.
  10. Jan 1, 2016
    10
    Manipulating a binary tree to fit a template shape with minimum operations. Fantastically simple mechanic and best puzzle game I've ever played. Perfect for the computer scientist.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    80
    From the random clicking and solving the first strains by mistake, up to the most complex efforts of deliberate scheming through the last sequences, Splice can make someone feel stupid and genius, at the same timeā€¦ [August 2012]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Aug 12, 2012
    68
    A puzzler that remains short of an epiphany. [Sept 2012, p.85]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 10, 2012
    70
    Small casual game with potential to become the logical game of the year. Its only disadvantage is in its extreme shortness. [Issue#220]