Spore Creature Creator Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Spore Creature Creator gives Spore fans, and those who are creatively curious, the first hands-on opportunity to design their own species and share it with their friends. All creatures designed with the Spore Creature Creator can be imported into the full retail version of Spore for PCThe Spore Creature Creator gives Spore fans, and those who are creatively curious, the first hands-on opportunity to design their own species and share it with their friends. All creatures designed with the Spore Creature Creator can be imported into the full retail version of Spore for PC and Mac. The demo lets players shape, paint and play with an unlimited number of creatures, using 25 percent of the creature-making parts from Spore. Gamers can then share these creations with their friends, including seamless uploads to YouTube. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. While it acts like a pre-order incentive, in actual fact, playing the Creature Creator, it absolutely justifies itself. Even if you never plan to play Spore, it's absolutely essential you play this.
  2. A wonderful toy that easily justifies the price. [Sept 2008, p.82]
  3. The amount of customization with each body part is quite astonishing.
  4. The Creature Creator isn't much more than a marketing tool for the upcoming Spore. Anyone itching to get their hands on the game will certainly enjoy the chance to play with the tools and build and share creatures with like-minded players.
  5. Spore: Creature Creator tells me a few things: creating new species is great fun, creation tools can be simple yet deep, people will always make the rudest things possible, and Spore is going to be a massively popular PC release.
  6. Proof that learning about evolution can be enjoyable. The automated upload to YouTube was an especially brilliant idea. I've never had so much fun for the price of a big pizza. [Aug 2008]
  7. Concocting cool critters is incredibly addictive, and the ability to save any and all of your beasts for future use in the game is pretty awesome.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. AtleeH.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Though the asking price of $10.00 might seem like a lot for something you could get in September, the creature creator is a wonderfully fun Though the asking price of $10.00 might seem like a lot for something you could get in September, the creature creator is a wonderfully fun and intuitive start for your future Spore gaming experience. Expand
  2. RonaldYu
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Wel my english is not that very good, but I would like to say this game is very good and fun yes. In includes option to make creatures thatWel my english is not that very good, but I would like to say this game is very good and fun yes. In includes option to make creatures that look like dick's i have seen on the internet HAHA! it makes me laugh very much when I shoewed the dicks to my mother. Expand
  3. TS
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    For ten bucks you can't get a better source of entertainment. If the creature builder is this good, I can't wait for the game.
  4. ChrisR.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    This is a great demo for most certainly a great game. I can't give it a 10 because it's only a demo, but It will still offer hours of fun.
  5. PaulaF.
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Fantastic 3D jumpstarted! the first time you log in you'll be creating awesome stuff. Very addicting. Looking forward to the full game Fantastic 3D jumpstarted! the first time you log in you'll be creating awesome stuff. Very addicting. Looking forward to the full game play in sept. Expand
  6. SamF.
    Jul 20, 2008
    8
    The idea to let the public make the creatures is genius and its made so anyone can easily make pretty much anything they can think of. The The idea to let the public make the creatures is genius and its made so anyone can easily make pretty much anything they can think of. The backgrounds look cheap though with a 2d look to the ground ,but perhaps this will change in the full game. Your given a variety of parts to make your creature with an endless omount of color choices and textures to choose from. I really think the sucess of spore will rely on the full game and how all these creatures play out in game. If the game itself is fun to play it will surely be a hit. Expand
  7. CameronB.
    Oct 28, 2008
    2
    I've been following Spore for several years now, waiting with baited breath as Will Wright showed off his masterpiece at different I've been following Spore for several years now, waiting with baited breath as Will Wright showed off his masterpiece at different conventions. What he was attempting was truly amazing; user-generated content, procedurally textured and animated. I devoured every preview as they came out, barely able to wait for what would naturally be one of the greatest games ever. So when I finally got to play Spore, I was almost entirely let down. Somewhere along the line, everything that had made the game unique and exciting had been replaced with content that we haven't just seen before, we've seen it done a whole lot better. No creature animations based on where body parts are placed - every animation is the same. No living, breathing ecosystem - animals stand around their nests, doing absolutely nothing. No interesting creatures to be made in the cell stage - we're limited to making blobs. No real planet terraforming in the space stage - you just dump a few different plant and animal types down and they magically spread all over the planet. The creature, building and vehicle editors are, however, fun to tinker around in. Essentially, Spore is a mere shadow of what was promised. What we got was a series of minigames, none of them terribly interesting or entertaining. There are expansion packs planned. These could perhaps change Spore into what it was supposed to be, but I for one won't be buying them. I was promised a Ferrari, I got a toddler's tricycle. Such a disappointment. Collapse

See all 20 User Reviews