User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1486 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    4
    Why such a genial and complex idea has to be brutally trivialized and simplified to such a ridiculous extend? This game bored me really really fast and editing the creature was actually the most enjoyable part of it. The rest is a boring and repeatable game that uses same old rts schemes one can see in so many games, but implemented very poorly and limited to its rudimentary options.
  2. Apr 10, 2011
    1
    Where is the game that Will Wright showed off in the pre-release trailers? It's not what ended up in the final product. The only remaining vestige of the game that we saw in the pre-release trailers is the cell stage- where it actually matters what parts you choose, and where you place them. Beyond that, it's "Oh, let's make my character look pretty". I'm sorry, but that doesn't interest me. Where you place arms, legs, head- it doesn't matter beyond the cell stage. Playing up through the space stage was mildly entertaining the first time through- but that's about all it's worth. I'm giving this a 1 due to the fact I felt like the developers gutted the best portion of this game- evolution. I am deeply disappointed. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    1
    I feel cheated. I was promised a revolutionary, unique game, instead I got sold a child game... Thats what it is. Its basically 5 extremely easy mini games in one, plus this anti-creative "creature creation". Pick 5 random animals that come to your head, then try make them in this creator, you can't, this game only allows you make some unrealistic freaks that all look similiar. This is the biggest disappointment in gaming history, not worst game ever though, if they said it was supposed to be an game for children in the first place, it could aim for best one ever, but it pretends to be what its not. I beated the game in one day, not even a day but few hours, i didnt launch it ever since then. If you want to buy it for your 8 year old kid, go for it, but if youre a gamer and looking for a good game, forget about it. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    Without knowing about the E3 2005 to 2007 version, I would rate this game 8 out of 10, but then, I was disappointed that the Spore in the released version has the limit on the complexity of the creator, one of the main letdown to me. Another things that weren't as great as the beta version in my opinion is that it doesn't have great visuals, and the actings of those creatures are a little too stupid, and usually their arms act the some and often the legs acts the same. Another main letdown is that their voice acting are stupid and repeatably. This cause me always have to playing it without the sounds or listening other sounds.
    When I started playing, I thought it was great, and also by looking the offical reviews, they are also having high ratings. Seriously, why is this so great anyway? I need to use some hack to make no limitation in creature creator, and those creatures aren't normal creatures. They are stupid, allying with others are too easy, and attacks are not good enough. Even it's got infinite possibilities, it's still not good enough.
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    Spore is a brilliant game the first time you play it. Afterwards, its just boring and far, far, far, far, far, far too easy. The game's graphics are extremely childish and unrealistic but that said the concept of the game and its gameplay is really good. Creating a creature is tons of fun and then being able to play as it, be it herbivore, carnivore or omnivore but some of the controls are rather...dogy. The game has a lot of possibilites but had a lot of potential it hasn't met. Its surprising the game is 4 years old already! Its seems like only last year when i bought it for the first time. Its a good game, not brilliant but its creativity and concept do give it some credit. Its a game more for children - EA really has centred on child safety and friendly games, especially on Spore. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    2
    Probably the most disappointing game i have ever played. The creature editor is incredible fun, lots of designs, lots of creativity. Too bad 90% of it is purely cosmetic. doesn't matter where you place those horns, you will get +2 attack and so on. Later in the game, the creature's characteristics are funneled tighter again and again until you have been reduced to "warrior" "banker" or "diplomat" essentially. the space phase is incredibly dull once you realize the rest of the experience will be more of the same. go to planet, drop colony, come back later and collect resources. then use resources to do it again someplace else. I pre-ordered this game, Have not pre-ordered a game ever since. I have however visited alot of torrent sites since then Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    What the f*** is with all of the bad reviews? Sure, its a terrible excuse for the trailers, but you shouldn't just give it an instant 0. Even though I was still disappointed myself, its still an enjoyable game. In what other game will you be able make and evolve your own space-faring species and conquer the galaxy? Its very fun to also just make creatures, and flex your creative mind.
  8. CRL
    Nov 6, 2011
    8
    I, having never seen the original E3 trailers for this game, give it a 8/10. The creators were unlike anything I've ever seen, and they eat up hours of your time by themselves. There's always something new you can make, and since getting this game I've probably made hundreds of creatures and vehicles. The story mode itself is also pretty fun, with my favorite being the Civilization stage. The final stage, Space, is a bit of an RPG as well, and you have an entire galaxy to explore. So, without knowledge of what it could have been, I'll say this was a great game. Expand
  9. Jul 20, 2012
    4
    First off: I was so so disappointed in this game. Brilliant concept, but terrible terrible game. I feel it was intentionally dumbed down from the start with the intention of selling loads of add-ons and DLC. It was SO dumbed down that there's hardly much game at all there - at least in the initial launch. I gave up on it - very unrewarding gameplay. I expected sandbox, not constant conflict/pirates/eco-missions, but by the time you get powerful enough to play a sandbox game there's nothing left but repetition of the same. The quotes "You've got a whole galaxy to do nothing in" are true. It's like playing Tic-Tac-Toe for the 1000th time. All the same.
    But the game's not all bad. What's good? The creature creators. Before the game was released I had a blast building creatures that I expected would be part of my gameworld (only a few of the 100s I created actually showed up in my game). I've definitely spent more time building creatures and spaceships than I spent playing the "game". I give it 4 because I did have alot of fun with the creature creators, but don't expect much of a game here unless you're 8yrs old. Anyhow, that's my $0.02
    Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Many people who complain about how much the game has downgraded since the 2005 version forget that it's still a GOOD game overall. The core game is really more of a pleasant distraction; the true appeal lies in the creators, which allow you to create anything - anything at all - if you're creative enough. Still, there's something succinctly endearing about watching your own creation grow and mature as you guide it from microbe to spaceman. It could do with expansion and development of the core concept, and I would be lying if I were to say that I wouldn't welcome a more fleshed-out creature stage, but the things that are lacking aren't strictly needed. All in all, this is an engrossing, likable envisionment of a wonderful concept that will appeal most to the casual demographic. Expand
  11. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    I really like this game! I'll be honest, I have NO IDEA Why so many people say this game is no good! I mean, the fact that this game has a 4.7 rating is clearly showing something about humanity. It looks like Halo and COD have taken over...*Sigh* I'll be honest, the cell stage was kind of boring, and Tribal Stage didn't appeal to me, but the game in itself was great. The design for all the creatures you could create (in Creature Stage, the one directly after Cell) is amazing. So many patterns, so many designs...It amazes me. My personal favorite stage is Civilization. I just love the amount of variation that can happen depending on what difficulty you set your game to, and which kind of Civilization you chose to be! Now, everything here was setting you up the Space Stage. A lot of bad reviews are just people saying "THIS ONE IS TOO REPETITIVE AND ALL I DO IS DIE." So what? You die in other games, too. I actually had one person tell me in person that they didn't like all the dying, and that they'd rather go play an FPS game. This...I...I think I slapped them multiple times for that. It baffled me at how moronic the statement was, and if you don't get why, you should STOP playing video games, and go outside. Back to Space Stage. It's fun! It IS a bit redundant, much like this review, but I still enjoy making trade routes, setting up on other planet, and ANNIHILATING MY ENEMIES! Definitely recommended in my opinion. Get on Steam or in a local store! Expand
  12. Aug 30, 2012
    0
    The fact some people says this game is fantastic is just an evidence some comments are made by the producer.
    The fact so much review from 'professionals' are positive are the evidence there is some kind of bribery in the sector.
    One word: CRAP.
  13. Jul 17, 2011
    3
    THE GOOD: The first stage. THE BAD: Pretty much all the other stages. Each one is far too simple and repetitive. THE UGLY: Seriously, who thought grinding for money in the space stage was a good idea?
  14. Aug 25, 2011
    1
    Not worth the time. The premise is nice, but fails in execution. Essentially there are 5 stages in the game, each of which has fairly simple goals and basically 2 directions to take them: violent or peaceful. Actions in one stage barely affect the next stage, and each stage gets to the point where there is nothing left to do except move on. The DRM did not help the game, and getting creature designs from friends was very inconsistent; you could very well never find the creatures you downloaded, as everything is randomly assigned in camps. This was an incomplete game, falling short of where it was lauded to be, and beginning the downturn of the Sim games and Wright's impact on games. Expand
  15. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    I was waiting about 2 years for this game to come out. Few months before the premiere I couldn't stop thinking about it. But after the premiere...at first I was like "Omg I finnaly have it! Weeee!" after installation and playing a bit "Wait, where is all this content, where is realistic evolution and all this epic stuff they told they will implent in the game?" after few days I knew that buying this game was a huge waste of money. The creators are awesome, but the game itself sucks. So many things has been cut from the game before relasing it...it could have been an awesome game. I've bought the expansion (not the new body parts though cuz it was damn expensive for such a little addon) hoping it will fix the game but it didn't. It's a good game for 10 yrs old kid but for older people it will seem silly and too much childish. **** EA for what they done with this game. Of course the reason for ****ing it up was money, the childish game about creating funny creatures and dominating the space (which is so repetitive boring and definitely not realistic) would make more money! I doubt it did though, but they've managed to break the game. I don't recommend it unless you're buying a present for someone who is Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    Spore is a 5 stage evolution game that sucks. The game begins with you selecting a world to play in the massive galaxy. This is completely irrelevant, as the only differences between worlds are the color of the ocean and ground. Then you are in the cell stage. The idea is to collect food and evolve your creature. So you will decide if you want to be a carnivore or herbivore. This is done through selecting a mouth style. Herbivores will spend this part of the game finding plants to eat, and carnivores will attack the other cell creatures. While cool at first, there are only a dozen or so creatures in this stage to attack. They are cool to see at first, but after seeing the same things a dozen times over, they lose their magic. Upon eating enough food, you will grow in size and be able to edit your species. You can add different eyes, and other attachments. They do things like make you faster, or able to kill faster. The problem is that none of these choices are permanent. You don't decide at one point in the stage that you are a herbivore, you can change any time you level up. So itâ Expand
  17. May 21, 2012
    7
    It's not for everyone. The creature and space stage is the most interesting, while the cell stage served well as mini game. Creature creator probably one of the best sandbox I've seen lately. The rest? Meh
  18. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    Spore was definitely a long waited game by MAXIS. It was a fresh entry to the gaming world. Its take on evolution and civilization was great. It presented a funny and interesting view on how organisms interact and progress through life. With these great qualities said, SPORE unfortunately was not all that great. Lets take it generation by generation: The microbial stage was pretty fun. It involved your player simply eating and surviving, the main objective for any organism. It was an arcade stylish adventure. It was quite simple yet a little boring after awhile. The land stage was pretty similar, how ever things got a bit more challenging. Interaction with other species, whether your fighting them or socializing, made the game quite fun in that aspect, but again it was all just too simple and not challenging. The civilization stage was very boring in my eyes. It was a simple take on the strategy genre; make units and either fight or convert. The space stage was a bit fun, but again it was all too similar to the civilization stage in that you either traded and became friends with other species or attacked.

    As I summed up the levels of play, it was all in fact not challenging at all, granted there were some times that your character gets killed in the early stages, but thats it. You just restart and do the same thing again. It is all too simple in that a player can easily wipe out all other civilizations and species to dominate the globe, I found it pointless to be the peaceful, especially since the objectives never change, it was simply "Be the only one standing", so why do anything but destroy the other civilizations or species. The evolution qualities were quite fun to add to your creature as it grew, but there was not alot of variety. It ended up being pointless by the time your creature evolved to civilization. Creating your units and buildings were the same. It didn't matter how many wheels or guns you put on your vehicle since they all had the same attack and movement. I felt it took every bit of creativity out of this game, and designing was completely pointless. The AI was not challenging at all in any of the stages which just made the game into an interesting educational game.

    SPORE had alot riding on it. It was a great idea for the gaming world, especially for me since I always fascinated by a evolution sim game, and who better to do it than the creators of The SIMS. How ever this game fell very short of great. There could have been alot more done to this game to make it great.

    I say this game is average for the average gamer. You dont have to be a hardcore shooter or a deep thinking micro strategist to enjoy it. The presentation of it offers alot, but there is not much variety to game play. Hopefully another addition to the gaming world like spore will come along, but present a better quality game.
    Expand
  19. May 19, 2012
    2
    It had an incredible amount of potential, but fell flat on its face. The game would have been better if if didn't look like it was designed for children. It could have been a revolutionary game if not for the mindbogglingly idiotic AI. The entire idea has been trivialized and simplified to the point where the only good thing about it is the Cell and Space Stages and that's it. The game that Will Wright showed in 2005 was slaughtered by the bastards at EA and turned into a game for children. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    TL;DR You're playing the remains of Will Wrights hopes and dreams.

    Oh what a disappointment...i'll just keep this short, Spore fell short of the hype and Will Wright has a tombstone somewhere right next to Squidward's, i'm sure. The problems are the dumbed down editor, relatively short pre-Space modes, and just the fact that every stage except for the Space stage feels like a minigame,
    not seperate parts within the game itself. It introduced some new concepts, of course, but it simply did not make the game as interesting or as fun as it was imagined. The fact that EA then later charged for DLC packs was like spitting on Will's grave as EA just walked on by. Overall, it was a game with a lot of promise that simply fell very short and ended up being a "play a bunch of minigames before the final mode which is just as repetitive" type game with a very simple creature designer tacked on. Expand
  21. Oct 11, 2010
    3
    Not really a favorite. Had no mind to it, it really wasn't any fun creating something like this to a wide majority of people. I found the free version inside The Daily Telegraph more fun, in reality. This game should really have only been made for the people who sit down for hours creating something and watching it do stuff, not a huge majority of people. Will Wright, nice try mate, but not enough. Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Spore was an interesting experience for me, i received it as a gift and not knowing much about it i played through it, the game is divided in to 5 games really which deserve a short review each...

    Cell Stage (9/10) : personally this is my favorite part of the game, although depressingly simple in the amount of options you get, and pathetically short. it is always the stage i go back too,
    the graphics in this stage are perfect, and the gameplay is actually fun, the satisfaction you get as a herbivore when you find a huge plant or when you take out a massive enemy, its a pity there was so little variety because it could have amazing.

    Creature Stage (6/10) : when it comes to creature stage, you finally have some real options to advance your creature, plenty of parts and customization, unfortunately at the same time the gameplay takes a huge hit, its just no fun going up to random creatures and eating/friending them, which is practically all you do for one agonizing hour+ depending on the difficulty.

    Tribal Stage (4/10) : tribal stage is basically an extremely simplified strategy game, its neither fun nor challenging, but fortunately it only takes 20 minutes.

    Civilization Stage (5/10) : civilization stage is a mixed bag, although designing buildings and vehicles is fun, the game its self is pretty limited, and basically involves building as many cars as you can afford and pointing them at other cities, this can take under 15 minutes depending on the difficulty

    Space Stage (7/10) : probably the stage i spent the least amount of time in, not because there's not a lot to do, in fact its by far the largest stage but because everything you do in it is boring. flying from planet to planet trading, colonizing and conquering sounds fun on premise but when it comes actually time to doing it, it becomes rather repetitive.
    Expand
  23. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    The evolution is too fast, in my opinion, it would have been great to go deeper into every step of it. Graphics could have been better too, but it is ok, if you like that style they used. The creature creator is complex and with a wide variety, but you get used to it pretty fast. I never really unterstood the galaxy-related part, which is the last and longest part of the game, but as far as I can rate it, it seems quite good.

    I see the best use of this game on a LAN-party with several others and play it in a competition, like a speed run. ;)
    Expand
  24. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    Instead of giving us good content through one age, average at best content are spreaded out across five dull eras and a really boring repetitive space age.
  25. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    It won't change your life, and it won't bring your money back. But it's fun and stays to be so. It has a impressive performance, pretty lame graphics, but it's reliable, and original. It's an Average to Positive game. Buy it if your interested. Just don't cry if it's not as good as you thought it was.
  26. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    I am honestly disappointed that this game has gotten bad user reviews so far. In my opinion, this is a great game that took a lot of hard time and effort to make. The style of the game is very unique, like a cross between The Sims and and one of those strategy progressive games like Age of Empires, although the space stage is more like a star wars/star trek epic, and the creature stage is more like the Sims than the other parts. I, being a huge nerd and Sci-Fi fan, loved this game when it first came out. The scientific elements is very realistic for a very cartoon-ish game, and can be very educational for kids about the age of 8-14. A lot of people are complaining because they feel that the game is centered around the creature creator, but that's not what the game is about. It's about creating these creatures and paving the way of their outcome till they become every thing you've dreamed of. Well, maybe it's not the game for everyone, but I think more people should give the game a chance. Expand
  27. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    Given all the hype surrounding Spore it was always going to struggle to live up to expectations, there is a difference between failing to meet expectations and missing them entirely however.

    As a game it is really nothing more than a collection of simple mini games with very little tying them together, for the most part choices in one game have little to no actual impact in subsequent
    games other than aesthetic (and even that isn't always maintained).

    The initial cell game is quite entertaining and shows promise (although there are free flash games that pre-date spore that do it better), unfortunately this is probably the highpoint of the entire game.

    The creature stage was initially entertaining as you wander around however it quickly becomes repetitive. Evolution is no more than finding upgrades, the higher the number the better the upgrade; there is no downside to any of them, no trade offs or limitations - better numbers = better creature = quite dull really. The actual design of the creature - size, number and position of limbs etc has absolutely no impact whatsoever. Survival at this stage is a choice between the two well know evolutionary choices - kill opponents or dance and sing.

    The tribal stage is a very mediocre RTS game, the "opponents" never really put up a fight and are soon defeated, not much else to say about this stage.

    The Civ stage gives you a city and you build units that are either military, religious or economic and you send these to other cities to conquer them. Regardless of the units the result is pretty much the same. Best described as another very mediocre RTS.

    The previous four stages lead up to the Galactic stage. You have a planet and a spaceship and as such you can travel to other planets to terraform them or trade. The main problem with this stage is hidden in the previous sentence - *YOU* have a spaceship, nobody else on your starting planet does, no planet you claim ever gets them. This means you spend your entire time responding to every single tiny detail or alert or attack or request or discovery or trade opportunity yourself. The larger the mapped area is, the more time you spend not exploring but constantly dealing with mundane trivia. To add insult to injury when you make allies who *do* posses spaceships they not only don't give you help but then expect you to drop anything and everything when *they* have any problem at all! I know you are fighting a war to defend your planets on the far reaches of the galaxy and also trying to single handedly ferry spice everywhere but we have knocked over a glass of milk and it is imperative that you, and only you in the entirety of creation, rush to our aid right now!

    Overall a very disappointing and mediocre game.
    Expand
  28. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    I can't say I understand WHY people think this is a bad game. It may not have been what most people expected it to be, but it was still a great game. There are only three notable downsides: the controls are sometimes a bid wobbly (though this doesn't affect the game much), the physics (especially on jumping and climbing) can get pretty wonky at times (again, nothing game-breaking) and the tribal stage's extreme difficulty when trying to kill other tribes instead of befriending them. Other than those things, the game is great, especially with both its expansions. The creators are very fun, and you will notice improvement in your creations over time. You can also pick up some techniques and ideas from other users via Spore's built-in sharing system, the Sporepedia. When you download someone else's creature, they can appear in your game as an NPC. If you choose not to download any creations, Maxis has a ton of built in creatures, buildings and vehicles as well. As for the individual stages, they are all very fun and provide something different each time. Although you CAN skip directly to a later stage, you are at a disadvantage, as you won't be able to get certain archetypes (which give you special abilities) or any other perks obtainable only in earlier stages. This is a bit of an incentive to maximize gameplay time, although it's much more rewarding when you actually get these abilities. To wrap up my review, I would just like to point out that the majority of negative reviews are probably the result of disappointment at a game that seemed like it would be much different. Although I can sympathise with these people, I still feel it's no reason to rate a great game so poorly. If you don't own this game and happen to stumble upon my review, I say check it out and don't be fooled by its low user ratings. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I am reviewing this game for what it is, not what it isn't. Spore is overall, a decent game. I recommend you get it though steam though, as the game has a crippling DRM that will ruin the price. Anyways, the game is 30.00, not that bad for a decent title. It consists of 5 stages and 2 DLCs. The stages are Cell, Creature, Tribal, Civ, and Space. Cell- Overall interesting, albeit simplistic. Eat things that you can eat (Green plants for herbivores, other cells for carnivores or meat chunks, both for omnivores, but no meat chunks unless you use both mouth types). Gives you the impression your growing, make it its own game and add some levels and you have a good game that could sell well on its own. Add in a custom character customizer and you have a perfect game. 9/10

    Creature- Bland, not much to it, make a creature, fight or befriend others, Needs more options for attacks and social abilities. Also, its rather buggy. But it works i guess. Would never sell on its own as a game 7/10

    Tribe- Insanely hard. Least favorite stage for such a casual game. Needs more content, needs to be less difficult 6/10

    Civilization- Good enough, blow up cities, make deals, new outfitter and vehicle customizers, fun to play with, not the best stage though. Prefer it to be longer and more challenging though. 8/10

    Space- Very nice, has all creators so far except cell and early creature creators. Fun exploring, near perfect game play, hard to play though, but satisfying when you win, It contains elements from all the other stages, making it so you need to be clever about your tactics. Excellent pastime, great stage. 10/10

    DLCs:

    Galactic Adevtures: Nifty new creator that i absolutely love, new types of missions in the space stage, new creature creator that has what i was looking for, nice adventure mode which makes things a lot more interesting as time goes by. Doesn't add much content to other stages though. 8/10

    Creepy And Cute: Nice parts for creature creator, but they are just reskins except for the feet, hands and details. Overpriced, unnecessary, get it if you see it on sale for 5-10 bucks. 5/10

    Bot Parts: Free with a doctor pepper, parts look nice, don't serve much of a purpose though. Can't get it anymore. Also has bug fixes. 10/10, but its not available anymore and not available in anywhere except the U.S. and Canada. So 8/10

    Overall:

    Fun: 8/10 Enough to keep you busy

    Graphics: 10/10 Good enough, nothing spectacular, looks kiddish and neat though.

    Creativity: 11/10 Second best to Minecraft.

    Story: 7/10 Generic. But amusing at the end game.

    Community: 5/10 Too much drama going on about nothing. Thank god there is no multiplayer.

    Value: 9/10 30 Dollars is an OK price. Buy it if its for less though, but get it anyways if you can.

    Expectations (Without knowing of older trailers): 10/10 Exceeds expectations

    Expectations (With knowing of older trailers): 6/10 Not NEARLY as good as it looked, but its the same game for the most part and is good enough.

    Overall Score: 9/10, 8/10 for Retail version. Get on steam or origin
    Expand
  30. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    absolutly the best game of all time and my personal favorite game as well, its just so fun! its also very creative and let me bring to life all my favorite ideas into a game! theres such a massive amount of things to do that it keeps me playing all day, and the next day and the next day! the best game i've ever spent my money on! i only have a few complaints, one is that it crashes alot and moves slowly sometimes in the heat of combat, and it doesnt always send my creations to the sporepedia website, but other than those faults, i say get this game immedietly! :DDDDD Expand
  31. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    If you were to take it for what it is, a casual, semi-friendly, game. If you realize that, this is a absolutely brilliant, revolutionary, mind blowing, and all around fun game. For me, a avid gamer, i found it a bit childish, but that is what the goal was. It takes you through 5 stages: the cell stage, creature stage, tribal stage, civilization stage, and the space stage. Each offering fun game play for whomever may be playing. the first stage plays more like a arcade game, the second stage plays more like a FPS, and the final stage being more like a, well, flight simulator, but to tell you the truth it is a RUBBISH RTS. For a hardcore RTS player like my self, this game offered no mental capability, or challenge... In ANY aspect. But once again we are straying from the point. it is a childish game, aimed at a strong community, and a kid friendly game. This game, at least for me, offered a fun replay value, and a release from more serious games. But be warned, if you are a hardcore gamer, that likes fast pace games that take MENTAL thought, please stay away. 8/10 - for being different and fun, with amazing aspects. Expand
  32. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    If you're looking for a capable and creative tool to share your own creations with the rest of the world, or you want a fun way to educate your kids in the theory of evolution, Spore is definitely recommended in that regard. If you're looking for an exciting and challenging game which will test your skills (and not your patience), Spore might not be it - but then again, a lot of Maxis games aren't nowadays. Expand
  33. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Spore is the first game i bought after reading a review, and the first one to make me feel sorry for that. It is a great experience, but not what it could've been. It doesn't have the replayability that it should, it feels inconsistent, with some chapters being too easy and shallow (tribe and civilisation stages), and it gets repetitive like hell, especially in the Space stage. This game is a lot of stress to finish without mods not as much because of the difficulty, but because of the repeatability and the slow progression trough the space stage. Other than that it deserves it's praise for some innovations like the way it generates the content and how it populates the "game world". trough Sporepedia. Creating stuff, from cells to spaceships, is fun and lucrative, but if that's all you're after then you can stick with the Creature Creator. Expand
  34. May 16, 2012
    10
    ok lets get this strait. You guys have to stop rating this game basing it on other versions. simonli2575 would have given an 8 but he saw a different version. Another thing: if there was no complexity bar it would be stupid and make the game too easy!!!!! You guys are also leaving out one of the main features of the game, THE CREATION MODE!!!! This is one of the best features of the game and everyone is acting like it doesnt exist. Now that thats settled, my review. The game is fun, creative, and has endless possibilities, that is if you have a good imagination. it has good graphics and is super fun. It would be cool if the earlier stages were longer like cell, creature, and tribal. Awesome game, been playing it for years havent gotten bored since. 10 out of 10 Expand
  35. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    In my honest, full fledged opinion, SPORE is one of my favorite games. The main 'story' of it is fun, especially when you get to the last stage of evolution. The creation side of it is the best where you can make anything from a small bug thing to a dinosaur or something. You can make stuff from cells to cars, and everything in between. However, the DRM made the game worse, and it was over hyped when it was released. Plus, when I first read all the reviews on this page, I almost cried. Despite the DRM and the other **** the game turned out really good, and merely does not deserve the hate its getting. Sure it has its flaws but so does every game.

    However, the Galactic Adventures expansion pack costing $29.99 is freaking CHEAP.
    Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    Actually quite good, but I agree with the other players that the final is a lot worse than the trailers at 2005-2007. As of now, the reason I know of is because of too much space taken, but if it was true they obviously would have told us they would save it to later, and as such, I give it from a 9 to 7, as its still OK.
  37. Dec 20, 2012
    6
    First impressions of this game were great but eventually some fatal flaws came to surface which can't really be ignored. The premise is amazing and handled quite well, when I started up a new game of this recently I got chills seeing the meteor in the opening cinematic. The game feels like it is rushed to the space stage though and that the other four stages are all leading up to the actual beginning of the game. This is most obvious in stage four where halfway through it actually gives you the option to fast-track the rest of the stage and begin your space adventure. This wouldn't be the worst thing if they hadn't made huge errors in the gameplay for the space stage. The first is the Grox, who you are advised to seek out by your own empire. However these guys will go to war with you for very little reason and when they do it's more or less game over unless you're willing to put up with their constant invasions for the rest of your playing time. That brings me to the other huge problem here and that is that you are the only member of your species who can do anything. If an ecological disaster strikes and 5 animals need killing, rather than send out an extermination team from the nearest city, they recall you from lightyears away to smash the poor creatures with the laser on your starship and they get annoyed with you if this seems an unreasonable request. Spore is a fun game with a great premise but it rushes you to the space stage where unless you really know what you're doing and are willing to put up with unnecessary micro-management, you will probably find yourself giving up on that particular save. Expand
  38. Jan 21, 2013
    5
    This game is a series of 5 minigames tied together. There is a great concept of evolving through time and the game succeeds in customization as you have full control over how everything in your culture looks from armor to buildings and vehicles. Beyond that, the gameplay is bland. The first stage reminds me of an old flash game I used to play online. Just swim around, eat, and then automatically grow. The other levels don't bring more excitement and often feel like a grind. It's too bad this game missed the mark. Expand
  39. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This is the single best game ever played by any human being evah. It is the holy grail of games. That shall have it's praise sung from the halls of Asgard, all the way to the small, mouse holes in prehistoric America. 6/10, IGN.
  40. Sep 30, 2010
    5
    I think everyone can agree that Spore is severely watered-down from where it should be; its consecutive mini-games are precisely that, and the game eventually runs out of steam and collapses into a pile of space-operatic wet noodles resembling nothing so much as a _Master of Orion_-_Brutal Legend_ crossover. (It's much less entertaining than it sounds.)

    The creature creator is
    incredibly entertaining, though; I'd recommend buying the game for that, now that it should be fairly cheap on Steam, but don't have any high hopes beyond "animated LEGO."

    I think most people have missed a certain irony pertaining to the game's launch: that a game which was little more or less than an enormous engine of IP piracy (look up the in-game Nintendo Channel sometime) had draconian measures guarding it against being pirated, itself. The "evolve based on skills used" style of play originally planned for the game would have been a more sensible choice, avoiding this philosophical problem... although it would have been problematic to get wings.
    Expand
  41. Oct 15, 2010
    1
    Sickly cute, diabetic coma inducing Disney graphics suitable only for children 12 and under...not an evolution game at all...belongs on the wii. Maybe one day we will get a god game that deserves the title.
  42. Aug 28, 2011
    0
    This game is what the WTF was made for.
    As a computer-biological experiment, it's interesting.
    As an actual game, it's beyond boring. Perhaps it's because the hype was so huge, the game couldn't stand a chance living up to it.
  43. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    It's a fun game to spend time. But the game has a very clear goal and if you want a bit of a challenge you will not find in this game. The graphics are pretty feeble but the character animations are good. It's a pretty average game.
  44. May 17, 2012
    7
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. I am in an advanced science class at school and the only part i look forward to is biology/evolution unit. So this game which i got in fifth grade. Is amazing. However there is a couple of problems. The cell stage feels simplistic and in your first play-through you will feel so confused on how to become an omnivore. Then comes the creature phase the best one in the game. Where you create your own species and through different choice of applying primal instincts develop a brain large enough to organize a town. Then comes tribal phase. THE HARDEST STAGE IN THE GAME. I love RTS'S (top 5 favorite types of games) and this is by far the hardest one. Unless you play diplomatic. You will find combat difficult. Then surprisingly enough the next stage, CIVILIZATION STAGE, is the easiest. With money in an endless supply capturing cities is super easy. Then the space stage is a disappointment, it's super long, boring and hard to follow. My biggest gripe is the lack of expansions, there was a 20 part pack, and an expansions to make space stage more interesting. What about a water stage that was promised? Expand
  45. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    You either love it or you hate it, as you can see from other reviews. Me personally enjoyed it, others may think that it was too simplistic, it was meant to be pleasing for both hardcore and casual players but I would say it did veer slightly into casual. Still a great game. The only thing that displeased me were the add-on prices. Other then that nothing
  46. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    I found the game fun for a few hours but it has so little depth I lost interest very quickly. I'd recommend the game to a younger child in an instant, though.
  47. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    This game is really bad. You get many mini-games but every one of them is bad. This game plays like bunch of free web games putted to gather. What a trash game.
  48. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    The best thing about this game is the ability to improve your creature, everything else fails miserably. Repeatable game with repeatable goals. No complex strategy is necessary. Very childish, but it was supposed to be like that I guess. I couldn't get to the expansion Galactic civilizations since the previous parts of game bored the hell out of me. You constantly expect to get to something even slightly challenging but that moment never comes. You cannot go extinct, the creatures are almost always the same, everything seems developed for the 10-year old kids nothing wrong with that, but, unless you like not to think much and just run around with your silly colorful creature then this game is for you. Too simple, too incorrect, too trivialized and too fast. Expand
  49. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Spores a great game worth trying. I played 40 hours of it and loved it. It lost a mark because the expansion packs were horrible. The evolution idea was brilliant
  50. egn
    Mar 12, 2013
    7
    People were expecting a lot form this title; and it didn't quite match up with that Will Wright demo from 2005, no... but It's a damn fine game nonetheless, with hours of highly-replayable entertainment that is really good for lots of different ages, tastes, and play styles. This would be a great game for younger children, but adults will enjoy it just as much.
  51. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    I got spore a long time ago when I was about 11. I simply adored it. But is this just because I was young? No. I played it for a while, making more advanced creatures, houses, cars and spaceships as I developed my creativity. The gameplay itself I enjoyed considerably less but it was still enjoyable, I found some of the stages repetitive and tedious but otherwise it was a very amusing and fun game. I personally loved playing all sorts of different creatures, I loved it how you could customize virtually everything and how your....creature progressed through evolutionary stages. Its simply amazing that you can conquer the entire universe (I think you can.) There are so many different options you can take to change your creature and it really feels like you're the one who's doing it. The combat itself I found....a bit too simple but for a game aimed at kiddywinkles I think its fair to say there won't be any kind of mutilation .Shame. With so many things you can do in the game, so many things you can create I would strongly recommend it. Expand
  52. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    Why so many awful reviews? Sure, the trailers were so much better then the game, but the creature creator is fantastic with so many possibilities. The stages are all decently fun(except tribal). If the combat and socialization required some actual skill, this game would be amazing. As is, its still a fun experience with lots of replayability
  53. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Recommended: Get this at Target. I bought this game 6 months ago. I was totally entertained. From worst stages to best:

    Creature

    Cell

    Tribe

    Civilization

    SPAAAACE!

    But the reason why i gave this a 9 is because sims 3 is better.
  54. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Was the game everything that was promised? No. Is it fun still? I think so.

    Trying it again years later and still having fun with it!

    I think looking back on it, you might have fun with it, especially if you never knew about the hype or what was promised and take the game as it stands.
  55. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    I'd hesitate to call this game a complete atrocity and hogwash the first stage is quite amusing and as I remember playing it gave me a sense of expectation. That expectation was crushed with every subsequent minute of playing. Plain unimaginative is what it is. After a landslide advertising campaign we were promised the birth of a messiah and in return got a mildly amusing editor and certainly not a game. The graphic engine was decent, but the content was boring and tedious. Expand
  56. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game is what it is. people complain its too simple, others complain its too complex and they hate RTS games. which one is it? and the complains of "it doesn't deliver" are just plain invalid. if a game doesn't met your hyped expectation doesn't make it a bad game. this game is what it is and that's a very entertaining, cute life simulator where later on you need to manage the massiveness you've spawned. no game can live up to the hype people or the game made of it, this game suffered a lot form it critically. awesome game to past the time, and awesome for the kiddies too. Expand
  57. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    Tenho notas do jogo sao essas: Grafico:5 Jogo:4 Historia:6 Controles:8 Redução: OVNIS:0.5 Criaturas Impossiveis de matar:0.5 Expand
  58. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Spore is one of the most innovative games that EA has released. It remains my favorite game of all time due to its decision making and realism. Many people say the gameplay is bad but if you give it a chance, it really is a very fun game.
  59. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    The concept of the game is original enough, but I was expecting to get a bit more out of the gameplay, the creature stage is extremely childish and repetitive, tribal and civilization stages are just plain horrible. What makes this game worth buying is the intriguing space stage and pretty fun mini game like cell stage.
  60. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Fun game for a while, could never push myself to continue far into the Space stage. It became a bore, yet the extent and detail of the scenery and game play must have been thought strongly into, and became a large sit-down part of the run. I enjoy this game, and would recommend it.
  61. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    I was introduced to this by a friend. Ever scince I looked forward to playing it. It was a awesome experience and you should try it and spend some money you (or someone elce) have worked hard to earn on this game.
  62. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Great game! The creature creator is really fun, and the progression through the stages is really cool! To watch your creature go from a cell to a huge space empire is one of the coolest things about it! It is really fun, and has great replay value!
  63. Dec 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPORE™ is an amazing game that blends creativity and strategy to create this wonderful adventure. Starting as a single celled organism, you learn, evolve, and create the ultimate being. SPORE™ includes in-game achievements, a creating mode where all of your creations are built, a Sporepedia of all your own creations plus over a thousand pre-made ones by Maxis, a wonderful campaign, and a very interesting saved profile setup. In each stage of your evolution there are three classes; aggressive, peaceful, and neutral, which are chosen upon your actions. Eating meat and killing other species counts towards aggressive. Eating plants and friending other species count towards peaceful. A mix of aggressive actions and peaceful actions will put you in the neutral class. There are special abilities for each class, aggressive class gives you aggressive abilities, peaceful gives peaceful abilities, and neutral gives you an ability that could either help with peace or war. Cell Stage: Basically the tutorial of the game, lasting 10-15 minutes and only having 15 parts, but it IS the defining point of your species. Eating meat, plants, or a combination of both affects your class. Creature Stage: So you've evolved legs and moved onto land, huh? Now is where the true action begins, will you kill off the other packs of animals, or will you make them your allies... why not both? Doing either of those actions causes your creature to evolve, increasing your attack and allowing you to add more animals to your own personal pack. Creation becomes more complex as over 200+ parts are added, so your creature can become fully developed. Oh yeah, one more thing, there are creatures known as "Epics"... huge beings focused only on one thing... killing you and your pack. Tribal Stage: You've gotten smarter, and it’s shown. Your species has evolved to the point that they have started building tribes, weapons, musical instruments, and other items. But you’re not the only ones that have become smart, other tribes will appear, will you make war with them? Peace? Heck, kill the weaklings and ally with the strong if you want. Your creatures now have begun to create clothing and armor, so make them look good. Just a warning, those pesky epics are still around. Civilization Stage: Wow, Still going? Okay then. Now you start building taller, more modern buildings (they've finally caught up to us). Now you can start building cars, planes, and boats. You use them to race for control over spice vents, improve how other cities feel about you, or lay siege to them. City planning also is important, if done right the populace will love you so they produce more money, if done wrong they will stop the increase of wealth. I guess your fashion has evolved to, because now you get top hats! Space Stage: One small step for alien, one giant leap for alien kind... SSSSPPAACCEEE TRAAAVVEEELLL!!!!! The space stage is like a game in itself. It has quests, even more complex diplomacy, an economy, exploration of THOUSANDS of planets, terraforming, colonizing, war (Ever blow up a whole planet before? Fun stuff...), and wonderful combat, you control a single ship, arm it with lasers, rockets and nukes, and prepare for pirate attacks! And I can’t forget to mention the cool space armor you get. But, this game is far from perfect. Character models are a bit drab and look like clay. More features and parts could have been added to the creation mode, and gameplay does get boring after a few playthroughs, but there is allot of replayability. And just a warning, SPORE™ is one of the most problematic games there is... full of crashes, errors and glitches. Overall, this game is pretty fun, especially space stage. But even with all that the price is still pretty hefty, I would suggest you wait for it to go on sale. The reason I have so few hours of play time recorded is because I played SPORE™ Creepy & Cute Parts Pack instead. It’s the same game, but with extra parts added to create with. So if you do decide to get this check out my SPORE™ Creepy & Cute Parts Pack review. Pros: Massive replayability. Ability to create your own creatures, vehicles, buildings. Can choose which separate stage to play, or do them in order. You get ability’s depending on the morale’s of your actions. Complex economy (Space Stage). Awesome terraforming system (Space Stage). Amazing looking planets. Cons: Full of glitches (characters bugging out, game failing to start, missing directories, etc.). Creature models look like clay. Creator feature is option lacking. Campaign is linear in the Tribal and Civilization stages. Rate: 5/10 with glitches, 7/10 without glitches If this review was the deciding point of you getting this game feel free to leave a comment telling me so! Expand
  64. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    I enjoyed this game in the beginning with the evolution-stages, but it soon became extremely boring. I liked the space-age part when I built an empire using the species I nurtured but it just became too difficult to maintain it. When I was on one side of the galaxy, one of my colonies would be attacked on the complete other side, and the only way I could keep it is if I went ALL the way over there and stopped it.

    Not worth the $20 I spent on it because it massacred the concept I believed Spore to be, which was a god-game of complete creation and control of the outcome of the galaxy and your creature.

    Instead, I got repetitive game-play and soon regretted buying it.
    Expand
  65. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    Even though this isn't a review of the game itself, the DRM, which just kills computers, is not fun! The game looks like fun, but I can't enjoy it if my computer is on fire, can I?
  66. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Okay, okay, the game was no masterpiece, but I did actually enjoy playing it. I didn't like how simplified it seemed, when evolving your creature, it seemed more about the looks than for actual evolutionary advantages.
    I did NOT like the way the camera worked during the Tribal Stage. It was very confusing and hard to navigate, and this proved annoying when I was in the middle of defending
    my tribe from raiders.
    Also-the creature stage was very repetitive and annoying, and I spent the whole time really just hoping I could move on.
    All of that being said, I really didn't hate the game. I liked seeing my creature evolve (seriously, what a cool idea for a game!) and I enjoyed building my own civilization. Overall, I think this game had a good idea-but it was poorly executed. It's a fun game and I'd recommend giving it a try, but don't expect too much, it's not winning any game of the year award.
    Expand
  67. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    Spore is by far one, if not my favorite PC game. It is a creative, eye-opening, fun and overall greatly crafted game. The only issues I have with the game are the amount of glitches and issues that it has. Even with patches, I and many other people still find themselves encountering the same errors and glitches throughout the game. These issues range from minor to severe, and they are the most frustrating part of the game. It also has problems running on certain operating systems. Other than that, I recommend Spore as a great PC game, especially to people who love to create their own creatures, buildings and vehicles and explore their own world. But, I wouldn't get too attached to a saved game.

    I think there should be a new and improved Spore game, with more online interaction, a broader gaming experience, less glitches, and more versatility with systems. Spore is a great idea for a game, and I believe that there's even more that can be done with it.
    Expand
  68. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    My eight year old self adored this game, as a nerdy gamer child who liked to play God. Some say the promotional demos played by Wil and some of the team were better than the final product and they are right. The original tech demos were amazing and looked like they could have been one of the greatest games of all time. The end product is a slightly watered down, childish version of the demos; but it's a fun watered down, childish version of the demos. Expand
  69. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    I had fun making an animal and seeing it evolve into some kind space faring dinosaur thing. Then I got really annoyed that once you're an ally of a race, who were presumably getting along just fine without you, they stop defending themselves from pirates, stop preventing eco-disasters and just sponge of the player. A whole galaxy to explore but you have to go home every five minutes because somebody is destroying your might civilization with a toy tricycle. Expand
  70. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    It could have been revolutionary, it could have been the finest game ever crafted. Simplified to the max, catering to the lowest common denominator, content cut out of the game. EA ruined yet another masterpiece. Still, I rate this game 8/10 because it shows the potential of what games are capable of, how far we've come. Like the Jurassic Park Trespasser game, which was a bad game, yet introduced physics and a 3D open world before the Half-Life series came along. Expand
  71. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    Although a lot of people hate this game and think Spore isn't a great game, i'm one of those people who have rated this game as my favorite PC game. The best mechanic is how your choices early on impact your future in the final stage. Literally the funnest experience and is really unique from any other game i've ever played regardless of graphics. And for those people who think this game is so easy and repetitive - Stop playing on the easiest difficulty. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. How to design a game that spans from swimming in a drop of water to ruling the galaxy? Will Wright knows how: as simple as possible. Spore deserves success on "The Sims" scale. [Sept 2008]
  2. Spore's triumph is painfully ironic. By setting out to instill a sense of wonderment at creation and the majesty of the universe, it's shown us that it's actually a lot more interesting to sit here at our computers and explore the contents of each other's brains. [October 2008, p.64]
  3. 100
    Spore manages quite some feats – it's accessible for casual gamers, but at the same time so real and dynamic, able to offer hardcore gamers a demanding experience and, obviously, a more appealing one than in "The Sims".