Spore PC

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1731 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesKlagston
    Sep 9, 2008
    2
    Each stage of the game is boring.
  2. ThomasG.
    Sep 9, 2008
    1
    It looks nice but is only fun for small children - not what I was promised; many features missing.
  3. TristanH.
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    I wanted to give this a good review, I really did. First two stages are good but dumbed down to insane levels, and every stage after is boring repetitive and extremely shallow. I am completely let down. I loved what i saw in previews and gameplay videos and this is what I'm left with. Also the ultra strict DRM if a filthy way to spy on customers and gives you a maximum of only three I wanted to give this a good review, I really did. First two stages are good but dumbed down to insane levels, and every stage after is boring repetitive and extremely shallow. I am completely let down. I loved what i saw in previews and gameplay videos and this is what I'm left with. Also the ultra strict DRM if a filthy way to spy on customers and gives you a maximum of only three installs, which is stupid considering how much people need to re-format etc. these days with crappy Vista breaking all the time. EA's greed has gone too far this time. Aside from the amazing creation system I struggle to see why the game took so long to be made. Both companies should be ashamed. Expand
  4. JackR.
    Sep 9, 2008
    2
    I have to agree with the consensus. This game sucks. I can't believe the arrogance of releasing a PC game in 2008 with WASD controls that does NOT let you reconfigure the keys and does NOT provide an invert mouse option. The control scheme is horrible and I spent all my time just trying to unintuitively learn how to move while being killed. What a stupid, stupid game.
  5. Warwick
    Mar 16, 2009
    3
    So very... very boring. This is the proof that the official "Critics" play these games for 1 hour before reviewing. That's about all there is before it runs out of puff. Stop as soon as you're a tribe. Thereafter you Will lose the Will to live. Thanks Will. Yawn.
  6. KevinM
    Mar 23, 2009
    2
    This game becomes incredibly repetative very quickly. Several of the stages of play resemble flash games you can play for free rather then any in depth kind of game play. The creature creator is neat but after that there is very little to do with your creations. I cant believe they are still charging full price for this game much less 20$ for a pack of new parts.
  7. ShaunW
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    I'm sorry will wright but in trying to make this the ultimate god player. you orchestrated it's own destruction. On a design point the game can entertain you with his customisation but the game play leaves much to the imagination. I found the game enjoyable for the first 6 hours it took e to get to the space stage then on I could not stomach the game past that point. Every time I'm sorry will wright but in trying to make this the ultimate god player. you orchestrated it's own destruction. On a design point the game can entertain you with his customisation but the game play leaves much to the imagination. I found the game enjoyable for the first 6 hours it took e to get to the space stage then on I could not stomach the game past that point. Every time I would decide to settle down for some fun on a planet the game would force me to do it's bidding. It had nothing to do with anything I had done, it was insufferable getting a message that my planet was being destroyed every minute. I just wanted to make my own planets and then grow my master race but the game wouldn't let me have any fun. Expand
  8. Hat
    Jun 29, 2009
    1
    Awful, just awful. The scientific aspects of Spore, which were so hyped by the games creators and marketing is non-existant. Creatures DONT evolve. Instead you FIND body parts. NOT HOW EVOLUTION WORKS AT ALL!!!!! Instead of the adaptive environments we were promised, Spore forces players to dance or kill all other creatures, before moving on to the woeful Civ/tribe phases which have no Awful, just awful. The scientific aspects of Spore, which were so hyped by the games creators and marketing is non-existant. Creatures DONT evolve. Instead you FIND body parts. NOT HOW EVOLUTION WORKS AT ALL!!!!! Instead of the adaptive environments we were promised, Spore forces players to dance or kill all other creatures, before moving on to the woeful Civ/tribe phases which have no depth. Instead of a wonderful game of evolution Spore nothing more than 5 terrible mini-games. Its only plus is its creators. But when used it doesnt matter where you put part X as it will always give the SAME bonus. NO intelligent design exists. It becomes pointless. Avoid spore at all costs. oh and not to mention SECU-ROM. Expand
  9. JackM
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Ok, this game is so bad I'm not even going to give it a 1. It's just purely horrendous. There's almost no gameplay, and the gameplay that is there goes against everything the game was hyped for. It's extremely linear, almost no chances for it to be dynamic, and the creations you make are only asthetic, they don't actually serve any purpose! The only part I Ok, this game is so bad I'm not even going to give it a 1. It's just purely horrendous. There's almost no gameplay, and the gameplay that is there goes against everything the game was hyped for. It's extremely linear, almost no chances for it to be dynamic, and the creations you make are only asthetic, they don't actually serve any purpose! The only part I actually liked was the first stage and creating my creature. So thanks for a $50 minigame and creature creator, EA! Expand
  10. MartinG.
    Oct 12, 2008
    3
    Spore had the potential to be so much, yet it turned into a linear, dull collection of uninteresting minigames tacked on to a marvellous creature editor. Still a fun game, at least until you've done everything once and it's just repetition, but at the end of the day, it's disappointment of the year 2008.
  11. JohnM
    Nov 22, 2008
    3
    This game had the potential to be good and revolutionary. Instead its a over hyped watered down version that quickly lost my interest. After a few hours of playing the game, I began to get a sick feeling in my stomach. I said to myself, "Dont worry, its going to get better." Problem was it didn't get better. Upon reaching the space age I was utterly disgusted with the game.This game had the potential to be good and revolutionary. Instead its a over hyped watered down version that quickly lost my interest. After a few hours of playing the game, I began to get a sick feeling in my stomach. I said to myself, "Dont worry, its going to get better." Problem was it didn't get better. Upon reaching the space age I was utterly disgusted with the game. Throw in the DRM that punishes the law abiding gamer and your left with one awful product. I thought about trying the game again a few months down the road, but thought better of it and promptly threw the game in the trash. I think this is the first game I've ever tossed in the garbage so soon after buying it. Avoid this game like the plaque. Expand
  12. Charlie
    Nov 24, 2008
    3
    Its just bad versions of 5 mini games (only being better in the graphics, but that doesn't matter to me) and it quickly becomes boring and repetitive, and you'll never get an urge to go back on it, after a very short while. However, the creature and building creators are very interesting to play around with, and its for this reason that i'm going to give the game a 3.
  13. zimkafilippov
    Oct 13, 2008
    3
    a total let down. the game is way too short and at the same time is extremely boring. i don't know if its worth the money, since i never paid for it. but, really, it's simply not worth your time of effort.
    the game consists of several poorly designed mini-game-parodies-of-better-games. well, why pay for crap, when you can buy better original games?
  14. PLALYEDTHEGAME
    Oct 13, 2008
    4
    Played it for a few hours. Repetitive and boring. Designing a creature is pointless, it's more like upgrading your creature. Your design has little if any bearing on your success, just slap the highest level parts together and voila! Super easy. Very disappointed for such a long wait. And the DRM sucks! I want to play on a different account than my brother, does that make me aPlayed it for a few hours. Repetitive and boring. Designing a creature is pointless, it's more like upgrading your creature. Your design has little if any bearing on your success, just slap the highest level parts together and voila! Super easy. Very disappointed for such a long wait. And the DRM sucks! I want to play on a different account than my brother, does that make me a thief???

    Lame.
    Expand
  15. MarkW.
    Oct 17, 2008
    3
    After playing a couple hours, I got so bored of it I just could not continue. It certainly does not live up to the hype, and is not much of a game.
  16. NicA
    Oct 19, 2008
    4
    I wasn't tainted by the original Spore gameplay videos, but I got stuck with a game that is severely lacking depth. Each stage is a leapfrog version of its potential encyclopedia volume. The social aspects of the game have been reduced to forum members banning together to either suggest improvements, complain, or create your own idea of content to make the game interesting again. I I wasn't tainted by the original Spore gameplay videos, but I got stuck with a game that is severely lacking depth. Each stage is a leapfrog version of its potential encyclopedia volume. The social aspects of the game have been reduced to forum members banning together to either suggest improvements, complain, or create your own idea of content to make the game interesting again. I played roughly 50 hours of this game and it wasn't because it was hard. I just played through a few races from start to finish and got bored. Most of that time was spent collecting spice in space or using the creators(which are the only redeeming value it has). This amount of time may seem like a large number, but it is far lower than I have played many other games. Expand
  17. TW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    3
    After kibitzing with the character creator, I had high hopes for this game. But it became quickly evident after playing the final release that the critic reviews had succumbed to the pre-release over-hyped media blitz and grossly over rated this game. The game play is shallow and becomes quickly redundant. The worlds are generally the same, making planet exploration more a chore than fun. After kibitzing with the character creator, I had high hopes for this game. But it became quickly evident after playing the final release that the critic reviews had succumbed to the pre-release over-hyped media blitz and grossly over rated this game. The game play is shallow and becomes quickly redundant. The worlds are generally the same, making planet exploration more a chore than fun. Even the characters begin to look alike. The Expand
  18. TheJhereg
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    Been waiting forever for this, then heard about the DRM. So figured I would hold off till they made it reasonable. Grew tired of waiting for that and played it at my friends house for four hours and some minutes....what can I say that has not been said. Mini Games! This was as disappointing to me as MOO3 was, only MOO3 actually attempted to deliver a deep game LOL! This is just drivel... Been waiting forever for this, then heard about the DRM. So figured I would hold off till they made it reasonable. Grew tired of waiting for that and played it at my friends house for four hours and some minutes....what can I say that has not been said. Mini Games! This was as disappointing to me as MOO3 was, only MOO3 actually attempted to deliver a deep game LOL! This is just drivel... as stated 10 and younger will enjoy it! Glad I did not spend a dime on this. For all those who say "you must be thick, irrational or a twitch gamer to not like this"...whatever; you need to go get some kool-aid from the nice man over there. Expand
  19. ZimaF.
    Sep 11, 2008
    4
    Dull, repetitive, boring. no promised evolution. really disappointing.
  20. BS
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    Terrible game after all the hype. Glad I pirated it first to check it out. Uninstalled after 3 hours.
  21. Menzel
    Sep 11, 2008
    4
    The creator parts are really cool, unfortunately this is quickly killed by a lack of any real game to use them in. Every phase of "evolution" is like a watered down, badly done version of some other genre. I give the creation portion a 10, the rest of the game gets a 3.
  22. seans.
    Sep 11, 2008
    1
    EA has failed us once again there is no challenge effort or in depth game play everything was cut short and the space age was boring colonize planets make money you have the only ship for youre entire race it would be great if you could build fleets and invade planets but you cant its like playing asteroids a version of glactic civs with the enhanced graphics would be a far more EA has failed us once again there is no challenge effort or in depth game play everything was cut short and the space age was boring colonize planets make money you have the only ship for youre entire race it would be great if you could build fleets and invade planets but you cant its like playing asteroids a version of glactic civs with the enhanced graphics would be a far more entertaining game the ai is horrible kill or make peace lame dissapointing save youre 50$ im selling my copy on Ebay. Expand
  23. AlexG.
    Sep 11, 2008
    2
    Totally unfulfilling/nonexistent gameplay. No-brainer action mixed with level grinding. If you like that, this is your game. The Creature Creator is all very well but is pretty much irrelevant as all the important elements are either gone or reduced to simple stat-boosters; editing basically makes no difference to gameplay whatsoever.
  24. HenrikA
    Sep 11, 2008
    2
    This 2game" does'nt deliver nearly enough game. It all becomes one giant snooze fest even before you manage to play through it once. And I had such high hopes...
  25. SamD.
    Sep 12, 2008
    0
    Awful game, repetitive and uninspiring, without direction or cohesion. Draconian DRM.
  26. DanP
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Such a huge disappointment. Just about as fun as watching paint dry. I found this game to be extremely easy and it doesn't seem to have any penalties for dieing or messing up. This game might be enjoyable for a 5 year old... Don't buy it! Do what I did and just download it for free off a torrent site. I swear you'll get bored of it within the first day of playing it.
  27. MikeV.
    Sep 12, 2008
    4
    For all the hype that was generated for this game, I wasn't very satisfied with the end result. I admit the game is clearly one-of-a-kind and it's creature creator is extremely fascinating. The problem is the repetitive tasks, lack of multi-player interactions, and it's broad user group; it's more of a child's game. I'd recommend playing at a friends house For all the hype that was generated for this game, I wasn't very satisfied with the end result. I admit the game is clearly one-of-a-kind and it's creature creator is extremely fascinating. The problem is the repetitive tasks, lack of multi-player interactions, and it's broad user group; it's more of a child's game. I'd recommend playing at a friends house before spending 50 big ones. Expand
  28. RyanS.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    The games cell stage was generally what I was expecting, but after that I felt the game just didn't have enough depth. The whole civilization stage was so simple it took an hour to complete. I didn't feel like playing it again either as I felt I had experienced everything it had to offer. The space stage is where this game gets decent, for about 3 or so hours. After that, again The games cell stage was generally what I was expecting, but after that I felt the game just didn't have enough depth. The whole civilization stage was so simple it took an hour to complete. I didn't feel like playing it again either as I felt I had experienced everything it had to offer. The space stage is where this game gets decent, for about 3 or so hours. After that, again you feel underwhelmed. There is a large assortment of tools, 80% of which are useless stamps, colors, and so on. And attaining these tools requires you to collect many badges, so that throws sandbox out the window until you play for a boring 12 hours. All in all, this game needs a lot of work to be good. The Civilization, Tribal, and Space stages need a redo. As it stands, the game is only decent in its Space stage. Expand
  29. XhenkA
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    This game is crippled by horrible, horrible DRM. Additionally, the gameplay has been simplified way too much. Spore was preseted on science symposiums for god's sakes, and the final product feels more like a children's game than a scientifically correct piece of software. Thanks to the DRM the game will also stop to function in the relatively near future (earlier if you reach This game is crippled by horrible, horrible DRM. Additionally, the gameplay has been simplified way too much. Spore was preseted on science symposiums for god's sakes, and the final product feels more like a children's game than a scientifically correct piece of software. Thanks to the DRM the game will also stop to function in the relatively near future (earlier if you reach you maximum of 3 installations quota). I would love to, but I simply cannot give it more than a 0 rating, as I would never recommend a $50 RENTAL for a mediocre game. Expand
  30. mikeh
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    I wish I had my $50 back! This game was in development for so long, yet they couldn't make it interesting for more than a few hours?
  31. ThoughSporeWouldBeBetter
    Sep 13, 2008
    4
    Three Words: Space is Broken! I thought space was going to be the great and immense final chapter, the one to redeem the overall shallow game I was playing. No, I am not going to pay for expansions that should have been in the game in the first place. Even if the game was built for casual gamers (as Mr Wright indicated it was), the Space stage will drive anyone but the most dedicated Three Words: Space is Broken! I thought space was going to be the great and immense final chapter, the one to redeem the overall shallow game I was playing. No, I am not going to pay for expansions that should have been in the game in the first place. Even if the game was built for casual gamers (as Mr Wright indicated it was), the Space stage will drive anyone but the most dedicated away. Repetition is the key factor, and it isn't fun. It has left me frustrated, and pissed off. I basically spent $50 to get mad. Thanks Maxis! I was running out of ways to feel cheated (I guess it is a creative game after all). The only great thing about the game are the Creators, and even then the designs don't truly have a tangible effect on the game itself (more legs doesn't equal more speed, more guns on spacecraft doesn't equal higher firepower, etc...) Try the Creature Creator for free, skip this game, and if you need a fix for civilization, space, and old school games, buy the following three all for less money than Spore: Pacman (cell stage is same premise, without DRM!), any Civilization game (even the old ones are more complete than the civ stage in spore), and Freelancer (all the fun of an epic space game, without the hair pulling of spore space stage). You've been warned. Expand
  32. MM
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    Having eagerly looked forward to this gamea few years now, I'm more disappointed than most. Not only am I feeling let down, I feel that I've been lied to. Fact is, nowehre in the game does Spore even begin to simulate 'evolution.' The player is left to design their species to whatever parameters they wish. Play style has the most minimal effect on this. And don't Having eagerly looked forward to this gamea few years now, I'm more disappointed than most. Not only am I feeling let down, I feel that I've been lied to. Fact is, nowehre in the game does Spore even begin to simulate 'evolution.' The player is left to design their species to whatever parameters they wish. Play style has the most minimal effect on this. And don't be fooled -- intilligent design this ain't. Players are able to make the most outlandish creatures they can think up, no matter how infeasible they might be. You might think this is a plus. It's not. Aside from determining a few statistics (health, combat power, etc.), the choices made in designing your creatures have virtually no effect on how the game plays out. And later in the game they simply don't matter as the individual specimen isn't even seen. The central premise of the game, then, is entirely absent. But maybe we could forgive Maxisif the game were fun. It is not. The controls in each phase are extremely limited and it's often difficult to navigate around the map. It almost feels like an inexperienced developered rush a console game to pc; really, these are some of the worst controls I've had to deal with, a fact that's made even more inexcusible because of the simplicity of the gameplay. The gameplay of the first four phases can be summarized like this: click on neighbors to make them die. Progress to next stage. You can go about it differently, but the core mechanics are the same. Your race will reach the stars in a matter of hours at the most. At first, I thought the space phase completely reedemed Spore. Beautiful graphics, workable controls, and a lot to do. Well, first impressions are often wrong. The graphics are indeed first class, but the controls turn out to be worse here than in any other phase. You can't adjust the camera angle, combat is impossible (you're supposed to click on fast moving ships) and the minimap is frustrating. The user interface is cluttered. More than this, the freedom I expected -- and briefly enjoyed -- is curtailed pretty quickly once you realize that not only are you not alone in the galaxy, but you're surrounded by hostile alien races that WILL constantly raid your planets and thwart your efforts at retaliation by throwing three ships against your one, and so on. Moreover, there's more drudgery here than in any other phase; you have to establish trade routes, collect goods, plan colonies, and so on. All in all, it's not a good game. If the whole evolutionary thing weren't a gimmick and if the space portion were enjoyable, we'd be looking at a decent game. Until then (Spore 2?), don't bother. Oh, and though the DRM is atrocious (you won't be able to install this game more than three times -- after that, throw it out, it'll be unplayable), I don't think we need to factor that into the score. It's not likely that anyone would ever reinstall this. Expand
  33. BobJ
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Pure disappointment. It's boring. It's overly simplified. The editors don't do anything useful. Everything is too cartoony, so it feels like the target audience is 8-year-olds. The interfaces are clumsy and hard to use. The whole game is piss-easy, until the space stage, which is repetitive, unbalanced, unfair, frustrating, and hard to use, yet somehow still manages to be Pure disappointment. It's boring. It's overly simplified. The editors don't do anything useful. Everything is too cartoony, so it feels like the target audience is 8-year-olds. The interfaces are clumsy and hard to use. The whole game is piss-easy, until the space stage, which is repetitive, unbalanced, unfair, frustrating, and hard to use, yet somehow still manages to be piss-easy. And all the editors have a Nazi-like adherence to bilateral symmetry. Fixing all the problems Spore would be more like making an entirely new game than patching bugs. Spore is a very bad game, and the DRM is pure evil. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! (and especially don't buy the strategy guide). Expand
  34. GucioG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    2
    DRM and a lot of wasted potential. Overhyped, overdumbed, lacking in every aspect. After the initial "wow" factor is gone, there is pretty much nothing left. Simply not enough game in this game.
  35. JonathanS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    I've been looking forward to playing Spore for a very long time. I would've given it a 10, but I actually played it, and then I found out about the DRM restrictions. I really thought this would be a game for the players, but I guess money is more important. Good luck with the sales. I'm telling my friends to download it instead.
  36. madlep
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    This game and it's SecureROM virus kicked me in the nuts and stole my baby, then set my computer on fire. Say no to invasive DRM!
  37. SamM.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    Disappointing, not revolutionary and DRM is stupid. That's all I need to say.
  38. AndreR.
    Sep 15, 2008
    3
    Potential great game, tested it on a friends house and loved it, but DRM ruined it.
  39. RatamaA.
    Sep 15, 2008
    2
    Basically a watered down series of flash games, barely connected by your creature. There is little interconnectivity between them, every choice is mostly pointless come the next "game" in Spore. Ultimately kiddy-pool shallow, over hyped, over produced, but goddamn if it isn't gorgeous on a decent setup.
  40. AnthonyR.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    Ok enough of the random attacks designed to simply lower the user score. Herewith a summary of what is wrong with this game: 1) Disjointed game play between 5 unrelated and un-fun mini games; 2) Draconian DRM scheme from hell 3) No configurable controls for movement. Our way or the highway; 4) No invert mouse; 5) No real evolution. You can add body parts but they have no effect. Ok enough of the random attacks designed to simply lower the user score. Herewith a summary of what is wrong with this game: 1) Disjointed game play between 5 unrelated and un-fun mini games; 2) Draconian DRM scheme from hell 3) No configurable controls for movement. Our way or the highway; 4) No invert mouse; 5) No real evolution. You can add body parts but they have no effect. You're just dressing up the same capabilitiy creatures; 6) Bass ackwards marketing that assumes we will be so enamored of the game that we will want to buy Spore Sanitary Napkins and Spore lawn seed. Guys: First get the game right. 7) No FUN in sight. The one thing they forgot to add. So there you have it. The reason this POS deserves the ass-kicking it's getting on the word-of-mouth circuit. Expand
  41. JerryS.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    Wow, could the reaction to this game get any worse? I thought Black & White sucked, but this takes the new record for best POS from an overrated and singularly lucky designer: Congratulations!
  42. LindaC.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    I'm not sure why eveyone hates this game so much but I know why i do and I wanted to warn people. be careful, I couldn't install this until I replaced my cdrom drive. they're cheap now only cost $20 but boy was i disappointed when i finally got it working lol. Nvm
  43. GregoryU.
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    Didnt know it contained DRM when the game was installed. DRM is like giving a car dealer the keys to your house when you buy their car. This Is why i uninstalled the game and tossed it in the fire.
  44. VincentO'.
    Sep 16, 2008
    3
    Professional reviewers appear to have been overawed by the marketing rather than the game play. In reality, it appears to be possible to experience the entire depth of the game in a single day's paying. All of the five mini games that make up this package are very heavily predirected with the no great mental engaugement required other than clicking as directed for as long as directed.
  45. PatrickA
    Sep 16, 2008
    2
    Failed to meet the hype. The stages zoom past, and really don't contain anything of value to pull over from stage to stage. Don't waste the $50. :-/
  46. RyanP.
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    I refused to buy into the hype, so I think I'm reviewing this game pretty objectively. It is garbage. The gameplay is incredibly simplistic, basically amounting to 2 actions in each stage, which is repeated over and over and over. How your creature "evolves" is based on which action you take, but this has almost NO impact on your creature in the next stage. UI is annoying, especially I refused to buy into the hype, so I think I'm reviewing this game pretty objectively. It is garbage. The gameplay is incredibly simplistic, basically amounting to 2 actions in each stage, which is repeated over and over and over. How your creature "evolves" is based on which action you take, but this has almost NO impact on your creature in the next stage. UI is annoying, especially the camera, and the minimap seems needlessly confusing... a surprising detail considering that minimaps have been more or less adaquate since Warcraft II. Its one redeaming quality is the extremely powerful unit, building and vehicle editors. However, you could make your creature a flat streak on the ground or a giant column and it would have absolutely NO effect on how your creature fights or moves. A truly horrible game. Expand
  47. JohnN.
    Sep 16, 2008
    1
    The game itself is a good toy, but not much else. It reminds me a bit of playing with LEGOs: you have fun constructing your stuff, but once it's built the interest fades away rapidly. Each stage is simplistic to the extreme: you can't even set groups for your armies in the Tribe or Civ stages! The editors are powerful (although I'd say the vehicle and building editors feel The game itself is a good toy, but not much else. It reminds me a bit of playing with LEGOs: you have fun constructing your stuff, but once it's built the interest fades away rapidly. Each stage is simplistic to the extreme: you can't even set groups for your armies in the Tribe or Civ stages! The editors are powerful (although I'd say the vehicle and building editors feel less fleshed out and more restrictive), but the stages lack replayability... Cell is basically an arcade-like game where you must collect "food" (read: power-ups) to level up. Creature is an RPG simplified (you have 1 attack and 3 or 4 special attack moves, plus 3 or 4 special pacific moves to win over allies), with little incentive besides hunting for more parts for your creature. Tribe tasks you with making a very simple village (all the buildings can only be created on a few slots, ala BFME1) and then allying or destroying the other villages. Civ is just like Tribe, except you use vehicles instead of little guys and you can also be an economic nation (and you have a slight building placement puzzle to maximize their effiency, whereas Tribe's building were disconnected). Space feels like Creature, but expanded. The terraforming and terrapainting tools sound like fun, but the fact you have to run errands or dig through hundreds of solar systems to find them all, it feels like you need to do a chore to get to the real fun. Errands are repetitive and sometimes just stop working because the target or sender planet was captured/destroyed in-between. There are also a few "disasters" (mostly pirates or ecosystem issues) which will require you to run back to the other side of your empire just to shoot down a few infected animals or a few pirate ships. You can create colonies, but I find the fact you need to select the vehicles for EACH and put down the buildings for EACH is a huge chore... I wouldn't want to have 100 colonies to build. You also lose all the cash and cash sources you had in Civ stage, so making money is painfully long. Run boring errands, scan planets for rare artifacts to sell for some bucks or collect spice from your planets, that's all you can do. No base income for you, despite the fact you probably churned in at least 20 000 bucks per 10 seconds in Civ by the very end. There are some redeeming features, though... The art style is cute and fresh, the dialogue and text is pretty funny and often has references to other things, the planet remodelling tools are a treat to toy with, same with the terraforming stuff (making lava/ice planets is fun) and each stage, while feeling dumbed down, still aren't exasperating and are made well enough on their own. Lastly, I'm downing my critic from a 4 to a 1 because of the DRM. 3 installs? Are you kidding me!? No way I ever buy something from EA again if this stays. And don't poke me in the face with that 5 installs "compromise" in RA3. Too bad, Mirror's Edge sounded neat. Expand
  48. Jean-LucPicard
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    As much as I really hate EA for making this game DRM and fail.......it's so fun to watch them ruin themselves completely. It's the most pirated game out there. And that's saying something since Stardock doesn't use any protection on their games at all. I purchased sins of a solar empire and I am glad I did. I will not be purchasing spore. :P
  49. SBurdock
    Sep 17, 2008
    4
    Ehat is Spore
  50. KentV
    Sep 17, 2008
    3
    Fun: NO Innovative: NO Challenging: NO Attractive: YES Hype: YES The worst game I have bought in years. I loved the creature creator, and was looking forward to bringing my creations to life once the full Spore game came out. But the game (or whatever you want to call it) is not fun. Substandard AI, shallow gameplay, etc. You can design great looking creatures, but it is all just Fun: NO Innovative: NO Challenging: NO Attractive: YES Hype: YES The worst game I have bought in years. I loved the creature creator, and was looking forward to bringing my creations to life once the full Spore game came out. But the game (or whatever you want to call it) is not fun. Substandard AI, shallow gameplay, etc. You can design great looking creatures, but it is all just cosmetic. I liked the cell stage, as an introduction. It was attractive and although this type of thing has been done before, it is done very well in Spore. But nothing you do in the cell stage really has any long term consequences. The next couple of stages were boring. Graphically they were just okay, but the gameply boiled down to either attacking other creatures or making friends by copying their singing/dancing. Next up you get to build buildings, vehicles, boats, planes, and cities. But I found the design tools not much fun at all compared to the creature creator, and since you play the game zoomed out anyway everything you created might as well be simple bricks for all the detail you notice. The space stage? I can't even work up enough interest in this game to give it a try. I really cannot understand how anyone can give this game a positive review. Innovative concept? I agree the creature creator is great and perhaps one day someone will make a game that will allow the creatures to really come to life. The concept of an evolution type game is not real - I remember back in the 80's some local guys came up with an idea for a game they called Evolution, though nothing ever came of it. To say Spore simulates evolution is a great exageration - being able to plop a 6 foor horn on your creatures head in one generation and then in the next totally removing it and adding a third eyeball cannot really be considered evolution. I could have bought 5 or more bargain bin games for the same price as Spore, and had a lot more fun. Expand
  51. MichaelN.
    Sep 18, 2008
    3
    So dumbed down, there's nothing to this game but the editors, and little to do with them until EA opens the faucet on the inevitable dribble of $30 expansion packs.
  52. CraigN.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    I was going to buy this game no matter what after i saw the hour long presentations over 3 years ago. Now it seems like the game is actually less fun than the version that will wright was playing when showing off what it could do. Frankly the game is barely a full game. Its 5 mini games like you might find in one of those 2 dollar packs of games in the bargain bins at electronic stores. I was going to buy this game no matter what after i saw the hour long presentations over 3 years ago. Now it seems like the game is actually less fun than the version that will wright was playing when showing off what it could do. Frankly the game is barely a full game. Its 5 mini games like you might find in one of those 2 dollar packs of games in the bargain bins at electronic stores. The only thing that warrants any kind of praise is the creature creator. This aspect of design does seem unique and fun to play with, but in the end even it is not as good as promised. Expand
  53. ZachS
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    The hyper Maxis generated from the game is so astoundingly far-fetched given what the game could have been. It's five masterable flash games masked with an "Evolution Theme" that, if done well and correctly (could I say uniquely, too? come's on, it's MAXIS!!!) could've indeed lived up to the hype it built up over the last three years. If I wanted to play a game of FlowThe hyper Maxis generated from the game is so astoundingly far-fetched given what the game could have been. It's five masterable flash games masked with an "Evolution Theme" that, if done well and correctly (could I say uniquely, too? come's on, it's MAXIS!!!) could've indeed lived up to the hype it built up over the last three years. If I wanted to play a game of Flow or a no-depth RTS, I would've went to Google and found a flash game site. And what is UP with the DRM? Is every gamer out there a crook? Not the way to treat your customers. The only real 'revolution' here was the creature creator, which should have been the only thing Maxis released. Anyone giving more than a five on their review is either nine years old or has played the game or maybe an hour. It's just disgusting, a few idealists on Spore.com's forum could have created a better game. Too much shitty hardware to talk about. Definately not worth the money. Expand
  54. ShallaS.
    Sep 23, 2008
    3
    To summarize my feelings about the game: it was far too short (from microbe to space in a matter of two hours to three hours), the tribal phase is dull as there are no challenges, and the space stage is so phenomenally irritating. Spice production at first is slow, and so help me if I see another space pirate again I'm tossing the computer out the window. I can't leave myTo summarize my feelings about the game: it was far too short (from microbe to space in a matter of two hours to three hours), the tribal phase is dull as there are no challenges, and the space stage is so phenomenally irritating. Spice production at first is slow, and so help me if I see another space pirate again I'm tossing the computer out the window. I can't leave my homeworld for thirty seconds without getting an urgent message, "Your homeworld is under attack!" The battles are frustrating as there are always more than one invader, and the one you are fighting will inevitably fly off and heal itself before you can get the deathblow in...all in all, I'll be sticking to the creature creator, the diamond in the rough. Expand
  55. NelsB
    Sep 24, 2008
    3
    Incredibly over-hyped, very shallow, unoriginal, highly derivative game. For all of its supposed novelty and originality, Spore is nothing more than a very simple RPG/RTS. It really feels like it was made for children, which may be the correct target audience for Spore. I can't imagine that very many people who have played many computer games in the last 10-15 years will find SporeIncredibly over-hyped, very shallow, unoriginal, highly derivative game. For all of its supposed novelty and originality, Spore is nothing more than a very simple RPG/RTS. It really feels like it was made for children, which may be the correct target audience for Spore. I can't imagine that very many people who have played many computer games in the last 10-15 years will find Spore to be a positive experience. Expand
  56. AugurDragonWolf
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    The game its self is ok gets old fast IMHO but others may enjoy it longer. I ratted this game 0 because of the DRM. The 3 activation limit may be an issue for some and my not be for others but the secret installation of SecuROM to ring 0 allowing it to override your control of your hardware is totaly unacceptable!
  57. SebOss
    Sep 26, 2008
    4
    This game is mediocre at best. Very nice creature editor but bland graphics, shallow and repetitive gameplay.
    I fail to see how anyone would replay this game except for the space age, which mostly consist in running around like a headless chicken resolving annoying random events anyway.
    This game is totally overrated and underwhelming. I won't even mention the DRM issue which has
    This game is mediocre at best. Very nice creature editor but bland graphics, shallow and repetitive gameplay.
    I fail to see how anyone would replay this game except for the space age, which mostly consist in running around like a headless chicken resolving annoying random events anyway.
    This game is totally overrated and underwhelming.
    I won't even mention the DRM issue which has been extensively debated all over the web.
    Please don' buy the hype.
    Expand
  58. ChengB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    0
    What a pile of rubbish! Not only does this game "feature" a rootkit that will limit the numbers of installs to three times, create a gigantic security hole in your OS making it possible for anyone to access your computer it will also cripple or destroy cd/dvd-rom's and burners as an extra bonus feature, just for the kicks. The actual game is completely devoid of any content, it has What a pile of rubbish! Not only does this game "feature" a rootkit that will limit the numbers of installs to three times, create a gigantic security hole in your OS making it possible for anyone to access your computer it will also cripple or destroy cd/dvd-rom's and burners as an extra bonus feature, just for the kicks. The actual game is completely devoid of any content, it has some serious flaws and in the end, is nothing more than a gold plated pile of crap designed to make EA more money. Expand
  59. FrankB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    0
    Game refuses to run after I install other unrelated software on my PC (specifically, VMWare Player). "The game can not start. For security reasons, only a limited number of machines can ever be licensed by a single purchase. This limit has been reached. Please purchase another registration code, reinstall, and then try again." This after only installing the game on one machine, and Game refuses to run after I install other unrelated software on my PC (specifically, VMWare Player). "The game can not start. For security reasons, only a limited number of machines can ever be licensed by a single purchase. This limit has been reached. Please purchase another registration code, reinstall, and then try again." This after only installing the game on one machine, and playing it for a few weeks. Go to hell Will Wright. Expand
  60. J.C.
    Dec 24, 2009
    0
    In all honesty, the biggest let down of a game in all of my years of gaming. Spore has nothing to do with what was promised. Avoid this if you're above 5 years of age.
  61. JamesM
    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    Too many promises that were made were left unfulfilled by the core game. It simply doesn't live up to the hype. Even without the hype, it is a far cry from the standards I have for a Maxis or Will Wright game.
  62. WayneH
    Mar 28, 2009
    0
    Looks and plays like it was only half finished when it was released. Sure, you've got hundreds of different things to add to your creature. Yes, you've got hundreds of different ways to make your civilization's buildings and technology look unique. But why? Why would I chose one over another when neither gives me any advantage? Furthermore, the evolution part of the game is Looks and plays like it was only half finished when it was released. Sure, you've got hundreds of different things to add to your creature. Yes, you've got hundreds of different ways to make your civilization's buildings and technology look unique. But why? Why would I chose one over another when neither gives me any advantage? Furthermore, the evolution part of the game is just awful. You wander around and "find" different body parts. Shouldn't the parts available to you be based upon your actions in the game? Isn't that how evolution really works, creatures evolve a certain way according to how and where they live? Adapting to their environment? Expand
  63. Matt
    Nov 18, 2008
    4
    This game was a major disapointment. They spent 5+ years making this game and they came up with a package for four simple mini games that each stink by themselves, but together they flawless combine to make a cutesy but simple game. If you like to build us creatures, ships, buildings, outfits then you have a creative outlet in Spore. However, your choices won't have any real gameThis game was a major disapointment. They spent 5+ years making this game and they came up with a package for four simple mini games that each stink by themselves, but together they flawless combine to make a cutesy but simple game. If you like to build us creatures, ships, buildings, outfits then you have a creative outlet in Spore. However, your choices won't have any real game impact. In short, this game was overly hyped and it is not worth your time or money. Expand
  64. Sep 25, 2016
    0
    This is an abortion. I'll write a better review later, but this is unacceptable. Will Wright is a goddamn moron for thinking it is fine to releasing a game this unfinished, bad and buggy (now in 2016, ffs). Now, ignoring the creature creator, imagine five different types of games. Now imagine they were released on mobile by someone who liked all the worst parts of those games. Now imagineThis is an abortion. I'll write a better review later, but this is unacceptable. Will Wright is a goddamn moron for thinking it is fine to releasing a game this unfinished, bad and buggy (now in 2016, ffs). Now, ignoring the creature creator, imagine five different types of games. Now imagine they were released on mobile by someone who liked all the worst parts of those games. Now imagine those five garbage games were ported to PC badly, then died and were Frankenstein's monstered together.
    This is Spore. It lives up to the name because it is worse than a mold.

    A goddamn moron, but well, he voted for Bush.
    Expand
  65. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    The best thing about this game is the ability to improve your creature, everything else fails miserably. Repeatable game with repeatable goals. No complex strategy is necessary. Very childish, but it was supposed to be like that I guess. I couldn't get to the expansion Galactic civilizations since the previous parts of game bored the hell out of me. You constantly expect to get toThe best thing about this game is the ability to improve your creature, everything else fails miserably. Repeatable game with repeatable goals. No complex strategy is necessary. Very childish, but it was supposed to be like that I guess. I couldn't get to the expansion Galactic civilizations since the previous parts of game bored the hell out of me. You constantly expect to get to something even slightly challenging but that moment never comes. You cannot go extinct, the creatures are almost always the same, everything seems developed for the 10-year old kids nothing wrong with that, but, unless you like not to think much and just run around with your silly colorful creature then this game is for you. Too simple, too incorrect, too trivialized and too fast. Expand
  66. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    I'd hesitate to call this game a complete atrocity and hogwash the first stage is quite amusing and as I remember playing it gave me a sense of expectation. That expectation was crushed with every subsequent minute of playing. Plain unimaginative is what it is. After a landslide advertising campaign we were promised the birth of a messiah and in return got a mildly amusing editor andI'd hesitate to call this game a complete atrocity and hogwash the first stage is quite amusing and as I remember playing it gave me a sense of expectation. That expectation was crushed with every subsequent minute of playing. Plain unimaginative is what it is. After a landslide advertising campaign we were promised the birth of a messiah and in return got a mildly amusing editor and certainly not a game. The graphic engine was decent, but the content was boring and tedious. Expand
  67. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    Tenho notas do jogo sao essas: Grafico:5 Jogo:4Tenho notas do jogo sao essas: Grafico:5 Jogo:4 Historia:6 Controles:8 Redução: OVNIS:0.5 Criaturas Impossiveis de matar:0.5 Expand
  68. Jun 25, 2014
    2
    It might first seem like an O.K. game, but once you play it over again and get deeper into the game, you find out it's just a bunch of pointless clicking around and no exciting quest or storyline or campaign. The cut scenes are lame, and the animation isn't good at all. I'd sell or trade my Spore game for a much better game like Halo.
  69. Oct 8, 2014
    3
    Atrocious game. Advertised as a massive open game with limitless possibilities. 90% of this game is comprised of the space section, which is repetitive and boring, and the other eras are just simple minded grind. Honestly the best one is the cell stage, as its a half decent as an arcade game. This game takes an awesome and complex idea and compresses it into something seemingly designedAtrocious game. Advertised as a massive open game with limitless possibilities. 90% of this game is comprised of the space section, which is repetitive and boring, and the other eras are just simple minded grind. Honestly the best one is the cell stage, as its a half decent as an arcade game. This game takes an awesome and complex idea and compresses it into something seemingly designed for a 5 year old. Expand
  70. Apr 13, 2017
    2
    Un point pour l'interface agréable et efficace, un point pour l'atelier de création des... créatures, seul endroit où on s'amuse un peu...! pour le reste, les graphismes sont indigents et le gameplay est d'un ennui profond, très limité, très lent et très répétitif. ça nous fait donc 2/10 et c'est déjà très bien payé ! on dira que Spore n'est pas un "jeu" classique : c'est vrai, il n'estUn point pour l'interface agréable et efficace, un point pour l'atelier de création des... créatures, seul endroit où on s'amuse un peu...! pour le reste, les graphismes sont indigents et le gameplay est d'un ennui profond, très limité, très lent et très répétitif. ça nous fait donc 2/10 et c'est déjà très bien payé ! on dira que Spore n'est pas un "jeu" classique : c'est vrai, il n'est tout simplement... pas grand'chose. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Play (Poland)
    90
    How to design a game that spans from swimming in a drop of water to ruling the galaxy? Will Wright knows how: as simple as possible. Spore deserves success on "The Sims" scale. [Sept 2008]
  2. Spore's triumph is painfully ironic. By setting out to instill a sense of wonderment at creation and the majesty of the universe, it's shown us that it's actually a lot more interesting to sit here at our computers and explore the contents of each other's brains. [October 2008, p.64]
  3. 100
    Spore manages quite some feats – it's accessible for casual gamers, but at the same time so real and dynamic, able to offer hardcore gamers a demanding experience and, obviously, a more appealing one than in "The Sims".