User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Such a fun game, and very well done. The graphics are nice, story well thought out, and the interludes are cute. It's such a creative little game, and very enjoyable. It's nice to get a change of pace once in a while. If you haven't watched a trailer, it's a world of Matryoshka dolls, with different little abilities, and you have to solve little puzzles to progress.
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Charming,beautiful,challenging and revolutionary at the same time! Stacking is truly a piece of art and a classic! Long live Tim Schafer! Such adventures and characters deserve all my respect!
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    Tim Schafer has always been one of my favorite game designers since Psychonauts. But i never let my criticism get clouded by past work of someone i respect since we never know how much a person is really involved in a multidisciplinary task. I must then say.... this game is not a surprise, it is a great game. It is a puzzle game that its medium is 3rd person, but the mechanics are unique. It is smart, innovating, creative and charming. The approach of the style is refreshing and all in all a great idea. Great job and great vision to the people doing it. To me Double Fine understands what a game should be and experiments on the approach of games as games and not games as sport (which i also like). I recommend Stacking and also keeping your eyes opened to new thing from this company. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Incredibly original and fun to play. A great game with a lot of potential and a great dose of humor. Really refreshing in a gaming world ruled by FPSs, TPSs and RPGs that all look a-like. Bravo!
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    [Stacking / Steam PC / Perfect 10] Run around as little Charlie Blackmore and solve the adventure: Free the Children from the Evil Baron. This Unique non linear game rewards exploration and experimentation using Russian stacking dolls with cut scenes telling Us the plot through 1920s style Silent Film: Dramatic Scenes + Great Music and Story Cards. If you enjoyed any game from Tim Schafer (Full Throttle, Psychonauts, Brutal Legend) buy Stacking because it is outstanding. Released March 6, 2012 by DoubleFine and played about 6 months later. [DRM] Steam only. Thank goodness there is no GamesForWindowsLive on this title!

    [Challenges and Mechanics] are outstanding; jump into different Russian stacking dolls and assume their abilities to find alternative pathways to complete the quests. Combine multiple dolls to get things done! There is no time pressure element to this game and with the beautiful piano music - this is a very relaxing game - perfect to play before going to bed, the kind of game that you play between FPS games to cleanse the palate. [Save] game system is automatic. Forget about this part and just enjoy the story and the puzzles !
    [Keys] are easy to remap in-game and show up correctly during the in-game instructions
    [Bugs] There are none.
    [Game time] 40 hrs if your wish to figure out all the puzzles yourself but probably 10 hours if you skip all the optional puzzles [ : (o) nooooo - don
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    Effortlessly enchanting, deviously creative and stacks of inventive puzzle solutions make this a game worth getting into.
  2. May 28, 2012
    82
    Well-designed, brimming with beautiful and intelligent puzzles, a simple yet smoothed-out plot and of course, Tim's wackiness. [June 2012]
  3. May 24, 2012
    75
    Stacking is a great "sandbox" game for kids and adults alike. It tests your patience rather than wit, though, and after defeating The Baron, there is no reason to come back to it.