S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 646 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control.The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control. According to the operation's plan, the first military group is to conduct an air scouting of the territory to map out the detailed layouts of anomalous fields location. Thereafter, making use of the maps, the main military forces are to be dispatched. Despite thorough preparations, the operation fails. Most of the avant-garde helicopters crash. In order to collect information on reasons behind the operation failure, Ukraine's Security Service send their agent into the Zone center. From now on everything depends on the player. [GSC GameWorld] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Third time's a charm for this quintessential PC franchise. [Feb 2010, p.58]
  2. AceGamez
    86
    If you’re willing to look past the look and feel of a shooter that’s past its heyday, what you’ll find in Pripyat is GSC’s magnum opus – an undeniable masterpiece built from years of trial and error, building and adapting new elements and ideas into the original STALKER template.
  3. Call of Pripyat is not only a return to form for the series, but a breath of fresh air for an increasingly stale genre. Recommended for fans of the previous games and newcomers alike, this is how a real PC FPS should work.
  4. Call of Pripyat is a return to the best S.T.A.L.K.E.R, the one which impressed us the first time with its fascinating setting. The Zone is again that scenario that chill us with its mystery and GSC shows they can listen to the fans and that they understand well what made great the series in first place. The only problem is a dangerous feeling of familiarity that goes badly with this kind of game, so we hope to see a deep evolution for the next project of the Ukrainian team, but meanwhile we'll enjoy the most polished entry of the series.
  5. Call of Pripyat is definitely the best STALKER game yet. It's a much tighter package, but for a budget title there is still a hell of a lot to do and The Zone still seems intent on killing you or scaring you senseless.
  6. One of the reasons why this game received a lower score is because it left too many things untold and, while I appreciate the effort to create an immersive authentic world laid to waste by a nuclear disaster, I simply can't escape the recurring feeling that something is missing in this game.
  7. GSC’s third attempt at creating a post-apocalyptic world reinforced my belief that PR is the only thing this company does best.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    The best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game so far!

    Great graphics, and the loading time can be decreased to twenty seconds if you download a tweak, and
    The best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game so far!

    Great graphics, and the loading time can be decreased to twenty seconds if you download a tweak, and overclock your GPU.
    Good story and the inventory system is nice.
    Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R Call Of Pripyat is, simply put, one of the best open world FPS games there is. Everything about the game is great, theS.T.A.L.K.E.R Call Of Pripyat is, simply put, one of the best open world FPS games there is. Everything about the game is great, the atmosphere, the progression, the item collecting. Not only that but the game is scary, really scary, but that does not mean that every time you leave a safe area you are going to be peeing yourself, it means that when the game needs to be scary it can be. CoP also has many elements of an RPG. There is a great inventory system, lots of weapons and armor, lots of modifications for those weapons and armors, and so much more. Simply put CoP is one of the best games on the market. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    What could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barelyWhat could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barely even is games about it, but at least it's still more than fresh place to make a game about. Call of Pripyat is the third Stalker game in the series, which I had never played before. The story isin't really anything amazing. You are have to find out why helicopters have crashed to Tsernobyl, which is now filled with people hoping to become rich by finding rare artifacts. You don't need to have played previous games. You can roam around freely the exciting areas of the game, though you are limited to go only few places during the start of the game. The atmosphere of the game is outstanding. It looks like you're in a abandonded area filled with radiation, and feels like it. Unfortunely stalkers talk with '' Yo bro wuzz up?! '' style, which breaks the atmosphere a little. NPC don't also some times attack mutants, which are trying to attack you. The game has simulation feel too. You need to eat food or you will starve to death. You need to heal yourself from wounds, though it only needs use button and nothing else to fix the wounds. If not counting the easiest difficulty, you will die really easily, forcing you to think when you should fight or not. The graphics of the game isin't that good now days, but even my crappy computer was able to run it fine with some settings set to maximum. The gameplay is great, the sound design is almost as good, the game takes increadible amount of time to complete (33 hours, I had spent time doing some side quests too) and I found myself playing it a lot of time even after it, what I usually don't do. I recommend it from the bottom of my heart, if you don't want to play arcade shooters. Collapse
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    9
    I know about the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series for some time, but have only recently got around to playing them. I started with the first title,I know about the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series for some time, but have only recently got around to playing them. I started with the first title, Shadow of Chernobyl, and although it was atmospheric, I didn't like some of the mechanics. So, I decided to try Call of Pripyat. This one grabbed me right from the beginning and didn't let go right until the ending, which left me wanting more. Being a fan of bleak, post-apocalyptic scenarios a la Fallout, I have to say this game is the ultimate post-apocalyptic experience. The environments (Atmosfear 3 visual mod highly recommended, along with the absolute texture mods), the setting (welcome to the Zone, stalker), the large open world (divided into 3 large areas) full of mysterious and terrifying elements, the horrific creatures roaming around, just great! Gameplay is a mix of FPS mechanics and RPG elements (speech decisions, inventory, equipment upgrade, modifiers, etc.) and it pretty much takes the best from both worlds. The AI is smart and different tactics are required for different enemies. Weapons are of great variety and feel (and sound) very realistic. Supplies and ammo aren't exactly scarce since there is a presence of trades and money isn't hard to come by with all the "stalking" involved, but carry weight is limited meaning you will have to prioritizes with your guns and ammo. This game is simply one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had in the almost 20 years of paying video games.
    The reason for taking a point away is an underwhelming ending, which came abruptly and didn't make much sense. However, the game presents you with the option to remain in the Zone after the ending in case you didn't finish all of your quests. In any case, it is a pity that the last map, the city of Chernobyl itself, wasn't better utilized as it is simply amazing. Therefore, I can't call SOC a perfect game, but it is damn near-perfect. Highly recommended!
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    S.t.a.l.k.e.r CoP brings improvements to the game with some goodies, such storms, where you have to find shelter, you can modifyS.t.a.l.k.e.r CoP brings improvements to the game with some goodies, such storms, where you have to find shelter, you can modify weapons-equipment and even more weapons. Unlike Soc however that sense of loss the zone can give you has gone. it seem more easy. Anyway there are still many scary moments. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    The best of the bunch. PLayed it ona PC built before the game came out (E6800 3Ghz dual core and 280 GTX card, both predate this game byThe best of the bunch. PLayed it ona PC built before the game came out (E6800 3Ghz dual core and 280 GTX card, both predate this game by years) plays smoothly and flawlessly. Average fps at 1920x1080 is 72 minimum was 51 highest was 104. If the game is an issue for your PC - then it's your PC at fault not the game. PLays very well on my PC which as I said has technology that predates this game by years (CPU is 2007, GFX is 2008 - game is 2010) deeper than most FPS and a bargain if you can find it for $10 or less on steam or wherever. Good game, atmospheric, quite deep - interesting and good subject matter Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2016
    0
    The game is a pain in the neck. No fast travel so you spend way too much time walking long distances. Also, a terrible lack of clues. YouThe game is a pain in the neck. No fast travel so you spend way too much time walking long distances. Also, a terrible lack of clues. You are supposed to find things things in the main and side missions with absolutely no idea where to find them. Hence the search for an answer from other people or a walk through. That is a big waste of my time, annoying and NOT entertaining. I got better things to do. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews