S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 507
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    (I will talk about the latest vanilla version, from steam)
    I had the game in '08, a cracked version. I played for about an hour. I couldn't play more because of the bugs in the main quest. It's OK for a game to have bugs, but in main quest? Was CS not tested at all? After the discount in steam (new year sale), i bought the game, hoping to be able to play it this time. And having played
    (I will talk about the latest vanilla version, from steam)
    I had the game in '08, a cracked version. I played for about an hour. I couldn't play more because of the bugs in the main quest. It's OK for a game to have bugs, but in main quest? Was CS not tested at all? After the discount in steam (new year sale), i bought the game, hoping to be able to play it this time. And having played the game for 21 hours, it was OK. There were crashes at least two times than SoC, but it was bearable. Being a member of a faction is very fun too, I really wanted that in SoC. Although faction quests and other side quests are very repetitive, I fought for factions for more than 5-6 hours. There is a point in faction wars in which you cannot do anything anymore, but before reaching there, it's very fun. So far so good, right? Let's talk about game mechanics. I'm not a very good FPS player but I have a habit that whenever I play an FPS game, I select the hardest difficulty level. But guess what? CS is hard. Really hard. Of four difficulty levels, I selected 4, after playing for 20 minutes at most, I had to change to 3, then 2. But it's not because I was acting stupid, I always play RPG-like FPS games slowly, have more equipment, better weapons and armor, then go. After the enemies started throwing grenades, I realized that was not my fault. That was the AI. They hit you. Hard. And when they throw a grenade, it lands at most 50 centimeters from your feet. Then boom, quick load. The loading times are much longer than Max Payne 3. I think they should change the loading strategy if you're loading the same map. Steam tells me I played 21 hours and i think about 1 hour of it is loading. And about storyline. I read some comments about how bad the story is, but I liked it. I don't want to give spoilers but come on people, the last part was really good (and hard).
    Overall, it's a good game, not as good as SoC but good enough for it's price (currently $2.5). The AI could have been better, game logic could have been better, side quests could have been more interesting. But still, it's a S.T.A.L.K.E.R., the essence is still there.
    Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    I TOTALLY loved SoC. But this is installment is extremely frustrating. I understand why they did what they did to some extent, to show how it was before the SoC, the zone less messy, more separate factions, less artifacts, etc. But the gameplay here is both the same as SoC, as well as grueling and painful sometimes. It is dreadfully slow, the weapons are simply awful, and it is much much I TOTALLY loved SoC. But this is installment is extremely frustrating. I understand why they did what they did to some extent, to show how it was before the SoC, the zone less messy, more separate factions, less artifacts, etc. But the gameplay here is both the same as SoC, as well as grueling and painful sometimes. It is dreadfully slow, the weapons are simply awful, and it is much much more linear. As others have pointed out, you can empty an entire clip into an enemy's head, and he just stands there, while a grenade can come at you from 1/4 mile away and kill you. Makes ZERO sense. I want to love this game, I loved SoC and played it dozens of times through. But I'm struggling with this one big time. Expand
  3. RyanT.
    Nov 29, 2009
    6
    As a huge fan of SHOC, I really don't want to rate this game bad. CS just doesn't capture the jarring feel of the first game, and the faction systems make the zone feel less like a detailed eastern bloc wasteland and more like a russian version of counterstrike. Indeed the wasteland is more detailed than ever, but the sheer amount of random NPCs, and the lack of numerous mutants As a huge fan of SHOC, I really don't want to rate this game bad. CS just doesn't capture the jarring feel of the first game, and the faction systems make the zone feel less like a detailed eastern bloc wasteland and more like a russian version of counterstrike. Indeed the wasteland is more detailed than ever, but the sheer amount of random NPCs, and the lack of numerous mutants make the game seem way too hospitable. Hopefully the faction system and the stupid artifact hunting will be removed from the 3rd game. This game would have been better if the bugs were completely ironed out, and it was made much more faithful to its superior predecessor. Expand
  4. JoshQ
    Nov 7, 2008
    6
    Baffling why they drastically changed atmosphere.... What used to be an irradiated, gloomy world with a few makeshift safe havens has become a happy partyland with some turf wars. It's as if the producers said let's trash our award winning atmosphere and slap a shitty story onto it and we'll call it a prequel, apparently their old company was right in restricting these guys.
  5. josh
    Sep 7, 2009
    7
    Where as STALKER SoC is around a 9/10, especially overhauled (modded graphics, fixes, tweaks). This is simply because everything STALKER was praised for was dropped for a different style. Where as SoC was a lonewolf survival/horror game, Clear Sky makes a poor attempt as some kind of squad based all out shooter. There's far too many human beings to consider the zone desolate in this Where as STALKER SoC is around a 9/10, especially overhauled (modded graphics, fixes, tweaks). This is simply because everything STALKER was praised for was dropped for a different style. Where as SoC was a lonewolf survival/horror game, Clear Sky makes a poor attempt as some kind of squad based all out shooter. There's far too many human beings to consider the zone desolate in this one, far too little mutants and and jumpy encounters to consider it survival/horror and both of these combined just rips the atmosphere away from STALKER. While this different game isn't too bad and worth a play through or too it is definitely a step backwards from the original. Expand
  6. MatthewC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    7
    Again, like SoC, could have been a great game but poor pathfinding, bugs a-plenty and unbalanced difficulty make it merely a good game.
  7. Dark
    Nov 4, 2008
    5
    A bad game. Its fun to stray around for a few hours, but it becomes boring quickly. Then I tried the faction system, well thats a huge ripoff, it sucks horribly. After around 4h of gaming it got so boring that i decided there had to be something more there, something thats fun to play. Well 15h played and its even more boring.
  8. ZeeKat
    Dec 17, 2009
    6
    There's a lot of promising stuff at the beginning - new Clear Sky faction with cool NPC models, a bit of new, atmospheric terrain, some interesting gameplay changes like a new way of finding artifacts or faction wars (with new combat AI). Unfortunately good ideas are brought down by a shoddy execution and bad design - once we leave inital areas of the game turns out about a half of There's a lot of promising stuff at the beginning - new Clear Sky faction with cool NPC models, a bit of new, atmospheric terrain, some interesting gameplay changes like a new way of finding artifacts or faction wars (with new combat AI). Unfortunately good ideas are brought down by a shoddy execution and bad design - once we leave inital areas of the game turns out about a half of game's areas are lazy rehashes of SOC maps, story feels flat, game's still buggy as hell, faction wars are barely working, nights in game were reworked to be darker yet still there's no option to sleep through them etc. Gameplay feels badly balanced as well, last part of the game is basically one long corridor with tedious and unnecesarily hard battles (enemies are tossing grenades in large numbers with perfect accuracy, INCREDIBLY annoying). All of this makes the game feel rushed and/or half-assed. Shame, because it's often beautiful and atmospheric like the first one. Well, at least Call of Pripyat is better :> Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    It s ok but to much repaet locations and bugs but OK .
    . . .
  10. lizard
    Nov 9, 2008
    7
    I wish I could give this game a better score as the original was a fantastic game and Clear Sky does do a lot of things right but the negative aspects are just too big to ignore. The worst aspect of clear sky are the bugs, it took 2 patches before it was even playable and even then constant saving was a must, several quests got broken and I was unable to complete them even though I I wish I could give this game a better score as the original was a fantastic game and Clear Sky does do a lot of things right but the negative aspects are just too big to ignore. The worst aspect of clear sky are the bugs, it took 2 patches before it was even playable and even then constant saving was a must, several quests got broken and I was unable to complete them even though I fulfilled the necessary requirements, luckily none of the main quests broke and I was able to make it through the game on my 3rd attempt, I also excperienced a high number of desktop crashes. I Think the fact that I attempted to play the game through 3 times is testament to some of the game's better features, it still has the same great atmosphere of the first game and the new areas of the zone are pretty cool, I especially liked the swamps level. The faction war system when it's working makes for a more dynamic game environment. I like the fact that it's more difficult to make money as it makes some of the smaller quests more relevant, I also like the fact that artifacts are more difficult to find. All in all I did enjoy this game but it should never have been released in such an unfinnished state, it still manages to knock spots off Far Cry 2 though. Expand
  11. DaveC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    7
    Started out promising (although the graphics aren't as marvelous as they might be, it's certainly no Crysis) but then gets just as frustrating as the original, with the radiation and clunky inventory system getting annoying within the first hour of play.
  12. BrendanD.
    Sep 7, 2008
    7
    The graphics are beautiful, gameplay is fun, but it's still quite buggy, even after patching.
  13. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    Is "S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky" a step backwards to the series? The answer is yes an no. Clear Sky brings quite a few new things to the series. Atmospherically and geographically is better, but there are far more bugs in this game than in the previous game. Also, the battle system can be quite unbalanced and unfair. Of course, with a few patches the game would be at around 8.5/10. FinalIs "S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky" a step backwards to the series? The answer is yes an no. Clear Sky brings quite a few new things to the series. Atmospherically and geographically is better, but there are far more bugs in this game than in the previous game. Also, the battle system can be quite unbalanced and unfair. Of course, with a few patches the game would be at around 8.5/10. Final verdict: "S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky" surpasses the previous game in some aspects, but it feels that the game wasn't completely finished. Still, when it comes to having fun and exploring, Clear Sky can never get boring. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    This game was the absolute bomb, up until I got around the first 2 maps and the storms of bugs continued. This game was abosolutely fantastic and had a great potential but an abundance of crashes and errors plagued me. First entering the Garbage made me crash, then after walking around Dark Valley some the game would crash with a consistency of once every minute. Tryed download CompleteThis game was the absolute bomb, up until I got around the first 2 maps and the storms of bugs continued. This game was abosolutely fantastic and had a great potential but an abundance of crashes and errors plagued me. First entering the Garbage made me crash, then after walking around Dark Valley some the game would crash with a consistency of once every minute. Tryed download Complete mod and it made the game not start. Figured out that problem and eventually it started crashing again at Limansk. The upgrade trees for assualt rifles was pretty easy to choose(100%accuracy is much better compared to 100%rate of fire, wasting away your precious bullets). I disliked how Bloodsuckers were made. Invincible while invisible which basically meant you had to wait for it to hit you before you could kill it. But after getting Complete and without crashes for maybe 75% of the single player, made this game fun to the max. Faction system, artifacts weren't a common thing to find, upgrading your weapons, and a more controled quest system, made this game wonderous and I would have given it a perfect score if it was coded and fixed better then it was. Expand
  15. JaeQ.
    Sep 21, 2008
    6
    Vanilla-wise (Unmodded), this game sucks, imagine a game with the good points of a somewhat open world and a pretty cool setting, with just everything else so bad its seems like they did it purposely. Every gun is about as accurate if not less accurate than a musket from the 1700s, shooting through a scope is like playing a game of paintball, projectiles travel like 90 mph, literally. The Vanilla-wise (Unmodded), this game sucks, imagine a game with the good points of a somewhat open world and a pretty cool setting, with just everything else so bad its seems like they did it purposely. Every gun is about as accurate if not less accurate than a musket from the 1700s, shooting through a scope is like playing a game of paintball, projectiles travel like 90 mph, literally. The AI is as bad as everyone says, u can see the AI script in game, u can see how everytime an enemy comes to a possible cover spot he'll jump right over it no matter what, even if it proves to be more of a disadvantage. You can see how in the pitch black, 100 yds away, through 3 bushes, an enemy will put pinpoint accurate shots into you, with weapons that couldn't hit hit the broadside of a barn. Sure when our saviors like the Oblivion Lost team come by, we'll have a pretty sweet game, but that's tehir work not GSC's or Deepsilvers. Expand
  16. PaulO
    Feb 23, 2009
    5
    Somethings wrong with this game. I don't know if it's because it's a download version or not. I do know i've had problems with them before. I find myself going to a new location and a pulse or what ever you call it is comming and i have 15 seconds to find a non existing hiding place. I've been killed by people you only see after you are dead. I have gotten to a Somethings wrong with this game. I don't know if it's because it's a download version or not. I do know i've had problems with them before. I find myself going to a new location and a pulse or what ever you call it is comming and i have 15 seconds to find a non existing hiding place. I've been killed by people you only see after you are dead. I have gotten to a location where all my weapons dissapear and only come back after you run up to an enemy and get your butt shot off. If you are lucky enough to kill him the weapon dissapears untill you get someone else to shoot at you. I am up to date on patch's and i have a top of the line pc, so i'll elimate those. So i think i'll look for the game on eBay for cheap, delete the Steam one and start over. Would also be nice if you could get help when near freindly forces. Seems they just want to stand around and let you do all the fighting. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2011
    7
    An epic bugfest at the time of realease, CS got a fair amount of official patches and community mods since, bringing the game to playable quality, but still, it's by far the least good one in the series. If you're a die-hard fan of SoC, you can have some fun with this game too, but if you're not as forgiving, then you can pass on it with clear conscience.
  18. Sep 16, 2011
    6
    This game provides many things good - shooting is competent, open world is charm and full of secret. Unfortunately, everythings is ruined by technical issues and bad optimalization. I can survive this in game like GTA IV (where's fantastic story) but here it's salt in the wound.
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    To start with the positive: The part about Clear Sky, mainly the first part of the game, including the swamps, the fraction itself, the ambiance, the first Clear Sky missions, etc, was very well done. I even felt surprised at how GSC Game World managed to add something so different from their previous title to the same world, without messing it up. That, along with fixing a big part ofTo start with the positive: The part about Clear Sky, mainly the first part of the game, including the swamps, the fraction itself, the ambiance, the first Clear Sky missions, etc, was very well done. I even felt surprised at how GSC Game World managed to add something so different from their previous title to the same world, without messing it up. That, along with fixing a big part of that buggy game-play from SoC, was what amazed me at first, when I played through the swamps. I guess what I felt about the game at that point was: "This is going to be really good!" However, it turned out not to be so. That feeling quickly turned into "Whoa, that was fast, leaving this place, I wonder when I'll get back here", ever since I left the swamps. Too bad for me though, cause I never did! It seems that you barely ever have any time to explore the world, since you're always headed for the next mission, often because someone is calling out for help; they taught you not to ignore those calls way in the beginning, and that along with my experience from playing SoC, where every choice you make matters, I haven't ignored a single one. This resulted in me being paced to the next part of the main quest, rather than exploring the world. I can't even tell you whether it's even worth exploring!

    What else is, the storytelling; it's REALLY bad. The whole story was basically neglected. There are holes in the story between SoC and this game the size that you could drive a truck right through them! It doesn't even seem to be an attempt to be mystical; it really just seems to have been forgotten. I don't want to spoil it for any of you who might actually play it, but the ending isn't any better. So, all that, along with a ton of other relatively small issues (they would be big in other games), my conclusion comes to this: The game most of all seems like a spin-off from Shadow of Chernobyl, an attempt to get some easy money out from the players who like the first title. The story is not worth much, and neither is much of the rest of the game, if you play it after having tried the original, in which case all I would say is good about it, is the fact that it feels a lot like the original game in some ways, however, the lack of an even decent story overshadows it. GSC Game World really had a big shot at filling out a bunch of [u]very[u/] interesting holes in the original story, but they failed miserably in doing so. If you miss SoC so much, that you just need to go back, this won't be much to find, unless you can live with the disappointing story. In that case, the slightly improved graphics and features (PDA, Upgrade-system, Faction-wars) might make up for some of it. Thank you for reading through this. It was done in a very short time, but I don't feel like I owe it to this game, sadly, what a big chance wasted...
    Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    I knew from the start Clear sky wouldn't live up to its predecessor. To rate this game I'm going to start at 5 and add or remove 1 or 2 points depending on how well that aspect is done. First off the gameworld of the Chernobyl is very important to the game. But it wasn't as well executed as in it's predecessor: they added some new zones and modified most of them. Some of the new zones likeI knew from the start Clear sky wouldn't live up to its predecessor. To rate this game I'm going to start at 5 and add or remove 1 or 2 points depending on how well that aspect is done. First off the gameworld of the Chernobyl is very important to the game. But it wasn't as well executed as in it's predecessor: they added some new zones and modified most of them. Some of the new zones like the swamps look like mush, just really bland textures, but a new zone like the red forest is awesome and eerie. So in all the game world is pretty much the same, new zones, some are good and some are bad. So for the gameworld I will give +0 for being pretty much the same. Next well talk about the atmosphere: atmosphere really set SOC apart, and honestly this game is a let down. The only thing this game improves on in atmosphere is a day-night cycle. It still has eerie zones and places but i was only frightened in one part of the game. So this game just doesn't have the same spooky haunting atmosphere. So fro atmosphere i will give -2 because it is such a let down. Next well talk about another important aspect the weapons and combat. So in my opinion this game improves on the combat by adding new weapons and armoured suits. They have a new repair and mod system which is a godsend Some of my complaints with the weapons is that I think enemies sometimes take too many rounds to kill and also the weapon sounds are poor. So for combat and weapons I will give a +1. Next well talk about storyline, the storyline is done well it takes place before the previous games events and has you (Scar) following a group trying to penetrate to the power plant. The storyline is on-par with the first game without giving too much away i'll give it +1 because its pretty good. Backtracking a little the graphics have never been he strong suit of the S.T.A.l.K.E.R but this game has bland and boring textures and poor graphics, though it is a wasteland so you have to expect a bit bland graphics. So for graphics I will give it -1. Next well talk about a new faction war feature that i think is awesome. Being able to chose your faction and receiving their free gear for conquering their enemies is kickass. It is so awesome to wait at night time with a SVD with a night optic and knock off enemy squads, I think its a really cool and unique gameplay experience. Ill give it +2 for being a really awesome new feature. And last but not least we have the game from a technical standpoint, unfortunetly this game is littered with bugs. None of them game breaking but just frustrating so I'll give it -1 from a technical standpoint. Finally a quick side note, I greatly reccomend the complete mod, it fixes all of the game problems, but this isn't a mod review. So in conclusion I give the game a 5 out of ten. Sadly it's a little mediocre and doesn't live up to its predecessor but still a fun but flawed so if your a fan of the series its a-must play, but if your not I would just leave this one alone. Expand
  21. May 17, 2014
    5
    Sadly for me this feels the weakest in the series and it flows poorly.
    Fans of series will still enjoy this and find it all very familiar, perhaps that is part of the problem.
  22. jwh
    Sep 20, 2008
    5
    I'm wondering if the people rating this so highly have played through more than the swamp and cordon areas? This game is RIDDLED with bugs (many of them game-stopping) and each patch requires you to RESTART the game. When it works - it's a blast. But this is a beta - not a finished game - at least not by an self-respecting company. Stick with Stalker and the Oblivion Lost mod I'm wondering if the people rating this so highly have played through more than the swamp and cordon areas? This game is RIDDLED with bugs (many of them game-stopping) and each patch requires you to RESTART the game. When it works - it's a blast. But this is a beta - not a finished game - at least not by an self-respecting company. Stick with Stalker and the Oblivion Lost mod and you will have a far better experience than this game. 5 because it has possibilities - but WAIT until under $20. VERY frustrating number of bugs/broken mechanics. Some people seem to be "lucking" into clean plays - but they are the minority (don't take my word for it - visit the forums). Avoid rewarding these developers/producers with your hard earned cash for such a bug-fest. Expand
  23. DanW.
    Oct 7, 2008
    5
    I suppose it delivers what it promises: essentially a re-make of Stalker: SOC with better graphics, a few new areas, and a new storyline. The weapons are all the same save for the new upgrade system, the gameplay is mostly the same except the AI's a bit better in my experience. The only problem is that I haven't gotten to play through the whole game due to the issues I've I suppose it delivers what it promises: essentially a re-make of Stalker: SOC with better graphics, a few new areas, and a new storyline. The weapons are all the same save for the new upgrade system, the gameplay is mostly the same except the AI's a bit better in my experience. The only problem is that I haven't gotten to play through the whole game due to the issues I've had with it: Securom protection once AGAIN stops a game from playing right after i get done installing it off the cd/dvd. I HATE having to get a no-cd crack for a game that I purchased. My computer exceeds the minimum requirements by a great deal, but I wind up having to nuke the graphics settings and I still get terrible FPS- so it looks basically like SOC with choppy framerates. When I finish the painstaking "swamp level" at the start of the game (without doing any side quests i might add because it was boring as hell) I found a guide who promised to take me to Cordon- then nothing. No teleport, no message. And due to the game's new system of requiring a guide to get anywhere, I'm stranded in the swamps. If you can get past the technical issues, gamers should still buy this game instead of stalker: SOC, seeing as it improves most aspects. It's just a matter of time until they get the bugs patched and the mods start getting made. Also multiplayer's terrible- surprise. Expand
  24. ave
    Oct 20, 2015
    6
    I've played S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky just after discovering Shadow of Tchernobyl.

    Except some improvements in the rendering engine (mostly lighting) and the interface (HUD and Inventory), the gameplay is mostly the same, so you won't be lost in this new opus. The most important element of gameplay provided here is the Mechanic guy, who can repair and upgrade your equipment (armor,
    I've played S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky just after discovering Shadow of Tchernobyl.

    Except some improvements in the rendering engine (mostly lighting) and the interface (HUD and Inventory), the gameplay is mostly the same, so you won't be lost in this new opus.

    The most important element of gameplay provided here is the Mechanic guy, who can repair and upgrade your equipment (armor, weapons). Being able to customize your gear early really add to the game.

    In spite of this, I encountered a huge difficulty wall after cleaning the "swamp". After emerging from a huge pipe, I'm confronted with about 20 soldiers and a huge machinegun. This was a halt for me and I never succeeded in exploring what the game had to offer.

    I didn't like it because I played leisurely in easy mode (that was hard enough for me). I would have accepted it after like 4 to 5h of play, like in Shadow of Tchernobyl, when you emerge inside the soldier camp !

    So in spite of its qualities, I really cannot recommend this game who doesn't want to be played even in easy mode.
    Expand
  25. Oct 5, 2014
    6
    A true 'S.T.A.L.K.E.R game brought low by crippling bugs.

    This game has the amazing atmosphere of the original stalker game. It also shares many of the same locations and as a result there's continuity and familiarity with 'Shadow of Chernobyl'. The difficulty has arguably increased, particularly aided by a changed bartering system whereby you get virtually nothing for the items you
    A true 'S.T.A.L.K.E.R game brought low by crippling bugs.

    This game has the amazing atmosphere of the original stalker game. It also shares many of the same locations and as a result there's continuity and familiarity with 'Shadow of Chernobyl'.

    The difficulty has arguably increased, particularly aided by a changed bartering system whereby you get virtually nothing for the items you wish to sell (artifacts the exception) It's harder to make a quick buck and upgrade equipment, but I'd suggest this is a wise move, as in Shadow of Chernobyl and Call of Pripyat you could make a fortune by picking weapons up from the ground and sell them to the Stalker standing a foot away, who, because of the AI, never thought to pick them up himself
    The artifact system is hugely improved. No longer do you simply find 6 high value ones sitting in the middle of the road for you without any danger to you at all; now, artifacts are invisible until very near proximity, and you use a detector to point you, by trial and error, to the treasure. This important change makes finding artifacts far more rewarding.

    However, we must get to the bad:
    The game is riddled with crippling bugs. LImansk is a complete mess of a location and is guaranteed to crash your system - forcing the player to reload many times trying increasingly bizarre strategies to prevent the crash. I gave up without completion.
    My second try was going oh so well, until I got myself into a bad spot where I ended up sleeping through an emission in a partially covered building. The game never recovered, as the game never recognised the end of the emission and as a result most npc characters never went back to normal behaviour.

    Having to give up twice was disappointing and makes it impossible to rate the game highly - enjoy it while it lasts! Fans of the Series, will still find something to enjoy here.
    Expand
  26. Jul 20, 2017
    7
    This series is so funny because the improvements made over Shadow of Chernobyl introduce drawbacks.

    They added fast travel (teleportation), but it is prohibitively expensive. For the first half of the game you sprint for 10 seconds, stand still for 10 seconds to recover stamina, then sprint again. Distances also seemed greater than Shadow of Chernobyl. They added the option to
    This series is so funny because the improvements made over Shadow of Chernobyl introduce drawbacks.

    They added fast travel (teleportation), but it is prohibitively expensive. For the first half of the game you sprint for 10 seconds, stand still for 10 seconds to recover stamina, then sprint again. Distances also seemed greater than Shadow of Chernobyl.

    They added the option to upgrade armor and guns, but more upgrades makes repairing them cost more, and again, it is too expensive.

    Health packs weigh less but the weight limit is still too restricting until you get stamina improvements.

    Factions were added which you can join and fight for/against and reap rewards. However there are defense missions that pop up one second and before you can run to the area you need to defend the mission fails.

    Improvements without drawbacks:
    The camera doesn't shake as much.
    Gun accuracy is better.

    The story is not as good as Shadow of Chernobyl, but the overall gameplay is better.

    Cost $3.33 and played about 15 hours, not recommended for the above flaws.
    Expand
  27. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    Worst in the series. Only noteworthy part is the faction wars mechanic, where you can aid the various in game factions in battles against each other for territory. This is pretty cool because you can really change how the game is played with who is friendly/hostile to you and who inhabits what areas. However the mutants are toned down a lot and the majority of the game is a replay of theWorst in the series. Only noteworthy part is the faction wars mechanic, where you can aid the various in game factions in battles against each other for territory. This is pretty cool because you can really change how the game is played with who is friendly/hostile to you and who inhabits what areas. However the mutants are toned down a lot and the majority of the game is a replay of the original with all humans. Expand
  28. May 21, 2013
    6
    I played stalker in following order: SoC, CoP and unfortunately I'm stuck at Clear Sky. Not that that I wouldn't like to play it, but I cant. It is impossible to proceed due to fatal bug. Game crashes and crashes. I managed to play over 8 hours of it, but then the bug appeared and it is impossible to go any further. Isn't it fun when you cant play game all the way through?

    CS is very
    I played stalker in following order: SoC, CoP and unfortunately I'm stuck at Clear Sky. Not that that I wouldn't like to play it, but I cant. It is impossible to proceed due to fatal bug. Game crashes and crashes. I managed to play over 8 hours of it, but then the bug appeared and it is impossible to go any further. Isn't it fun when you cant play game all the way through?

    CS is very annoying at the beginning of it. You make one mistake and you will die very easily (radiation and renegades). You will have to quick save like every 10 seconds. Later part when you get better gear, it becomes actually quite satisfying to play. I don't still really understand the stamina-meter. When games becomes too near reality, it is just stupid. Running for 20 sec and standing still to wait other 20 sec to get your stamina back is some very fantastic bulls***. Especially in game where you have to get money by looting all around in quite big maps. There is also this one part where Bandits rob you, and you will never get your money back.

    Clear Sky could have been great game if it didn't suffered from large amount of bugs and other things that will annoy player. It has nice reformations: you can join to factions and upgrade your weapons etc. 6 points is still best I can give to it as it is with recent patches.
    Expand
  29. Jun 4, 2016
    5
    After playing S.T.A.L.K.E.R Shadow of Chernobyl and proudly reviewing it after beating the game which overall gave me a great experience. I thought "What the hell" and I bought the next installment S.T.A.L.K.E.R Clear Sky.

    So after I've beat S.T.A.L.K.E.R Clear sky.. I came to finally write a review. and what can I say? I was not impressed at all compared to SoC. CS was a big step
    After playing S.T.A.L.K.E.R Shadow of Chernobyl and proudly reviewing it after beating the game which overall gave me a great experience. I thought "What the hell" and I bought the next installment S.T.A.L.K.E.R Clear Sky.

    So after I've beat S.T.A.L.K.E.R Clear sky.. I came to finally write a review. and what can I say? I was not impressed at all compared to SoC. CS was a big step backwards instead of a big step forward... I had fun, don't get me wrong... but there was many times where I was just pissed off because the game was just generally broken and boring in some cases.

    Firstly the side missions/fraction war missions are buggy as hell. I mostly blame this on the AI respectively because squads in your fraction move up to capture a point... but sometimes they absolutely refuse to push forward for no reason. It's the main reason why I cannot capture Freedom base because squads would circle around the area but they would never attack. I did play with one mod (no respawn mod for fractions) because I wanted to make the fraction wars mean something... so it's never about fighting forever but you can fully win a war and you can exterminate the fraction which made it a lot more exciting to destroy fractions. and not to mention that you have to pick up every reward in a fraction base which doesn't help make it exciting.

    Secondly the end game once again failed hard... because it's the same rushed BS that we've seen in SoC but somehow... GSC made it worse, they seem to throw random events to make the ending seem longer and worthwhile (for e.g they would spawn Monolith in the Chernobyl NPP just to waste your time.) It felt like a FPS shooter like call of duty than the game I've been playing for the previous 23 hours before the end game. and the story doesn't really help make the ending seem worthwhile. (which I will explain later.)

    Finally the last problem is the story for CS...they seriously try hard for a connection in SoC and because of this it actually contradicts SoC's story (from strelok's flashbacks) into a different story we don't care about in the end. And in the end strelok get captured from Scar's hand which actually destroys one of the flashbacks completely. (E.G the wish granter dream) the writers were trying hard to connect Strelok into CS but it doesn't work... if they had a new and original idea.. it would make this game a lot better.

    Overall the game is ok... I only played vanilla version (with Fraction AI no spawn mod.) and many people recommend the complete mod for CS... personally if you really want to get to S.T.A.L.K.E.R lore and buy CS I would highly recommend the Complete mod for this game. I've seen footage and it's a major improvement to the vanilla game.. . it's not worth the time to deal with crappy side missions and broken AI for fraction wars. S.T.A.L.K.E.R Clear Sky honestly deserves a 3/10... but it gets a 5/10 because I still had fun playing the game 75% of the time.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. PC Zone UK
    88
    Clear Sky is a unique experience, so far unparalleled save for its predecessor. [Oct 2008, p.52]
  2. Games Master UK
    88
    Clear Sky delivers a more AI-driven, frightening and altogether more dangerous world than its predecessor ever could. [Oct 2008, p.77]
  3. Edge Magazine
    70
    As easy to misunderstand as it is to break, it again turns the best and worse of PC gaming into something extraordinary. [Oct 2008, p.94]