S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky brings the players one year prior to the events of the original S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game in 2011. A group of stalkers has for the first time reached the very heart of the Zone - Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, and brings about a cataclysm on the brink of a catastrophe. An immense blow-out of anomalous energy changes the Zone. There are no more reliable and relatively safe roads. The entire levels vanish in the outbursts of anomalies. Stalkers and even expeditions die or end up sealed on the lost territories. New areas, which remained unknown since the time of the Zone emergence, appear on the Zone map. The Zone continues to shake with blowouts. The Zone is unstable. The anomalous activity is at its maximum. Changes of the Zone map known to stalkers shake the fragile balance of forces in the Zone. Among the groupings, there flare up hostilities for the new territories, artefact fields and spheres of influence. There are no more old enemies or friends - now everyone is for himself. The Factions War has started between the groupings. [Deep Silver] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Clear Sky chiefly succeeds because it transforms grim fantasy into a startlingly real-world experience. [Oct 2008, p.108]
  2. Clear Sky may not be as action-orientated, polished and visually stunning as Crysis or other “Hollywood-Shooters”, but it definitely has got its very own charm, that it’s easy to fall for. In short: Who liked the original Chernobyl Lost, will love Clear Sky!
  3. As sequels/prequels go, S:CS is a good one. It introduces a new engaging storyline, adding some features but by and large leaving the good things about the first game alone.
  4. 75
    What Clear Sky doesn't deliver is the abject, adjust-your-gamma terror of its predecessor.
  5. As easy to misunderstand as it is to break, it again turns the best and worse of PC gaming into something extraordinary. [Oct 2008, p.94]
  6. S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky has got a lot of potential but stumbles in its efforts to bring you a great game. It offers you a fantastic and dynamic world in which you can freely roam. It even looks good. Unfortunatly the game also offers a lot of bugs and is the difficulty level is sometimes unfeasibly high. Nevertheless, if you fight your way past the flaws you will find something beautiful.
  7. But Clear Sky takes everything that I loved about Chernobyl—the mature storyline, the nerve-wracking underground laboratories and the rewarding combat—and muddies them with a litany of bugs and bad design to the point that it overwhelms its more redeeming qualities.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 93
  2. Negative: 28 out of 93
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Really awesome game, one of the best rpg shooters ever. Awesome graphics (demanding a really strong machine tho), great sound, good user interfrace. But most importantly this game is *IDIOT PROOF*. Great world, great story, great atmosphere, great fun. Beats pretty much any modern fps or role playing shooter, hands down. The entire series is a proof, that there's yet hope for modern fps games! Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Adding better systems to SoC this game pushes the post apocalyptic fps-rpg genre forward in a very positive way. Beautiful designs, amazing sound, and a general feel that only the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series could create. The ending may be a let down, but my tip is not to get there, this is a game that i sunk over 150 hours into just exploring and living within the atmospheric zone. If you are a gun fanatic you will drool over the weapon upgrade system! have 5 of the same gun model that all have a very distinctive and different feels that are used for drastically different situations! The shooter mechanics are brilliant and gunplay is challenging, buy this game if you want to truly experience a post-apocalyptic world, just turn the lights off, the sound up and lose yourself to the zone! Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    The S.T.A.L.K.E.R. world and the Zone are one of my favorites of all time. This game as shipped leaves a lot to be desired. I give it a 9 if you are using mods, maybe even a 10. On its own I'd give it about a 7 or 8. With what is out there now, especially the Stalker Complete mods, the game is absolutely amazing. All the bugs are fixed, the graphics, sound, lighting, and just about everything else are beautiful. I love the soundtrack for this game as well (except the beginning Clear Sky base song). I never had any of the bugs or quest/script errors others are mentioning. If you own a high end PC, cranking this up with the full dynamic lighting can be one of the most immersive experiences of all time. Weather mods add beautiful mornings and sunsets, amazing cloud formations and colors, and terrifying thunder storms. If you play this game at all, I highly recommend modding it first. The Complete mod by ArtistPavel is easy to install (.exe file) and is comprehensive and doesn't change any of the core gameplay. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    6
    This game provides many things good - shooting is competent, open world is charm and full of secret. Unfortunately, everythings is ruined by technical issues and bad optimalization. I can survive this in game like GTA IV (where's fantastic story) but here it's salt in the wound. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    To start with the positive: The part about Clear Sky, mainly the first part of the game, including the swamps, the fraction itself, the ambiance, the first Clear Sky missions, etc, was very well done. I even felt surprised at how GSC Game World managed to add something so different from their previous title to the same world, without messing it up. That, along with fixing a big part of that buggy game-play from SoC, was what amazed me at first, when I played through the swamps. I guess what I felt about the game at that point was: "This is going to be really good!" However, it turned out not to be so. That feeling quickly turned into "Whoa, that was fast, leaving this place, I wonder when I'll get back here", ever since I left the swamps. Too bad for me though, cause I never did! It seems that you barely ever have any time to explore the world, since you're always headed for the next mission, often because someone is calling out for help; they taught you not to ignore those calls way in the beginning, and that along with my experience from playing SoC, where every choice you make matters, I haven't ignored a single one. This resulted in me being paced to the next part of the main quest, rather than exploring the world. I can't even tell you whether it's even worth exploring!

    What else is, the storytelling; it's REALLY bad. The whole story was basically neglected. There are holes in the story between SoC and this game the size that you could drive a truck right through them! It doesn't even seem to be an attempt to be mystical; it really just seems to have been forgotten. I don't want to spoil it for any of you who might actually play it, but the ending isn't any better. So, all that, along with a ton of other relatively small issues (they would be big in other games), my conclusion comes to this: The game most of all seems like a spin-off from Shadow of Chernobyl, an attempt to get some easy money out from the players who like the first title. The story is not worth much, and neither is much of the rest of the game, if you play it after having tried the original, in which case all I would say is good about it, is the fact that it feels a lot like the original game in some ways, however, the lack of an even decent story overshadows it. GSC Game World really had a big shot at filling out a bunch of [u]very[u/] interesting holes in the original story, but they failed miserably in doing so. If you miss SoC so much, that you just need to go back, this won't be much to find, unless you can live with the disappointing story. In that case, the slightly improved graphics and features (PDA, Upgrade-system, Faction-wars) might make up for some of it. Thank you for reading through this. It was done in a very short time, but I don't feel like I owe it to this game, sadly, what a big chance wasted...
    Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    This game had so much potential. I played it to the end but almost wish I hadn't wasted my time. I had it fully patched up-to-date, with several popular mods, and it still felt broken and incomplete. The atmosphere is great, but the actual game is very poor. AI is truly dire. The last level really shows that the game was rushed. And the ending... possibly the worst ending of any videogame I've ever played in 25 years. Shadow of Chernobyl was a much better game. Probably more frustrating than fun. I'll delete this from Steam and never reinstall it. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2011
    0
    As much as I try to love this game, I simply can't. The developers completely ignored the first game and its issues and seemed to have thought that allowing a stupid AI, clunky and unresponsive controls would result in a more realistic approach...wrong! You literally shoot enemies 3-5 times in the head and they are still alive, it's absolutely disgraceful. The game has such a great story behind it, but the actual control, feel and design of the game is so bad that you will shut it off immediately. Even after several hours of trying to enjoy it, I simply can't get over the fact that it's so repetitive, dull and badly designed that you spend 80% of the time in the game dying and running, even on the lowest difficulty. Avoid buying this game before the developers learn how to script and not sell garbage. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews