S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The player will become a stalker, a guy who earns money from shoveling embers out of infernal oven of Chernobyl Zone. Returning from the radioactivity-blazing Zone, he will sell anomalous formations to underground dealers and scientists in research camps on the Zone border. With the moneyThe player will become a stalker, a guy who earns money from shoveling embers out of infernal oven of Chernobyl Zone. Returning from the radioactivity-blazing Zone, he will sell anomalous formations to underground dealers and scientists in research camps on the Zone border. With the money procured, the player will purchase equipment, weapons and protective suits allowing him to reach previously inaccessible areas. This is a role-playing game without growing experience of your character, without changing characteristics and levels. We want the player to develop his real mastery, moreover Stalker is an FPS/RPG game and much depends on his ability to fight. [GSC Game World] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC Format
    93
    Broken. Absolutely and utterly broken. Not the game, oh no, it's my fragile nerves that have been shattered. Adrenalin is still coursing through my veins as I type, and what's more, I absolutely love it. STALKER is a thoroughly affecting game, and it's got me by the short hairs. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  2. AceGamez
    90
    I loved every single challenging, compelling, atmosphere-laden moment of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. It's just so different from everything else that's out there.
  3. From its alternate reality setting and realistic gun mechanics to its trading system and action horror formula, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. is radioactive rareness.
  4. 82
    By itself, the game is a fascinating achievement, even if you trip over technical cracks more than you should.
  5. 80
    The game's "exclusion zone" setting, a no-man's-land roughly 30 square kilometers surrounding the Chernobyl nuclear reactor, is very much "Mad Maxim": post-Soviet road warriors just beyond the containment dome. Bleak as the end of the world (or at least life as we know it), it's an invention as gorgeous as years-old graphics overhauled for a late launch get.
  6. 80
    The clunky interface, numerous bugs, fractured story telling and underdeveloped ideas do distract from what could well have been a real classic, but the fact that GSC have come through development hell to produce a game as memorable as this is quite an achievement.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 269
  1. eh
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Extremely addictive and with good inner story. Marvelous. Best FPS I've ever played.
  2. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great game, definitely worth playing. I had a few false starts over the last few years, but i played it and finished it over theThis is a great game, definitely worth playing. I had a few false starts over the last few years, but i played it and finished it over the last few weeks. according to steam, I clocked in at 27 hours. The game has a few bugs still but none of which are showstopping. This game had a few balance issues (way too much ammo and money in the world, pistols are completely useless beyond the first 2 hours or so). The environments was absolutely stunning and very authentic looking. Before playing the game I suggest you read up on the history of chernobyl on wikipedia... it's fascinating. The enemy AI was very good, but unfortunately there was no stealth aspect to the game, simply because enemies are aware of you almost all of the time, so the only way is to run and gun. The story was just ok and the missions were pretty all right. Overall I loved it... HOWEVER, i unfortunately hadn't heard of "stalker complete 2009" until after I finished the game, which was a real pity... so if you haven't played it yet, be sure to pick up that mod before starting up the game. Expand
  3. EricR.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    This is probably one of the most amazing and extreme first person shooters i have ever played, yes it has its bugs and coding issues but once This is probably one of the most amazing and extreme first person shooters i have ever played, yes it has its bugs and coding issues but once you patch the game and get everything up to speed, the game had me playing for hours and hours. so many different things and possibilitys you can explore and proceed in many different ways. Just has me playing and playing just because of the several ways you can play through it, and many different and interesting endings and gameplay route within it. Its sort of like Deus ex and BioShock , so if your a fan of the Dues ex or BioShock i highly recommend this game. With the types of game play thats implemented in this game you'll just be blown away by the story and and environmental surrounding of this hostile world of Chernobyl! Expand
  4. NickMaxwell
    May 27, 2008
    9
    This game is easily the best shooter of its time. Let me start by saying that the game is a perfect blend between an RPG with a HUGE ImmerseThis game is easily the best shooter of its time. Let me start by saying that the game is a perfect blend between an RPG with a HUGE Immerse breathing zone, with the valued tactics of a fantastic shooter like Arma. This game has hours upon hours of playing time stacked onto it by me personaly due to the games fantastic storyline and gameplay. and better yet, if you dont like the original stalker there are HUNDREDS of modifactions to suit anyones needs, and make this game worth around 800 hours of anyones life ;). THIS IS THE PERFECT SHOOTER. But then you ask "Well if it is the perfect shooter why do you only give it a 9/10?", well the game is running an absolete gaming engine, makeing the graphics not the greatist with several laggy situations, but with minor tweeks you can run this game perfect. Another reason i only give it a 9 is because the MP is terribly lacking, it is horrid and laggy, but the single player compensates and makes the game increadably enjoyable. The only game better isnt out yet and thats STALER:Clear Sky. DONT MISS THE BEGINING OF THE BEST SHOOTING FRANCHISE OF THE DECADE! Expand
  5. AdamWainwright
    Mar 22, 2008
    8
    I have been wainting for this game to come out for years and was quite happy with the end result. I had to upgrade my rig just to run itI have been wainting for this game to come out for years and was quite happy with the end result. I had to upgrade my rig just to run it smoothly. The story lines not bad and love the multiple ending. I have played it about 4 times and gonna start it again soon. Expand
  6. RJ
    Jul 21, 2007
    7
    This game is definitely above average, but not spectacular. Graphics are decent, sound is pretty good, and the AI is actually challenging on This game is definitely above average, but not spectacular. Graphics are decent, sound is pretty good, and the AI is actually challenging on harder difficulty levels. The environment is just awesome! Now for the cons: Missions keep replaying (I'm guessing this is to keep your inventory up), weapons actually jam (I hate that), and the way characters mouths move when they talk.... their jaws only move up and down, they look like a robot talking. Other than that, great game! Expand
  7. B.O.S.Kuro-chan
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    This game is 2D, not worth any upgrades to Vista. I would rather drink pig urine that was pooped in by a Gorilla with hemorrhoids than playThis game is 2D, not worth any upgrades to Vista. I would rather drink pig urine that was pooped in by a Gorilla with hemorrhoids than play this game. It is ugly, sounds horrible, has bad controls, horrible gameplay, retarded story line, and, to top it off, it installs about 20 viruses when you boot it up. Avoid this game at all costs. Expand

See all 269 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.