Star Trek: Legacy Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Trek: Legacy places you in the role of the Admiral of a task force of warships, which you control in small and large-scale battles. Test your strategic and tactical skills in real-time combat featuring authentic spaceships, full damage modeling, and spectacular visual effects. TheStar Trek: Legacy places you in the role of the Admiral of a task force of warships, which you control in small and large-scale battles. Test your strategic and tactical skills in real-time combat featuring authentic spaceships, full damage modeling, and spectacular visual effects. The storyline spans the entire Star Trek Universe, including the Original Series, Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and Enterprise eras. Taking advantage of next-generation consoles, Star Trek: Legacy features dynamic three-dimensional battlefields with graphically stunning space environments filled with fully realized nebulas, wormholes, planets, and stars. With full multiplayer support, you can to choose from small-scale engagements to all-out war involving multiple star systems in addition to tracking stats and player rankings. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Although there are shortcomings, Legacy is an opportunity for Star Trek fans to experience ship battles from any of the Trek time periods. If you can look past the fact that you'll spend all of your time looking at the hulls of the ships, the battles can be fun.
  2. It may be a straight port from the Xbox 360 version but does play well and has a very good storyline with well-done voice acting from all the original Star Trek captains.
  3. I had high hopes that Legacy would be the game that rejuvenates the dormant Star Trek franchise, but it's just another addition to my pile of disappointing Trek games. [Mar 2007, p.58]
  4. This starship combat game simply can't overcome bad controls, frustrating mission designs, and a mess of bugs.
  5. A tiresome, half-arsed effort. [Feb 2007, p.88]
  6. Legacy looks great and sounds great, it has a few good hooks and a solid story to tell, but it fails on most levels to be a compelling experience.
  7. Unless you are a die-hard who simply doesn't care about fun and all you want to do is make sure your Star Trek collection is complete, then I recommend that you avoid this disastrous mistreatment of the house that Roddenberry built.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 14 out of 20
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    This game, despite it's little problems, is a blast to play. Anyone rating it lower than an 8 does not know a good one when they play one.
  2. IanBell
    Dec 9, 2006
    8
    It's the best Trek game to date, which may not be saying much. Reminds me of Bridge Commander on steroids. The voice acting is done by a It's the best Trek game to date, which may not be saying much. Reminds me of Bridge Commander on steroids. The voice acting is done by a lot of the real characters which adds to the authenticity. Great for fans, but not likely to win over any new converts. Expand
  3. JimmusM.
    Jan 15, 2007
    7
    Certainly not the worst Star Trek game out. It's pretty and fairly easy to play. I just wish they'd do an open-ended Star Trek (ala Certainly not the worst Star Trek game out. It's pretty and fairly easy to play. I just wish they'd do an open-ended Star Trek (ala Grand Theft Auto) where you could visit planets and the missions were not so linear. Is it so hard to do? You've got tractor beams, sensors, transporters and most of the goodies, but you can really only use them in predetermined situations, making them essentially useless. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jul 9, 2009
    3
    This game, despite it's little problems, is a blast to play. Anyone rating it lower than an 8 does not know a good one when they play one.
  5. Taliesyn
    Dec 23, 2006
    2
    Graphics are outdated (and worse than present on the 360 version) and the controls are even worse. The reliance on using 2-5 keys at the same Graphics are outdated (and worse than present on the 360 version) and the controls are even worse. The reliance on using 2-5 keys at the same time is bad enough, but tack on requiring mouse input for certain commands to the issue of any mouse motion AT ALL disabling your camera lock, and you just have a serious control mess. The complete inablitity to remap the keyboard is a throwback to games of fifteen years ago. On top of this, graphics are poorly rendered and poorly optimized, resulting in horrible lag at the MENU screen. The only redeeming features are voiceovers from the original captains and the fact that the dogfights CAN be fun for the first couple hours. Expand
  6. ChrisS.
    Feb 3, 2007
    1
    I waited for ages for my local game shop to restock this game. Now I know why they wasn't in a hurry..ITS UNPLAYERBLE! Totally I waited for ages for my local game shop to restock this game. Now I know why they wasn't in a hurry..ITS UNPLAYERBLE! Totally disappointed. Ever since Microsoft entered the console world PC games are getting terrible. Don't buy this game! My specs are... 3200+ AMD, 1024mb 400mhz ram, GF FX5900. And its unplayerble, 1 frame a second max, on low settings. Expand
  7. R.C.C.
    Dec 16, 2006
    0
    As a left-hander, the default control scheme is completely useless - WASD mapping for movement - and since you cannot remap the keys, this As a left-hander, the default control scheme is completely useless - WASD mapping for movement - and since you cannot remap the keys, this game is completely unplayable. It's a slap in the face of the consumer to not allow them to remap the keys. Do not buy this game. Companies that don't care about the customer whatsoever (check the FAQ on their website, there is no way to change the mapping and they DO NOT CARE) do not deserve to be in business. Everyone involved with this game should be flipping burgers. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.