Star Wars: Empire at War Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set a few years before the events of "Episode IV A New Hope," the game lets players rewrite history as well as experience the aftermath of "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith," the creation of the Rebel Alliance, and Darth Vader's rise to power. Using an entirely new game engineSet a few years before the events of "Episode IV A New Hope," the game lets players rewrite history as well as experience the aftermath of "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith," the creation of the Rebel Alliance, and Darth Vader's rise to power. Using an entirely new game engine created by the Las Vegas-based developer Petroglyph, Star Wars: Empire at War features beautifully rendered land and space battles set on memorable planets such as Hoth, Tatooine and Dagobah as well as never-before-seen environments taken directly from the Star Wars films and expanded universe novels. In the game, players can choose to join either the Rebel Alliance or the Galactic Empire, building and setting up tactical forces that can be unleashed on the enemy in real-time 3D. All of the gameplay and action within Star Wars: Empire at War is a persistent, meaning that strategic and tactical elements from previous events will have a permanent effect on the galaxy. As players build, manage and progress their space and ground-based units, troops and vehicles, memorable Star Wars hero characters will begin playing a role in key situations. In addition to the single player campaign mode, the game includes a two-player Empire vs. Rebellion mode and up to eight player online skirmish modes. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Empire at War has everything. The graphics, sound, and overall presentation are each near perfect. Gameplay is fast-paced and fun, with very little repetition, and fans of the setting will be amazed with the attention to details.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    90
    Who would have guessed that some of the most seasoned real-time strategy veterans on the planet would take one of the most well-worn licenses in gaming and turn it into one of the most inventive game in years? [May 2006, p.45]
  3. PC Gamer
    85
    Empire at War finally delivers a truly satisfying Star Wars strategy experience. [Apr 2006, p.62]
  4. For me, this was like having the world’s biggest Star Wars play set and getting to play ‘army”, only with cool special effects and explosions and authentic sounds.
  5. The thing of it is, though, all but the most hardcore RTS junkies will play only one-fourth of the game (only the Empire half, and within that half, only the space battles). That doesn't mean the other three-fourths of the game is wasted content, but if LucasArts had balanced things out a bit more, there's little that could've stopped this game from being a must-buy.
  6. The day-to-day ground conflicts that make up most of the game are not particularly inspiring. The full-on space wars are a real thrill to behold.
  7. AceGamez
    60
    As much I hate to say it, Star Wars: Empire At War isn't worth the entry fee. This is a terrible shame, since it had such promise from the pre-launch screenshots, but sadly the repetitive and shallow gameplay, combined with the below par presentation and ludicrously high difficulty level, simply can't compete with the best of the genre.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. JeffT.
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    This is a stunning Star Wars game, perhaps the best Star Wars game to date. Not to mention an amazing real time strategy game!
  2. NateW.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    it's totally awesome. the sound and graphics are the best for a RTS game.
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best RTS games I've ever played, and gives you a satisfying Star Wars experience. While the initial game isn't tooThis game is one of the best RTS games I've ever played, and gives you a satisfying Star Wars experience. While the initial game isn't too large in scale by today's standards, the great modding community gives us even more depth into the Star Wars canon, and gives us a truly fantastic experience. The only fault i could give for this game is that there isn't more of it out there. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2016
    9
    This game is amazing! For me, there's only one con and many pros on this.

    Con: later on in the game, you'll be able to predict its patterns
    This game is amazing! For me, there's only one con and many pros on this.

    Con: later on in the game, you'll be able to predict its patterns and thus be able to defeat them easily in easy, middle, and hard levels. The difficulty of this game is more on stronger/harder-hit units or more amount of units deployed in combat, than on actually increasing the A.I.'s intelligence that you're competing against. Increasing A.I.'s intelligence would make one feel like they're playing chess against them; that's very vital on making a best strategy game.

    Pros: awesome CGI, the strategic/tactical challenges you'll initially encounter, some characters, units, storytelling, and pretty much everything else. This game was very addicting to me. When I've bought it, I've played it for hours until I get bored w/ it and then left for some time; one week later, I'm still playing it again.

    For someone who's 1) a Star Wars fan, 2) likes strategy games like Ages of Empire, and 3) really into CGI 3D effects, this game is it.
    Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Great game. Not without it's flaws but still a must for any Star Wars fan. Good amount of content, 2 campaigns, galactic conquest mode,Great game. Not without it's flaws but still a must for any Star Wars fan. Good amount of content, 2 campaigns, galactic conquest mode, skirmish and multiplayer. Also there is a huge modding community around the game which will increase it's re playability. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    A strategy game in real-time seems like the perfect genre for Star Wars, and Empire at War sort of nailed it in a certain sense, by that IA strategy game in real-time seems like the perfect genre for Star Wars, and Empire at War sort of nailed it in a certain sense, by that I mean this game does feel like Star Wars, and I feel like I am actually commanding either the rebels or the empire, and that feeling is one of the best you can have while playing a video game. Despite that Empire at War has it's flaws. There are two factions in this game, Rebels are Empire, and two modes of battle, those being in land and in space. Space battles are where the game shines, since they look great, and never seem to get boring, I have started up a game countless of times to play a single space skirmish battle, and it will always be a blast, going from star fighters to giant capital cruisers battling it out is legitimately great. Despite that there is a unit limit, and that takes out some of the scale of the battles. Things in land aren't so great however, they look quite ugly actually, and can be relatively boring at times, when I wanted to conquer a planet I actually found myself playing and enjoying the space battles and then simply auto-completing (a feature that I should note for single-player) the land battles in order to avoid them, I did find myself enjoying certain land battles in the campaign modes however, but that is mainly because that mode made sure the battles were more unique. Talking about modes, apart from the two campaigns, there are skirmish battles and a mode called galactic conquest, where as the name suggests you'll have to conquer the galaxy, and this is an interesting part of the game, for a good portion of this mode you won't be in battle, you'll be viewing the galaxy and the planets you control as well as your enemies' planets, training both ground and space units and making buildings, as well as transporting troops and strengthening your economy, and this galactic conquest mode can extend and get really tense thanks to all of that, however it can get tedious after a while. Multiplayer is LAN only, which is a shame, since some online battles would definitely have been very interesting. A feature that this game has that is very noteworthy is the movie camera mode, it lets you see battles as if it was a movie, it can be a little distracting amidst the action, however when you can put the camera and relax it is great, but as I said it shines way more in space than land. Also, strategy-game wise it isn't that deep, there are few hotkeys and options that you would use in other strategy games like Starcraft 2. Overall I think it's a good game, but some issues lead it to not be great, I'd say download the demo (which is a good demo by the way) and judge by yourself, as for me, I think my purchase was good, but the potential that Star Wars has still wasn't used to it's fullest. Expand
  7. TobyD.
    Feb 18, 2006
    1
    I thought this was the worst game I've ever been conned into buying by overzealous reviews by people I don't think have even played I thought this was the worst game I've ever been conned into buying by overzealous reviews by people I don't think have even played this game. do like starwars, but we've had some problems with Star wars games, Battlefront 2 sucked like a £5 whore. I.e - badly. This is worse. This is, quite possibly the WORST game I have EVER played. The graphics are appalling. They are irritating and cutesy, while lacking in detail, the only thing that looks good is the explosions in the space battles. Don't get me started on the inconsistencies. Just trust me, if you're a star wars fan this game will irritate you. Perfect example - During the formative years of the Rebellion, acccording to EAW the SOLE method the Rebel Alliance had for gathering intelligence was.... wait for it... R2D2 & C3P0. "Many camp droids died to bring you this information..." Also, apparently the Rebellion is just as strong as the empire. No, really. Click single player, click the SUPPOSEDLY freeform conquest mode that - MAKES YOU PICK A LINEAR SCENARIO. Pick Galactic conquest (the only relatively freeform one, although if you replay it, they always attack the same places) try starting it from BOTH sides. Compare fleets and troops. Lucasarts? I wish I could defenestrate whoever was responsible for this pile of s**t. And the ground combat...? No, I can't. I'll cry. I'd say find out for yourself, but... Ok, one quick thing, all combat, both ground and orbital reminds me of warcraft 2 without the charm. You have a set square map, with predefined "terrain" like asteroid fields. You can't alter the camera angle at all, although you do have a very limited zoom function. except you can't Build units. Use pre-built - hammer the crap out of stuff. Very command and conquer but with even less strategy and charm (and I AM talking the FIRST C&C!) Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years

    Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years Image
    Published: November 6, 2017
    We reveal the 25 best Star Wars games, ranked by Metascore.