User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 97
  2. Negative: 41 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J
    May 9, 2005
    3
    Define the word horrible and then use this game as an example. Star Wars galaxies has to be one of the worst user-friendly systems. I had to google everything that didnt come naturally. Like because yu cant click on a unit to attack it. I really believe that a 2 1/2 meter wookie can kill a butterfly, if only mine hadnt been killed. It was a very strange and unappealing game. After 5 hours Define the word horrible and then use this game as an example. Star Wars galaxies has to be one of the worst user-friendly systems. I had to google everything that didnt come naturally. Like because yu cant click on a unit to attack it. I really believe that a 2 1/2 meter wookie can kill a butterfly, if only mine hadnt been killed. It was a very strange and unappealing game. After 5 hours of trying to understand, I took the CD and broke it in half cause I couldnt return it to the store. This game would need a total overhaul before I attempt it again. Expand
  2. ChristopherS.
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    A Beautiful and potentially epic game, completely ruined by money hungering developers. It is horrifically sad to see how far this could have went, all to be destroyed by a team of unworthy devs ignoring their most important resource - the fans. Don't play unless you really, really want to be let down.
  3. JohnS.
    Jun 28, 2003
    3
    Cool graphics but buggy and boring.
  4. Dec 20, 2011
    3
    I dont understand why the so-called upgrades had to happen,it turned this game into a mess! And it meant that all who unlocked the jedi class before it had wasted their time for nothing!
  5. Zach
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    I vote zero only because I never got to play this game so I will base my opinion on their CRAPPYservice! I am 12 yrs old and used my B-day money to purchase this game. I payed 42.00 for this game and 13.00 of this was for 2nd day shipping. I recieved an e-mail a week later saying they "were now shipping it out" then waited another week to finally get it in the mail. Then the addedI vote zero only because I never got to play this game so I will base my opinion on their CRAPPYservice! I am 12 yrs old and used my B-day money to purchase this game. I payed 42.00 for this game and 13.00 of this was for 2nd day shipping. I recieved an e-mail a week later saying they "were now shipping it out" then waited another week to finally get it in the mail. Then the added punishment was that I was heart broken to find out i had to cough up more money just to play it! My dad re-imburse me the money and said the company was only good for a adolecent learning experience about " life and the rotten world of scum that is out there, so you see son your money was not wasted. Look at it as a 2week course in the reality of life with con artists and scum thats out there". Expand
  6. RalphE.
    Jun 29, 2003
    3
    Very Complicated!!!!! Do Not Get Into this game unless you have the Maximum Hardware on your computer! This is a VERY LARGE Game! It is a memory-Hog! I suggest at least 768 mb of Ram! It is expensive, so pull out those Credit Cards!
  7. JM
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    Excuse me while I wonder why I paid good money for EverQuest with Wookie skins.
  8. DVassal
    Jul 10, 2003
    0
    Disguistingly boring, save your money, this game is utter garbage.
  9. Sep 6, 2012
    4
    SWG was an attempt at a Star Wars based MMORPG, an attempt that utterly failed. From the minute I installed this game I was plagued with bugs, lag, and glitches. My computer more than met the requirements, yet SWG always seemed to run like crap. The graphics were terrible, the areas were way too big and way too plain. I could literally feel this game dying before it began. Worst of all,SWG was an attempt at a Star Wars based MMORPG, an attempt that utterly failed. From the minute I installed this game I was plagued with bugs, lag, and glitches. My computer more than met the requirements, yet SWG always seemed to run like crap. The graphics were terrible, the areas were way too big and way too plain. I could literally feel this game dying before it began. Worst of all, the interface was impossible to deal with and most of the time you felt completely lost. This was a total failure by Sony, and if you want a decent Star Wars MMO check out Bioware's SWTOR. This is a prime example of why subscription fees don't work for most games. Expand
  10. JakeE.
    Jun 30, 2003
    1
    Boring, boring, and more boring. Buy this game and you'll get to do repetitive Fed-ex missions, fight little bunnies with underpowered guns, and wander through miles of empty terrain. THIS IS NOT THE STAR WARS UNIVERSE YOU WERE LOOKING FOR.
  11. RickS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    1
    Very boring! Steep learning curve, clunky interface not worth your money!
  12. RickD.
    May 4, 2004
    2
    Yet ANOTHER game that was released WAY too early. By the time they get the game all "balanced" and such it will be too late. I played from Beta0 to release and lasted 3 months after release. it is BORING beyond belief unless you like to grind mind numbing experience. My advice, wait for WOW and don't waste your money.
  13. MatthieuR.
    Sep 20, 2003
    1
    First off, I LOVE Star Wars. Second, I consider myself an experienced gamer, with many an RPG under my belt. With these qualifications, I can say that SWG is one of the most disappointing games ever made. Wow, standing around building up XP by killing bugs! Cool, can I please pay $15 a month to stand in a cantina and wait for people to come in so I can heal them? I know this game First off, I LOVE Star Wars. Second, I consider myself an experienced gamer, with many an RPG under my belt. With these qualifications, I can say that SWG is one of the most disappointing games ever made. Wow, standing around building up XP by killing bugs! Cool, can I please pay $15 a month to stand in a cantina and wait for people to come in so I can heal them? I know this game isn't the kind that you can master in a day, but come on! It's incredibly desolate and boring--isn't the point of a MMORPG to be immersive and full of non-NPC's? Oh, and the graphics aren't that great; good, but hardly worth the praise. If you want a SW game, play Knights of the Old Republic, that game rocks! Expand
  14. JerradH.
    Jun 30, 2003
    2
    Highly disappointing. Combat is sickenly boring, and overall gameplay is full of way, way, WAY too many timesinks. Not to mention far too many things feel like Everquest with a Star Wars theme pasted on it. Another big gripe I have with it is you're only allowed one character per server, which is retarded beyond belief. Once you get past the very steep learning curve and at times Highly disappointing. Combat is sickenly boring, and overall gameplay is full of way, way, WAY too many timesinks. Not to mention far too many things feel like Everquest with a Star Wars theme pasted on it. Another big gripe I have with it is you're only allowed one character per server, which is retarded beyond belief. Once you get past the very steep learning curve and at times overly complex features (a fair bit of which are completely missing), you find that the time invested in doing so just wasn't worth it. It might become a good game maybe two or three years from now, but as it is, its nothing more than a way to rip off Star Wars fans who will buy anything labeled as such. Expand
  15. JohnV.
    Jul 10, 2003
    0
    Costly, buggy, and just plain boring, save your money and stray away from this utter piece of garbage.
  16. HarryHoundog
    Jul 7, 2003
    2
    Been there... done that.
  17. DannyR.
    Aug 14, 2003
    0
    Dear sir or madam, I wanted to write you all as a customer of SOE and Star Wars Galaxies. I just thought you should know about this game. I am a disabled veteran who has a lot of spare time on his hands, and I have played almost everysingle MMORPG. I picked up SWG on the release date and after the first day of a horrible launch, I thought I had a real gem on my hands. What I did not Dear sir or madam, I wanted to write you all as a customer of SOE and Star Wars Galaxies. I just thought you should know about this game. I am a disabled veteran who has a lot of spare time on his hands, and I have played almost everysingle MMORPG. I picked up SWG on the release date and after the first day of a horrible launch, I thought I had a real gem on my hands. What I did not realize is that his would be the biggest rip-off in the history of gaming. Let me tell you a little about SWG and how they treat there customers. First off I will give you a couple of quotes by just a few off the DEVS "Some problems can be made to go away by ignoring them" -- Raph Koster "We basically gave up on the melee class..." ------Raph Koster "the commando class is working as intended"-------------------Q3PO (commandos could not even gain exp in their trees) maybe that will give you a idea of the mentality of the people that run this game, and have developed it. When SWG shipped there were several classes that were broken that you could not even advance in 1.) commando 2.) bio Engineer 3.)droid engineer, and so on and so on. After a month of play of 5 to 10 hours a day of playing, I have some very good observations about this game. 1.) there is absolutely NO CONTENT. All you do is run back and forth from mission terminals and kill rabbits. This basically sums up the content of the game right here 2.) the DEVS of this game are the rudest developers that I have ever dealt with in 20 years of video game playing. If you posted constructive criticism of the game your post was locked or in my case you were banned from the forums for the above 2nd quote from Raph Koster that I posted that is from his very own website. If you call SWG there phone support is rude. If you talk to ingame DEV customer support you get the same kind of attitude. There are reports from gamers being told "tough shit" "fuck off" 3.) the nerfing in this game is the worst nerfing I have ever seen in a MMORPG. They took a few PvP issues and nerfed entire elite classes like the vaunted SW bounty hunter and Teras Kasi and made them worthless and broken with no regard to player versus enemy. 4.) I have never played a buggier game. The beta testers of this game begged them not to release this game as it was not ready yet, and yet they did to get their 15 bucks a month. I was actually told that if I wanted to help the game instead of asking for broken classes to be fixed I should go play on their test server. I would gladly have done that , but you still have to pay 15 bucks a month to beta test a game. This is SOE's job not mine. This was the most horrible gaming experience that I have ever had in my life. I was sucked in by the whole Star Wars universe thing , just like 200,000 other people, only to play a bugged game with the most inept and rude game developers that I have ever met in my life. I hope one day laws will be passed to regulate these gaming or any software company from releasing a known bugged to hell product just to sucker customers out of their money. I was really hoping this game would last and be great. I did not want to see it fail. This game is so bad , that developers had player correspondents for each profession to address issues and bugs with each class, and even the Player correspondents are canceling their accounts. I write this to plead with you not to buy this horrible game, and to tell your customers not to be sucked in because Star Wars is on the box. Someone needs to start holding these gaming companies accountable for there actions. And that is why I write this. Thank you, Daniel Richards banned from SWG forums for quoting a developer "Some problems can be made to go away by ignoring them" -- Raph Koster Expand
  18. N.N.
    Jul 29, 2004
    1
    This game is not worth the money! It is bugged, repetitive and dull. It has nice graphics and fair sound, but the community base is leaving and it has poor customer support and horrible lag. Worse yet, the released the game without space ships and are now releasing an expansion which you have to pay extra to use!!! Not only do you pay a steep price of $15 USD monthly, but you have to sink This game is not worth the money! It is bugged, repetitive and dull. It has nice graphics and fair sound, but the community base is leaving and it has poor customer support and horrible lag. Worse yet, the released the game without space ships and are now releasing an expansion which you have to pay extra to use!!! Not only do you pay a steep price of $15 USD monthly, but you have to sink $50 or so into the initial software and more (probably another 30 or so) into the expansion. Shame on you SoE and LucasArts. Shame on you! Expand
  19. VeryDisgusted
    May 27, 2005
    1
    So far, with a VERY loudly heard and felt first impression... This is one of the most horrible games. ever. This is rubbish. It might have been okay as a high school computing project, if it had an original world and character set, but it's supposed to be Star Wars. It's not. It's awful. I'd rather spend the cash on a multiple toenail extration. Pure bantha poodoo.
  20. WillyManilly
    Jul 15, 2005
    1
    Terrible game ... released to early.... buggy... boring... ... nerferifific...... waste of money.......DEVS don't even know what to do with such a crappy game...... and.... it ranks bottom of the barrel for MMOG! SOE should be ashamed.
  21. Gellin
    Mar 15, 2004
    0
    This game started with so much potential .. but after playing for a while I have reached the following conclusion. A handful of people are having fun while everyone else is pissed off they they are having to spend time and money to get to a point where they can have fun. save your money ...
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 40
    Combat looks patently ridiculous. How many shots from a blaster does it take to kill a fluffy space bunny, anyway?
  2. Galaxies has a few annoying aspects that seem endemic to MMORPGs - with tedious cross-country treks and features that are broken upon initial release - but it still delivers a lot of varied and innovative gameplay. [Oct 2003, p.92]
  3. Though Star Wars Galaxies does have the potential of becoming a better MMORPG, the current version of the game is dull and lacks in quality.