User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 97
  2. Negative: 41 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J
    May 9, 2005
    3
    Define the word horrible and then use this game as an example. Star Wars galaxies has to be one of the worst user-friendly systems. I had to google everything that didnt come naturally. Like because yu cant click on a unit to attack it. I really believe that a 2 1/2 meter wookie can kill a butterfly, if only mine hadnt been killed. It was a very strange and unappealing game. After 5 hours Define the word horrible and then use this game as an example. Star Wars galaxies has to be one of the worst user-friendly systems. I had to google everything that didnt come naturally. Like because yu cant click on a unit to attack it. I really believe that a 2 1/2 meter wookie can kill a butterfly, if only mine hadnt been killed. It was a very strange and unappealing game. After 5 hours of trying to understand, I took the CD and broke it in half cause I couldnt return it to the store. This game would need a total overhaul before I attempt it again. Expand
  2. ChazD.
    Jul 12, 2003
    6
    I was hooked right from the first day! And then... the repitition set in. Harvest this, build that, shoot something else. How many times can you do the exact thing over and over all for the hopes of finally having enough XP to advance your character? I finally realized that it's not entertainment, it's an addiction. You play this because you want to see it become something I was hooked right from the first day! And then... the repitition set in. Harvest this, build that, shoot something else. How many times can you do the exact thing over and over all for the hopes of finally having enough XP to advance your character? I finally realized that it's not entertainment, it's an addiction. You play this because you want to see it become something amazing, despite the fact that you're not actually enjoying yourself. Fan though I am, save your money. Expand
  3. Bergelmir
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    Good game, even there is some bugs for now. Good news, it's playable even now a few days after the launch. Almost lag neither waiting time for loading a zone. It gives a strange feeling. A lot of professions, no levels, tactics battles. This is not a first person shooter neither a classic RPG. You can even play a non combat character. You will like it or you will hate it. I like it :)
  4. ChristopherS.
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    A Beautiful and potentially epic game, completely ruined by money hungering developers. It is horrifically sad to see how far this could have went, all to be destroyed by a team of unworthy devs ignoring their most important resource - the fans. Don't play unless you really, really want to be let down.
  5. JohnS.
    Jun 28, 2003
    3
    Cool graphics but buggy and boring.
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    3
    I dont understand why the so-called upgrades had to happen,it turned this game into a mess! And it meant that all who unlocked the jedi class before it had wasted their time for nothing!
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Consider this a eulogy, and a rating of the final product. What a skeleton team of developers did with rebuilding what was honestly a broken and horribly mismanaged product was nothing short of amazing. If you were too busy spending the past six years being upset about the NGE, you really, Really missed out on a lot.

    While it was never a perfect game, at the end it very nearly realized
    Consider this a eulogy, and a rating of the final product. What a skeleton team of developers did with rebuilding what was honestly a broken and horribly mismanaged product was nothing short of amazing. If you were too busy spending the past six years being upset about the NGE, you really, Really missed out on a lot.

    While it was never a perfect game, at the end it very nearly realized its own endless potential. Unfortunately money and mediocrity won out in the end, and as the unwashed masses head off to play the new "WoW with lightsabers", the rest of us lose another little piece of what used to be good about online gaming.
    Expand
  8. Zach
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    I vote zero only because I never got to play this game so I will base my opinion on their CRAPPYservice! I am 12 yrs old and used my B-day money to purchase this game. I payed 42.00 for this game and 13.00 of this was for 2nd day shipping. I recieved an e-mail a week later saying they "were now shipping it out" then waited another week to finally get it in the mail. Then the addedI vote zero only because I never got to play this game so I will base my opinion on their CRAPPYservice! I am 12 yrs old and used my B-day money to purchase this game. I payed 42.00 for this game and 13.00 of this was for 2nd day shipping. I recieved an e-mail a week later saying they "were now shipping it out" then waited another week to finally get it in the mail. Then the added punishment was that I was heart broken to find out i had to cough up more money just to play it! My dad re-imburse me the money and said the company was only good for a adolecent learning experience about " life and the rotten world of scum that is out there, so you see son your money was not wasted. Look at it as a 2week course in the reality of life with con artists and scum thats out there". Expand
  9. RalphE.
    Jun 29, 2003
    3
    Very Complicated!!!!! Do Not Get Into this game unless you have the Maximum Hardware on your computer! This is a VERY LARGE Game! It is a memory-Hog! I suggest at least 768 mb of Ram! It is expensive, so pull out those Credit Cards!
  10. Anonymous
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    Yes this game did have some problems and they are being fixed and in fact I am one of those commandos and yes I am leveling and in fact all classes are leveling. In the beginning you have to wait until people can make more advanced equipment since the game is player operated. You cant just cast it away because of what the first week is like it is a game the people have to advance. InYes this game did have some problems and they are being fixed and in fact I am one of those commandos and yes I am leveling and in fact all classes are leveling. In the beginning you have to wait until people can make more advanced equipment since the game is player operated. You cant just cast it away because of what the first week is like it is a game the people have to advance. In fact there are already masters of those classes that are said to be unable to be trained. Teras Kasi has been getting better also and Bounty Hunter has also been improved. I enjoy the game but yes the vehicles havent been put into effect but there are starports and shuttle ports to travel with. This is what has been happening. It does take time to make revisions to the game it cant be instantly done there has to be new programming installed which has to be made. Theses are my comments on the game. Expand
  11. JM
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    Excuse me while I wonder why I paid good money for EverQuest with Wookie skins.
  12. MattM.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    This is a highly addictive game. SWG is as good as you make it. The developers have set up a Galaxy and sprinkled in some plot points. But where SWG really shines is in the multiplayer angle. Group hunting missions and PvP battles are just plain fun! If you are looking to be a Jedi and swashbuckle your way through the Galaxy, this game is NOT for you (I suggest picking up KOTOR). If you This is a highly addictive game. SWG is as good as you make it. The developers have set up a Galaxy and sprinkled in some plot points. But where SWG really shines is in the multiplayer angle. Group hunting missions and PvP battles are just plain fun! If you are looking to be a Jedi and swashbuckle your way through the Galaxy, this game is NOT for you (I suggest picking up KOTOR). If you want to become a part of the Star Wars Universe and experience every day life as a wookie, this game is definitely for you. Expand
  13. DVassal
    Jul 10, 2003
    0
    Disguistingly boring, save your money, this game is utter garbage.
  14. ChrisA.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Amazing game, dont forget the other expansions to ,including the new Trials Of Obiwan!
  15. DougD.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Like any other MMO, it really depends on your tastes. I love this game, some people, obviosly, dont. I find it fun and if you like the star wars genre the pvp space battles are exciting and fun, as are the legacy missions.
  16. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    This game captures the essence of the franchise and gives each class a different and unique story with brilliant voice acting.
    Best graphics in the genre, solid gameplay
  17. Sep 6, 2012
    4
    SWG was an attempt at a Star Wars based MMORPG, an attempt that utterly failed. From the minute I installed this game I was plagued with bugs, lag, and glitches. My computer more than met the requirements, yet SWG always seemed to run like crap. The graphics were terrible, the areas were way too big and way too plain. I could literally feel this game dying before it began. Worst of all,SWG was an attempt at a Star Wars based MMORPG, an attempt that utterly failed. From the minute I installed this game I was plagued with bugs, lag, and glitches. My computer more than met the requirements, yet SWG always seemed to run like crap. The graphics were terrible, the areas were way too big and way too plain. I could literally feel this game dying before it began. Worst of all, the interface was impossible to deal with and most of the time you felt completely lost. This was a total failure by Sony, and if you want a decent Star Wars MMO check out Bioware's SWTOR. This is a prime example of why subscription fees don't work for most games. Expand
  18. JakeE.
    Jun 30, 2003
    1
    Boring, boring, and more boring. Buy this game and you'll get to do repetitive Fed-ex missions, fight little bunnies with underpowered guns, and wander through miles of empty terrain. THIS IS NOT THE STAR WARS UNIVERSE YOU WERE LOOKING FOR.
  19. RickS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    1
    Very boring! Steep learning curve, clunky interface not worth your money!
  20. FrankyF.
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    This game is not for: Whiners, or try to beat in a day gamers. This game is hardcore - You cant beat it so dont try its not like that - its like a virtual life. - After the first day i did not think I would like it then it starts to suck you in - Its immersive and Hard Core. Their are some bugs which they are working out - and a lot of people whine hardcore - like that guy that wrote an This game is not for: Whiners, or try to beat in a day gamers. This game is hardcore - You cant beat it so dont try its not like that - its like a virtual life. - After the first day i did not think I would like it then it starts to suck you in - Its immersive and Hard Core. Their are some bugs which they are working out - and a lot of people whine hardcore - like that guy that wrote an essay about the problems but overall the GAME rules - and all the peeps that say they quit - really just made new characters and started again. - Try the game but BEWARE: It will take up all your time. Expand
  21. RickD.
    May 4, 2004
    2
    Yet ANOTHER game that was released WAY too early. By the time they get the game all "balanced" and such it will be too late. I played from Beta0 to release and lasted 3 months after release. it is BORING beyond belief unless you like to grind mind numbing experience. My advice, wait for WOW and don't waste your money.
  22. SteveL.
    Jun 29, 2003
    9
    Oh my, I quit Everquest for this. Yes, Everquest...this game is amazing, the game is limitless online, there is so much to do, so much to be, so much to live up to. In my opinion, if your a fan of Star Wars at all, this is better than Everquest.
  23. SlappyM.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    Great game- excellent graphics, nice atmosphere, superb non-combat skill tree, convenient navigation and interface, very stable (has been for me at least), tons to explore. The first day after I logged off I was already thinking about all the schemes I would try to build my character and I was hooked. I havent found any in-depth dungeon-type group adventures like the best EQ raids such asGreat game- excellent graphics, nice atmosphere, superb non-combat skill tree, convenient navigation and interface, very stable (has been for me at least), tons to explore. The first day after I logged off I was already thinking about all the schemes I would try to build my character and I was hooked. I havent found any in-depth dungeon-type group adventures like the best EQ raids such as fire giants/naggy sequence yet, but then again I just started playing. Expand
  24. JFV.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    This game is a milestone in the history of gaming. In its graphics it surpasses anything I've seen before, there are not enough words. In its music score... well its Star Wars, when you top a mountain on Corellia as its sun rises and the music swells.. well you know :) This is not a game for the mindless, it is designed to last and keep you engaged for a couple years, if you just This game is a milestone in the history of gaming. In its graphics it surpasses anything I've seen before, there are not enough words. In its music score... well its Star Wars, when you top a mountain on Corellia as its sun rises and the music swells.. well you know :) This is not a game for the mindless, it is designed to last and keep you engaged for a couple years, if you just want mindless yanking on your joystick then go elsewhere, but if you want to live and experience a virtual world like no other, then this game is for you. Expand
  25. BrndonMerk
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    this game is weet get al ot of friends and kill some aniamls this kick a$$ have fun with this game this so kool and this if playing this game on nabo or something then to theed i will help u out and stuff later ... ps find me i will u know what r u talking about peace out ppl
  26. EyeseaU.
    Jul 2, 2003
    7
    It's an ok game so far. I think I expected too much from this game, like being able to one day pilot xwings or at-at's but its true to the line of MMORPG's nonetheless, except with no levels to worry about. I couldnt help think this was sort of a cross between EQ and AO, but as with all MMORPG's it'll take sometime to show what LucasArts have up their sleeve.
  27. CG
    Jul 7, 2003
    7
    Best graphics in the genre, solid gameplay; however, not the revolutionary game most expected. As far as I'm concerned, its a clone of Everquest feature-wise. And, the game still heavily caters to hardcore players. Newbies are in store for hours and hours of skill building, which rivals any MMORPG in boredom.
  28. MatthieuR.
    Sep 20, 2003
    1
    First off, I LOVE Star Wars. Second, I consider myself an experienced gamer, with many an RPG under my belt. With these qualifications, I can say that SWG is one of the most disappointing games ever made. Wow, standing around building up XP by killing bugs! Cool, can I please pay $15 a month to stand in a cantina and wait for people to come in so I can heal them? I know this game First off, I LOVE Star Wars. Second, I consider myself an experienced gamer, with many an RPG under my belt. With these qualifications, I can say that SWG is one of the most disappointing games ever made. Wow, standing around building up XP by killing bugs! Cool, can I please pay $15 a month to stand in a cantina and wait for people to come in so I can heal them? I know this game isn't the kind that you can master in a day, but come on! It's incredibly desolate and boring--isn't the point of a MMORPG to be immersive and full of non-NPC's? Oh, and the graphics aren't that great; good, but hardly worth the praise. If you want a SW game, play Knights of the Old Republic, that game rocks! Expand
  29. PhilS.
    Jun 28, 2003
    5
    Buggy as hell and promised features missing. Gets boring within a week. More content needed. Paid $50 to beta test. Mythic had a perfect launch and it was their first time, what's up Verant? I recomment you pass on this until the game is finished!
  30. OwnerKidd
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    i hope i get a free unlimited download of this cool game. for short this game ownz j00.
  31. Jake
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    Its all based on the person and type of gamer you are. It may not be the most exciting game for some, usally those people are the ones who are impatient. I think its a great game, there are bugs and missing features, but look around it for now, patches will fix it later on in the long run. I recommend it for most people.
  32. JerradH.
    Jun 30, 2003
    2
    Highly disappointing. Combat is sickenly boring, and overall gameplay is full of way, way, WAY too many timesinks. Not to mention far too many things feel like Everquest with a Star Wars theme pasted on it. Another big gripe I have with it is you're only allowed one character per server, which is retarded beyond belief. Once you get past the very steep learning curve and at times Highly disappointing. Combat is sickenly boring, and overall gameplay is full of way, way, WAY too many timesinks. Not to mention far too many things feel like Everquest with a Star Wars theme pasted on it. Another big gripe I have with it is you're only allowed one character per server, which is retarded beyond belief. Once you get past the very steep learning curve and at times overly complex features (a fair bit of which are completely missing), you find that the time invested in doing so just wasn't worth it. It might become a good game maybe two or three years from now, but as it is, its nothing more than a way to rip off Star Wars fans who will buy anything labeled as such. Collapse
  33. JohnV.
    Jul 10, 2003
    0
    Costly, buggy, and just plain boring, save your money and stray away from this utter piece of garbage.
  34. HarryHoundog
    Jul 7, 2003
    2
    Been there... done that.
  35. DannyR.
    Aug 14, 2003
    0
    Dear sir or madam, I wanted to write you all as a customer of SOE and Star Wars Galaxies. I just thought you should know about this game. I am a disabled veteran who has a lot of spare time on his hands, and I have played almost everysingle MMORPG. I picked up SWG on the release date and after the first day of a horrible launch, I thought I had a real gem on my hands. What I did not Dear sir or madam, I wanted to write you all as a customer of SOE and Star Wars Galaxies. I just thought you should know about this game. I am a disabled veteran who has a lot of spare time on his hands, and I have played almost everysingle MMORPG. I picked up SWG on the release date and after the first day of a horrible launch, I thought I had a real gem on my hands. What I did not realize is that his would be the biggest rip-off in the history of gaming. Let me tell you a little about SWG and how they treat there customers. First off I will give you a couple of quotes by just a few off the DEVS "Some problems can be made to go away by ignoring them" -- Raph Koster "We basically gave up on the melee class..." ------Raph Koster "the commando class is working as intended"-------------------Q3PO (commandos could not even gain exp in their trees) maybe that will give you a idea of the mentality of the people that run this game, and have developed it. When SWG shipped there were several classes that were broken that you could not even advance in 1.) commando 2.) bio Engineer 3.)droid engineer, and so on and so on. After a month of play of 5 to 10 hours a day of playing, I have some very good observations about this game. 1.) there is absolutely NO CONTENT. All you do is run back and forth from mission terminals and kill rabbits. This basically sums up the content of the game right here 2.) the DEVS of this game are the rudest developers that I have ever dealt with in 20 years of video game playing. If you posted constructive criticism of the game your post was locked or in my case you were banned from the forums for the above 2nd quote from Raph Koster that I posted that is from his very own website. If you call SWG there phone support is rude. If you talk to ingame DEV customer support you get the same kind of attitude. There are reports from gamers being told "tough shit" "fuck off" 3.) the nerfing in this game is the worst nerfing I have ever seen in a MMORPG. They took a few PvP issues and nerfed entire elite classes like the vaunted SW bounty hunter and Teras Kasi and made them worthless and broken with no regard to player versus enemy. 4.) I have never played a buggier game. The beta testers of this game begged them not to release this game as it was not ready yet, and yet they did to get their 15 bucks a month. I was actually told that if I wanted to help the game instead of asking for broken classes to be fixed I should go play on their test server. I would gladly have done that , but you still have to pay 15 bucks a month to beta test a game. This is SOE's job not mine. This was the most horrible gaming experience that I have ever had in my life. I was sucked in by the whole Star Wars universe thing , just like 200,000 other people, only to play a bugged game with the most inept and rude game developers that I have ever met in my life. I hope one day laws will be passed to regulate these gaming or any software company from releasing a known bugged to hell product just to sucker customers out of their money. I was really hoping this game would last and be great. I did not want to see it fail. This game is so bad , that developers had player correspondents for each profession to address issues and bugs with each class, and even the Player correspondents are canceling their accounts. I write this to plead with you not to buy this horrible game, and to tell your customers not to be sucked in because Star Wars is on the box. Someone needs to start holding these gaming companies accountable for there actions. And that is why I write this. Thank you, Daniel Richards banned from SWG forums for quoting a developer "Some problems can be made to go away by ignoring them" -- Raph Koster Expand
  36. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    Fun to play, and it is much better after the recent patch.
  37. TyrekeC.
    May 9, 2004
    8
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!! the bad part of da game is that it is not finished yet...but as they keep adding new creatures and plans and maybe even new spicies to play like Gungans or Geonisians. Then i will rate a 10 out of 10 but now i will stay my vote as an 8....GOOD JOB LUCASARTS!!!
  38. N.N.
    Jul 29, 2004
    1
    This game is not worth the money! It is bugged, repetitive and dull. It has nice graphics and fair sound, but the community base is leaving and it has poor customer support and horrible lag. Worse yet, the released the game without space ships and are now releasing an expansion which you have to pay extra to use!!! Not only do you pay a steep price of $15 USD monthly, but you have to sink This game is not worth the money! It is bugged, repetitive and dull. It has nice graphics and fair sound, but the community base is leaving and it has poor customer support and horrible lag. Worse yet, the released the game without space ships and are now releasing an expansion which you have to pay extra to use!!! Not only do you pay a steep price of $15 USD monthly, but you have to sink $50 or so into the initial software and more (probably another 30 or so) into the expansion. Shame on you SoE and LucasArts. Shame on you! Expand
  39. VeryDisgusted
    May 27, 2005
    1
    So far, with a VERY loudly heard and felt first impression... This is one of the most horrible games. ever. This is rubbish. It might have been okay as a high school computing project, if it had an original world and character set, but it's supposed to be Star Wars. It's not. It's awful. I'd rather spend the cash on a multiple toenail extration. Pure bantha poodoo.
  40. WillyManilly
    Jul 15, 2005
    1
    Terrible game ... released to early.... buggy... boring... ... nerferifific...... waste of money.......DEVS don't even know what to do with such a crappy game...... and.... it ranks bottom of the barrel for MMOG! SOE should be ashamed.
  41. KelR.
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    Few games if any truely deserve a ten but this one does, why? Because it's mind boggling how you can do virtually ANYTHING in this game. Warning, it is as addictive a heroine, and a steep learning curve, but once you figure it out you'll think real life just plain sucks.
  42. KevinW.
    Jul 11, 2003
    8
    Wonderfully immersive, more reason to aroleplay than any other mmorpg has ever given. The game has a life of it's own.
  43. Gellin
    Mar 15, 2004
    0
    This game started with so much potential .. but after playing for a while I have reached the following conclusion. A handful of people are having fun while everyone else is pissed off they they are having to spend time and money to get to a point where they can have fun. save your money ...
  44. Jago
    Aug 19, 2006
    8
    To all the people giving this game 1 or 2, i say to you, did you really give the game a chance? I do agree it has a fair few kinks that need to be addressed, however the game is still a very good MMORPG that does have alot to keep people interested. If your a Star Wars fan then this makes the game that whole lot better. You can really build a community in this game, making your own To all the people giving this game 1 or 2, i say to you, did you really give the game a chance? I do agree it has a fair few kinks that need to be addressed, however the game is still a very good MMORPG that does have alot to keep people interested. If your a Star Wars fan then this makes the game that whole lot better. You can really build a community in this game, making your own cities, shops and ships. You can become a bounty hunter and fly across the whole galaxy hunting down those imperials and rebels that have pissed off the wrong people, you can become a jedi and live out that Skywalker fantasy, you can become a simple merchant and make your own weapons, armor and even star ships. There is ALOT to do in this game, and if you look past its minor flaws it really does have alot to offer. Even if you just spend your time flying from planet to planet exploring as much of the Star Wars universe as you can it is something that will be both fun, and also a treat for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the star wars galaxie! Give it a try before you dismiss it completely. Expand
  45. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    It had so much potential for a sandbox mmo. It's too bad Lucas held them back. Hopefully SWTOR learns from SWG's mistake and doesn't try to mimic WoW just to make a quick buck.
  46. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    @chronoT, the game didnt fail because of subscription, it still had people playing till they shut it down and they shut it down because of SWTOR, only one star wars online game was allowed to be going and SWTOR has failed worse then galaxies, Galaxies atleast had free roam space to attack targets and players, SWTOR doesnt, Galaxes lets you build your own guild hall, shop or house. SWTOR@chronoT, the game didnt fail because of subscription, it still had people playing till they shut it down and they shut it down because of SWTOR, only one star wars online game was allowed to be going and SWTOR has failed worse then galaxies, Galaxies atleast had free roam space to attack targets and players, SWTOR doesnt, Galaxes lets you build your own guild hall, shop or house. SWTOR doesnt. the only thing SWTOR has better then galaxies was the story and graphics and i liked playing SWTOR before it went F2P and Galaxies never had to go F2P to continue on for years.

    this was a great game but anyone reading now obviously wont be able to play it anymore, maybe some day they might try re-booting it, who knows.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 40
    Combat looks patently ridiculous. How many shots from a blaster does it take to kill a fluffy space bunny, anyway?
  2. Galaxies has a few annoying aspects that seem endemic to MMORPGs - with tedious cross-country treks and features that are broken upon initial release - but it still delivers a lot of varied and innovative gameplay. [Oct 2003, p.92]
  3. Though Star Wars Galaxies does have the potential of becoming a better MMORPG, the current version of the game is dull and lacks in quality.