User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshS
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Jedi Knight, while 12 years old at the time of this writing, brings back memories of the shooter that did it first. While Quake pushed the limit to what shooters in 3d had been, Jedi Knight made the 3d shooter. It was the first game to make real use of 3d space, and bind it so lovingly to the dark, nitty-gritty, space epic of Star Wars novels from authors like Timothy Zhan. Jedi Knight Jedi Knight, while 12 years old at the time of this writing, brings back memories of the shooter that did it first. While Quake pushed the limit to what shooters in 3d had been, Jedi Knight made the 3d shooter. It was the first game to make real use of 3d space, and bind it so lovingly to the dark, nitty-gritty, space epic of Star Wars novels from authors like Timothy Zhan. Jedi Knight was the first major FPS to expand the horizons of gameplay as well, with RPG like elements as you developed your force talents based on your style of gameplay. While the live-action cutscenes are a bit corny, they do a good job conveying the epic storyline that harkens back to the Seven Samurai, except this time the Samurai are evil, and Kyle Katarn must face everyone to get to the man who is responsible for his father's death. Will Kyle remain pure during his quest for justice? Or will the Dark Side corrupt him...the path is up to the player. While the graphics did not hold up well throughout the years, the gameplay still is fast, and the music and sound are spot on--perhaps moreso than even modern shooters. Even 12 years from its launch I would say the 5 dollars on Steam are well spent with this classic gem. Expand
  2. Maxwell
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    If you don't think an FPS can have heart, well, you probably never played Jedi Knight. An engaging and lengthy single player campaign along with the at-the-time groundbreaking multiplayer: the first time gamers got to duel with lightsabers; made DF2: JK a classic. Oh, and there was that little white rabbit-thingy, too.
  3. M.H.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    My 7 year old son played and I watched. I agree with the critic's review completely. We encountered the exact same problem that the reviewer encountered and we also could not complete the game. Very frustrating. I actually called activision support and they claimed it was due to not fully completing the "side missions" or not in the right order. Unfortunately, they could not be more My 7 year old son played and I watched. I agree with the critic's review completely. We encountered the exact same problem that the reviewer encountered and we also could not complete the game. Very frustrating. I actually called activision support and they claimed it was due to not fully completing the "side missions" or not in the right order. Unfortunately, they could not be more specific. Also, it appears that if you do encounter this problem, the only option is the start the game over. Again, very frustrating especially for a 7 year old. As this game is really more oriented to the younger crowd, I would ask game makers (if they are reading these types of reviews) to try to build in better hints, etc. so the game can be completed. It could even be a setup option so that older, more experienced gamers can opt out. Aside from this BIG issue, my son loved playing the game very much and it suited his age/skill level quite well. Expand
  4. KyleK.
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    This the best game EVER!!!! ^^^%((U(@#$@%@_+**%%
  5. GenaroP.
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  6. RobS.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    This was the first FPS I ever played. I can still remember being 8 years old, figuring out what the hell I was going on, blowing away stormtroopers. Of course, Lucasarts support was better then, and trying to get the Steam version to work CORRECTLY is a nightmare. I hope Lucasarts is happy, they just lost another customer, who WILL NOT be purchasing from them ever again.
  7. CharlesC
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    It was the first FPS ive ever played, i can remember me at 4 years old watching my uncle playing that game and i was excited, i played it at 6 years old and the difficulty was hard, for meh, the univers was DEEP for the time, the buildings of Nar shadaa of just huge, the cinematics were awsome, sometimes, you can get lost in a deep space and don't find yourself for 4 hours, like the It was the first FPS ive ever played, i can remember me at 4 years old watching my uncle playing that game and i was excited, i played it at 6 years old and the difficulty was hard, for meh, the univers was DEEP for the time, the buildings of Nar shadaa of just huge, the cinematics were awsome, sometimes, you can get lost in a deep space and don't find yourself for 4 hours, like the Level 4, it took me so much time to beat it, save a lot during level 4. Another negative review is the AI, oh btw, there is an AI ? but let sforget bad reviews, for the time, it was an awsome game, a long game , you will be captivated by the story, it was the first game that YOU decide what you do and your actions, with powerfull powers of the force, this is reccomended to all star wars fans, or begginer. This game will still forever in my memory for the captivating story and the best star wars game ive played, memorable..... Collapse
  8. JavidP.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    1st game I ever purchased, and I'm glad I did. The game is great, and when you beat it, there are thousands of fan-created mods and levels to enjoy. Playing this at a lan party is always a great way to get the competition boiling.
  9. RichK.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    One of my absolute favorites. Fantastic action, story, sound, music, controls, and one of the first FPS's that had a great character development system as well. Jedi Knight is of the same ilk as other standout FPS/RPGs System Shock 2 and Deus Ex, and is probably just as enjoyable on many levels. It's a game that makes me disappointed more like it aren't being made these days.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I cannot tell you how many times I have played through this game over and over again. Back in my days of dial-up internet connections, this and Team Fortress Classic were the only two games that I could play online. Released the same year as Half-Life, I have always felt as though Jedi Knight was just as far ahead of its time with many gameplay and storyline innovations. The story isI cannot tell you how many times I have played through this game over and over again. Back in my days of dial-up internet connections, this and Team Fortress Classic were the only two games that I could play online. Released the same year as Half-Life, I have always felt as though Jedi Knight was just as far ahead of its time with many gameplay and storyline innovations. The story is advanced through live-action cutscenes, making for a movie-like experience (granted with soap-opera-level acting). It featured multiple endings based on force powers used and decisions made throughout the game. It also made significant contributions to Star Wars' Expanded Universe, which include the first use of dual-wielded lightsabers outside of Star Wars comics. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first actual video game I ever played, when I was 5 years old. My father bought it for out PC. I tried to play it, but had more fun watching my dad play it. I played it again several years later and it now stands as the single greatest game I have ever played. The story is solid. The gameplay is awesome. It holds its own, with its own lore within a universe that already exists.This is the first actual video game I ever played, when I was 5 years old. My father bought it for out PC. I tried to play it, but had more fun watching my dad play it. I played it again several years later and it now stands as the single greatest game I have ever played. The story is solid. The gameplay is awesome. It holds its own, with its own lore within a universe that already exists. This is such a great game. I loved every minute of the game. I have played it time and time again. 10. out. of. 10. Expand
  12. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    Fantastic and to this day still one of the best Star Wars games, improvement to the first Dark Forces in every single way. Really good FPS with complex level design, classic Star Wars soundtrack, live acted cut scenes and especially - Force and lightsaber! These two things back in 1997 were a heaven sent, I had so much fun with lightsaber and force gripping my enemies so they choke toFantastic and to this day still one of the best Star Wars games, improvement to the first Dark Forces in every single way. Really good FPS with complex level design, classic Star Wars soundtrack, live acted cut scenes and especially - Force and lightsaber! These two things back in 1997 were a heaven sent, I had so much fun with lightsaber and force gripping my enemies so they choke to death. You can also venture in the path of light or dark which gets you different force abilities and let's not forget the multiplayer, this game was absolutely stunning. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jedi Knight combines all the good aspects that a game should have: good graphics, interesting story, innovative game-play and superb multiplayer support. Anyone who has a good system (fast w/ a 3D accelerator) will definitely be pleased with Jedi Knight.
  2. With innovative levels, a sparkling soundtrack, enhanced graphics, and near-perfect control, this is one game you won't want to pass up. Jedi Knight is easily the best game of its kind available.
  3. What Jedi Knight lacks in spark, it compensates for with the oodles of money that a giant like LucasArts can throw into the development process. Add to that good environments, great music, tons of options, solid gameplay, and smooooooth net connections and I can certainly say that fans of the genre won't be disappointed.