User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 241

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy.. meh, not so sure you will like it. In my opinion, It's a game that achieves in every way excepted. The fights never get old. The thrills some cutscene can bring matches with Dark Forces 2 and the films. Level design and puzzles are milestones.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    1
    Jedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is aJedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is a mandatory stealth section that activates an arbitrary death cutscene when spotted, the lightsaber consistently failed to protect me from explosive weapons- -I'll cut this short: WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. Expand
  3. May 9, 2013
    10
    This game is just one heck of a fun game. I especially love the lightsaber fights. If you love Star Wars, I believe this is definitely a must-buy. But just remember, old games take patience with some of the puzzles, quite difficult at times.
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    6
    Jedi Outcast has its rough parts and its good parts. The story is very good, I can't really say much before spoiling anything though. The graphics are good for its time and the voice acting is great as well as some characters from the movies such as Lando which is awesome! If all that stuff is great then why did you only give it a 6 out of 10 you ask? Because it's repetitive and theJedi Outcast has its rough parts and its good parts. The story is very good, I can't really say much before spoiling anything though. The graphics are good for its time and the voice acting is great as well as some characters from the movies such as Lando which is awesome! If all that stuff is great then why did you only give it a 6 out of 10 you ask? Because it's repetitive and the puzzles are frustrating and the gun play isn't the best I've seen and the level design is bad and Kyle looks ugly. The first few levels is just guns and shooting Stormtroopers which I thought was pretty fun at first. Then after only a little while you get a lightsaber. But just because you finally get the epic lightsaber which is a blast to use it doesn't mean the game gets much better. The game makes you rage in so much ways but mostly because of the horrible puzzles which really lets the game down. The puzzles on its own takes 3 points away from me giving the game 9/10. The game has its fun moments from time to time as well as funny moments but most of it isn't very fun. Then the Multiplayer isn't amazing which took away 1 point. The Multiplayer is good but I find it to get boring after about two matches. There isn't much lightsaber customization or force power customization nor is there much game modes. You get to pick the classic Team Free For All and normal FFA as well as CTF and Duel mode. Duel mode is great, CTF isn't as fun as Duel Mode but is still fun but FFA and Team FFA get boring very quickly. You get to pick any character you want in Multiplayer which is cool and there is a lot of maps to play on but not all work very well when playing with bots. Often on maps with huge endless pits to fall down into the bots just walk off the edge. The bots are pretty smart though and are as much fun as playing with real people, unfortunately not much people play this game online any more. This game can be good at times but it has a lot of down falls that take away from me giving the game a perfect 10. I suggest getting Jedi Academy which is the game after this one because I think it is MUCH better especially on Multiplayer but I think Single-Player is much better too. I give Jedi Outcast 6/10-OK. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    One of my favorites... ive always loved the gameplay the lightsaber choreography is probably one of the best...when you experience a lightsaber duel you feel like your having a duel and not just slicing the npc till one of you dies...now the difficulty ill be honest its not an easy game at all you will die alot but fortunatly you can save anytime anywhere u like and trust me use it asOne of my favorites... ive always loved the gameplay the lightsaber choreography is probably one of the best...when you experience a lightsaber duel you feel like your having a duel and not just slicing the npc till one of you dies...now the difficulty ill be honest its not an easy game at all you will die alot but fortunatly you can save anytime anywhere u like and trust me use it as often as possible esspecially when your facing dark jedi...the graphics well there older but very well done for the time...im not gonna go much more into it just be warned this game is not for the easily frusterated it is difficult like i said but you feel like you achieved greatness once you get past that obstacle your having trouble with or beating that boss who is kicking your ass..i recommend it to anyone who is a fan of star wars or just an action adventure or sci fi fan Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    Unfortunately, I cannot recommend the game. The technical side is ok, apart from the physics, which are irritating when it comes to the thermal detonators (seldom can you see such an unrealistic bounce, even in games using the same engine). Graphically, the game is very decent, taking into account when it was made, but one has to admit that the quake 3 engine has ages very gracefully.Unfortunately, I cannot recommend the game. The technical side is ok, apart from the physics, which are irritating when it comes to the thermal detonators (seldom can you see such an unrealistic bounce, even in games using the same engine). Graphically, the game is very decent, taking into account when it was made, but one has to admit that the quake 3 engine has ages very gracefully. Having written that the game is one of the most frustrating ones I've played in a long while. You start out with about 4 hours of boring, repetitive missions, puzzles which are often irritating due to their difficulty. The level design also leaves a bit to be desired, though its not very bad. The weapons are very nice, though the aiming system is less than acceptable (at least for me). On the whole, I tried to give this game a chance to grow on me, but it did not succeed. I actually enjoy Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight, with its dated engine, poor graphics, etc _much_ more than this one. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Jedi Outcast is an all-around great game. While the single player campaign is certainly enjoyable, the light saber battles in multi-player are what really sets this game apart from the rest. Include a generous assortment of force powers to the mix and this is one incredibly entertaining classic. You can't call yourself a Star Wars fan if you don't own this.
  8. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    best game in my list, very fun, old, has almost everything u could possibly want in a game, has sp and mp. has custom maps, skins, mods, servers, styles, and add ons u can get for free,
    lasting gameplay-9
    fun-10
    style-9
    upgradability-10
    ur own stuff all the way
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    This was a great game when it came out, with plenty of lore, customization and a feeling for the post-trilogy Jedi scene. The depth of feeling like a Jedi has only been matched by a few other games, Kotor and Swtor and outcast namely. G4's review would be spot on if this were a new release, but compared to many games that came out around the time this one did... definitely worthy of atThis was a great game when it came out, with plenty of lore, customization and a feeling for the post-trilogy Jedi scene. The depth of feeling like a Jedi has only been matched by a few other games, Kotor and Swtor and outcast namely. G4's review would be spot on if this were a new release, but compared to many games that came out around the time this one did... definitely worthy of at least an 80% Check your calendars boys this was released in September 2003 almost ten years of gaming advancements and I still want to replay this game. Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2011
    5
    For me, it was a low budget version of Star Wars Battlefront, with appalling graphics, hundreds of glitches and confusing gameplay. It was excrutiatingly boring and I was disappointed with the whole layout of the game.
  11. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    So what to believe? The fans of the older Dark forces titles or the ones that thought Jedi Academy was "good" and wasn't Star Wars "fan" fiction at its worst with the only mechanic worth any praise being lightsaber physics. Honestly I sit in the camp that regards this game and its bizarre pseudo-sequel as unplayable garbage with level design that has aged beyond poorly and gameplay thatSo what to believe? The fans of the older Dark forces titles or the ones that thought Jedi Academy was "good" and wasn't Star Wars "fan" fiction at its worst with the only mechanic worth any praise being lightsaber physics. Honestly I sit in the camp that regards this game and its bizarre pseudo-sequel as unplayable garbage with level design that has aged beyond poorly and gameplay that feels less akin to the originals and more like something that was never intended to be actual fun outside of the lightsaber sequences. Which even most would be willing to admit by now were rather silly looking and played awkwardly. The combat itself, consisting of mostly "lasers" and other primary Star Wars staples such as blasters and Thermal detonators, didn't translate well to the often cartoon-like violence that ensued upon using such weapons. They lacked visceral feedback, they sounded like toys and whoever inserted the initial "tazing" melee weapon into the game should be given an award for "least practical weapon ever." The combat aside, most of the game plays out like most fan fiction about Star Wars would. The Empire has been destroyed, but for some reason their are still evil Jedi's running rampant and rag tag groups of Imperials formulating plans to overthrow the obviously peaceful rebel alliance and Luke Skywalker of all people. The thing that made the originals fun, was the fact that it could've been any other time and place in which these characters existed in the same universe. I never assumed Kyle Katarn was close friends with Luke Skywalker or the Rebels, I just thought he was part of his own self-contained story that happened to involve a similar place and setting. Its what made games like Dark Forces II charming, entertaining, endearing, and well written. This game is none of those things and over the years its weaknesses have compounded into what it really was- a brainless corridor shooter with labyrinthine level design pushed into sections of the game that were already boring to begin with. Take for instance the Nar Shada streets level or shall I say "the return to" Nar Shada steets. The ultimate objective is to find a particular alien who may know something or other pertaining to the weakly conceived plot. On our way into a space bar that mimics every facet of the original star wars film we are treated to an absolute train wreck of a cinematic sequence that plays out like two automatons discussing various ways of keeping their robotic joints lubricated. Their ridiculous facial movements contorting, bending and attempting to emit human facial elements, but unable to do so. The voice acting so bad, so poorly thought out, that you could only wish that it would come to an end as quickly as possible. In Dark Forces II, some pretty lengthy, high quality and well made live action cinematics were used in place of actual animation. Something that was done simply out of practicality as technology was kind of limited back in 1997. The importance of how these scenes played out drove the story whereas in Jedi Knight II they seem to inconvenience it instead. After some yawn inducing action sequence you're out and about fighting random hordes of aliens with toy blaster rifles and introduced to particularly impossible to spot "snipers" that can kill you off after about two or three blasts from the most unbalanced weapon in the game. The one with a secondary fire that can obliterate enemies in one blast. Sound fun yet? So after traipsing about, trying to control the slippery footed Kyle Katarn along razor thin platforms, jumping, blasting, dodging lasers, you finally make it up to your objective which was never very far away to begin with. Its this kind of terrible design that makes the early portions of the game awful. Now of course later sections of the game are debate ably "better" since they feature more lightsaber duels and less of the weapons that half the games single player was balanced around. Which means they became useless after about forty-five minutes into the game when your lightsaber blocks most traditional laser fire and can cut down enemies in mere seconds. Something that Dark Forces II only imposed upon you in perhaps a boss fight, but it wasn't mandatory or necessarily more practical to constantly pull out your lightsaber to dispatch every enemy in the game. And what about our adversary throughout the game? The main villain behind all the shenanigans plaguing the poor Mr. Katarn? Well its obviously the Emper- I mean a man-sized purple space lizard Jedi. The point is- is that he's bad and bad guys, especially the ones with poorly dressed Native American looking cohorts, always get their just desserts. Or whatever, since I can't take this kind of thing seriously whatsoever. If you thought dialogue through most of the game was bad, just wait until you hear this purple lizard guy utter a few lines. Overall the game has no re playability and never inspired a direct sequel. Expand
  12. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    "Jedi Outcast" is a great game. It has interesting gameplay, good level design and magnificent locations (many of them are taken from the original movies). The game really has that 'original trilogy' atmosphere. Plot isn't too complicated, but it has some good parts. The main thing in this game is a Jedi part, it is greatly done: controls are very comfortable, there are different"Jedi Outcast" is a great game. It has interesting gameplay, good level design and magnificent locations (many of them are taken from the original movies). The game really has that 'original trilogy' atmosphere. Plot isn't too complicated, but it has some good parts. The main thing in this game is a Jedi part, it is greatly done: controls are very comfortable, there are different lightsaber fighting styles, different Forces to use. Also the shooter part is funny too. Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ð­Ñ Expand
  14. May 21, 2012
    10
    The best Star Wars game, period. Also, if you play on the older version 1.02 rather than the newest version 1.04 that removed a lot of features, this game requires a tremendous amount of skill. One of the all-time top skill-based games that I have played.
  15. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. The Multiplayer mode was intense. I remember wasting many hours a day dueling sith-spit on Bespin Streets. The Single Player levels has a striking resemblance to Dark Forces 2 in terms of design, length and difficulty.

    Simply one of the best games released to PC.
  16. May 7, 2013
    5
    Im not sure what to think of this game, when i bought it on release i liked it even if it had some frustrating elements. Such as:
    * The map designs are awful and you occasionally get stuck wandering about trying to find your way only to realize that you were suppose to go in a direction that doesnt make any sense at all (appearently i wasnt suppose to walk out on the lenghty bridge that
    Im not sure what to think of this game, when i bought it on release i liked it even if it had some frustrating elements. Such as:
    * The map designs are awful and you occasionally get stuck wandering about trying to find your way only to realize that you were suppose to go in a direction that doesnt make any sense at all (appearently i wasnt suppose to walk out on the lenghty bridge that looks like its leading on the right direction, instead you have to jump out of a window in a dark corner).
    * Enemy snipers are ridiculously accurate and fast on the trigger even on normal difficulty.
    * Scripted ambushes, get used to them.
    * Hitting enemies with laser pistols and rifles can be a tedious business. Trying to hit constantly strafing foes with laser lights that travel at the speed of small rodents gets old pretty quickly. Instead I just run in a straight line towards them holding down the fire button. Doesnt sound like an intresting gun fight at all now does it.
    * Grenade throwers, they are everywhere. Strangely enough often in tiny rooms.
    * Did i hit with my light saber or not? Maybe, who knows. The light saber fights are often just a shiny mess.

    So there are alot of frustrating issues with the game, but for some reason i keep getting back to it. I turn it off with a sigh but i still start it a few hours again later. So there is obviously some appeal in it, i dont know what it is though =P.
    Expand
  17. May 3, 2013
    10
    If you love Star Wars based multiplayer, then you will find the most complex Saber fight system with force powers ever in Jedi Knight 2 version 1.02. It's really important to have 1.02 because they cut the whole gameplay mechanics down in the patches. JK2 steam is patched to 1.04. So you have to downgrade it if you want to have full use of weapons such as blasters, lightsabers and ofIf you love Star Wars based multiplayer, then you will find the most complex Saber fight system with force powers ever in Jedi Knight 2 version 1.02. It's really important to have 1.02 because they cut the whole gameplay mechanics down in the patches. JK2 steam is patched to 1.04. So you have to downgrade it if you want to have full use of weapons such as blasters, lightsabers and of course force powers!
    v1.02 Gameplay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eehKizfl0UM
    v1.04 Gameplay: http://youtu.be/PxcIa0UbB6Q

    Downgrade the game: http://www.file-upload.net/download-7546837/JK2VersionSwitcher.rar.html
    How to: unpackage it in the gamedata folder of JK2, start the JK2vs.exe to change the version to 1.02.
    If you got any questions, feel free to visit: http://jk2ffa.freeforums.org

    List why 1.03/1.04 patches ruined the game:
    Too high kicks, 2 times pressing of space for kicking (no combos anymore)
    When you are down you immediately jump up again and about 10 meters high. (no "kick down and dfa move" anymore)
    Highest saber damage you can do: 20 hp Kick damage: 4hp
    No doubles, triples anymore with special attacks
    Force powers are useless at all
    You can't aim with special attacks they made them stucked.
    You can kill only by saberthrow+kick spam or forward walking and red swing spam.
    Pull Kick yoyo or pull kick at all won't work anymore.
    Grip is useless, you can't move the contrahent by it.
    No doom throws with grip from long distances anymore.
    Movement is from SP feels like in a pudding sauce.
    No straight strafe jumping anymore no flying with adbs through several opponents
    On many servers swearing is censored and you can't kill people who pressed esc or are typing.
    If someone is shilding all the time, you won't be able to kill him maximal dmg attack: 20hp.
    No uppercut flying anymore
    No yellow/blue fast-paced swings with overlapped hits (you know when he cancels one swing to do the other the same time which leads to multi hits)
    Invisible absorb until someone uses pull/push/drain/lightning/grip
    No saberfreeze as a tactic, no saberbug-attack in grip as a counter attack.
    Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    Jedi Outcast was the first game that made players feel like they were in the Star Wars universe. Every music cue, sound effect, texture, object and character feel like they were pulled directly out of the film. The levels are sprawling, beautiful and immersive, making you feel like you are truly running around one of the sets from the movies. But what makes this game truly extraordinary isJedi Outcast was the first game that made players feel like they were in the Star Wars universe. Every music cue, sound effect, texture, object and character feel like they were pulled directly out of the film. The levels are sprawling, beautiful and immersive, making you feel like you are truly running around one of the sets from the movies. But what makes this game truly extraordinary is the gameplay. Never before and never since has there been a more elegant, nuanced and satisfying lightsaber mechanic in a Star Wars game. The force power system is also vastly improved here and the thrill of tossing around stormtroopers like rag dolls with the flick of a mouse never grows old. A truly epic adventure that I have installed on every computer I've owned since it was released. Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  20. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    I love the first Jedi Knight to death, so this was bound to be a disappointment for me, but it was actually surprisingly still pretty good, not as good as the first and the Mysteries of the Sith, but still pretty strong Star Wars FPS experience. 8/10
  21. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is a mandatory stealth section that activates an arbitrary death cutscene when spotted, the lightsaber consistently failed to protect me from explosive weapons Expand
  22. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Simply Amazing. Overall storyline is good with great voice animation, graphics are excellent (considering it was made in 2002) and the combined use of ranged weapons, a lightsaber and the force make combat very interesting and varied. Simple things such as being able to cut off the arms of stormtroopers with your lightsaber and changing your style of lightsaber attack make the game soSimply Amazing. Overall storyline is good with great voice animation, graphics are excellent (considering it was made in 2002) and the combined use of ranged weapons, a lightsaber and the force make combat very interesting and varied. Simple things such as being able to cut off the arms of stormtroopers with your lightsaber and changing your style of lightsaber attack make the game so good. I've played the game for about 12 years and still haven't got bored or tired of it! Certainly a game I'll remember for a long time. If you don't have it then why are you reading this? It's only £7 on steam!!!!! :) Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. As pleasurable to gaze on as Leia, as cheekily charming as Solo, and as ingenious as Lando's moustache. [PC Gamer UK]
  2. The Force is strong with this polished first-person shooter.
  3. If you can make it through the uninspired first third, you'll be treated to one of the prettiest, coolest, most compelling shooters released in the past year. [June 2002, p.65]