Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Several years have passed since Kyle Katarn avenged his father's death and saved the Valley of the Jedi from Jerec and his band of Dark Jedi. Allowing his Force powers to languish for fear of falling to the Dark side, Kyle set aside his lightsaber, vowing never to use it again. But when a new and menacing threat to the galaxy emerges, Kyle knows he must reclaim his past in order to save his future. Players assume the role of Kyle as they employ a unique mix of weapons, Force powers and your lightsaber in both single- and multiplayer modes of first-person action. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. While Jedi Outcast is firmly entrenched in the action genre, that shouldn't frighten away adventure gamers. If you've ever played an action/adventure game and have an interest in Star Wars, it's imperative to play this game.
  2. Each character model is so well done and I even found the cut scenes interesting.
  3. Raven Software has taken a big chance, trying to cover all the bases with Jedi Knight 2. Luckily, it has paid off, as this is an excellent game. It's got tons of stuff that players have been wanting since the first Jedi Knight, includes an engaging and fun multiplayer game, and delivers it all on the very stable and solid Quake 3 engine.
  4. 90
    The real star of this game is the gameplay, which alternates between great and brilliant.
  5. 90
    Not only is this one of the greatest Star Wars games I've ever played, it's one of the best action games period.
  6. The force powers were definitely more enjoyable than in Jedi Knight; it's clear that a lot of thought was put into them.
  7. 40
    The game is flawed on so many levels (and in so many ways), that its occasional glimpses of greatness almost get lost in the Bespin Clouds.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. MarcP
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. I just love it. It's enough challenging. I never expected things very good with the id Tech 3 engine, but the graphics are pretty awesome for a pretty old game. This game really deserves 9 or 10, not 4. Expand
  2. ChrisP.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This game was GREAT! TechTV, you guys must got somethikng wrong with your rating guys.
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy.. meh, not so sure you will like it. In my opinion, It's a game that achieves in every way excepted. The fights never get old. The thrills some cutscene can bring matches with Dark Forces 2 and the films. Level design and puzzles are milestones. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    best game in my list, very fun, old, has almost everything u could possibly want in a game, has sp and mp. has custom maps, skins, mods, servers, styles, and add ons u can get for free,
    lasting gameplay-9
    fun-10
    style-9
    upgradability-10
    ur own stuff all the way
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    This was a great game when it came out, with plenty of lore, customization and a feeling for the post-trilogy Jedi scene. The depth of feeling like a Jedi has only been matched by a few other games, Kotor and Swtor and outcast namely. G4's review would be spot on if this were a new release, but compared to many games that came out around the time this one did... definitely worthy of at least an 80% Check your calendars boys this was released in September 2003 almost ten years of gaming advancements and I still want to replay this game. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2012
    6
    Jedi Outcast has its rough parts and its good parts. The story is very good, I can't really say much before spoiling anything though. The graphics are good for its time and the voice acting is great as well as some characters from the movies such as Lando which is awesome! If all that stuff is great then why did you only give it a 6 out of 10 you ask? Because it's repetitive and the puzzles are frustrating and the gun play isn't the best I've seen and the level design is bad and Kyle looks ugly. The first few levels is just guns and shooting Stormtroopers which I thought was pretty fun at first. Then after only a little while you get a lightsaber. But just because you finally get the epic lightsaber which is a blast to use it doesn't mean the game gets much better. The game makes you rage in so much ways but mostly because of the horrible puzzles which really lets the game down. The puzzles on its own takes 3 points away from me giving the game 9/10. The game has its fun moments from time to time as well as funny moments but most of it isn't very fun. Then the Multiplayer isn't amazing which took away 1 point. The Multiplayer is good but I find it to get boring after about two matches. There isn't much lightsaber customization or force power customization nor is there much game modes. You get to pick the classic Team Free For All and normal FFA as well as CTF and Duel mode. Duel mode is great, CTF isn't as fun as Duel Mode but is still fun but FFA and Team FFA get boring very quickly. You get to pick any character you want in Multiplayer which is cool and there is a lot of maps to play on but not all work very well when playing with bots. Often on maps with huge endless pits to fall down into the bots just walk off the edge. The bots are pretty smart though and are as much fun as playing with real people, unfortunately not much people play this game online any more. This game can be good at times but it has a lot of down falls that take away from me giving the game a perfect 10. I suggest getting Jedi Academy which is the game after this one because I think it is MUCH better especially on Multiplayer but I think Single-Player is much better too. I give Jedi Outcast 6/10-OK. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is a mandatory stealth section that activates an arbitrary death cutscene when spotted, the lightsaber consistently failed to protect me from explosive weapons Expand

See all 28 User Reviews