User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 640 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 640
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewB
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    I usually don't go into sites like this and rate my favorite game, but after seeing the rating I felt I had to give my opinion: this is simply one of the best RPGs I've played. Amazing interface, plotline, and interactivity. I have not been this impressed by a game in a long time.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Indisputably one of the most elaborate plots in the Star Wars universe and way deeper than any Star Wars movies, The Sith Lords is marred by a rushed ending, most likely due to some odd game publisher (not developer's) policies. As a result, the restored content patch must be download, fixing all of the missing content and finally rendering this game worth playing. In stark contrast to itsIndisputably one of the most elaborate plots in the Star Wars universe and way deeper than any Star Wars movies, The Sith Lords is marred by a rushed ending, most likely due to some odd game publisher (not developer's) policies. As a result, the restored content patch must be download, fixing all of the missing content and finally rendering this game worth playing. In stark contrast to its predecessor, Kotor II is much darker, more mature and filled with ambiguous though more compelling characters, with dialogues which will cast the player into a series of gray-shaded paths which will ultimately shape the fate of a tattered Republic. Most importantly, the ambiguity and sort of Jedi atheism shown by Kreia (the player co-protagonist) will cross the boundaries of ordinary game-platform, displaying the inconsistency of a "beyond good and evil" moral and showing the inevitable consequences of always playing the neutral part. One major flaw may be the outdated graphics; nevertheless, Kotor II represents a landmark in PC Rpg story writing, possibly one of the last of its kind. Expand
  3. HashamA.
    May 3, 2005
    9
    This is perhaps the best RPG i've ever played.its superior to its predeccesor in many ways,the only thing that keeps it behind is its abrupt ending,apart from that its a hell of a game,the reason im giving it a 9 is the ending.its definitely recommended to RPG & Star Wars fans. The Force is strong in this game !
  4. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Yes, people are very correct in saying that this game's ending is unfortunate, but it was not supposed to be the last game in the series. Fault LucasArts for that, not the game. Force Powers, weapons, armor, customization, characters, everything was much improved and balanced from the first game. This game truly gives you the sense of being a powerful Jedi. The journey is amazing, thoughYes, people are very correct in saying that this game's ending is unfortunate, but it was not supposed to be the last game in the series. Fault LucasArts for that, not the game. Force Powers, weapons, armor, customization, characters, everything was much improved and balanced from the first game. This game truly gives you the sense of being a powerful Jedi. The journey is amazing, though the intro level is a bit long and painful. Once you get into the meat of the game, however, I can't think of another game that is more entertaining for an RPG player. The product was rushed, leaving out a lot of important content, which was the reason for its relatively lower score among critics, but with The Sith Lords: Restored Content Mod, available to all PC users, pretty much the entire game has been restored to what the finished product was supposed to be. If you're looking for a good Star Wars game with a lot of bang for the buck, look no further. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    One of the best rpg games out there, especially in the sci-fi genre. Great story, characters and battle system. In many ways it's much better than the first part and deserves at least nine - if you have all the necessary patches (most of them unofficial, but they work awesome) and some mods. There are lots of interactions with your party, and you can make them all better while talking toOne of the best rpg games out there, especially in the sci-fi genre. Great story, characters and battle system. In many ways it's much better than the first part and deserves at least nine - if you have all the necessary patches (most of them unofficial, but they work awesome) and some mods. There are lots of interactions with your party, and you can make them all better while talking to them, and you can make yourself better the same way. The number of levels you can go up is above 50, although nobody can achieve that in normal gameplay (I got just above 30, I think). There are lots and lots of mods out there which are being produced even now and they make the game much better. As most of you know, the game was released sooner that it should have, so some of the content was not introduced, and some of the bugs were left ingame. I think official and unofficial patches must be installed, to make the game deserve a perfect 10,like: TSL Restored Content Mod, (there is another content for restoration but much smaller, and it adds even more quests), patches (official and unofficial), mods for sabers, sound and ingame menu color (I changed it to blue like the first KOTOR), new, higher resolution videos of important scenes that replace the poor ones that are already in game (it's the same video, just higher res), TSL Save Game Editor, and the rest....I only encountered only ONE bug, on Nar Shadda with Red Eclipse quest, and there is a simple solution to that also. So, great game, a must play for everyone but only with patches and mods, and it's a blast. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    With The Sith Lords' plot, it was inevitable that it wasn't going to be as appreciated as its predecessor. Everything has been pretty logically advanced; the combat's been fleshed out and is faster moving and slightly more varied, items are much more customizable and generally prettier, and there's tons of more variety in every aspect of the game. They also made another wise decision noWith The Sith Lords' plot, it was inevitable that it wasn't going to be as appreciated as its predecessor. Everything has been pretty logically advanced; the combat's been fleshed out and is faster moving and slightly more varied, items are much more customizable and generally prettier, and there's tons of more variety in every aspect of the game. They also made another wise decision no need to muck around with the plebeian classes, been there, done that, we've already seen Jedi powers, give them to us from the beginning. The plot was also made much more complex in order to understand the entire story-line you have to actively fish out bits and pieces from your companions and always try and look out for the big picture. Every important conversation slips you a little of the larger puzzle, and there's no big revelation, oh, no. TSL doesn't baby you, if you don't figure it out yourself you're going to be left half in the dark for the rest of the game. Not only that, it even explains some elements of the first game which weren't quite explained. For sure, TSL is aimed at an older age group than its predecessor. The original Knights of the Old Republic was accessible by all age groups, but left little to the imagination as the plot progressed. TSL requires investigation, and in some cases thought, as the game occasionally deals with thoughts which aren't as simple as the typical quasi-philosophy of the Jedi, and enjoys giving different perspectives on events of the game their fill. After all that, however, The Sith Lords did have some drawbacks. It seemed to be an unfinished product even after doing as much as I could to further every single character's plot-line to their completion, some were still incapable of having their loose-ends tied up. I won't be too hard on the game though, with those aside the game was a huge, massive product, and for how ambitious as it was it's admirable that as much was put together well as was in the game. Despite its few flaws, I would say the game was excellent, and without a doubt superior to its predecessor. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    One of the best games i have played in my life. Good and original storyline that isnt totaly predictible like in KOTOR. The characters, planets and music are amazing for a computer game. The gameplay is quite good. I played through the game twice and the second time was even better experience than the first which is the exact opposite next to most of the BIG pc games i played likeOne of the best games i have played in my life. Good and original storyline that isnt totaly predictible like in KOTOR. The characters, planets and music are amazing for a computer game. The gameplay is quite good. I played through the game twice and the second time was even better experience than the first which is the exact opposite next to most of the BIG pc games i played like bioshock, dragon age kotor, mass effect where In few parts i had to force my self to play it. The ending was a bit rushed and thats sad, but there are mods that fix this so in the end i think it deserves ten Expand
  8. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This game is simply put one of the best I've ever played. The professional reviews can tell you everything you need to know about its masterful storytelling and immersion, so allow me to expand on some points other critics have missed. The technical crashes in the game can *mostly* be solved by several patches and the downloading of the new Restoration Mod (recently released, whichThis game is simply put one of the best I've ever played. The professional reviews can tell you everything you need to know about its masterful storytelling and immersion, so allow me to expand on some points other critics have missed. The technical crashes in the game can *mostly* be solved by several patches and the downloading of the new Restoration Mod (recently released, which incidentally massively improves the game again). I felt that there was plenty added on from kotor I, such as the new crafting/recycling system for player items, and the saber forms stuff.

    All in all a thoroughly lovable game, made all the more sweet if you nurture a soft spot for SW canon.
    Expand
  9. Jaz
    Feb 23, 2013
    9
    The second part of KOTOR had a better combat than the 1st one, a good darker story (some dialogues could be shorter) but it isn't as good as the original KOTOR. But it is a great game non the less.
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Great RPG. Great Star Wars game. Enjoyed it from A to Z. So much information about the Star Wars universe. Its hard to believe this game was made in 2005 since it is so full of information and there is so much to do and learn in this universe. No wonder why people are asking for KOTOR3 so much.

    This sequel is superior gameplay wise, but I found the story telling of the 1st game a bit
    Great RPG. Great Star Wars game. Enjoyed it from A to Z. So much information about the Star Wars universe. Its hard to believe this game was made in 2005 since it is so full of information and there is so much to do and learn in this universe. No wonder why people are asking for KOTOR3 so much.

    This sequel is superior gameplay wise, but I found the story telling of the 1st game a bit better. Still overall this game is a must. I bought both Kotor 1&2 on Steam for 2,49$ each. At this price, we are almost stealing them.
    Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Darker, better sequel for more mature and demanding audience. Offer great storytelling experience and offer a deconstruction to the Star Wars setting. Like a predecessor it's combat system is weak but it entirely makes up for it by a thick, grim atmosphere and splendid writing. One of a player companion, Kreia, is one of the best npcs ever created, she is so good , she might have as wellDarker, better sequel for more mature and demanding audience. Offer great storytelling experience and offer a deconstruction to the Star Wars setting. Like a predecessor it's combat system is weak but it entirely makes up for it by a thick, grim atmosphere and splendid writing. One of a player companion, Kreia, is one of the best npcs ever created, she is so good , she might have as well come from Planescape Torment. Which is not surprising as this game narrative designer was Magnificent Chris Avellone. It had many bugs on release, but now it has been corrected by fan patches. Expand
  12. AdamZen
    Feb 8, 2005
    9
    I experienced very few bugs in this game, and I liked the battle system. My only problem is that the characters dont have their own storyline like in the beginning.
  13. MattH.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    Terrific game. I agree that the biggest flaw is the outdated graphics, but this is still one of the best RPG's of the year (actually, THE best RPG at this point). I am also sick and tired of people who complain that the game last "only" 30-40 hours. God forbid! When you take into consideration that a movie ticket is 8-10 dollars for 2 hours of entertainment, 50$ for 40 hours is an Terrific game. I agree that the biggest flaw is the outdated graphics, but this is still one of the best RPG's of the year (actually, THE best RPG at this point). I am also sick and tired of people who complain that the game last "only" 30-40 hours. God forbid! When you take into consideration that a movie ticket is 8-10 dollars for 2 hours of entertainment, 50$ for 40 hours is an amazing value. Do you people realize how long it takes to program something like this? Try making a mod one of these days, and you'll get an appreciation for the process. A crappy game you can beat in 10 hours? Okay, then you can complain, but not for KOTOR. Expand
  14. ArygoV.
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    This game crashed on my pc about 5 times ... in 4 days of finishing it ... and it's ok realy ... the story is what i like about it the most ... it's visual efects and all ar ok too but i don't hav a very good pc for those ... i kinda have an answer for Tony ... this KOTOR alows you to make up more possibilities ... new concepts apear ... something like > "if one dose bad This game crashed on my pc about 5 times ... in 4 days of finishing it ... and it's ok realy ... the story is what i like about it the most ... it's visual efects and all ar ok too but i don't hav a very good pc for those ... i kinda have an answer for Tony ... this KOTOR alows you to make up more possibilities ... new concepts apear ... something like > "if one dose bad and falls to the darkside ... that influence in the long term could be for the good" this thing apeard in the Star Wars movies ... in all 6 of them ... but the only example there was Darth Vader aka Anakin even if he was with the darkside ... he ended up making the right choise ... it makes you wonder ... lucas arts can go allot of time ahead with the story ... until he hits Yoda ... and the rest... i hope Lucas will not wait until he hits Yoda to continue the story after him ... the more important story ... after luke defeats Darth Sidious or smth like that Expand
  15. NowrizK.
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Best game they made so far. Waiting for the next one.
  16. Dmitriy
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    A masterpiece. A game that trully holds for endless hours of gameplay. Which HL2 lacked a lot. May the force be with us :)
  17. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games I have ever played in my life, the characters are so deep and interestingly written, the game also contains a bunch of interesting philosophy what I do think is a shame is that the majority of characters only make an appearance at the end of the game, what is also a shame is the thousands of annoying bugs but overall this is one of my favorite game andThis is one of my favorite games I have ever played in my life, the characters are so deep and interestingly written, the game also contains a bunch of interesting philosophy what I do think is a shame is that the majority of characters only make an appearance at the end of the game, what is also a shame is the thousands of annoying bugs but overall this is one of my favorite game and because of the amazing story I think this one is better then the previous one Expand
  18. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    KOTORs - is the best stuff what whole Lukas's universe given to the world. And a sequel better then first Old Republic. More philosophical, more lyrical.
  19. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG games ever made.Period.Especially the dialogues written for this game are just excellent.Just like its predecessor.This game and KO TOR 1 was the reason that got me into Star Wars.

    i think its Masterpiece!
  20. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    KOTOR 2 isn't exactly the best it could have been. It doesn't hold a candle to it's predecessor but it is without a doubt a good Bioware style experience that I found enjoyable. The characters are not what they were in KOTOR sadly. Graphics are the same as the first game (which I don't see as a problem). The best part about this game was the soundtrack, which fitted nicely with the darkerKOTOR 2 isn't exactly the best it could have been. It doesn't hold a candle to it's predecessor but it is without a doubt a good Bioware style experience that I found enjoyable. The characters are not what they were in KOTOR sadly. Graphics are the same as the first game (which I don't see as a problem). The best part about this game was the soundtrack, which fitted nicely with the darker atmosphere. Length was not too bad either. I can understand why many fans of KOTOR were disappointing but I still found this game to be fun. Expand
  21. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Despite the occasional bugs for some and the ending that was rushed for a timely release, this remains the best written game I have ever played. Though the gameplay feels the same, the story has a different tone than the first game. This sequel is darker and narrative was deep and thoughtful, along with the dynamic characters and overarching story which kept you siphening through aDespite the occasional bugs for some and the ending that was rushed for a timely release, this remains the best written game I have ever played. Though the gameplay feels the same, the story has a different tone than the first game. This sequel is darker and narrative was deep and thoughtful, along with the dynamic characters and overarching story which kept you siphening through a philisophically grey mist to unravel the conflict which was intertwined with both the external and interpersonal. Highly recommend it, especially if you like over analyzing things as there is a lot to speculate on in this game (in a good way). Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    Amazing game, yes I agree that Knights of the Old republic 1 is amazing, but this game sets a darker tone to the universe we have come to know and love. Simply listen to the dialogue between your character and the three masters near the end of the game and it simply trumps anything that was written in the movies. I admit it could have gone a lot better if we had more of a background onAmazing game, yes I agree that Knights of the Old republic 1 is amazing, but this game sets a darker tone to the universe we have come to know and love. Simply listen to the dialogue between your character and the three masters near the end of the game and it simply trumps anything that was written in the movies. I admit it could have gone a lot better if we had more of a background on Nihilus and Sion, however is it any different from what we got with Malak? The system of influence on your companions gives more depth of interaction and culminates in the training system, to which your companions become even more useful. Back to my point this game is the dark twin to its predecessor, this isn't a bad thing as it give a darker perceptive ergo: The Sith Lords Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    It was the best game I played. This game has an interesting story, well-developed companions, an advanced a system of dialogue and an excellent role system.10 / 10 Game of the Age
  24. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of the RPG genre, KOTOR II gives the player a diverse array of complex characters, a rich and exotic universe, and a deep fulfilling plot that will keep you thinking (and maybe--hopefully, even replaying) long after you've put your controller down. It begins steeped in thee unknown, with your arrival aboard a badly damaged derelict ship under mysterious circumstances, headedThe pinnacle of the RPG genre, KOTOR II gives the player a diverse array of complex characters, a rich and exotic universe, and a deep fulfilling plot that will keep you thinking (and maybe--hopefully, even replaying) long after you've put your controller down. It begins steeped in thee unknown, with your arrival aboard a badly damaged derelict ship under mysterious circumstances, headed for an abandoned mining facility, you are quickly tasked, much like the games predecessor, to reveal your origins, and unveil the secrets surround your past and peer into the greater scope of the plot itself. Observing the surroundings as you go through the game, learning about the peoples and cultures you find yourself in the midst of, you may very well become overwhelmed by the wealth of characters you encounter, many who may reference a history your unfamiliar with. If you've played the previous title, or read any of the comics, you'll be aided to some extent in your quest for self-discovery with the prior knowledge of events that have had a profound effect on the peoples and environments you come across. (like a planet, ruined by the conflict that takes place in the first game) yet even if you have not, dont let this discourage you. These additions are largely atmospheric and text related, and will not significantly hinder you in your journey. The planets you travel to are well designed, thought out, and written. I found myself so capitivated by the strange and ordinary figures i encountered, that i constantly lost track of what the hell the main objective was i'm supposed to accomplish. More intriguing then that is your own companions. From the cryptically cynical, to comically murderous, no two characters in KOTOR II are alike. In fact, you'd be hard pressed to find one that shares any noticeable similarities at all- in Mannerism, ideology, humor, or communication. One of the new features added from the original that adds to the relationship you have with these characters is influence. As the plot progresses you will be challenged at one point or another with one more dilemma after the other. What one praises you for the other might scorn. The higher standing you are with one, the more dialogue options become possible, and the lower, the less. The former, revealing fascinating insights into the supporting lore, their personal thoughts and stories, as well as even their most closely guarded secrets. The voice acting is exceptional, and adds a feeling of immersion that no technological marvels of graphic improvement could achieve. The plot is a dark, engrossing, well crafted and most of all original, drawing its strength from a number of story-telling aspects, from political drama, to a psychological thriller filled with unexpected twists, to its bits of comic relief, and surprisingly deep, philosophic moments of reflection, there's really a little something for everyone that really serves to open up the game to a broader audience. Overall, i can say with confidence, that this has been my favorite game i have had the pleasure of playing to date. I can not recommend it enough, and can truly say, its a wonder unto itself, a one of a kind piece that is the equal or greater of any classical example of literature of film. Its doesnt shine with the unfathomable graphic advances we have come to feel entitled to, and it may have been cut short due at the crunch time of development and thus feel awkwardly unfinished at times, yet once you can get over that, your in for a great time you wont soon forget. Expand
  25. Bass
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    Not just one of the best RPGs ever, but one of the best games ever made, period.
  26. BryanN.
    Mar 15, 2005
    8
    I like the game engine, in the sense that challenger and opponent are using melee weapons. It is nice to just see them fight. The graphics are okay, and i did not encounter any bugs throughout the game. I feel that the storyline is too complex,and certain side quest are a little "boring". The animation are also a little dissapointing. It's like all focosing on landing on planets andI like the game engine, in the sense that challenger and opponent are using melee weapons. It is nice to just see them fight. The graphics are okay, and i did not encounter any bugs throughout the game. I feel that the storyline is too complex,and certain side quest are a little "boring". The animation are also a little dissapointing. It's like all focosing on landing on planets and departing. No action. KOTOR was much more enjoyable, more joyfull, you know...able to romance with characters, and alot of side quest of party members. More joyfull i say. Why Are Sequels Always Darker !!! less joking , more killing, you know? --_--. The ONE thins i must comment is the ending. The ending is so rediculous and very dissapointing. Usually we would expect a climatic duel but this is uhhh...dunno what to say...This Is a game that should stay in the lab for a longer period of time, and not russhed out, and what about bastila, and carth?i have games that have no ending.Still i would prefer having to play as REVAN again instead of some 'Excile".Nevertheless, it is a rather interesting game as it inherited a lot from KOTOR.So..i dunno? the choice is your Dark side or light /gg. and May the force be with you... Expand
  27. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A bit buggy, partially unfinished and still it managed to be better than the first game? Well, to be fair it's not difficult to surpass Bioware in almost every department. Bioware delivered a story about a Disney villain trying to take over the galaxy with a plot twist so utterly laughable and obvious that I can't imagine people didn't see it after the opening credits roll. KOTOR2 is notA bit buggy, partially unfinished and still it managed to be better than the first game? Well, to be fair it's not difficult to surpass Bioware in almost every department. Bioware delivered a story about a Disney villain trying to take over the galaxy with a plot twist so utterly laughable and obvious that I can't imagine people didn't see it after the opening credits roll. KOTOR2 is not just about the ancient lurking evil coming to take over the galaxy. It's about a jedi knight finding out about his/her connection the force and learning about the responsibilities of always acting the neutral party. It's an enjoyable journey to say the least and you're not going to think it's unfinished until after you've finished it. If you do want to put the unfinished stuff back in, there's a patch out there for you. Expand
  28. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    The ending SUCKED but it was great! The new quests, the new items, the new characters, were all so freaking awesome!

    I give it 9 out of 10 and take away 1 point for the stupid-and-not-fun ending. It also sucked that the some of the items from the first cost thousands or hundreds more credits. That was ridiculous. Especially for the Reinforced Fiber Armor. Its awesome to choose between
    The ending SUCKED but it was great! The new quests, the new items, the new characters, were all so freaking awesome!

    I give it 9 out of 10 and take away 1 point for the stupid-and-not-fun ending. It also sucked that the some of the items from the first cost thousands or hundreds more credits. That was ridiculous. Especially for the Reinforced Fiber Armor. Its awesome to choose between playing as a female and male because you get the Disciple or Handmaiden and the story line of both player genders is awesome. And for all the people who didn't like this game, you're all noobs. Learn how to experience everything in the game.
    Expand
  29. JeremyE.
    May 5, 2007
    6
    A very unworthy sequel to the original. The gameplay was much improved, with all the item creation aspects being really pretty dang cool. And the graphics and such were pretty much exactly like the first, so I didn't really have any problem with that. The problem was that while the first game delivered an incredible story, this one barely had any story whatsoever. By the end of the A very unworthy sequel to the original. The gameplay was much improved, with all the item creation aspects being really pretty dang cool. And the graphics and such were pretty much exactly like the first, so I didn't really have any problem with that. The problem was that while the first game delivered an incredible story, this one barely had any story whatsoever. By the end of the game, I felt like the story had been put in place by a group of kids doing a school project or something. It was such a disappointment to see the KoToR legend almost certainly killed in this way. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG games ever made.Period.Especially the dialogues written for this game are just excellent.Just like its predecessor.This game and KO TOR 1 was the reason that got me into Star Wars.
  31. KingM.
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    Good game with a lot of action, but getting the lightsabers late in the game pissed me off. I think there could have been more time spent on making the game.
  32. GlenG.
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    Only got this game a few days ago.. Amazing, already deeply involved in the plot, struggling to leae my machine to go to work..
  33. Ross
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Absolutely amazing! the bugs and glitches are non existent after you get a patch! better than the first!!! Totally first class.
  34. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Some people believe kotor one is better than kotor 2 or vice-versa. Through what i have seen, it depends on the player's character. Because in my opinion the stories are both equal in depth BUT they have different feelings. Kotor 1 has more a story that anyone can understand and it's story is more open ended than the 2nd kotor. Kotor 2's story is darker and richer. You feel like yourSome people believe kotor one is better than kotor 2 or vice-versa. Through what i have seen, it depends on the player's character. Because in my opinion the stories are both equal in depth BUT they have different feelings. Kotor 1 has more a story that anyone can understand and it's story is more open ended than the 2nd kotor. Kotor 2's story is darker and richer. You feel like your choices decide whether the sith deserve to rule or the jedi. Therefore it's more about your choice. Other than that the gameplay is the same other than kotor 2 has a few more powers. But kotor 2 has some points where the only way you will understand is if you played the first. But kotor 2 can easily be played before playing kotor 1. They are a great series and if you aren't the itchy kind of gamer that just wants action, then this is the game for you as it has one of the best stories and feel to it. Expand
  35. JonPlummer
    Feb 10, 2005
    6
    Looks like a great game. Story line is completting and while the graphics are a bit sub-par by today's standards, they get the job done. This is essentially the same game engine as the first game which I would give a 10 out of 10 any day of the week. Here's the thing - It's buggy, really buggy to the point where I have given up until a patch. That just is not acceptable,Looks like a great game. Story line is completting and while the graphics are a bit sub-par by today's standards, they get the job done. This is essentially the same game engine as the first game which I would give a 10 out of 10 any day of the week. Here's the thing - It's buggy, really buggy to the point where I have given up until a patch. That just is not acceptable, especially considering the engine is essentially the same. Wait for the patch! before attempting this game. I give it a 6 based on the promise it shows. I hope I'm right when I can eventually play it. Expand
  36. Aug 16, 2011
    6
    KOTOR 2 has the misfortune of being named after an outstanding game. If it was a completely different Star Wars game it probably would have a better place in my heart but because it failed to live up to the expectations of its predecessor it will forever be doomed to sub-par. But even disregarding those failed expectations the game is simply average. Combat The melee combat is automaticKOTOR 2 has the misfortune of being named after an outstanding game. If it was a completely different Star Wars game it probably would have a better place in my heart but because it failed to live up to the expectations of its predecessor it will forever be doomed to sub-par. But even disregarding those failed expectations the game is simply average. Combat The melee combat is automatic and aside from occasional force spells is not very engrossing. The force spells are interesting and Force Lightning is always a blast but the melee feels like it could be done without you. If you started fighting and went to make a cup of tea the game might automatically win the fight for you before the kettle dings. You are really only needed for the more difficult fights and to move your characters from one encounter to the next. The main satisfaction is derived from waving around lightsabers.

    Dialogue
    There is enough dialogue to fill a book the size of War and Peace or a washer manual but instead of a plethora of well defined characters like Tolsky's masterpiece you find yourself talking to a washer manual with as much character as the soapy water within it. In the beginning there is plenty of people to meet but eventually you can predict what a characters next plot point will be 10 hours before it happens. I called the antagonist from the moment I met them and it was just a matter of time before my predictions were confirmed by their betrayal.

    Story
    In KOTOR you are a Sith Lord. In KOTOR 2 you are an old soldier. Why does the story need to exist? Who are you saving? What is your motivation? Why cant I just wave my lightsaber around for 20 hours? All these questions are unfortunately left unanswered and even unacknowledged. The plot is simply a device to move the character from one lightsaber battle to the next. I think the game wanted a character that anyone could relate to, a person with no outstanding qualities or past accomplishments that the player could then mold into an ultimate bad-ass. But there is no quest to save the galaxy or even defeat someone who is remotely capable of destroying a planet. You are simply a nobody who is trapped in the story of a nobody.

    In conclusion the only selling point of this game is the lightsabers. If you want to fantasize about yourself holding with a glowing hot stick then go for this game and skip all the dialogue and character interaction. But if you are looking for an engrossing and interactive game that will enhance your appreciation of the Star Wars universe then look elsewhere.
    Expand
  37. GeorgeJ.
    Mar 21, 2005
    2
    All of the positive reviews for this game must not have come from playing past the first half of it, or else they would have run smack into the horrible, unfinished half. Actually, that's not quite right, the second half of the game was never made. Perhaps more precisely, I'm referring to the last third of the first half, in which they shoehorned the second half of the story and All of the positive reviews for this game must not have come from playing past the first half of it, or else they would have run smack into the horrible, unfinished half. Actually, that's not quite right, the second half of the game was never made. Perhaps more precisely, I'm referring to the last third of the first half, in which they shoehorned the second half of the story and shoved it out the door for Christmas. The opening of the game is great. The midpoint of the game is interesting. And then, just as soon as things seem to start coming together, omigod fightthissithlord fightthatsithlord fightthethirdsithlord whatjusthappened whoknows gameover rollcredits. Plot threads vanish, characters vanish, other characters talk to each other about events that never happened, you blow through three Sith lords in less time than it took to get through the star forge in KOTOR 1, and the game ends. You don't see what happens to your character, the secondary characters, or the galaxy at large; the camera just pans up into space and credits start. This game is not finished and likely never will be, save your money unless they actually patch in all the missing content! Expand
  38. RaelShadow
    May 11, 2005
    6
    This game is a tough one to review because 75% of the game is great. Problem is...that last 25% is really, really bad...and made all the more painful by that wonderful first 75%...kind of like ice cream that tastes wonderful when it hits your tongue and swirls around your mouth...but right before you swallow, it sours and leaves you with an awful aftertaste. On the good side, the story This game is a tough one to review because 75% of the game is great. Problem is...that last 25% is really, really bad...and made all the more painful by that wonderful first 75%...kind of like ice cream that tastes wonderful when it hits your tongue and swirls around your mouth...but right before you swallow, it sours and leaves you with an awful aftertaste. On the good side, the story (um...except for that last 25% part) is interesting. The characters are more deeply developed. I like the new Influence factor, where you gain influence with characters enabling your light/dark shift to have a greater impact on their light/dark shift. The voice acting is good and the sounds effects are great. Put it this way...if I rated this game after playing about 75% of it, I would give it a 9. Then came the last 25%. The problem is that the game has these various plot lines...which are completely and utterly ignored at the end of the game. I mean...what is it with HK-47 and T4-M3? What is up with the voice lock on the navcomputer? What about the HK-50's - where are they coming from? And what happened to the rest of my crew? All this...and MUCH MUCH more...is left dangling. I imagine it would be like reading two-thirds of a good Tom Clancy novel, turning the page and reading, "And they all lived happily ever after...the end." In other words, when you get to the end of the game...go ahead and take a breath....sit back...and wait for the final closing cut-scene to bring everything together...and I guarantee....30 seconds later, you will be yelling at your monitor asking, "Is that it? Is that all there is?" Also, I should mention that the bad guys are incredibly easy to beat. My Sentinel would simply force up to Knight Speed, take 2 or 3 swings, and the fight would be over...and this was against the toughest opponents at the end of the game. NOTE: I should mention that I seemed to get more information about the plot playing the dark side than I did the light side...not much more, mind you, but more nonetheless. So...I give the game a 6 because 75% of the game is a 9, but the last 25% of the game is a 1 or 2...and that comes out to around 6. It is a game of such great potential with a totally, absolutely, incredibly unsatisfying ending. Expand
  39. JohnM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    5
    Not bad, just exactly the same game as KotOR 1. And the RPG element is virtually nonexistant, as you're apparently given tons of options but in the end the results are about the same. Like the lightsaber setup options, their impact in the game is nonexistant. Good eye-candy, but using the same engine as the first game (after we've seen FarCry, Doom3, HL2 etc) makes it look dated Not bad, just exactly the same game as KotOR 1. And the RPG element is virtually nonexistant, as you're apparently given tons of options but in the end the results are about the same. Like the lightsaber setup options, their impact in the game is nonexistant. Good eye-candy, but using the same engine as the first game (after we've seen FarCry, Doom3, HL2 etc) makes it look dated and kinda shabby. Expand
  40. KarsenB.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    One of the best games i played, better then the first one.... its awesome.
  41. JimmusMaximus
    Feb 14, 2005
    5
    Extremely mediocre. Couldn't this just have been an expansion pack? Same game mechanics, same mini-games, same "amnesiac"-style plot-lines, different game name. Sure, they added a few saber and melee moves, but it feels just like the first one. Control interface is just as simplistic and inflexible as the first game, too. At least with NeverWinter Nights, you had three or four Extremely mediocre. Couldn't this just have been an expansion pack? Same game mechanics, same mini-games, same "amnesiac"-style plot-lines, different game name. Sure, they added a few saber and melee moves, but it feels just like the first one. Control interface is just as simplistic and inflexible as the first game, too. At least with NeverWinter Nights, you had three or four movement options available. Not a bad game, to be sure, but brings very little new to the table. Disappointing. Expand
  42. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    I don't know where to start....

    This is absolutely THE BEST (Star Wars) game I have ever played! SW: KotOR II kicks you right into the story, you're the last of the Jedi (against legions of evil Sith) and you progress to find out more about yourself. It's not necessary to play through the first game before you try this, but it is recommended. The reason why I love this game so much is
    I don't know where to start....

    This is absolutely THE BEST (Star Wars) game I have ever played! SW: KotOR II kicks you right into the story, you're the last of the Jedi (against legions of evil Sith) and you progress to find out more about yourself. It's not necessary to play through the first game before you try this, but it is recommended.
    The reason why I love this game so much is because of the story, there's many elements you wouldn't expect in a Star Wars game: like a villain who "eats" people, a Sith Lord who lives on because of his will to fight his own pain... This game is so much deeper than the general game you try, if you give it the time to sink in.

    The sad thing... is that the silly publishers, LucasArts, pushed the developers to finish the game at a specific date - forcing content to be cut, mostly the ending.

    But there's a group of modders who have restored most of it: http://deadlystream.com/forum/forum/4-tslrcm/
    Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I can't believe that this game is so underrated here! Simply the best video-game that I have played, and it will be very, extremely, almost impossible to find a better game. The history is simply fantastic, the characters are great, the music is awesome and the graphics, for that years, were good. An unique and incredible experience, really. Like live the best movie you can imagine yourself.
  44. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    If you liked the first one, you will love this. Strong narrative and brilliant story-telling, with a great sense of immersiveness and very caractericed characters. Even if you don't like Star Wars very much, this game if definitly a must have if you like RPG. If you have bad luck, some bugs may appear through the gameplay, but by now, I'm sure there's plenty of patches to fix it all. Oh!If you liked the first one, you will love this. Strong narrative and brilliant story-telling, with a great sense of immersiveness and very caractericed characters. Even if you don't like Star Wars very much, this game if definitly a must have if you like RPG. If you have bad luck, some bugs may appear through the gameplay, but by now, I'm sure there's plenty of patches to fix it all. Oh! For a even better experience, don't miss the "Sith Lords Restoration Content Mod", you will love this! Expand
  45. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    dsafadfassdsfdasfasdfsadfsdafsaddfsadsasaddfdafdsadsfsfdaadsffdsadsafdsaffdsaadsfsafddsfadsfadsffdfdsafdsaafddfsadfsadsafdfsadsdsfadfsafddfsafadsfdsadfsadsf
  46. May 5, 2014
    6
    I really enjoyed the original KOTOR, and look back on my time playing it fondly. I wish I could say the same for its sequel.
    While some gameplay improvements were made over the first, a glaring lack of likeable characters (everyone seems engineered to be "neutral" with obviously forced good/evil elements), and a narrative that fails to come to a real conclusion make this edition very
    I really enjoyed the original KOTOR, and look back on my time playing it fondly. I wish I could say the same for its sequel.
    While some gameplay improvements were made over the first, a glaring lack of likeable characters (everyone seems engineered to be "neutral" with obviously forced good/evil elements), and a narrative that fails to come to a real conclusion make this edition very disappointing. Kreia is a fascinating character, so it really is tragic that the developers obviously ran out of time or money and never completed a proper climactic ending to this game and story arc.
    Expand
  47. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    best game on earth blablaxnsbchihiqhwohqoehoqehfoiqhwofhqoiwhfoiqhwoifhqowhfoqhwoifhoqwhfoqsdjvowjoiwheoifhwoehfoiwehfoiwheoifhwoiehfowhefoiwhergwegweojgpowejpgowjeopgjwpoejgpoj jwpefjpowejfpo jpwej powjepo jwpo jj j j j j j j jj jj j jj
  48. FranciscoT.
    Apr 29, 2005
    1
    One of the biggest disappointments of the year. Loved KTOR and couldn
  49. DavidW
    Sep 1, 2008
    1
    This game is like a chocolate with a center composed of crude oil. It looks great from the outside but once you bite down you realize how disgusting it actually is - not to mention how sick it will make you feel after you swallow it. Seriously, it seems great with all of these plot threads and detail at first, but in the end neither the plot nor the subplots are resolved. I was surprised This game is like a chocolate with a center composed of crude oil. It looks great from the outside but once you bite down you realize how disgusting it actually is - not to mention how sick it will make you feel after you swallow it. Seriously, it seems great with all of these plot threads and detail at first, but in the end neither the plot nor the subplots are resolved. I was surprised when the ending credits rolled because I was certainly expecting something to pull together at least some of the missing pieces - but sadly there was a BRIEF cutscene that didn't make any real sense and then BLAM - THE END. Then I realized how badly the gameplay had deteriorated during the second half of the game was not going to overcome by a solid ending - and realized that I had been had by this sad sham of a game. I certainly will not buy future LucasArts products as a result. Expand
  50. WilliamA.
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    BEWARE! this game is extremely buggy and incomplete. i realise urls are probably not allowed in this section, but i hope an exeption can be made in this case because its very important http://www.theforce.net/jedicouncil/editorials/030405.asp
  51. KrisK
    Apr 6, 2009
    4
    The game crashes quite frequently. The story was chopped mostly due to the production being pushed out the door too fast. Definitely not as good as the first one.
  52. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    Sigh, what, just what the happened between the development of KoTOR 1 and KoTOR 2? The first one was one of the best games I've ever played. The second, however, is so boring and uninteresting it's repulsive. The game doesn't tell you anything, who you are, where you are, or how to even play.
  53. Mac
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    Good but not as good as the first game.
  54. [Anonymous]
    Oct 16, 2007
    3
    This game had such promise but it ultimately fails to deliver. By continuing the story from the first KOTR, this game has a strong backbone. The game play and options can make you feel lonely at times but the RPG elements of leveling up your Jedi or Sith make up for it. This game falls apart with a patchwork narrative and unsympathetic characters lead to a confusing and emotionless This game had such promise but it ultimately fails to deliver. By continuing the story from the first KOTR, this game has a strong backbone. The game play and options can make you feel lonely at times but the RPG elements of leveling up your Jedi or Sith make up for it. This game falls apart with a patchwork narrative and unsympathetic characters lead to a confusing and emotionless ending. Story elements from the best characters were removed, some plot lines and quests end without resolution, and the main supporting actors give no explanation for their actions. Expand
  55. Mary
    Feb 21, 2005
    4
    If they ever do a KotOR3, please o please have the main character remember his name, past events since his last birthday and how to put a pair of pants on. Looks like a custom mod of KOTOR I.
  56. KCL.
    Mar 6, 2005
    7
    Its a good game, but I really must say I'm somewhat disappointed by it, the graphics being slightly obsolete as come critics have claimed didn't really occured to me as so, but I really kinda feel the story lacked quite a bit of substance and balancing. The first KOTOR pulled you a lot deeper into the story than this one. The game was unsatisfyingly short, upon finishing the Its a good game, but I really must say I'm somewhat disappointed by it, the graphics being slightly obsolete as come critics have claimed didn't really occured to me as so, but I really kinda feel the story lacked quite a bit of substance and balancing. The first KOTOR pulled you a lot deeper into the story than this one. The game was unsatisfyingly short, upon finishing the last boss it was only 33.5hours. The ending cinematic really was a let down, I played all the way till the end to see some uneventful 10 second low quality video clip!? But all in all. this is really a decent buy, despite all these bad things i've been saying, it really got 7 because the gameplay made a high cut. Waiting for thrid sequel, hope its gonna fill up all these rooms for improvement. Expand
  57. KatyB.
    Mar 7, 2005
    2
    I dont think the reviewers played this game all the way through. coz this game has no end! it just finishes half way through without explaining what happens to the characters. ive read on forums that the company just ran out of time and quickly finished off what they had to release it.
  58. WSK
    Feb 10, 2006
    1
    Just 1 point for putting up all the marketing effort to 'market' this 'product'. Did I mention it's a game?! (Shame on Black Isle ... what a big let down.) (Btw, it is so conveniently ported till they cannot revamp controls for pc?! How many of the QA/Testers really tried this shit out?) With that lousy graphics, and yet lagging ... a 'great trait' comesJust 1 point for putting up all the marketing effort to 'market' this 'product'. Did I mention it's a game?! (Shame on Black Isle ... what a big let down.) (Btw, it is so conveniently ported till they cannot revamp controls for pc?! How many of the QA/Testers really tried this shit out?) With that lousy graphics, and yet lagging ... a 'great trait' comes from part 1. Either way ... if it is RPG ... goes for something else ... light saber just don't fit with lazy coders. Expand
  59. V.Z.
    Sep 30, 2006
    4
    Late to the party, I know. Even though I bought this the week it came out, it took me long to finish the game. First, the bugs were annoying. Then, they made you wait forever for the promised music patch that is not worth downloading. Anyway, I had heard that the ending was rushed, and boy, it is. No matter how awesome the beginning is, the shitty unfinished ending destroys the whole Late to the party, I know. Even though I bought this the week it came out, it took me long to finish the game. First, the bugs were annoying. Then, they made you wait forever for the promised music patch that is not worth downloading. Anyway, I had heard that the ending was rushed, and boy, it is. No matter how awesome the beginning is, the shitty unfinished ending destroys the whole plot. Story elements disappear, others get finished so fast there is no way to enjoy them. Also, while the dialogue is well written, sometimes the characters get simply boring. And there are so many party members, at times it felt like work finding out what's the matter with all of them. The gameplay is ok, but not very well balanced. On medium, most fights are just too damn easy. 95% of the game I didn't care for the "battle stances", and found no use for most of the items. The better Jedi armors also look stupid. Kotor 1 was excellent. This one is not worth playing. Expand
  60. lewisc
    Jun 23, 2009
    8
    This game is darker and more philisophical than the first one.If it had been finished properly, it would have surpassed the original in my opinion.
  61. PaulT.
    Feb 23, 2005
    2
    I loved the first one. This game seamed okay at first, the game play was great. Loved the first one so I did not complain there since it was the same. I do however have to bitch about not getting light sabers until a third of the freaking game through. What about the Jedi robes? The crap you had to choose from was so bad you just couldn
  62. DavidR.
    Mar 16, 2005
    4
    I haven't finished this game yet, not that I haven't tried. Every time I sit down and invest a few hours into it, I inevitably get a crash. This pisses me off so much that I leave the game for a week to cool off. LucasArts should be ashamed of themselves, so much potential wasted because off the quest for a quick buck. The money would have come in time anyway, why release this crap?
  63. EvanM.
    Mar 17, 2005
    2
    It's really hard to rate a game that couldn't even be completed. I was playing along having a pretty good time and decided to save a quit. When I loaded it up again the next day all of the written text and diolog in the whole game was a bunch of gibberish. It was all half sentences with randome words thrown in, like the dialog engine scrambled everything. It would be a fun game It's really hard to rate a game that couldn't even be completed. I was playing along having a pretty good time and decided to save a quit. When I loaded it up again the next day all of the written text and diolog in the whole game was a bunch of gibberish. It was all half sentences with randome words thrown in, like the dialog engine scrambled everything. It would be a fun game if I could ever read anything. I mean come on, there are way too many bugs in the game. I loved the first one but the second one is practically unplayable. Expand
  64. SteveC.
    Jun 29, 2006
    2
    I really loved the first game, but technical issues prevent me from playing the second game. It is crashing constantly. From the many reviews here and on Gamespot, others are finding it unplayable as well. It should be illegal to sell game this unplayable.
  65. JT
    Nov 17, 2005
    3
    The game would deserve 8.5 rating but the constent crashing of the game only rates 3.5.
  66. JoshuaM.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Really good game, nearly as great as the first.
  67. KOTOR_GUY
    Feb 19, 2005
    3
    Is this a joke? The bugs are so bad, it makes it unplayable at times. Who ever tested this game should be fired and the game released in a few months time AFTER it works properly. LucasArts wants to cash in one this or something, get working another Star Wars game as soon as possible. The patch doesn't fix anything important either, just adds some text into the game. Not recommended, Is this a joke? The bugs are so bad, it makes it unplayable at times. Who ever tested this game should be fired and the game released in a few months time AFTER it works properly. LucasArts wants to cash in one this or something, get working another Star Wars game as soon as possible. The patch doesn't fix anything important either, just adds some text into the game. Not recommended, don't give them your cash or they won't learn from their mistakes. Get a budget release of this in a few months when there are more patches for this too. Expand
  68. Dobermann
    Feb 21, 2005
    4
    Liked the first one better. This one is obviously rushed. You can see it in the plot holes, lack of side quests and in bugs. This is sad because it had that movie feeling in it but which slowly degenerated. Combat interface is as horrible as in first one but they are so easy you don't even have to watch the screen let alone change tactics. Addictive, but wouldn't play it through again.
  69. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    wow bioware dropped the ball on this one . the first knights game is fantastic this one just doesnt deliver in many ways . first off the story just isnt that intresting . the choices you make have no baring on the ending of the game unlike the first one. light sabers are a extreme pain to find . the chocie selection for talking just isnt as intresting or as funny as what the original onewow bioware dropped the ball on this one . the first knights game is fantastic this one just doesnt deliver in many ways . first off the story just isnt that intresting . the choices you make have no baring on the ending of the game unlike the first one. light sabers are a extreme pain to find . the chocie selection for talking just isnt as intresting or as funny as what the original one was eather which is a shame because i laughed my ass off at some of the things you could say in the first one . the games pacing just drags on and on . this game feels very rushed to make some money off the greatness of the original its a shame this is just amediocore RPG. Expand
  70. Oct 23, 2010
    7
    A shame Bioware did not work on this sequel. It shows and I wish I never played it. Just forget this sequel exists and wait for Star Wars: The Old Republic hehe.
  71. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    This game is great and the story is extremely engrossing. First things first, I played it from the first second with the fan made patch that fixes more then 1000 bugs, I don't know what it would be like without that. The story is better then the gameplay, I found the battles get repetitive after a while. There are definitely flaws in the game, some annoying crashes and especially nearThis game is great and the story is extremely engrossing. First things first, I played it from the first second with the fan made patch that fixes more then 1000 bugs, I don't know what it would be like without that. The story is better then the gameplay, I found the battles get repetitive after a while. There are definitely flaws in the game, some annoying crashes and especially near the end their are some story holes, a must play anyway I think. Expand
  72. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    This game is no doubt a good game however it doesnt have as good of a star wars feel as other star wars games like star wars the old republic. The force powers were excellent and so were a bunch of the abilities. However the game felt incomplete, after the end game you feel like their is more to do but there is nothing. It took WAY too long to get your lightsaber, i mean way to long.This game is no doubt a good game however it doesnt have as good of a star wars feel as other star wars games like star wars the old republic. The force powers were excellent and so were a bunch of the abilities. However the game felt incomplete, after the end game you feel like their is more to do but there is nothing. It took WAY too long to get your lightsaber, i mean way to long. However that is a minor part of the game. Since this wasn't made by bioware you have to expect it would not be as good as the first one. I think if bioware made this game it would have felt complete instead of incomplete. Still i recommend this game to any fan of star wars or any rpg fan. But if you are not an RPG fan you might not like this game and if you are an rpg fan you might feel a bit disappointed. Expand
  73. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I know all of you are going to hate me but i enjoyed this one a HELL a lot more than i did for original, mainly because of the philosophical debates on the force you can have with Kreia, her voice actress is such a good choice, the gameplay wise, adding a few fixes here and there but still using Kotor's engine wasn't such a bad idea when it comes down to it i found it rather enjoyable evenI know all of you are going to hate me but i enjoyed this one a HELL a lot more than i did for original, mainly because of the philosophical debates on the force you can have with Kreia, her voice actress is such a good choice, the gameplay wise, adding a few fixes here and there but still using Kotor's engine wasn't such a bad idea when it comes down to it i found it rather enjoyable even if it usually made me end up spamming the lightning storm button and screaming "UNLIMITED POWER!"

    Main 2 Upsides;
    Story is deeper and better
    Kreia is beyond awesome
    Main annoyance;
    The absolutely endlessly seeming prologue that nearly takes 10 hours to finish at my pace (which is EXPLORE EVERYWHERE!, style)
    Expand
  74. Dec 30, 2012
    7
    Reviewing this game is complex.
    At first you'll think this is only a sad and buggy re-rash of the previous title; because of similar characters (like HK-47) and similar stories (the amnesiac jedi aboard a ship). And gosh how this game start bad, you are thrown in a repetitive and bland dungeon, doing meaningless quests.
    But then the game open up and you see a lot of qualities unseen in
    Reviewing this game is complex.
    At first you'll think this is only a sad and buggy re-rash of the previous title; because of similar characters (like HK-47) and similar stories (the amnesiac jedi aboard a ship). And gosh how this game start bad, you are thrown in a repetitive and bland dungeon, doing meaningless quests.
    But then the game open up and you see a lot of qualities unseen in the previous title.
    If Kotor 1 had a intense macro plot involving everything, but forced conversations with characters (for example, a character would bring a talk about his parents only to develop background) and an often unilateral representation of the world , Kotor 2 offers the opposite: the bigger plot isn't all that relevant or entertaining, but the characters are great and their personalities amazing. Some lines of Kreia and Handmaiden are writer's material, and it's a relief to finally see someone being original and playing with moral and ethical dicothomies in the Star Wars universe, an universe so hungry of this.
    The downside is that Kotor 2 is an incomplete game with a lot of wasted potential, besides the fact that, unlike Kotor 1, you can't really enjoy all the social interation with characters due of the inexorable influence system; if you mistreat a character once you may never be able to interact fully with him again.
    Play this game as weekend casual rpg and you won't disappointed. Also don't forget to install the mods.
    If any bug happens, see the bright side: at least you are not playing a game with bioware level of writing.
    Expand
  75. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This game is better in almost every way over the first one, the only thing i find lacking in this one is the story, and dont get me wrong its still a great story. every thing else gets improved over the first kotor the inventory the abilitys the characters. i still play it from time to time.

    if your looking into this play the first kotor before you delve into this part of the story
    This game is better in almost every way over the first one, the only thing i find lacking in this one is the story, and dont get me wrong its still a great story. every thing else gets improved over the first kotor the inventory the abilitys the characters. i still play it from time to time.

    if your looking into this play the first kotor before you delve into this part of the story blends together. but if your picking this up for the first time crafting is a must on your main character for the first play thru, blaster deflection alone once it really gets up there will not only save your butt, but kill people in the process. Also i would go as far as to say "i dare you to be good" it takes about 10x more work and side quests to play all light side. (jedi mind trick is considered dark side, as are a lot of the damaging powers.)
    Expand
  76. Apr 22, 2013
    3
    Kotor Knights Of The Old Republic is my second favorite game and RPG of all time and this disgraces the franchise i loved KOTOR it was the first game that got me into gaming and i've never stopped loving gaming sense. Then KOTOR 2 sith lords comes out and i'm ready to experience KOTOR all over again instead i get left with this. It is nothing compared to The original KOTOR and is overallKotor Knights Of The Old Republic is my second favorite game and RPG of all time and this disgraces the franchise i loved KOTOR it was the first game that got me into gaming and i've never stopped loving gaming sense. Then KOTOR 2 sith lords comes out and i'm ready to experience KOTOR all over again instead i get left with this. It is nothing compared to The original KOTOR and is overall a bad game it has crash problems and was shoehorned out by development to make a deadline. The only thing that makes this game possibly worth picking it up is the wonderful modding community trying to fix all of this games problems and a couple memorable characters. But even with that the game still suffers many bugs and just overall bad design. Expand
  77. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    The game is too bugged. First time I drop it in the "always crushing" cantina. Second time, when I got it on steam, it is not working on Win 7 x64.
    And story so far was not so great.
  78. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    Kotor 2 has a lot of fanboys that make the game out to be way better than it actually is.

    The problem with the game is that you basically have to talk to your companions to get a good idea of what exactly is going on. If you don't you'll get to the end and will wonder "what just happened" because of how poorly explained many things are in the game. What some people call the
    Kotor 2 has a lot of fanboys that make the game out to be way better than it actually is.

    The problem with the game is that you basically have to talk to your companions to get a good idea of what exactly is going on. If you don't you'll get to the end and will wonder "what just happened" because of how poorly explained many things are in the game.

    What some people call the "richness" of the characters is really just making up for the otherwise sloppy writing and game development.

    The game was left by Obsidian in a totally unfinished state. There are parts of the game where they clearly intended to add more, but didn't. The final area is an example of this.

    There is considerably less to explore in this game compared to the first game, and it is much more linear. Also you are never going to be awed by a richly created background on a planet like Manaan. Nope, instead you get a lot of very bland areas like Nar Shadaa and Telos. Nar Shadaa was especially disappointing as the enemy you fight there is probably the least interesting boss in both KOTOR 1 and 2, and the quests you do on the planet are cartoonish at best.

    The balancing is also frankly laughable, as the additional force powers and advanced classes that they add to the game make it so that enemies are barely even scratching you. The pretty much make your jedi a god by the end, which makes it just not particularly fun if you are looking for any kind of challenge.

    Ohh and then there are the bugs. The game is full of them, to the point where FANS HAD TO PATCH IT. Even then you only have to go onto other places like the Steam forums to see how many problems people have in trying to either get the game to work or to not crash when they enter their ship or go to a new area.

    Overall it is inferior to KOTOR, even if KOTOR has a cartoonish final boss itself.
    Expand
  79. May 7, 2014
    10
    Play the first one, complete it, then buy this game. The story is absolutely incredible. I would recommend this to any Star Wars fan. 10/10, enjoyed the f*** out of both of the games.
  80. Jun 17, 2015
    8
    There is a lot to love about the Sith Lords as a follow up to the stellar Knights of the Old Republic. The ability to influence your companions and then train some of them to become Jedi was particularly neat. The story is deep and engaging and a good deal of fun. In many ways, I liked the game even more than the original KOTR, which is saying a great deal because I loved that game.There is a lot to love about the Sith Lords as a follow up to the stellar Knights of the Old Republic. The ability to influence your companions and then train some of them to become Jedi was particularly neat. The story is deep and engaging and a good deal of fun. In many ways, I liked the game even more than the original KOTR, which is saying a great deal because I loved that game. Unfortunately, KOTOR II was a classic Obsidian game in that it reached for the stars in many ways but was let down by some irritating technical bugs and a rushed timeline that led to a compressed and clipped ending to the game. There was also a great deal of material cut from the game that really should have been kept but had to be jettisoned to get the game out on a deadline. There have been mods to restore much of that content, however. This one is definitely worth a play through simply to see all of the greatness in it, even if it didn't ultimately quite reach the heights it seemed capable of. Expand
  81. May 20, 2014
    10
    There are bugs with the base game. Update the game using a patcher and install the TSLRCM (the sith lord restoration/content mod). A dedicated group of modders took everything that obsidian never got to complete and turned the game into the experience, the reskinned planescape: torment, it was supposed to be.
  82. Jul 1, 2014
    7
    It is a fantastic game, great and well designed environment, greatly improved upon from KOTOR, and a truly immersive story. I truly felt like I was the exile, deciding the fate of myself, unfortunates whom I attempted to aid, or not, and the fate of the galaxy as a whole. My issues with the game are primarily with the vast array of bugs, with the environment, enemies and the story.It is a fantastic game, great and well designed environment, greatly improved upon from KOTOR, and a truly immersive story. I truly felt like I was the exile, deciding the fate of myself, unfortunates whom I attempted to aid, or not, and the fate of the galaxy as a whole. My issues with the game are primarily with the vast array of bugs, with the environment, enemies and the story. There were several times where the decisions I made in conversations left me stuck perpetually, unable to move on with the game, until I loaded a previous save state. The worst was of course with Atris, and this same problem has been recorded my many other players. Choosing one conversation line leads to no story progression, while others work just fine.

    All in all, a really great game, held back by the many apparent bugs in the game.
    Expand
  83. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    This game has some serious flaws but sometimes you simply have to look beyond the mechanical problems to see the splendor of a game(especially when dealing with Obsidian.) I would start by saying that you really have to get this game on a PC and do some of the patching to restore the ending. It was originally rushed by LucasArts and it showed. The game is playable without the fan patchesThis game has some serious flaws but sometimes you simply have to look beyond the mechanical problems to see the splendor of a game(especially when dealing with Obsidian.) I would start by saying that you really have to get this game on a PC and do some of the patching to restore the ending. It was originally rushed by LucasArts and it showed. The game is playable without the fan patches but you will be doing yourself a disservice playing the original release.

    This is one of the best RPGs in a wide array of areas. The characters have fleshed out backstories and feel very differentiated. The text tree use in this game is among the best ever done in terms of developing the characters you talk to and how it is integrated into the game. There are quite a few times where you can gain information and even traits through talking to crew members. This is one of my favorite parts of the game as simply from a mechanical perspective the idea of your character LITERALLY learning things from speech is represented by the fact that you gain actual stat bonuses etc, from the dialogue. There are speech points in battle(or just before) that also affect the enemy stats, this is very rare and you might not even know that is how the game is working but that is the level of detail put into the speech in this game. The light/dark system is certainly binary but this is the Star Wars universe, there is really no getting around the light/dark representations of the force and this honestly is probably the best game or movie for actually making the dark side seem more alluring to someone that is not literally evil.

    The combat is not particularly good, though. You can have some fun seeing the lightsaber for the first time or using a new force skill here or there but it feels fairly weak compared to the rest of the game, but I'd still say its solid for an RPG. Stealth seems pretty much useless other than incredibly rare spots. There can also be some annoying cases of running back and forth for quests, and I swear to god the card game cheats, no one can convince me otherwise.

    Overall though, when you look past its flaws you are in for a rare treat. This game ends up being much greater than the sum of its parts, because these types of experiences simply aren't made very often, 10/10.
    Expand
  84. MikeR.
    Feb 19, 2005
    6
    A really good, deep game but too much like the original. There are also rather a lot of bugs (including some rather nasty ones) that the "a" patch didn't cure...
  85. AlanR.
    Feb 20, 2005
    8
    I must say that this game is quite enjoyable. However, the game does often feel too much like the old KOTOR. New force powers, feats, and story are all nice but I would have liked to see the game play change a bit more too. Oh well, what can you say. As for those that complained about the bugs, it probably depends on your system. If you have a low end system I can see there being lots of I must say that this game is quite enjoyable. However, the game does often feel too much like the old KOTOR. New force powers, feats, and story are all nice but I would have liked to see the game play change a bit more too. Oh well, what can you say. As for those that complained about the bugs, it probably depends on your system. If you have a low end system I can see there being lots of problems. Having said that, I did experience enough crashes to be annoyed with the game. All in all, a good game that is definitely worth the money. Expand
  86. DaveG.
    Mar 4, 2005
    7
    Yes the game is great just as the first one was. But there's no question it is rushed! The game gets a 7 because it is good, but its only 90% finished. I've never payed this much to beta test a game! The developers were doing a good job, but the project managers or the jerks who run the show didn't let them finish the game! Selling this game before it is finished for full Yes the game is great just as the first one was. But there's no question it is rushed! The game gets a 7 because it is good, but its only 90% finished. I've never payed this much to beta test a game! The developers were doing a good job, but the project managers or the jerks who run the show didn't let them finish the game! Selling this game before it is finished for full price is bordering on criminal. The Obsidianites could at least own up to the fact that the game wasn't *quite* ready and work doubletime on some patches. Expand
  87. Tony
    May 11, 2005
    9
    i loved the game and it was fun and all but i did not get the ending what was the main point like in kotor you ended up being reven. what was the ending to this one please send me the answer.
  88. MorganC.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This is a truly great game. My only complaint is that the dark side has a disadvantage in that you will gain light side points if you try to get influence with your companions.
  89. JB
    Aug 11, 2006
    7
    A disappointing sequel to one of the greatest crpgs of all time. The storyline is overly philosophical, slowing the game down in a universe that has always screamed 'action!'. The side games, which had great prevalence in the original (and were very fun there) are here watered down and inane. As a fan of both Planescape:Torment and KOTOR I, I would have to say that the former A disappointing sequel to one of the greatest crpgs of all time. The storyline is overly philosophical, slowing the game down in a universe that has always screamed 'action!'. The side games, which had great prevalence in the original (and were very fun there) are here watered down and inane. As a fan of both Planescape:Torment and KOTOR I, I would have to say that the former does mental stimulation better and the latter conveys a sense of adventure better than this game. The actual gameplay mechanics, etc., are great, but that indescribable sense of fun that existed in KOTOR and PS:T is missing here. Expand
  90. AlecR.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    This game was great! And I must have been one of the lucky ones, because the game crashed about 3 times and I encountered no bugs. It would only crash in loading areas, but it was only on the Citadel Station (if that's what its called, I can't remember) during loads! Once I got to Dantooine, or Korriban or Nar Shadda (Fun planet) or any of the others, no crashes or anything! This game was great! And I must have been one of the lucky ones, because the game crashed about 3 times and I encountered no bugs. It would only crash in loading areas, but it was only on the Citadel Station (if that's what its called, I can't remember) during loads! Once I got to Dantooine, or Korriban or Nar Shadda (Fun planet) or any of the others, no crashes or anything! Weird. I found it to be very fun and very well written, and I'm sorry for those who had bugs and other errors. Expand
  91. NickC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    By far one of the best star wars games ever. played many times through because every time it seems different.
  92. AlexV.
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    Great game, great plot line and challenging game. Better than part 1.
  93. AndrewR.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Best game ever !!!
  94. NicoleM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Loved it, it exceeded my expectations. I was addicted for days. I can't wait to see if there is another one.
  95. DavidB.
    Feb 24, 2005
    7
    Don't you just hate the conversations that go round in circles. Don't you just hate the conversations that go round in circles. Don't you just hate the conversations that go round in circles. Don't you just hate the conversations that go round in circles. Don't you just hate the conversations that go round in circles. [Ed: yes]
  96. Jeremy
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Great game. Played it on a modern computer, quad core, 2 gb ram etc but still got some bugs. But not enough to ruin the gameplay. Starts off slow, I gave up on it the first time, second time around a few months later and I was hooked. Took me 38 hours to finish it. Graphics are dated especially now in 2008 but still do their job. Excellent sound. Storyline is very well thought out. But youGreat game. Played it on a modern computer, quad core, 2 gb ram etc but still got some bugs. But not enough to ruin the gameplay. Starts off slow, I gave up on it the first time, second time around a few months later and I was hooked. Took me 38 hours to finish it. Graphics are dated especially now in 2008 but still do their job. Excellent sound. Storyline is very well thought out. But you need to be careful not to miss anything, I could never get the HK48 droid to work in the whole game. Will keep you up all night, and addicted until you finish it. Highly Recommend it to all gamers! Expand
  97. SimoneD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This Game is fantastic. This was for me the best introspection in the Star Wars world.
  98. MasterBoredom
    May 14, 2009
    7
    Forced. Knights of the Old Republic II suffers, in short, from being in the shadow of it's predecessor's brilliance. When the former not only brought to life the Star Wars world better than any previous game, but also managed to combine PC RPG stats and dice with Console RPG storytelling, it did so almost unexpectedly. KotOR threatened to be far less than the sum of its parts, Forced. Knights of the Old Republic II suffers, in short, from being in the shadow of it's predecessor's brilliance. When the former not only brought to life the Star Wars world better than any previous game, but also managed to combine PC RPG stats and dice with Console RPG storytelling, it did so almost unexpectedly. KotOR threatened to be far less than the sum of its parts, and when it turned out to more, much more, its success was guaranteed. Unfortunately, that first game, but for a few tiny control issues, really didn't leave much to be improved upon. Taking up the motto of "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", the developers subsequently created something that feels more like a hefty expansion, rather than a true sequel. New story, slightly altered levelling up system, but all within the same shell. Unfortunately, the game fails to match its predecessor on several of these levels. Firstly, the combat and skill related section of KOTOR II lacks the balance of the first game. Certain fights in the first game were genuinely difficult, and frequently your choice of skills and party members only opened doors at the expense of others being shut. In contrast, from the outset of KOTOR II, it is easy to have a party capable of accomplishing everything and kicking ass to boot. A carefully constructed jedi is quite capable of destroying even the toughest enemies on their own, and several of the other party members (or yourself, if you choose) can cover ALL of the skills needs you'll ever have, while remaining quite combat capable. The satisfaction of levelling up becomes muted as the game wears on, and towards the end begins to feel rather meaningless. Secondly, the interactions between your fellow party members and yourself, while still a cut above most rival games, never reaches the brilliance of the first game. Ultimately, despite the game's efforts, the brilliance of Bastila, Carth and Mission is not replicated, and instead we end up with characters who range from the flat to the outright dislikeable. This is coupled with a well intentioned system of converting followers to the light or dark sides, which while a promising idea ultimately serves to replace rather than support the "it looks like something is bothering ____" of the first game. Rather than developing, the game instead seems to pour all the character's stories into initially accessible paths and abandon them for the endgame. Indeed, the game also includes a rather bizarre continued conflict between two NPCs that might well not feature in the player's plans. Finally, the story itself borders upon weak, though it likely suffers again from the impact of its predecessor here. The pacing of the game, certainly, is poor, and the game seems to drag for large periods without any injection of urgency or a strong wider goal. When the endgame does approach, it is thrown on almost unexpectedly. This combines with the game's enemies, who, after appearing deeply menacing when we first meet them, and radiating a sense of power, proceed to fall like bowling pins so quickly at the end, that you're left expecting revivals that do not come. This is a shame, because while characters like Darth Malak and Darth Revan (KotOR) might have been impossible to best, the game initially appears to have matched them. Frankly, KotOR II's concepts deserve far better than the game delivers. It isn't all doom and gloom, though. The sensation that this is KotOR 1.5 will probably be welcomed by most, and although the game doesn't match it's predecessor, you would be hard pressed to accuse KotOR II of being the cash-in it might have been. Some of the dialogue is genuinely brilliant and there are many pleasing little concepts in the storyline. And it is another replication of those wonderful star-wars worlds, which is always appreciated. My final gripe with the game, concerns the way the story progresses from it's predecessor. It would have been nice if the game could have absorded some details of what happened in the player's previous outing, but instead we have a hotch-potch amalgamation of the potential light/dark paths ventured last time around. Indeed, given the options available in the previous game, it is disappointing to see a story told where the actions of my character seemed completely contradicted. The ending, in particular, is very unsatisfying, and seems to cater for only one path of play. Frankly, the story of the second game is best ignored when thinking about the series. KotOR II remains an acceptable RPG romp, but fails to deliver to the level of it's predecessor. Ultimately, it fails to reach the benchmarks in gameplay, story and characterization of the first game, and though fans will welcome the extension of the series there is no doubt that it will take more to acheive the success of the first game. Expand
  99. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    I played the Sith Lords again recently and realised it deserved far ore credit than I had originally given it. Kotor 1 is y favourite game of all time, and I always looked on Sith Lords as an inferior follow-up. On further inspection, it's only really the ending that sucked.
    In the Sith Lords you have one of the best opening sequences - exciting and gripping - of any gae I have played.
    I played the Sith Lords again recently and realised it deserved far ore credit than I had originally given it. Kotor 1 is y favourite game of all time, and I always looked on Sith Lords as an inferior follow-up. On further inspection, it's only really the ending that sucked.
    In the Sith Lords you have one of the best opening sequences - exciting and gripping - of any gae I have played. Obsidian kept the good looks and a similar interface, made the Items available more interesting and varied, made the characters far more interesting, and went for a more complex plot. I still think the ending was a shame, it felt so sudden and rushed and The Trayus Core scene just felt ridiculous. But the Sith Lords is a sequel not to be missed.
    Expand
  100. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    A great game, Not like the fist one, but I can say its really hard to beat the fist one. This game is one of my favorites of all time too. You must play it.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 80
    As good as the storyline and basic gameplay are, there are more than a few issues that keep this game from reaching the bar set by the first KotOR. The first: bugs. There a lot of them; most are just annoying, but a few are deadly.
  2. It's remarkable that the game's quest is every bit as big and complex as the original's. On the other hand, some unsightly technical issues and a general feeling of déjà vu will probably prevent you from feeling as strongly about The Sith Lords as you did or still do about the first game.
  3. 87
    More importantly, all these mechanics -- the moral slider, the influence system, combat, etc. -- are surrounded by a first rate story that's almost as mythic and fantastic as the films themselves.