Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II - The Sith Lords Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 462 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Beginning approximately five years after the events of the first Knights of the Old Republic, The Sith Lords takes players on an entirely new journey as they assume the role of what is believed to be the last Jedi in the galaxy. The game features a cast of memorable returning characters and sinister new villains. Using more than 30 new Force powers, players can turn weak-minded enemies against one another in combat with "Force confusion" or see through doors and view character alignment with "Force sight." Assigned to protect the Old Republic and the Jedi Order from the terrifying Dark Lords of the Sith, players must explore and battle through seven diverse worlds while being challenged whether to choose the light side of the Force or surrender to the lure of the dark side. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The epic struggles of the universe are told in a cinematic, moving style. The interpersonal conflicts are brought out through rich dialogue and well thought-out storytelling.
  2. A masterpiece. It is more than a worthy successor to the original game, and it continues the strong tradition that Bioware started with an epic space opera of morality and thought provoking decisions that affect the lives of both individuals and entire cultures.
  3. 90
    The quality of the characters, story and writing is the biggest draw as far as I was concerned and is certainly the game's greatest strength. The characters are full of quirks, idiosyncrasies and flaws, making them seem like realistic individuals rather than the tool of a games designer.
  4. Sith Lords tends to exaggerate the best features and few flaws of its predecessor. Its environments are still linear and some are less polished, but the combat, character interactions, and story are all terrific. [Apr 2005, p.62]
  5. The combat system, while boring at first, became much more appreciable once your party begins to grow in size.
  6. there’s nothing new or innovative in this sequel and thus is merely a good RPG. Fans of the original will probably find the story enjoyable but will feel like they are just replaying "KOTOR" with a different story.
  7. A really good RPG, but only if you’re part of the lucky minority that can run the game with none of the huge technical problems everyone else is suffering from.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 121
  2. Negative: 21 out of 121
  1. MorganC.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This is a truly great game. My only complaint is that the dark side has a disadvantage in that you will gain light side points if you try to get influence with your companions. Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    There are bugs with the base game. Update the game using a patcher and install the TSLRCM (the sith lord restoration/content mod). A dedicated group of modders took everything that obsidian never got to complete and turned the game into the experience, the reskinned planescape: torment, it was supposed to be. Expand
  3. AndrewB
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    I usually don't go into sites like this and rate my favorite game, but after seeing the rating I felt I had to give my opinion: this is simply one of the best RPGs I've played. Amazing interface, plotline, and interactivity. I have not been this impressed by a game in a long time. Expand
  4. JoshuaM.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Really good game, nearly as great as the first.
  5. Jeremy
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Great game. Played it on a modern computer, quad core, 2 gb ram etc but still got some bugs. But not enough to ruin the gameplay. Starts off slow, I gave up on it the first time, second time around a few months later and I was hooked. Took me 38 hours to finish it. Graphics are dated especially now in 2008 but still do their job. Excellent sound. Storyline is very well thought out. But you need to be careful not to miss anything, I could never get the HK48 droid to work in the whole game. Will keep you up all night, and addicted until you finish it. Highly Recommend it to all gamers! Expand
  6. RaelShadow
    May 11, 2005
    6
    This game is a tough one to review because 75% of the game is great. Problem is...that last 25% is really, really bad...and made all the more painful by that wonderful first 75%...kind of like ice cream that tastes wonderful when it hits your tongue and swirls around your mouth...but right before you swallow, it sours and leaves you with an awful aftertaste. On the good side, the story (um...except for that last 25% part) is interesting. The characters are more deeply developed. I like the new Influence factor, where you gain influence with characters enabling your light/dark shift to have a greater impact on their light/dark shift. The voice acting is good and the sounds effects are great. Put it this way...if I rated this game after playing about 75% of it, I would give it a 9. Then came the last 25%. The problem is that the game has these various plot lines...which are completely and utterly ignored at the end of the game. I mean...what is it with HK-47 and T4-M3? What is up with the voice lock on the navcomputer? What about the HK-50's - where are they coming from? And what happened to the rest of my crew? All this...and MUCH MUCH more...is left dangling. I imagine it would be like reading two-thirds of a good Tom Clancy novel, turning the page and reading, "And they all lived happily ever after...the end." In other words, when you get to the end of the game...go ahead and take a breath....sit back...and wait for the final closing cut-scene to bring everything together...and I guarantee....30 seconds later, you will be yelling at your monitor asking, "Is that it? Is that all there is?" Also, I should mention that the bad guys are incredibly easy to beat. My Sentinel would simply force up to Knight Speed, take 2 or 3 swings, and the fight would be over...and this was against the toughest opponents at the end of the game. NOTE: I should mention that I seemed to get more information about the plot playing the dark side than I did the light side...not much more, mind you, but more nonetheless. So...I give the game a 6 because 75% of the game is a 9, but the last 25% of the game is a 1 or 2...and that comes out to around 6. It is a game of such great potential with a totally, absolutely, incredibly unsatisfying ending. Expand
  7. WSK
    Feb 10, 2006
    1
    Just 1 point for putting up all the marketing effort to 'market' this 'product'. Did I mention it's a game?! (Shame on Black Isle ... what a big let down.) (Btw, it is so conveniently ported till they cannot revamp controls for pc?! How many of the QA/Testers really tried this shit out?) With that lousy graphics, and yet lagging ... a 'great trait' comes from part 1. Either way ... if it is RPG ... goes for something else ... light saber just don't fit with lazy coders. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews