Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Beginning approximately five years after the events of the first Knights of the Old Republic, The Sith Lords takes players on an entirely new journey as they assume the role of what is believed to be the last Jedi in the galaxy. The game features a cast of memorable returning characters and sinister new villains. Using more than 30 new Force powers, players can turn weak-minded enemies against one another in combat with "Force confusion" or see through doors and view character alignment with "Force sight." Assigned to protect the Old Republic and the Jedi Order from the terrifying Dark Lords of the Sith, players must explore and battle through seven diverse worlds while being challenged whether to choose the light side of the Force or surrender to the lure of the dark side. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The epic struggles of the universe are told in a cinematic, moving style. The interpersonal conflicts are brought out through rich dialogue and well thought-out storytelling.
  2. A masterpiece. It is more than a worthy successor to the original game, and it continues the strong tradition that Bioware started with an epic space opera of morality and thought provoking decisions that affect the lives of both individuals and entire cultures.
  3. 90
    The quality of the characters, story and writing is the biggest draw as far as I was concerned and is certainly the game's greatest strength. The characters are full of quirks, idiosyncrasies and flaws, making them seem like realistic individuals rather than the tool of a games designer.
  4. Sith Lords tends to exaggerate the best features and few flaws of its predecessor. Its environments are still linear and some are less polished, but the combat, character interactions, and story are all terrific. [Apr 2005, p.62]
  5. The combat system, while boring at first, became much more appreciable once your party begins to grow in size.
  6. there’s nothing new or innovative in this sequel and thus is merely a good RPG. Fans of the original will probably find the story enjoyable but will feel like they are just replaying "KOTOR" with a different story.
  7. A really good RPG, but only if you’re part of the lucky minority that can run the game with none of the huge technical problems everyone else is suffering from.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 112
  2. Negative: 21 out of 112
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This game is simply put one of the best I've ever played. The professional reviews can tell you everything you need to know about its masterful storytelling and immersion, so allow me to expand on some points other critics have missed. The technical crashes in the game can *mostly* be solved by several patches and the downloading of the new Restoration Mod (recently released, which incidentally massively improves the game again). I felt that there was plenty added on from kotor I, such as the new crafting/recycling system for player items, and the saber forms stuff.

    All in all a thoroughly lovable game, made all the more sweet if you nurture a soft spot for SW canon.
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Despite the occasional bugs for some and the ending that was rushed for a timely release, this remains the best written game I have ever played. Though the gameplay feels the same, the story has a different tone than the first game. This sequel is darker and narrative was deep and thoughtful, along with the dynamic characters and overarching story which kept you siphening through a philisophically grey mist to unravel the conflict which was intertwined with both the external and interpersonal. Highly recommend it, especially if you like over analyzing things as there is a lot to speculate on in this game (in a good way). Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of the RPG genre, KOTOR II gives the player a diverse array of complex characters, a rich and exotic universe, and a deep fulfilling plot that will keep you thinking (and maybe--hopefully, even replaying) long after you've put your controller down. It begins steeped in thee unknown, with your arrival aboard a badly damaged derelict ship under mysterious circumstances, headed for an abandoned mining facility, you are quickly tasked, much like the games predecessor, to reveal your origins, and unveil the secrets surround your past and peer into the greater scope of the plot itself. Observing the surroundings as you go through the game, learning about the peoples and cultures you find yourself in the midst of, you may very well become overwhelmed by the wealth of characters you encounter, many who may reference a history your unfamiliar with. If you've played the previous title, or read any of the comics, you'll be aided to some extent in your quest for self-discovery with the prior knowledge of events that have had a profound effect on the peoples and environments you come across. (like a planet, ruined by the conflict that takes place in the first game) yet even if you have not, dont let this discourage you. These additions are largely atmospheric and text related, and will not significantly hinder you in your journey. The planets you travel to are well designed, thought out, and written. I found myself so capitivated by the strange and ordinary figures i encountered, that i constantly lost track of what the hell the main objective was i'm supposed to accomplish. More intriguing then that is your own companions. From the cryptically cynical, to comically murderous, no two characters in KOTOR II are alike. In fact, you'd be hard pressed to find one that shares any noticeable similarities at all- in Mannerism, ideology, humor, or communication. One of the new features added from the original that adds to the relationship you have with these characters is influence. As the plot progresses you will be challenged at one point or another with one more dilemma after the other. What one praises you for the other might scorn. The higher standing you are with one, the more dialogue options become possible, and the lower, the less. The former, revealing fascinating insights into the supporting lore, their personal thoughts and stories, as well as even their most closely guarded secrets. The voice acting is exceptional, and adds a feeling of immersion that no technological marvels of graphic improvement could achieve. The plot is a dark, engrossing, well crafted and most of all original, drawing its strength from a number of story-telling aspects, from political drama, to a psychological thriller filled with unexpected twists, to its bits of comic relief, and surprisingly deep, philosophic moments of reflection, there's really a little something for everyone that really serves to open up the game to a broader audience. Overall, i can say with confidence, that this has been my favorite game i have had the pleasure of playing to date. I can not recommend it enough, and can truly say, its a wonder unto itself, a one of a kind piece that is the equal or greater of any classical example of literature of film. Its doesnt shine with the unfathomable graphic advances we have come to feel entitled to, and it may have been cut short due at the crunch time of development and thus feel awkwardly unfinished at times, yet once you can get over that, your in for a great time you wont soon forget. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    One of the Best and the most flawed games you can find. Lucas Art forced an early release and denied Obsidian the chance to release a game patch later. That means that KotOR 2 is heavily cut, especially towards the ending; and it was intended to be an open ending from the start, much like Empire Strikes Back, to begin with. On the good side TSLRCM fan-made mod managed to restore many of the cut contents, which lead to a bearable ending, especially for a Light Side player. Be advised: it makes the game very buggy on Onderon, but it's still worth it if you play for the story like I do. If you play the "vanilla" version than it deserves it's 7.8 score. KotOR 2: The Sith Lords has a slower pacing than the first game, and a different, darker and more reflective vibe. It's more rich and detailed, one of the deepest stories set in the Star Wars universe. It explores more gray, morally ambiguous areas, questioning the Force itself and its ways, the position of jedis in the galaxy and the effect of a war on them, the consequences of their actions, and their echoes. To say it plainly if that's not what you are looking for, KotOR2 won't do for you. Otherwise it will make for a fulfilling, if somewhat wearing experience, featuring some of the best NPCs ever seen in a RPG game, many of which will echo strongly the feeling you got from some of the NPCs from the masterpiece Planescape: Torment. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    KOTOR 2 is the sequel to one of my favorite games of all time.
    With Knights of the old republic, Bioware raised the the bar considerably for
    the RPG genre as a whole and especially for its sequel, so my expectations were very high for this one.

    When I knew that Obsidian, and not Bioware, was going to make the sequel, I was very skeptical but also excited at the same time. I was actually more eager for this game, at the time it lunched, than the movie Prequels.

    And in ended up beeing the first game from Obsidian to suffer its “Obsidian syndrome”, in other words: an overly ambitious, unpolished and unfinished game plagued with bugs which ends up being strangely good for some reason. The people that played Alpha Protocol will understand what i'm trying to say. (Don't get me wrong, KOTOR 2 is a much better game than Alpha Protocol.)
    What angers me the most, is the fact that, there is so much wasted potential in this game, the story is so elaborate and mysterious, and the atmosphere is so tense, you'll feel like something major is always about to happen.
    The party members in this game are also much more interesting than the ones in Kotor, everyone acts like they have their own secret agenda, even the ones you think you can trust, start doing suspicious things behind your back. And at the same time, you'll be eager to know the fate of everyone from the first game, especially Revan and Bastila.
    I wont spoil the story for you but when everything is said and done, the game ends with an aftertaste of plot holes and dead ends.
    Knights of the old republic 2 has something special and it could have been one of the best sequels in gaming history, but all was lost when LucasArt putted profits first and fans second. So I'll forgive Obsidian for this one.
    In conclusion what could have been an legendary game ended up being just great.
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    The game play is better than the last game, in fact everything seems like a step up above the first game EXCEPT its story. Can be very dark. well worth playing. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    Sigh, what, just what the happened between the development of KoTOR 1 and KoTOR 2? The first one was one of the best games I've ever played. The second, however, is so boring and uninteresting it's repulsive. The game doesn't tell you anything, who you are, where you are, or how to even play. Expand

See all 112 User Reviews