Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic PC

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1591 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkO
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed Candorous' stories of the Mandalorian Wars, for example. They were compact with imagery and none of the dialogue seems superfluous. I seriously don't understand why this game should get anything less than a 9. I have played nearly every Star Wars game to date (and certainly many rpgs) and KOTOR is definitely one that sets the standards high. Don't be fooled by the low reviews. If you're a fan of rpgs, this is a must have. Expand
  2. ChrisM.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one of those you won't be able to put down. Rightly so to. One of the best games ever.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films. This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this: Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films.

    This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this:

    Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though Mass Effect was awesome too just cannot hold a candle to KOTOR)
    Expand
  4. Kajemby
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    I agree with Ome Gee. If you bought this game thinking it was something other than an RPG, maybe you should learn to read. No, really, as the box has RPG all over it, as does the Steam download. Also, Bioware only make RPGs', so expecting anything else was a little silly. So, yeah, as an action game it would score low, but as it is not a third person shooter, these scores are not I agree with Ome Gee. If you bought this game thinking it was something other than an RPG, maybe you should learn to read. No, really, as the box has RPG all over it, as does the Steam download. Also, Bioware only make RPGs', so expecting anything else was a little silly. So, yeah, as an action game it would score low, but as it is not a third person shooter, these scores are not valid. If it was scored low as an RPG however, I respect that peoples tastes are different. Personally I think it is a brilliant game, with a great storyline, and a lot of tactical combat. The only problem that I had with it on the first play through is the level cap, but if you play it through again, then you can plan your character better. Also I understand that the cap was for gameplay balance towards the end of the game. Definately give this game a chance. Expand
  5. LoganG.
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    Great all around, except for many instances of horrible framerate and crashes on a computer with a processor and graphics card much higher than the system requirements.
  6. DionA.
    Mar 19, 2004
    9
    Anyone who gave this game any lower than a 9 has no bran. It's as simple as that.
  7. RutgerdeB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    This game is really insane!! A game for anyone who love to game. A good RPG, great action and afcourse: it's all in the Star Wars world!!! i recommend it to anyone who wants to buy a game at this moment! you won't regret!
  8. BryanN.
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This was the best game i ever played in year 2004 as i 'received' it late...it was aat the end of the year when NFSU2 came out. After playing KOTOR for a couple of hours, i completely forgotten NFSU2 and whenever i switched on the com, it would be KOTOR until i finished the old game. This is one superb game, with excellent and amazing story line.
  9. Majeure
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    A simply fun game, great for RPG and non-RPGers alike. For the most part, was pretty easy (even the final battle wasn't a challenge) and has one of the best stories you can get, with some interesting plot twists. Recommended for [hardcore] fans and non. The only complaint of mine would be that the beginning is a little bit to rushed. Overall, I say everyone should give this game a try.
  10. Aguest
    May 6, 2005
    10
    anybody who gives it LESS than 10 needs to stop being a jackass and open the doors of perception..their crappy opinions aside, this game is the "game of the year" for 2003.
  11. NickS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats the vote he ment. i smell something fishy, i dont like this. this game definatly diserves a better total than 8 point something. this game rocks. Expand
  12. PatG.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Star Wars forever!!!!
  13. Sintax
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    Best rpg since deus ex - period.
  14. FatZilla
    Dec 10, 2003
    9
    Igor - I think you should sit down and get to know the game before you start to THINK you know anything about the game! "There are only 3 classes (and 3 jedi classes which you can't unlock until far far into the game)" You haven't even passed Taris? and still you think you know all about the game! That is just lame... The Uniqe thing about this game is that you DON'T need Igor - I think you should sit down and get to know the game before you start to THINK you know anything about the game! "There are only 3 classes (and 3 jedi classes which you can't unlock until far far into the game)" You haven't even passed Taris? and still you think you know all about the game! That is just lame... The Uniqe thing about this game is that you DON'T need anymore than the 6 classes... you have everything you need, with all the skills you can improve, that makes up for all the "missing" classes you speak of... Of the main characters I have: a droid computer expert, a strong warrior, a warrior healer, a twi tech and 4 different jedi's each with different powers! There is no need to have 20+ classes, and that was plain stupid to even suggest it, and compare to SW Galaxies!!! This is a single player game for christ sake, with a main story!!! Galaxies is a whole world, trying to reflect different lives you can live! Well if you were even smart enough to notice, this doesn't work well in single player games, to be a bountyhunter or a smith.... I don't know about you, but I can never in my wildest dreams see a bounty hunter save the galaxy or become a jedi knight. You have the choice in the game(if you go the dark path) to make money collecting a few bounties as a side quest. The game dosn't use the Neverwinter Nights engine, this one is much more complex. If you notice then you will see light shining back from the twi'leks skin and so on. I can't even believe you would say that it uses the same graphics engine as NwN... when you get close to the grapichs in NwN you wil see how bad it really was, even in the highest resolutions. Besides the NwN engine was never constructed to run the HUGE inviroments in SWKotOR! It was totally crazy to even suggest it is the same engine! "You can only be human. Thought you could be one of those Twi'leks or Wookies? Well too bad, you can't even choose your race (NWN had 8). That's sad, because even in Jedi Academy there are 6 races you could choose from and that's an FPS" You want it to be like Jedi Academy?? Even if you choose another race, it is just another skin.. no different voice, nothing special, not even another name! If you took your time and compleeted more than just the first 5% of the game, you would know that you get to have many different races and caracters on your ship (9 besides the main caracter) and that you can take control over them as you pleese. Your main caracter is the one who speaks to people but you should be fine with that because in JK it is only the action it is about, so action only with a wookie in KotOR should not be your problem. "combat is supposed to have variety, a strategy of executing the right moves at the right time, and so far the only thing I see myself doing is changing to melee weapons when the enemy gets in point blank range of one of my party members" Well thanks for pointing another great thing about KotOR out. If you choose hard difficulty the game can be hard enough... and there will be a time when you have to change strategy... but my team goes like this: 1 melee, 1 middlerange with 2 blasters, and a sniper (long range). some places in the game you have to go alone and that changes everything. I agree in that Taris is the planet that takes most time and can be long sometimes, even though it is still great. But after Taris I couldn't stop myself again, I just had to see what happened next. The game took 50 hours to complete and I don't think I got all sidequests... a game that long and that good is very hard to find today. Well im off... got to play KotOR again to see how the dark side is :D Igor-->nothing personal, I juist think you should know something about a game before you go on and talk about it. Expand
  15. MathijsB.
    Dec 24, 2003
    8
    Its a great game. But Neverwinter Nights is better :)
  16. JeffR.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Hands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to beHands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to be disappointed every time it is not. i went into KOTOR with no real expectations, and was incredibly pleased with what it turned out to be. an incredibly immersive plot in which i truly cared about the main characters, well written and well acted dialogue that was able to make me laugh out loud or raise the hairs on the back of my neck, a fantastic, extremely believable story with some very well placed twists, a world that was expansive and open-ended, and a combat system that rivals the best i've ever played with. igor below pointed out its differences from NWN as faults, but in truth he's really comparing apples with oranges - it was necessary that your character be restricted to the one race because the plot would simply not work if you were a wookie or a twi'lek. you are able to fashion a class for yourself by choosing specific feats and powers, and are not restricted at all to a certain path that you chose at the beginning of the game. the further down the road you go the more advanced and specialized weaponry becomes available, but would it really be conducive to the star wars universe to have hundreds of different kinds of blasters, all with their own name? i feel genuinely bad for igor that he's unable to appreciate this game for what it is, all because he didnt want to be playing KOTOR; he wanted to be playing NWN. i've found that the interface is very inuitive after a few hours of use, and the game is graphically incredible. all in all, KOTOR is an amazing and inspiring game the likes of which are very rare to come by. do yourself a favor and check it out if you have the 60+ hours to spare, as it will not be soon forgotten. Expand
  17. JurijG.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Path you'll choose is being known. Not me to be your guide, your deeds make what you are.
  18. WillV.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    I am not a fan of RPGs. I didn't even finish Neverwinter Nights. But this game is an exception. I love it!
  19. J.-P.R.
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    Best story ever!!! Just try not to shudder when the plot unfolds, and not to pause when confronted to moral issues.
  20. RalphW.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    This has been the best game I have played in ages. I can nevr sit through RPGs because they usually tend to get boring. With this one I defintly had that old familiar feeling of, just another ten minutes. The story grabs you and transports you to another universe. My only main criticsm was the inventory system and that I found the final battle frustratingly hard.
  21. DrewL.
    May 14, 2004
    9
    I think a lot of the negative comments on here are because people want a different game. Some want FPS, others want Tekken, one would rather play Neverwinter Nights. Fine. But this is a Star Wars RPG with a strong storyline. The story (no spoilers) means that the player PC MUST be Human. There are no Dwarves or Elves here. However, you have total control over 9 other potential party I think a lot of the negative comments on here are because people want a different game. Some want FPS, others want Tekken, one would rather play Neverwinter Nights. Fine. But this is a Star Wars RPG with a strong storyline. The story (no spoilers) means that the player PC MUST be Human. There are no Dwarves or Elves here. However, you have total control over 9 other potential party members including Twileks and Wookies. This is a great game with tremendous graphics that sucked me in for five straight days while I completed it. Now I'm starting all over again from the beginning and it is just as fun. The only complaint I have is that later battles are comparatively easier than early ones because the encounters are non-linear and don't seem to "level-up" along with the characters. Expand
  22. WilliamT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played.
  23. MattM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    This game is almost perfect except that the combat gets a little lengthy and as William said that Malak is made up and it ruins the Exar Kun story.
  24. B.Bhatti
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    The only thing that detracts from this game is the constant, absolute CONSTANT running around you have to do. Despite this, the game excels in every area, attracting non-RPG players to a simple interface and control set up. Trust me, the only things you will need to run this game are your mouse and a space-bar (for quick pause). The story and music were excellent (the music won an award The only thing that detracts from this game is the constant, absolute CONSTANT running around you have to do. Despite this, the game excels in every area, attracting non-RPG players to a simple interface and control set up. Trust me, the only things you will need to run this game are your mouse and a space-bar (for quick pause). The story and music were excellent (the music won an award from PC Gamer) and this game also ended up with GOTY from PC Gamer. Character creation is a tad bit shallow, but once you get past that, the great story starts. Oh and the beginning is a bit slow, but dont worry as soon as you get out of the apartments, the fun will start! Expand
  25. John
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    While I do not believe this game deserves full marks, as I was expecting something greater from the makers of "Baldurs Gate", this is undoutably a great game (unless, like me, you're a more 'hardcore' fan of rpgs). This game tries to cover it's linear nature poorly, so it really isn't much more open ended than final fantasy, unless you count the fact that you can While I do not believe this game deserves full marks, as I was expecting something greater from the makers of "Baldurs Gate", this is undoutably a great game (unless, like me, you're a more 'hardcore' fan of rpgs). This game tries to cover it's linear nature poorly, so it really isn't much more open ended than final fantasy, unless you count the fact that you can either be on the darkside or the lightside. Also, on my version, there is a bug which stops you from progressing (on tattoine near the entrance of the sand peoples hq), and while I'm sure there is a patch for this, I have not yet aquired it. I reccomend this for novice rpg-ers, but for more experianced gamers out there who are looking for a more freeform, and generally better rpg, stick with elder scrolls 3 or neverwinter nights, as they have not been tainted by previous release on the xbox. Expand
  26. ArygoV.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Nice story, nice game. Would be better if the game play was not like an rpg type game, I'm still waiting for something like jedi knight : jedi academy, it's more fun.
  27. MetaPhysical
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    The pinnacle of Star Wars gaming, KotOR takes RPG gaming into a seamless world with an amazing plot riddledwith twists and turns, an impressivly playable combat system, and excellent interactivity.
  28. AnonymousMC
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything.All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything. And Mr Justin K stated that all missions require killing someone. OK.... since when is Star Wars about being a Pacifist? Secondly, I know many missions that don't require action. What about the murder case that you can act Arbiter in on the planet Manaan? What about swoop racing or pazaak playing? Justin K.'s review couldn't be further off. This is the Star Wars Game for Star Wars haters, and the RPG game for RPG haters. If you haven't bought this game yet, and you call yourself a gamer, I'm sorry, but you aren't a gamer. This is a true classic. Grand Theft Auto is not a true classic. Expand
  29. GenevieveF
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    This was the first Star Wars game I played, and I was and still are amazed over the game play,the story line and the way you can played it without getting bored. Absolutely a great game.
  30. AnonymousMC
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    this is the game i will tell my kids about and i will hopefully never forget, every feat in this game is intriguing and the characters are classic the graphics are great for its time the problems that i encountered are none i can complain about if only the soldier gunnerey class was better
  31. SeanM
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    The best Star Wars based game ever, hands down. One of the best RPGs of all time. The depth of character and choice-paths expressed in this game are hard to find even today.
  32. JonA
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that could possbly ruin the story for you...believe me, the plot twist is that awesome). The depth of each character and each setting is so deep that you'll constantly want to hear more about them. The gameplay is unique and feels like an MMORPG. It is turn based, but not in the Final Fantasy sense. Anyone expecting a hack n' slash game (like most of the people who gave the game low scores) look elsewhere. But for those who want a deep gaming experience, trust me this is one of the best of all time. Expand
  33. KingslerL.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent and beyond.
  34. FlaccidMember
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    This game is a pretty good mix of Baldur's Gate story and the action of NWN's singleplayer. While it doesn't succeed at having as great a story as the BG games, it is a TON better than the stuff from Ep. 1 and 2 in the movies. Overall Great Game.
  35. LordJ.
    Nov 25, 2003
    8
    Don't listen to Igor. This game is amazing.
  36. [Anonymous]
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This is a great RPG, very good gameplay, much to do, good storyline for the star wars fans, some nice mini-games - In short: The best RPG of this year.
  37. MatthieuR.
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    This just in: Igor is a fool! This game rocks, on any platform. Amazingly deep and immersive, I love this game.
  38. Chimp
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this definitely RPG of the year. But if you even remotely love RPGs, and you have a computer or XBOX, you would be foolish to get the game, as the most it can cost is $20. Expand
  39. BennettM.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    Rob B. is a moron. I give KotOR 50/10.
  40. RobC.
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some aspects to be included or left out of every game. This is the main reason I play both ESIII and KOTOR. If I feel like slaughtering a village, ESIII, if I feel like journeying into Star Wars friendly territory, KOTOR. In my opinion, both are excellent games, despite the miniscule flaws. Expand
  41. MarioB.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Great game!!! two thumbs up!
  42. FrederickS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of gaming in the Star Wars universe.
  43. PenguinRobinson
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i was intent on being absolutely dark side the whole game, as dark side powers cost cheaper that way. So I was as evil as possible.......but somehow on the wookie planet of Kashyyk i just couldnt be mean to the wookies. so for then i momentarilly gained some light side points! you actually feel the moral decisions. now THATS good roleplaying. as someone said below it is a bit easy, including the final battle, and i agree, but i like it that way. its cool being an amazingly powerful jedi (or sith) who can destroy 6 enemy sith by himself. also some people have complained that there is no jumping. this game is techincally a 3d version of the baldurs gate style of playing, and there definitely wasnt jumping in that. however you CAN use force jump where your character jumps up to about 30 feet to the enemy with his lightsaber. its really cool. My only complaint is that once you get to a point where you can choose to go to a certain 4 planets, these individual planets dont have enough on them, especially tatooine. i can accomplish all the tasks on them in around an hour, but the first planet takes about 4-5 hours. This game has great replay too. There is a different ending for light and dark side. I have only played the dark side, but I am going to replay it as light side! The dialogue is very well written too, the characters are really good, and i encountered very few bugs, most of them minor like getting stuck or not being able to open a chest that says it can be opened. this game is cheap, so buy it NOW! Expand
  44. BrentM.
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    An epic storyline, with an interesting and fun playstyle. So much to explore, yet finding an end to it is so rewarding.
  45. Andrew
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Too many people seem to have reviewed this game without even getting into it. Those with a little patience (couple hours tops) can experience one of the best and most accessible (fun) RPG's made in the last 5 years. Everything you ever wanted to do from Star Wars, and it even fits well into the SW universe (for all those who care). A true must-play.
  46. DavidB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    The storyline is very intriguing. Wish we could of seen what happened after the ending squence. ( where did the characters go...) But still an amazing game.
  47. NicholasG.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    The game I love. The gem. The pearl. It has its own power, its own spirit, its own bugs. Take a ride into this world, take a role in it and you will live there. You will live with it after your mission is over. An RPG in its heart.
  48. NickC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A testament to RPG's world wide this game was so amazing in everything that was presented. The action, mystery, decision making, plot twists, and lets not forget amazing force powers
  49. OmeGee
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Giving this game a bad score for being an RPG is silly, giving a game made in 2003 a bad score for not having next gen graphics a bad score is silly. KOTOR is a wonderfully deep RPG based in a living Star Wars universe. The game is wonderful. The only reason it didn't get a perfect score is because I found the controls to be less than intuitive. Otherwise, this is a spectacular game.
  50. Chris
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    If you have played NWN, or any other rpg that had a similar interface and enjoyed it, This game is for you! It takes the classic story and features of starwars and incoroprates it into a great game. After seeing some other reviews from other players, who gave it a low score, is truly pathetic. Complaining about a point n click game. Obviously someone dosent know anything about role If you have played NWN, or any other rpg that had a similar interface and enjoyed it, This game is for you! It takes the classic story and features of starwars and incoroprates it into a great game. After seeing some other reviews from other players, who gave it a low score, is truly pathetic. Complaining about a point n click game. Obviously someone dosent know anything about role playing??? None-the-less I would have ranked this game 10, but the only thing that kept it back was some clutter on the user interface. Expand
  51. MartinF
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best Star Wars game ever made, and on top of that at least one of the top 10 RPGs ever made as well.
  52. PetertheGamer
    Nov 26, 2003
    9
    Loads of fun, but very buggy. On my machine it crashed every 2 hours.
  53. MikeK
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to mention the combat system is very fun if you actually understand it. Naturally, with it involving more than pointing and clicking, that's probably not most of you. ;) Expand
  54. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    Not ported very well for the pc, I've even got an entire save that corrupted itself and forced me to start over. Overall the kotor experience is still intact.
  55. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Brilliant game. It really doesn't get much better than this. Story, graphics, gameplay, voice acting is of highest quality. This is the most replayed game by me, and I come back every year or two to play it, and it's 6 or more years old!
  56. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. Highly recommended. Oh and be prepared to sink about 50-60 hours of your life into this game. Good graphics, good game balance, great story and locations epic finale & climax
  57. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I love this game. The game play is immersive and purely strategic. You have to decide whether or not you want to throw a grenade, whether or not to use the force or conserve your energy, what melee attack you want to use, how to use your mines and along with that, there's an actual story line! This will definitely be a game to beat. It even has it's own special, original combat system!I love this game. The game play is immersive and purely strategic. You have to decide whether or not you want to throw a grenade, whether or not to use the force or conserve your energy, what melee attack you want to use, how to use your mines and along with that, there's an actual story line! This will definitely be a game to beat. It even has it's own special, original combat system! This is also shown to be a true RPG (not one of those fake ones that claim to one) by allowing the player to make choices that align his/her player to the dark side or light side, whether it be to help someone, give away someones position, stand for what's right or wrong, or merely kill someone. I give this ten out of ten. Expand
  58. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    It's certainly the best thing the Star Wars franchised has created since The Empire Strikes Back, and its one of the best RPG's created as well. Fantastic narrative, characters, atmosphere, level design, and gameplay all make KOTOR a groundbreaking game.
  59. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    The best game ever. A great Star Wars RPG with an incredible replay value, especially due to the fact it is open ended. The story is really immersing as you get involved to it. A classic game which had its sequel in KOTOR 2, but still deserves KOTOR 3 and not SWTOR, the MMORPG.
  60. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    I have a bone to pick with a number of Star Wars games. after brilliant titles like Jedi Knight and X-Wing or TIE Fighter, the franchise became monotonous, and very often frustratingly difficult. This is absolutely not the case with KOTOR. The game is challenging, the story captivating, and the level design fantastic. Moreover, it is a great RPG in its own right, regardless whether one isI have a bone to pick with a number of Star Wars games. after brilliant titles like Jedi Knight and X-Wing or TIE Fighter, the franchise became monotonous, and very often frustratingly difficult. This is absolutely not the case with KOTOR. The game is challenging, the story captivating, and the level design fantastic. Moreover, it is a great RPG in its own right, regardless whether one is a fan of the Star Wars franchise or not. By the way, playing this game makes you feel like its a precursor to the Mass Effect series, which I like alot.. Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    There's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions andThere's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions and story. The age of it all hardly makes any difference. Having said that, producing a current-gen game of same amount varied content would require too much resources with all the hi-def visuals developers overuse these days. If you love Star Wars, love RPG, aren't a fan of purely reaction-based (first person) games, this is your cup of tea. Expand
  62. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the definite version of this game. The updated graphics and added features like quests and overall tweaks makes a great game something amazing.
  63. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    I was hesitating to get this game for quite some time even though I was a fan of bioware games. After finally deciding to get it, all I can say that its an awesome game. Love the plot and excellent graphics for its time. It still looks good after all these years.
  64. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The best thing to have ever happened to Star Wars. KOTOR's story is unlike anything else. Any true Star Wars fan or fan of video games in general needs to get over the aged gameplay elements and graphics in order see one of the most genius video game stories in history.
  65. Jul 17, 2016
    9
    A classic, no doubt. So glad I stood the test of keep playing it in-spite of its outdated graphics. One of the best Star Wars stories ever told, It took it's time impressing me, I was thinking maybe it was good for its time or something, but boy was I wrong. One voice actor Catherine Taber also unmistakably voices Padme in Clone Wars. Although the other battles were a singe, the finalA classic, no doubt. So glad I stood the test of keep playing it in-spite of its outdated graphics. One of the best Star Wars stories ever told, It took it's time impressing me, I was thinking maybe it was good for its time or something, but boy was I wrong. One voice actor Catherine Taber also unmistakably voices Padme in Clone Wars. Although the other battles were a singe, the final battle was a true challenge. With great challenging puzzles, awesome mini games, it truly is a game that should not be missed, if you're a fan of Bioware and Star Wars. Expand
  66. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    This is by far the best RPG i have ever played. The only thing it misses is widescreen support. But so does almost all good games so i wont base my score around that.
  67. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Its DnD and Star Wars, come on now. Jedi are a little broken but otherwise the rpg system is great. It's also nice that the game is set in a time period way before anything from the trilogy so it doesn't have to rewrite stuff. The characters are great, the story is amazing, what else do you need?
  68. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    I would have to say this is now in the top five games I have ever played the storyline is amazing and there is so much to do in this game, I wish I would have herd about his one much sooner than last year, don't ask how I went that long without playing this Masterpiece of an RPG, If you like making you own choices and love star wars this is going to be in bed with you every night, sleepingI would have to say this is now in the top five games I have ever played the storyline is amazing and there is so much to do in this game, I wish I would have herd about his one much sooner than last year, don't ask how I went that long without playing this Masterpiece of an RPG, If you like making you own choices and love star wars this is going to be in bed with you every night, sleeping with you I promise lol. Expand
  69. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    The Star Wars Universe expands to one of the greatest RPGs of all time. Rarely do you see an epic storyline mixed with intense gameplay in todays games. It is definitely one people will talk about for years.
  70. X11
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    It's strange. I have been spoiled by "modern" graphics ever since the advent of Xbox 360, yet all my favorite titles seem to have found purchase before that. The Sims, Ocarina of Time, Half-Life, and this game. I find myself amazed that I did not pick it up until late 2011, yet I still find it one of the most engrossing video game experiences of all time. Graphics do not make the game myIt's strange. I have been spoiled by "modern" graphics ever since the advent of Xbox 360, yet all my favorite titles seem to have found purchase before that. The Sims, Ocarina of Time, Half-Life, and this game. I find myself amazed that I did not pick it up until late 2011, yet I still find it one of the most engrossing video game experiences of all time. Graphics do not make the game my friends. Unfortunately this fact has been forgotten in recent times. Disheartening. I hope for more games like this in years to come. Expand
  71. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    This game made me a fan of Star Wars and the Sith. Great game. One of my favorite games of all time. I wish someone make a remake for it on this generation video games.
  72. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    I just played this for the first time recently, and I have to say it's one of the best games I've ever played. It's like a good book that you don't want to put down. After playing through it once I'm already looking forward to playing it again.
  73. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible! There were so many details in every world and I loved the way that you could personalize each character. Atmospheric, captivating and the music was terrific.
  74. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    I am a Star Wars fan. When I was little, I watched the movies CONSTANTLY. This game is a dream come true. Become a jedi, become a sith... what more could you want? Almost no flaws in this game.
  75. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this is the 2nd best RPG ever created right behind Baldur's Gate 2. The combat is very fun even though the flexibility of the class design is limited. The story of this game is Supreme against Buldur's Gate 2, though the overall gameplay isn't. Anyhow this game has GREAT gameplay a Story that is good enough to rival the Original Trilogy, and is the most expansive Star warsIn my opinion, this is the 2nd best RPG ever created right behind Baldur's Gate 2. The combat is very fun even though the flexibility of the class design is limited. The story of this game is Supreme against Buldur's Gate 2, though the overall gameplay isn't. Anyhow this game has GREAT gameplay a Story that is good enough to rival the Original Trilogy, and is the most expansive Star wars universe in any star wars RPG. The graphics were insanely great for its time and is still really good. I've played through this game 11 times now. and Still want to keep playing it. but i know this game is going to be bumped down by SWTOR. Overall no human can dislike this game, nor not worship it's awesomeness! Expand
  76. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    A great role playing game based on the star wars universe. The graphics are very good for its time, the game-play is very good, and the story line is very good. I recommend this game to any one who is into star wars and into the role playing game style.

    It's a great game!
  77. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    KotOR was not without its flaws, but a great classic nonetheless. Systemically, it borrowed from thew Baldur's Gates and other 'pause and plan' combat RPG's... The pause and plan combat is definitely not for everyone, but I enjoyed it. The characters were the stars of the show. I mean, HK47, mirite?
  78. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Hands down my favourite Star Wars game to date. And one can argue it's one of the best RPG's of all time. The great story, the fantastic characters and the beautiful worlds made this into a game that I will never forget.
  79. May 1, 2011
    10
    KOTOR is one of the best RPGs that has ever been made. Though slightly aged at this point, the storyline is one that truly makes the player feel like the fate of the galaxy is in their hands. Companions are interesting, equipment customization was awesome, and the game, overall, is legendary. Pick this up for $10 on steam. It'll be well worth it!
  80. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Probably the best RPG I've ever played. If you're a Star Wars fan, you should definitely play this game. Good graphics, good dialogue, combat is good though It might be too easy after a while and great story. A game at which you won't wonder why it's a GOTY.
  81. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This was the first Bioware game I ever played, and one of the first PC games as well. I was completely blown away, it's an amazing game and turned me into a Bioware fan. The story is fantastic, though of course by today's standards the game play and graphics are dated... but I think that RPG fans won't care, because we're in it for the experience and this game delivers.
  82. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, after all this years it is in my heart and now and then I play it again. The story is amazing and for a game released in 2003 it's graphics still look very nice (try playing baldur's gate or diablo II on a 32'' screen and you ll see what I mean).
  83. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This is the best game of all time, best RPG, incredible story, great characters, perfect gameplay and I could go on like that. Everything is perfect about this game and if you are a SW fan, you can't find anything better. And even if you are not, you will still have a blast.
  84. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    If there was one thing in all of the Star Wars media that got me hooked into this universe, its KOTOR. This game sucked me right in and soon I was living and breathing Star Wars. Filled with a cast of unforgettable characters, great storytelling (with one of the best OMG moments in gaming history), and solid gameplay; KOTOR is still the greatest RPG ever made!
  85. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Firstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played itFirstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played it again for the second time (I first played it after its release in 2003), and finished it yesterday with a total playtime of 45+ hours, and I regret not a single second of gameplay. The story, characters and setting are masterly created, with an epic soundtrack, spectacularly flawless voice-acting (I genuinely feel like I know the characters, in particular Carth Onasi, Mission Vao, Juhani, Jolee Bindo and Bastilla Shan, as people, and almost as companions). Do yourself a favour and get this game. Expand
  86. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    7 years after the release, this game may still be the best single player RPG out there, or at least among the top. The storyline is intense. The characters are unforgettable. Every aspect of the game rocks. The game has a high replay value due to all of the RPG decisions you make, and end the end it may be the best Star Wars game to date.
  87. May 5, 2014
    9
    A very solid RPG that helped to establish BioWare's pre-EA reputation as one of the best developers in the business. Strong characters, multiple varied environments, a variety of gameplay types, and an interesting narrative that comes to a satisfying conclusion. (Unlike the sequel.)
    It's a 2003 release, so the graphics, combat, inventory management, and long travel/exploration times
    A very solid RPG that helped to establish BioWare's pre-EA reputation as one of the best developers in the business. Strong characters, multiple varied environments, a variety of gameplay types, and an interesting narrative that comes to a satisfying conclusion. (Unlike the sequel.)
    It's a 2003 release, so the graphics, combat, inventory management, and long travel/exploration times should be expected. That said, the lightsaber battles are great, and the game just oozes with charm. You can really see where the inspiration for the Mass Effect series came from.
    Expand
  88. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This was the first RPG I ever played and even today compare any RPG I play to this one. Great story with a truly suprising twist, realistic fighting that I wish more RPGs had, and great characters are the staple of this game. The only downside: morality really doesn't affect the ending.
  89. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    i played this game back when it was released and i actually liked this game. the story plot i didnt pay attention to but the gameplay was awesome. i played on the original xbox and the fighting was smooth. on pc i dont know it might suck. but xbox version rocked
  90. May 3, 2012
    10
    The Best Star Wars game ever! The story just great and unforgetable. Maybe the fight is slow when you played the 3.921.034th times over, but put that away this game is great and everyone should play with this at least onece in his/her life.
  91. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It has everything; Good game play, writing, plot, really in depth characters and the one of the most satisfying endings I have come across. An absolute jewel.
  92. May 8, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I ever played, it has everything....action, adventure..romance and a happy ending!! Despite the fact it was quite old when I played it, I replayed and replayed it as the story and character development was just wonderful. If you havent played this, get it and play it, you wont regret it!
  93. May 17, 2011
    10
    Knights of the Old Republic is the best game I've played. The story is simply brilliant, the gameplay is bundles of fun, and the characters are so real... which is amazing considering it's sci-fi!
  94. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This game had one of the best stories I have experienced in a game, I hated the turn based combat and still loved this game because of the story and the cool cast of characters.
  95. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    There are very few games that I would describe as "essentially perfect". This game is one of them. I have never played a better classic RPG, and certainly never a better classic RPG that also had a story to rival the original Star Wars movies. I cannot recommend this game enough. If you like a great story with great characters and deep gameplay, then you must play this game.

    But if you
    There are very few games that I would describe as "essentially perfect". This game is one of them. I have never played a better classic RPG, and certainly never a better classic RPG that also had a story to rival the original Star Wars movies. I cannot recommend this game enough. If you like a great story with great characters and deep gameplay, then you must play this game.

    But if you are one of the children who require fast, furious and shallow gameplay with no reading required of you then I suppose you must skip this title and go back to Call of Battlefield 7.
    Expand
  96. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW willThis is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW will see lot of familiar places. Player cannot choose any race but human this is little bit shame, but no worries shortly you will find lot of companions, so you would enjoy playing as wookiee or android. As it is common for BioWare every companion have his own agenda and history and would by stepping into conversation when he think he have something to say. As the story will proceed you will be getting more informations from their past and from time to time they will ask you to help them. The story is really great and with twists and stuffs that make RPG good RPG. It will lead you to different planets each is completely different world with own culture, flora, fauna and inhabitants. Main quest is pretty long and there is also lot of side quests I spent 40 h on first play through. The game have good repeatability as you can choose if you are going to complete quests with affliction to light or dark side of the Force plus there are also different possibilities how to solve problems based on yours skill as persuading, stealth, repair, computers, demolition each have its own use an there is now skill that would be there just for numbers as it in many games. The fighting system is intuitive. Fights with easier opponents may feel bit dull, but at least they are quick. You are able to use different items as grenades, mines stimulants, different skills for shooting and melee weapons and also force powers as stun, push-back or throwing your lightsaber.
    Graphic is pretty good and in full HD resolution still look really good as this from 2003. I think this is one of the best RPG ever made a have all those things that nowadays sand box RPG lack depth, emotions you really like some characters and you don't do quests just for money, but you really wan't to help somebody or stop that bad guy.
    Expand
  97. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This is a game that shows how and why console games can be excellent games; classics, even.

    The PC port is pretty good, as the story and gameplay loses none of its excellence through the transition. This is one of those rare things: a perfect game.
  98. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Knights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects areKnights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects are nice. Every Star Wars fan and RPG fan should try it. Expand
  99. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    This and the Battlefront series are the greatest Star Wars games ever. Every other SW game is seemingly irrelevant compared to these two. As for KOTOR, the story is set 4000 years before the rise of the Galactic Empire. It has one of the greatest twists I have ever seen. If you say you're a Star Wars fan, but have not played this game, then you're not a true fan. Gameplay is also awesome,This and the Battlefront series are the greatest Star Wars games ever. Every other SW game is seemingly irrelevant compared to these two. As for KOTOR, the story is set 4000 years before the rise of the Galactic Empire. It has one of the greatest twists I have ever seen. If you say you're a Star Wars fan, but have not played this game, then you're not a true fan. Gameplay is also awesome, and you can choose whether to be aligned with the Light Side, or the Dark Side. I'm still waiting for KOTOR 3 as I don't believe The Old Republic (the F2P game) doesn't cut it. Expand
  100. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing more but heres a thing to add, voice acting-7, map design or the background-9
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Game Informer
    95
    The level of control that you have over your characters' actions is truly remarkable... Simply put, this is the best thing to happen to Star Wars since the original trilogy. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. This is a class act that builds and extends the Star Wars game franchise and PC gamers are getting something their kindred XBOX owners loved to bits and will not be disappointed in any way.
  3. It offers some pretty fundamental improvements over the Xbox version and stands as one of the best PC RPGs out there.