Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic PC

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1480 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I finished this video game in my teens and liked it very much. I thought that the plot twist was kinda unexpected and cool, but now that I'm older, I realize that it was dumb as hell. Without spoiling much, you're basically a "force-reprogrammed" Hitler in space whose crimes are easily forgiven and who has almost NEVER shown his face so as to be easily recognizable by everyone, not even by his elites.

    Nevermind the slow and painful gameplay, the immense amount of irrational and forced situations make me give this game a 4. Only young people will be able to appreciate this video game, but adults will feel like their intelligence is being insulted.
    Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    The game that has marked the end of Bioware as we knew it. Cinematic dialogue sequences, dumbed down combat mechanics, the creation of the horribly over used "four quest hub + ending" formula that has been the staple of Bioware's game since then, the concept of "light and dark side" turning into the basis of every Biowarian game (Paragon vs Renegade in ME, Open Palm vs Closed Fist in JadeThe game that has marked the end of Bioware as we knew it. Cinematic dialogue sequences, dumbed down combat mechanics, the creation of the horribly over used "four quest hub + ending" formula that has been the staple of Bioware's game since then, the concept of "light and dark side" turning into the basis of every Biowarian game (Paragon vs Renegade in ME, Open Palm vs Closed Fist in Jade Empire, Diplomatic vs Violent in DA2) a dichotomy that should've stayed with starwars but instead followed the company during the creation of their own franchises.. incredibly annoying NPCs like Carth Onasi whose emo stereotype can be found in all of the games made by Bioware after KOTOR..

    KOTOR turned Bioware from a corp that made great rpg into a corp that made crappy console action games and ports.
    Expand
  3. CainanB.
    May 8, 2007
    2
    So many faults this game has. Let's look at a few: (1) Two of the three playable character classes are useless. The game really wants you to be a fighter, and helps you along this path by making all the other "skills" (like Demolition, Repair) utterly useless. Too bad it doesn't tell you up front at character creation. (2) The offensive Jedi powers have a 25% chance of success, So many faults this game has. Let's look at a few: (1) Two of the three playable character classes are useless. The game really wants you to be a fighter, and helps you along this path by making all the other "skills" (like Demolition, Repair) utterly useless. Too bad it doesn't tell you up front at character creation. (2) The offensive Jedi powers have a 25% chance of success, approx. That is absolutely pathetic. In the time you waste "casting" a spell (ahem, Force Power), you could have done several devastating melee attacks with your lightsabre instead. Tactics? I'm afraid not, this is strictly hack'n'slash. (3) The gameplay is one long clickfest. You use the same attacks in the same sequence on every single foe. Most of the time you just sit back and let the computer play the game itself. (4) Bosses. Completely immune to all Force Powers and status attacks. The final nail in the coffin for me. Just an example of how games haven't progressed from the 1980s. Need a challenging encounter? Make an enemy immune to everything! And that's not all (but enough). If you want a decent Star Wars game, play Jedi Knight - Jedi Outcast, or its sequel Jedi Academy. You'll probably enjoy either of those much more. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    3
    I just dont like the game play the game plays for you and the quests are confusing i had no idea where to go. This game is too overrated i hope the next one will be better
  5. Dec 30, 2014
    3
    The graphics are terrible, the combat is bad, and the story is average. For its time this game was really good. The main problem i have with this game is that it costs $10. Why is this a problem well its because it is outdated and they still charge $10. Also, because there is the Old Republic out why buy this pile of junk. You can buy it for only not 5, not 3, but 0 dollars. The combatThe graphics are terrible, the combat is bad, and the story is average. For its time this game was really good. The main problem i have with this game is that it costs $10. Why is this a problem well its because it is outdated and they still charge $10. Also, because there is the Old Republic out why buy this pile of junk. You can buy it for only not 5, not 3, but 0 dollars. The combat of this game is just very robotic. You move like your lagging. There is nothing special about it. A problem I have with this game is that you do not get a lightsaber for 2-3 hours of the game + why the heck are swords in the game and sometimes even more powerful? The enemies you fight along the way get repetitive. The only thing i find okay is the story. Do not buy this game it has a sale or something. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Feb 12, 2009
    2
    I agree with all of the points Cainan B made. Also, this game is such an unbelievable drag to play. I tried really hard to like it, but the combat is so unbearably slow, simple and repetitive and the main quest is padded to such a ridiculous extent that it makes you feel as if you're going to go crazy if it doesn't finish soon. I can hardly believe this is a bioware game, andI agree with all of the points Cainan B made. Also, this game is such an unbelievable drag to play. I tried really hard to like it, but the combat is so unbearably slow, simple and repetitive and the main quest is padded to such a ridiculous extent that it makes you feel as if you're going to go crazy if it doesn't finish soon. I can hardly believe this is a bioware game, and it's annoying to no end that such a patently bad game is getting such good reviews; this kind of sloppy work should not be encouraged under any circumstances. Expand
  7. NotImportant......
    Nov 13, 2009
    3
    Let me start with the Most obviously here. ITS A DISASTER!! from the back of the cover on my game shop it looked pure awsom and the grapichs looked pretty fine. i was expecting an hack and slash game like Jedi Outcast or Jedi Academy but what did i get instead. AN SHITTY RPG. you gotta be kidding me. so i thought i am going to give the game an chance and see if its actualy good. so i used Let me start with the Most obviously here. ITS A DISASTER!! from the back of the cover on my game shop it looked pure awsom and the grapichs looked pretty fine. i was expecting an hack and slash game like Jedi Outcast or Jedi Academy but what did i get instead. AN SHITTY RPG. you gotta be kidding me. so i thought i am going to give the game an chance and see if its actualy good. so i used a save game and jumped a bit into the game too just see how it actualy was later in the game. The first thing i noticed was that The force powers in the game where way underpowerd and the 25% hit chance was just really annoying. by the time i actualy hit with the force the other Enemys where already dead becasue of my companions going melee. Jedi Academy and jedi outcast also had an Outstanding multiplayer which does still have a large community. So if you want an Really good star wars Game. Buy the Jedi outcast and jedi academy pack becasue youl be playing those much more than this shitty rpg. Btw i dont have anything against RPGs its just that Star Wars doesent Fit for It. Expand
  8. TweakR
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    The first Star Wars game I played was Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast. Thinking that it was such a great game, third person shooter where you can use cool lightsaber moves and force powers, I was looking for another. When Steam had their sale on this game for $2.50, and it had the highest Metascore of the entire Lucas Arts catalog at 93, I bought it. Biggest waste of $2.50 ever! This game is The first Star Wars game I played was Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast. Thinking that it was such a great game, third person shooter where you can use cool lightsaber moves and force powers, I was looking for another. When Steam had their sale on this game for $2.50, and it had the highest Metascore of the entire Lucas Arts catalog at 93, I bought it. Biggest waste of $2.50 ever! This game is absolutely terrible. It's not like old-school 2D games where you run around and click/press a button to attack an enemy, and it's nowhere near as good as Fallout (you can fight in both shooter and click/RPG mode), the gameplay/fighting is absolutely horrid and utterly boring. And the story/conversations just drag on forever. Unless you're some basement-of-mother's, pimple-faced, overweight, Chewbacca-costume wearing, full-size movie prop/cutout buying, Star Wars fanatic... you will hate this game. I had no idea the "critics" were that bad either, or maybe back in 2003, there were just no half-way decent PC games out at the time. I want my $2.50 back and the few hours I put into the game trying to like it. Expand
  9. BrunoP.
    Mar 15, 2004
    0
    This game is just boring. Youre doing the same all the time. I cant believe it gets 92%. The score must be faked...
  10. JustinK.
    Nov 23, 2005
    1
    the game isnt good because all u do is click and then the computer does all the work for you. You don't even start out as a jedi u have do alot of stuff before u can become a jedi. the worst part is is that u can only have 2 people with u.it would be better if u could have 4 or more.and u have 2 kill a person every mission you do.
  11. GloriaS.
    Feb 20, 2004
    1
    I hate it. It is fun for fans, lunatic fans, not normal people. It is boring as RPG. What a deception! I think these high rates are faked... If this not be printed, I will know.
  12. NicolasM
    Oct 18, 2009
    0
    Probably the worst star wars game ive ever played...Combat is extremely boring, the graphics suck, there is absolutely nothing interesting about the gameplay, and there is way too much reading to do...the jedi academy games are better in every way
  13. TweakR
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    The first Star Wars game I played was Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast. Thinking that it was such a great game, third person shooter where you can use cool lightsaber moves and force powers, I was looking for another. When Steam had their sale on this game for $2.50, and it had the highest Metascore of the entire Lucas Arts catalog at 93, I bought it. Biggest waste of $2.50 ever! This game is The first Star Wars game I played was Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast. Thinking that it was such a great game, third person shooter where you can use cool lightsaber moves and force powers, I was looking for another. When Steam had their sale on this game for $2.50, and it had the highest Metascore of the entire Lucas Arts catalog at 93, I bought it. Biggest waste of $2.50 ever! This game is absolutely terrible. It's not like old-school 2D games where you run around and click/press a button to attack an enemy, and it's nowhere near as good as Fallout (you can fight in both shooter and click/RPG mode), the gameplay/fighting is absolutely horrid and utterly boring. And the story/conversations just drag on forever. Unless you're some basement-of-mother's, pimple-faced, overweight, Chewbacca-costume wearing, full-size movie prop/cutout buying, Star Wars fanatic... you will hate this game. I had no idea the "critics" were that bad either, or maybe back in 2003, there were just no half-way decent PC games out at the time. I want my $2.50 back and the few hours I put into the game trying to like it. Expand
  14. LumpemF.
    Feb 20, 2004
    2
    Yes, only 3. After all it is star wars... but it is not a good rpg game, it is not a game at all. Flawless graphics... great story... one GREAT problem though... what's the fun in clicking on a target and have the computer do all the fighting? This is a game for children.. I returned it the very next day, in horrid dissapointment. Despicable.
  15. RobB.
    Jan 13, 2004
    3
    Flawless graphics... great story... one problem though... what's the fun in clicking on a target and have the computer do all the fighting? This is a game for children.. I returned it the very next day, in horrid dissapointment.
  16. WilliamD.
    Feb 20, 2004
    1
    "The game's interface has been completely re-done for the PC." Lies. Where are the windows like in NWN? Did you guys know that the inventory/character screen/journal are all part of the same full-screen window and you have to use tabs to move around. You can't see all of those screens at once in "windowed transparent" mode nooo, that would be too hard to do. It gets better... I "The game's interface has been completely re-done for the PC." Lies. Where are the windows like in NWN? Did you guys know that the inventory/character screen/journal are all part of the same full-screen window and you have to use tabs to move around. You can't see all of those screens at once in "windowed transparent" mode nooo, that would be too hard to do. It gets better... I play at 1600x1200 and the inventory menu only takes up a quarter of the screen instead of stretching. Pure genius. "I've found that, so long as I equip my character's properly, I'm not using the pause functionality all that much." That's not a good thing... combat is supposed to have variety, a strategy of executing the right moves at the right time, and so far the only thing I see myself doing is changing to melee weapons when the enemy gets in point blank range of one of my party members. "While I haven't yet reached Jedi status, the atmosphere of the game manages to capture that 'Star Wars' magic than many other recent LucasArts games." Hmm, now should I buy a "Blaster" or a "Heavy Blaster?" What happened to the custom names that they have for armor or grenades (Cryoban Grenade sounds a lot better then Blaster to me). And of course there is also the fact that Darth Malak is completely made up -- Exar Kun led the Sith Insurrection of 4000 PBY. But why use something that was already beatifully created when they could make something absurd up? "it's that many of the models look similar to one another" Hmm, maybe it's because unlike many 2 year old RPGs or even the most recent Star Wars Galaxies you can't customize your face, AT ALL? You can't change your hair, or your hair color, or your ears, or anything like that. You choose a preset model and that's it. "Still, this may change once I escape from Taris and can travel to other worlds." Don't bet on it. "The new content and the PC-specific interface make Knights of the Old Republic feel like it was designed for the PC all along." Feels like an Xbox game with an Xbox interface to me. Why? Besides the facts already mentioned, you're also locked into "third person chasecam" whereas in Neverwinter Nights there was at least 3 perspectives you could play from, including the "Top down cam" that's missing in this game. To anyone wondering why I am mentioning Neverwinter Nights, it's because a) KOTOR uses the same engine (looks to be modified though), and b) the same company made KOTOR as NWN (BioWare). Of course there's a whole bunch of other things that Allen forgot to mention, but he probably didn't want to (Allen, did LucasArts buy you out?). Sadly, these are noticeable in the first hour of the game: There are only 3 classes (and 3 jedi classes which you can't unlock until far far into the game). As compared to NWN's 11. Sure, it's Star Wars, but Star Wars Galaxies has 20+ professions and at least 6-8 combat professions. You can only be human. Thought you could be one of those Twi'leks or Wookies? Well too bad, you can't even choose your race (NWN had 8). That's sad, because even in Jedi Academy there are 6 races you could choose from and that's an FPS. Maybe devs were too lazy to change some of the dialogue options... Haha! Pazaak? (Allen mispelled it as Pazzak) I wanted Sabacc...! This is a sad ripoff of Blackjack, playing like Blackjack except that you play up to 20 points, 3 rounds, and get a hand of 4 bonus cards that will lower or raise your total points per game. Like I already said, they didn't include Sabacc (and that's stupid too, because there is a free sabacc game out there so they wouldn't need to make up any rules). What about Dejarik (the chess game on Millennium Falcon) for playing with on interplanetary travels? Hahaha! In your dreams, KOTOR doesn't have this either. [Edit] Forgot to mention there is no multiplayer at all. Haha. Nor a construction set/module editor. Nor a 220 page manual (it's only ~75). Expand
  17. jakes
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    impossible to use on a pc. why we couldn't have something that uses the full keyboard pretty much the same as every other pc game, I don't know. Stupid console ported games!
  18. Feb 6, 2011
    2
    I'm a gamer and Star Wars fan... but I hate this game. The graphics are terrible even for 2003. No widescreen for example. The gameplay is boring. The story is boring and long drawn out. I couldn't play it more than 3 hours. I want to like this game, but it just sucks. Now I can't submit my score with Chrome OR IE. These are rigged votes
  19. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    My friend bought this game for my birthday telling me that its literally the best game he's ever played. i gave it three hours of excruciating playtime before i determined that despite my friends opinions, i hate this game. i love BioWare and mass effect series, but this game sucks. also i had two game breaking bugs within an hour of playtime.
  20. Aug 10, 2016
    2
    I installed Knights of the Old Republic to find a game that honored Star Wars. I guess I have to keep looking. The combat system is the worst thing I've ever seen in a long, long time. Characters are lame. It's a shame because the plot is great.

    By far, one of the worst videogames I've played
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Game Informer
    95
    The level of control that you have over your characters' actions is truly remarkable... Simply put, this is the best thing to happen to Star Wars since the original trilogy. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. This is a class act that builds and extends the Star Wars game franchise and PC gamers are getting something their kindred XBOX owners loved to bits and will not be disappointed in any way.
  3. It offers some pretty fundamental improvements over the Xbox version and stands as one of the best PC RPGs out there.