User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1209 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The best thing to have ever happened to Star Wars. KOTOR's story is unlike anything else. Any true Star Wars fan or fan of video games in general needs to get over the aged gameplay elements and graphics in order see one of the most genius video game stories in history.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    I originally completed this when it first came out and remember enjoying it thoroughly, six or seven years down the line and I picked it up on Steam for a bargain £3 to replace my knackered CDROM copy, and decided to give the game a replay. Initial thoughts: the years have not been kind to KOTOR, however perseverance opened up a truly brilliant (Star Wars) game - the datedI originally completed this when it first came out and remember enjoying it thoroughly, six or seven years down the line and I picked it up on Steam for a bargain £3 to replace my knackered CDROM copy, and decided to give the game a replay. Initial thoughts: the years have not been kind to KOTOR, however perseverance opened up a truly brilliant (Star Wars) game - the dated visuals haven't done the game any favours but they don't hinder one's enjoyment of the title either, this kept me hooked for a full 22 hours. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    The first attempts at play through in this game were rough. ( I knew this was an RPG from the get go however. Any one who picked this up back when it was new expecting JK series game play was a moron.) After sitting back and examining how i was allotting points for stats and skills however I managed to create a character that played through to finish the game. I realized a few things.The first attempts at play through in this game were rough. ( I knew this was an RPG from the get go however. Any one who picked this up back when it was new expecting JK series game play was a moron.) After sitting back and examining how i was allotting points for stats and skills however I managed to create a character that played through to finish the game. I realized a few things. Bioware makes challenging games. They really push the boundary of: How much will I let myself get immersed and what mechanics will i explore? There is a wrong way to play and select stats and abilities and this is a good thing. There is still choice. You just have to know what you are doing to create the character you want to play. I like this game more than dragon age origins admittedly because it is a bit more forgiving if you get yourself in a sticky situation. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible! There were so many details in every world and I loved the way that you could personalize each character. Atmospheric, captivating and the music was terrific.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This was the first RPG I ever played and even today compare any RPG I play to this one. Great story with a truly suprising twist, realistic fighting that I wish more RPGs had, and great characters are the staple of this game. The only downside: morality really doesn't affect the ending.
  6. May 15, 2012
    8
    Ok this game doesn't deserve a 10, since its 2012 now and its old a relatively small. But what time doesn't improve (Like graphics, financial support) is simply perfect in this game. This is the ONLY game I've known that actually give you choices that you need to think about. The star wars ultimate Dilemma, Dark Side or Light Side, come in this game stronger then ever- You will faceOk this game doesn't deserve a 10, since its 2012 now and its old a relatively small. But what time doesn't improve (Like graphics, financial support) is simply perfect in this game. This is the ONLY game I've known that actually give you choices that you need to think about. The star wars ultimate Dilemma, Dark Side or Light Side, come in this game stronger then ever- You will face situations when you actually think- "hey, The Jedi code is to tense, Nothing will happen if I just use my force for little personal gain this one time" And you actually feel the burden of being a Jedi. (Why pay 500 credits for parking when you can just "convince" someone you don't need to un-violently?, This is one tiny example). Until today I have never seen choises in games so real and also effect the story line so deeply. Dialogue in this game is very advanced. Most of the times there are actually right and wrong answers and failing them will not come unforigiven. (Ever been put on trial in a RPG? this is one true masterpiece!) Plus it's Brilliant idea to use the Jedi ability to understand foreign language to cut off text acting- Personally I don't mind if the voice is total rubbish to me as long as the actual text is rich and developed. Character building in this game is great- you decide for you and your companions what are they going to be good at (Jedi are divided into three classes- depending on the light sabre skill and their force manipulation skill). There are many options and you are not going to use them all in one go. Plus the inventory allows many more modification for your weapons gadgets and robots. And of course- The storyline, which make this game a MUST for anyone who really loves star wars, even you ignore the effect of your choices on the plot. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    There's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions andThere's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions and story. The age of it all hardly makes any difference. Having said that, producing a current-gen game of same amount varied content would require too much resources with all the hi-def visuals developers overuse these days. If you love Star Wars, love RPG, aren't a fan of purely reaction-based (first person) games, this is your cup of tea. Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    This is by far the best RPG i have ever played. The only thing it misses is widescreen support. But so does almost all good games so i wont base my score around that.
  9. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Its DnD and Star Wars, come on now. Jedi are a little broken but otherwise the rpg system is great. It's also nice that the game is set in a time period way before anything from the trilogy so it doesn't have to rewrite stuff. The characters are great, the story is amazing, what else do you need?
  10. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This game had one of the best stories I have experienced in a game, I hated the turn based combat and still loved this game because of the story and the cool cast of characters.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Knights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects areKnights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects are nice. Every Star Wars fan and RPG fan should try it. Expand
  12. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing more but heres a thing to add, voice acting-7, map design or the background-9
    Expand
  13. May 3, 2012
    10
    The best RPG i have played yet. This game really takes you deep in to the Star wars world and has a amazing story. Dont miss out if you like RPG!
  14. May 6, 2012
    9
    Best game ever made. Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Get it right away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. May 10, 2012
    10
    Only few games have got me as immersed in a story as Knights of the Old Republic did. This game is brilliant in every aspect and deserves a full score.
  16. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is seriously one of my favourite games of all time. Sure it's a bit dated, with a more primitive NPC dialogue system, and the graphics are a little out of date. But this game still holds up. You can mix and match party members for different fighting styles, talk to your NPC companions which are well written and feel like real people. I do have a few gripes about it though, the customization is a bit lacking, you choose from a set of heads, then you choose from 3 different classes, which don't really matter because you're forced to become a Jedi. Blasters are pretty much useless, because you're forced to use a light sabre. I feel if this game got an HD remake, with combat like Dragon Age, along with the character customization, better NPC interactions, and more items to mix and match, it would be a near perfect game. The story in this game is amazing, it has a major plot twist that you wouldn't expect. No matter the flaws of this game, it will always be one of my favourite games of all time. It's a must buy for any Star Wars or RPG fan. Expand
  17. May 16, 2012
    10
    Does no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of aDoes no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of a game on one rating site. I mean, jeesh! If you didnt like the game why waste so much more time and effort on it? Must have a pretty pathetic existance(which is where my sympathy comes in lol). Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a "typical" game with typical values you know from golden age of Bioware / Black Isle. Good story, good for the time graphics, and more. KOTOR not only represents what is well known from Star Wars sage but expands the lore with new stories, new heroes and more. When you check a Star Wars Wiki it is easy to spot how some of the era was firstStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a "typical" game with typical values you know from golden age of Bioware / Black Isle. Good story, good for the time graphics, and more. KOTOR not only represents what is well known from Star Wars sage but expands the lore with new stories, new heroes and more. When you check a Star Wars Wiki it is easy to spot how some of the era was first explored. It is certainly more value than several other games "rehashing the well known stories". Expand
  19. May 26, 2012
    10
    As far as I am concerned this is the greatest PC masterpiece of all time. The plot, voice-acting, game play...everything, is absolutely stunning. I recently completed this for the 12th time and I know I will still go back to it over the summer.
  20. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing thisThis is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing this game. That might be a con to some, but to me that just means you get to enjoy the game for a long time. All of the characters have great and easily identifiable personalities. There are different paths you can choose with your party members, so choose wisely. The game is played as a third-person turn-based RPG. Don't get frightened by turn-based, because it can be both fast and slow. It also helps you out by auto-pausing at different times (such as an enemy sighted). It's really easy to understand and different from other games. In addition to all of that, the graphics are amazing, especially for a game made just eight years ago! I really hope if you are planning to get this game you enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Probably my favourite game, most of the people who have submitted negative reviews are criticising the gameplay, I guess you gotta know what you're getting into, they clearly didn't.

    While it has it's flaws, I just love the game. The gameplay isn't full of action, but it's still one of the best games I've ever played.
  22. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, and with the very cheap price tag now you can't go wrong. To add to it all of the mods (restored content and improved graphics) you can find available makes this a game everyone should play at least once.
  23. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    I may be biased since this is my favorite video game of all time, but this game is truly amazing. The first game that ever made me consider video games as a means of storytelling. A lot of people who complained about this game don't really seem to have an understanding of the game's mechanics. It's fun, I still play it after 9 years of owning it, and the story is probably the best in theI may be biased since this is my favorite video game of all time, but this game is truly amazing. The first game that ever made me consider video games as a means of storytelling. A lot of people who complained about this game don't really seem to have an understanding of the game's mechanics. It's fun, I still play it after 9 years of owning it, and the story is probably the best in the Star Wars Universe. There aren't too many ways this game could have been better for its time. Expand
  24. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This game is a monster. I can still grap it and finish again... spend LOTS of hours on this game.. it's epic! You build your very own Jedi, hang around at pubs and drink beer :D travel around and search for components to build up lightsabers... MANY opportunities.

    If they made a new game like this one these days, Metascritic would go crazy about this game ;D for real. It brings good memories.
  25. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    One of the best Star Wars games ever made, KOTOR introduces an amnesiac protagonist ready to face his destiny. The best part is that we control his path in the story with moral choices with options to choose, in which they will reveal the light or dark path of our character. If the developers created a more complete character creator, this game would be just magnificent.
  26. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    I made an account on here just so I could write this review. I even went through all the reviews and clicked the good ones and bad ones, because people need to know that this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. If you don't like Star Wars or never cared for it, and want a solid RPG, this is your ticket. If you like Star Wars and have been a fan for who knows how long, then nobody hasI made an account on here just so I could write this review. I even went through all the reviews and clicked the good ones and bad ones, because people need to know that this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. If you don't like Star Wars or never cared for it, and want a solid RPG, this is your ticket. If you like Star Wars and have been a fan for who knows how long, then nobody has done anything greater in the gaming industry for you than this. Play this game. It's a masterpiece, it's well written, loads of fun, and not only that, but you can mod the game with mods from Filefront and add tons more replay value to it. You're not just staring at a game my friends; you're staring at an exquisite work of art. Expand
  27. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This is so amazing this will stick with you for a long long time after you finish it. This is a true masterpiece when someone should think of what is a good R.P.G. K.O.T.O.R. should be the first thing to come mind. Great combat mechanics AMAZING STORY unmatched this might be my favorite plot a game has thrown to me so far just stunning and i love game that give you a choice and there isThis is so amazing this will stick with you for a long long time after you finish it. This is a true masterpiece when someone should think of what is a good R.P.G. K.O.T.O.R. should be the first thing to come mind. Great combat mechanics AMAZING STORY unmatched this might be my favorite plot a game has thrown to me so far just stunning and i love game that give you a choice and there is no good ending both endings are good you can play the way you want and get the ending you deserve you don't need to be super careful about that you say because even if you go with the technically bad ending its fantastic also it does what mass effect did wrong with the dialogue when you click on a dialogue option you will say exactly what's written that's what's brings us to the voice acting which is truly the best I've ever heard it makes me want Bastille's babies that much more and there are so many memorable characters who leave a lasting impression and so many wonderful places to go and explore with wonderful level design filled with side quests and brimming with secrets just such a wonderful game this game is a true gem in an industry that's full of terrible reboots and sequels (including this game's sequel) but this is one of those games where if even if the next 100 to come are terrible you still had this one glories game this is currently the pinnacle of gaming and i don't see it being topped any time soon. Expand
  28. May 23, 2013
    10
    Still after so many years this is the best RPG I have ever played. I have finished it several times and every single one it was a great adventure. I wish Disney would allow some companies to make a continuation. This is also one of the best Star Wars game ever. So if You are a SW fun and/or You like really nice RPG You have to play KOTOR. Even now, ten years after the premier graphics areStill after so many years this is the best RPG I have ever played. I have finished it several times and every single one it was a great adventure. I wish Disney would allow some companies to make a continuation. This is also one of the best Star Wars game ever. So if You are a SW fun and/or You like really nice RPG You have to play KOTOR. Even now, ten years after the premier graphics are acceptable and gameplay is not tiring at all. Expand
  29. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games ever made. If you're not a fan of the combat then the amazing storyline will be the ultimate drug which will keep you playing until the end. KOTOR is the only game I've ever played through more than twice.
  30. May 16, 2013
    10
    Where to start? Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic is, and has been since I first finished it, my absolute favorite game. For ten years, this game, despite all of the other awesome and fantastic games I have played, still manages to be number one. Why? Because this game has what any game should, both quality and quantity.

    I remember picking this game up on my Xbox for the first time.
    Where to start? Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic is, and has been since I first finished it, my absolute favorite game. For ten years, this game, despite all of the other awesome and fantastic games I have played, still manages to be number one. Why? Because this game has what any game should, both quality and quantity.

    I remember picking this game up on my Xbox for the first time. I didn’t know what to expect. I have been a Star Wars fan forever, since I saw the first movies. It was praised by critics and reviewers, so I figure I would try it. Little did I know that I would be playing a game that would inspire so many good memories in me.

    I’ll start with the meat of the game—the storyline. This is probably one of the best stories I have ever experienced. It flows quite easily and was very immersive. This game introduced me to the whole “Old Republic” era of Star Wars, and as of now it is actually my favorite. This game introduces you to a story that you will love and really get involved in. It also gives you choice, such as a multitude of dialogue options which can affect the game in the end. I’m always a fan of the option to give as much choice as possible to players. There is also a very surprisingly plot twist at the near-end of the game which really makes the story pop.

    The gameplay is also great. It’s sort of a fast-paced turn-based style of combat. I feel the difficulties are pretty balanced, none too easy and none too hard. The level up system is alright, but can be made better with mods (which I will discuss later on). The different skills and whatnot are very helpful throughout the game, such as Computer Use which allows you to hack into terminals and do a variety of things or Repair where you can repair broken droids to assist you in combat in that area. Combat is just very smooth and I was very happy with how they brought lightsaber battles to light.

    The graphics are, in my opinion, really good for its time. You won’t be seeing HD textures or Skyrim-quality graphics, but really in 2003 there were few games that actually looked as good as KOTOR. But even today, it’s not all that bad looking. Planets are pretty good looking and heads for models are detailed.

    This game really shines on the PC, and the reason why is because you can mod it. The KOTOR Filefront has thousands of mods which you can easily install to improve the game, either gameplay-wise or cosmetic-wise. I love it when a game has modding capabilities, and BioWare was kind enough to make this game easily moddable. I always mod it when I play it and it makes gameplay even better than it is vanilla.

    This game is a standard for all role-playing games. This is what a role-playing game should feel like, fun and never boring. It’s a must have in my opinion if you like stories and Star Wars both. I have so much nostalgia when I replay this game. I hope you all love this game as much as I have.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. The level of control that you have over your characters' actions is truly remarkable... Simply put, this is the best thing to happen to Star Wars since the original trilogy. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. This is a class act that builds and extends the Star Wars game franchise and PC gamers are getting something their kindred XBOX owners loved to bits and will not be disappointed in any way.
  3. It offers some pretty fundamental improvements over the Xbox version and stands as one of the best PC RPGs out there.