User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1241 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkO
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed Candorous' stories of the Mandalorian Wars, for example. They were compact with imagery and none of the dialogue seems superfluous. I seriously don't understand why this game should get anything less than a 9. I have played nearly every Star Wars game to date (and certainly many rpgs) and KOTOR is definitely one that sets the standards high. Don't be fooled by the low reviews. If you're a fan of rpgs, this is a must have. Expand
  2. ChrisM.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one of those you won't be able to put down. Rightly so to. One of the best games ever.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films. This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this: Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films.

    This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this:

    Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though Mass Effect was awesome too just cannot hold a candle to KOTOR)
    Expand
  4. RutgerdeB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    This game is really insane!! A game for anyone who love to game. A good RPG, great action and afcourse: it's all in the Star Wars world!!! i recommend it to anyone who wants to buy a game at this moment! you won't regret!
  5. BryanN.
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This was the best game i ever played in year 2004 as i 'received' it late...it was aat the end of the year when NFSU2 came out. After playing KOTOR for a couple of hours, i completely forgotten NFSU2 and whenever i switched on the com, it would be KOTOR until i finished the old game. This is one superb game, with excellent and amazing story line.
  6. Majeure
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    A simply fun game, great for RPG and non-RPGers alike. For the most part, was pretty easy (even the final battle wasn't a challenge) and has one of the best stories you can get, with some interesting plot twists. Recommended for [hardcore] fans and non. The only complaint of mine would be that the beginning is a little bit to rushed. Overall, I say everyone should give this game a try.
  7. Aguest
    May 6, 2005
    10
    anybody who gives it LESS than 10 needs to stop being a jackass and open the doors of perception..their crappy opinions aside, this game is the "game of the year" for 2003.
  8. NickS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats the vote he ment. i smell something fishy, i dont like this. this game definatly diserves a better total than 8 point something. this game rocks. Expand
  9. PatG.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Star Wars forever!!!!
  10. JeffR.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Hands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to beHands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to be disappointed every time it is not. i went into KOTOR with no real expectations, and was incredibly pleased with what it turned out to be. an incredibly immersive plot in which i truly cared about the main characters, well written and well acted dialogue that was able to make me laugh out loud or raise the hairs on the back of my neck, a fantastic, extremely believable story with some very well placed twists, a world that was expansive and open-ended, and a combat system that rivals the best i've ever played with. igor below pointed out its differences from NWN as faults, but in truth he's really comparing apples with oranges - it was necessary that your character be restricted to the one race because the plot would simply not work if you were a wookie or a twi'lek. you are able to fashion a class for yourself by choosing specific feats and powers, and are not restricted at all to a certain path that you chose at the beginning of the game. the further down the road you go the more advanced and specialized weaponry becomes available, but would it really be conducive to the star wars universe to have hundreds of different kinds of blasters, all with their own name? i feel genuinely bad for igor that he's unable to appreciate this game for what it is, all because he didnt want to be playing KOTOR; he wanted to be playing NWN. i've found that the interface is very inuitive after a few hours of use, and the game is graphically incredible. all in all, KOTOR is an amazing and inspiring game the likes of which are very rare to come by. do yourself a favor and check it out if you have the 60+ hours to spare, as it will not be soon forgotten. Expand
  11. JurijG.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Path you'll choose is being known. Not me to be your guide, your deeds make what you are.
  12. WillV.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    I am not a fan of RPGs. I didn't even finish Neverwinter Nights. But this game is an exception. I love it!
  13. J.-P.R.
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    Best story ever!!! Just try not to shudder when the plot unfolds, and not to pause when confronted to moral issues.
  14. RalphW.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    This has been the best game I have played in ages. I can nevr sit through RPGs because they usually tend to get boring. With this one I defintly had that old familiar feeling of, just another ten minutes. The story grabs you and transports you to another universe. My only main criticsm was the inventory system and that I found the final battle frustratingly hard.
  15. WilliamT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played.
  16. ArygoV.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Nice story, nice game. Would be better if the game play was not like an rpg type game, I'm still waiting for something like jedi knight : jedi academy, it's more fun.
  17. MetaPhysical
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    The pinnacle of Star Wars gaming, KotOR takes RPG gaming into a seamless world with an amazing plot riddledwith twists and turns, an impressivly playable combat system, and excellent interactivity.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything.All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything. And Mr Justin K stated that all missions require killing someone. OK.... since when is Star Wars about being a Pacifist? Secondly, I know many missions that don't require action. What about the murder case that you can act Arbiter in on the planet Manaan? What about swoop racing or pazaak playing? Justin K.'s review couldn't be further off. This is the Star Wars Game for Star Wars haters, and the RPG game for RPG haters. If you haven't bought this game yet, and you call yourself a gamer, I'm sorry, but you aren't a gamer. This is a true classic. Grand Theft Auto is not a true classic. Expand
  19. GenevieveF
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    This was the first Star Wars game I played, and I was and still are amazed over the game play,the story line and the way you can played it without getting bored. Absolutely a great game.
  20. AnonymousMC
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    this is the game i will tell my kids about and i will hopefully never forget, every feat in this game is intriguing and the characters are classic the graphics are great for its time the problems that i encountered are none i can complain about if only the soldier gunnerey class was better
  21. SeanM
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    The best Star Wars based game ever, hands down. One of the best RPGs of all time. The depth of character and choice-paths expressed in this game are hard to find even today.
  22. JonA
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that could possbly ruin the story for you...believe me, the plot twist is that awesome). The depth of each character and each setting is so deep that you'll constantly want to hear more about them. The gameplay is unique and feels like an MMORPG. It is turn based, but not in the Final Fantasy sense. Anyone expecting a hack n' slash game (like most of the people who gave the game low scores) look elsewhere. But for those who want a deep gaming experience, trust me this is one of the best of all time. Expand
  23. KingslerL.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent and beyond.
  24. [Anonymous]
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This is a great RPG, very good gameplay, much to do, good storyline for the star wars fans, some nice mini-games - In short: The best RPG of this year.
  25. MatthieuR.
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    This just in: Igor is a fool! This game rocks, on any platform. Amazingly deep and immersive, I love this game.
  26. Chimp
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this definitely RPG of the year. But if you even remotely love RPGs, and you have a computer or XBOX, you would be foolish to get the game, as the most it can cost is $20. Expand
  27. BennettM.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    Rob B. is a moron. I give KotOR 50/10.
  28. RobC.
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some aspects to be included or left out of every game. This is the main reason I play both ESIII and KOTOR. If I feel like slaughtering a village, ESIII, if I feel like journeying into Star Wars friendly territory, KOTOR. In my opinion, both are excellent games, despite the miniscule flaws. Expand
  29. MarioB.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Great game!!! two thumbs up!
  30. FrederickS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of gaming in the Star Wars universe.
  31. PenguinRobinson
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i was intent on being absolutely dark side the whole game, as dark side powers cost cheaper that way. So I was as evil as possible.......but somehow on the wookie planet of Kashyyk i just couldnt be mean to the wookies. so for then i momentarilly gained some light side points! you actually feel the moral decisions. now THATS good roleplaying. as someone said below it is a bit easy, including the final battle, and i agree, but i like it that way. its cool being an amazingly powerful jedi (or sith) who can destroy 6 enemy sith by himself. also some people have complained that there is no jumping. this game is techincally a 3d version of the baldurs gate style of playing, and there definitely wasnt jumping in that. however you CAN use force jump where your character jumps up to about 30 feet to the enemy with his lightsaber. its really cool. My only complaint is that once you get to a point where you can choose to go to a certain 4 planets, these individual planets dont have enough on them, especially tatooine. i can accomplish all the tasks on them in around an hour, but the first planet takes about 4-5 hours. This game has great replay too. There is a different ending for light and dark side. I have only played the dark side, but I am going to replay it as light side! The dialogue is very well written too, the characters are really good, and i encountered very few bugs, most of them minor like getting stuck or not being able to open a chest that says it can be opened. this game is cheap, so buy it NOW! Expand
  32. BrentM.
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    An epic storyline, with an interesting and fun playstyle. So much to explore, yet finding an end to it is so rewarding.
  33. Andrew
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Too many people seem to have reviewed this game without even getting into it. Those with a little patience (couple hours tops) can experience one of the best and most accessible (fun) RPG's made in the last 5 years. Everything you ever wanted to do from Star Wars, and it even fits well into the SW universe (for all those who care). A true must-play.
  34. NicholasG.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    The game I love. The gem. The pearl. It has its own power, its own spirit, its own bugs. Take a ride into this world, take a role in it and you will live there. You will live with it after your mission is over. An RPG in its heart.
  35. NickC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A testament to RPG's world wide this game was so amazing in everything that was presented. The action, mystery, decision making, plot twists, and lets not forget amazing force powers
  36. MartinF
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best Star Wars game ever made, and on top of that at least one of the top 10 RPGs ever made as well.
  37. MikeK
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to mention the combat system is very fun if you actually understand it. Naturally, with it involving more than pointing and clicking, that's probably not most of you. ;) Expand
  38. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Brilliant game. It really doesn't get much better than this. Story, graphics, gameplay, voice acting is of highest quality. This is the most replayed game by me, and I come back every year or two to play it, and it's 6 or more years old!
  39. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. Highly recommended. Oh and be prepared to sink about 50-60 hours of your life into this game. Good graphics, good game balance, great story and locations epic finale & climax
  40. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I love this game. The game play is immersive and purely strategic. You have to decide whether or not you want to throw a grenade, whether or not to use the force or conserve your energy, what melee attack you want to use, how to use your mines and along with that, there's an actual story line! This will definitely be a game to beat. It even has it's own special, original combat system!I love this game. The game play is immersive and purely strategic. You have to decide whether or not you want to throw a grenade, whether or not to use the force or conserve your energy, what melee attack you want to use, how to use your mines and along with that, there's an actual story line! This will definitely be a game to beat. It even has it's own special, original combat system! This is also shown to be a true RPG (not one of those fake ones that claim to one) by allowing the player to make choices that align his/her player to the dark side or light side, whether it be to help someone, give away someones position, stand for what's right or wrong, or merely kill someone. I give this ten out of ten. Expand
  41. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    It's certainly the best thing the Star Wars franchised has created since The Empire Strikes Back, and its one of the best RPG's created as well. Fantastic narrative, characters, atmosphere, level design, and gameplay all make KOTOR a groundbreaking game.
  42. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    The best game ever. A great Star Wars RPG with an incredible replay value, especially due to the fact it is open ended. The story is really immersing as you get involved to it. A classic game which had its sequel in KOTOR 2, but still deserves KOTOR 3 and not SWTOR, the MMORPG.
  43. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    I have a bone to pick with a number of Star Wars games. after brilliant titles like Jedi Knight and X-Wing or TIE Fighter, the franchise became monotonous, and very often frustratingly difficult. This is absolutely not the case with KOTOR. The game is challenging, the story captivating, and the level design fantastic. Moreover, it is a great RPG in its own right, regardless whether one isI have a bone to pick with a number of Star Wars games. after brilliant titles like Jedi Knight and X-Wing or TIE Fighter, the franchise became monotonous, and very often frustratingly difficult. This is absolutely not the case with KOTOR. The game is challenging, the story captivating, and the level design fantastic. Moreover, it is a great RPG in its own right, regardless whether one is a fan of the Star Wars franchise or not. By the way, playing this game makes you feel like its a precursor to the Mass Effect series, which I like alot.. Expand
  44. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the definite version of this game. The updated graphics and added features like quests and overall tweaks makes a great game something amazing.
  45. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    I was hesitating to get this game for quite some time even though I was a fan of bioware games. After finally deciding to get it, all I can say that its an awesome game. Love the plot and excellent graphics for its time. It still looks good after all these years.
  46. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The best thing to have ever happened to Star Wars. KOTOR's story is unlike anything else. Any true Star Wars fan or fan of video games in general needs to get over the aged gameplay elements and graphics in order see one of the most genius video game stories in history.
  47. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    I would have to say this is now in the top five games I have ever played the storyline is amazing and there is so much to do in this game, I wish I would have herd about his one much sooner than last year, don't ask how I went that long without playing this Masterpiece of an RPG, If you like making you own choices and love star wars this is going to be in bed with you every night, sleepingI would have to say this is now in the top five games I have ever played the storyline is amazing and there is so much to do in this game, I wish I would have herd about his one much sooner than last year, don't ask how I went that long without playing this Masterpiece of an RPG, If you like making you own choices and love star wars this is going to be in bed with you every night, sleeping with you I promise lol. Expand
  48. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    The Star Wars Universe expands to one of the greatest RPGs of all time. Rarely do you see an epic storyline mixed with intense gameplay in todays games. It is definitely one people will talk about for years.
  49. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I don't believe there's any question now as to if this game is a masterpiece. The emotional characters, the brilliant storyline, eye-piping visuals, paired with extremely fun game-play define SWKOR as a classic. Genius through and through.
  50. X11
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    It's strange. I have been spoiled by "modern" graphics ever since the advent of Xbox 360, yet all my favorite titles seem to have found purchase before that. The Sims, Ocarina of Time, Half-Life, and this game. I find myself amazed that I did not pick it up until late 2011, yet I still find it one of the most engrossing video game experiences of all time. Graphics do not make the game myIt's strange. I have been spoiled by "modern" graphics ever since the advent of Xbox 360, yet all my favorite titles seem to have found purchase before that. The Sims, Ocarina of Time, Half-Life, and this game. I find myself amazed that I did not pick it up until late 2011, yet I still find it one of the most engrossing video game experiences of all time. Graphics do not make the game my friends. Unfortunately this fact has been forgotten in recent times. Disheartening. I hope for more games like this in years to come. Expand
  51. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    This game made me a fan of Star Wars and the Sith. Great game. One of my favorite games of all time. I wish someone make a remake for it on this generation video games.
  52. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    I just played this for the first time recently, and I have to say it's one of the best games I've ever played. It's like a good book that you don't want to put down. After playing through it once I'm already looking forward to playing it again.
  53. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible! There were so many details in every world and I loved the way that you could personalize each character. Atmospheric, captivating and the music was terrific.
  54. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    I am a Star Wars fan. When I was little, I watched the movies CONSTANTLY. This game is a dream come true. Become a jedi, become a sith... what more could you want? Almost no flaws in this game.
  55. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this is the 2nd best RPG ever created right behind Baldur's Gate 2. The combat is very fun even though the flexibility of the class design is limited. The story of this game is Supreme against Buldur's Gate 2, though the overall gameplay isn't. Anyhow this game has GREAT gameplay a Story that is good enough to rival the Original Trilogy, and is the most expansive Star warsIn my opinion, this is the 2nd best RPG ever created right behind Baldur's Gate 2. The combat is very fun even though the flexibility of the class design is limited. The story of this game is Supreme against Buldur's Gate 2, though the overall gameplay isn't. Anyhow this game has GREAT gameplay a Story that is good enough to rival the Original Trilogy, and is the most expansive Star wars universe in any star wars RPG. The graphics were insanely great for its time and is still really good. I've played through this game 11 times now. and Still want to keep playing it. but i know this game is going to be bumped down by SWTOR. Overall no human can dislike this game, nor not worship it's awesomeness! Expand
  56. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    A great role playing game based on the star wars universe. The graphics are very good for its time, the game-play is very good, and the story line is very good. I recommend this game to any one who is into star wars and into the role playing game style.

    It's a great game!
  57. May 1, 2011
    10
    KOTOR is one of the best RPGs that has ever been made. Though slightly aged at this point, the storyline is one that truly makes the player feel like the fate of the galaxy is in their hands. Companions are interesting, equipment customization was awesome, and the game, overall, is legendary. Pick this up for $10 on steam. It'll be well worth it!
  58. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Probably the best RPG I've ever played. If you're a Star Wars fan, you should definitely play this game. Good graphics, good dialogue, combat is good though It might be too easy after a while and great story. A game at which you won't wonder why it's a GOTY.
  59. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This was the first Bioware game I ever played, and one of the first PC games as well. I was completely blown away, it's an amazing game and turned me into a Bioware fan. The story is fantastic, though of course by today's standards the game play and graphics are dated... but I think that RPG fans won't care, because we're in it for the experience and this game delivers.
  60. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, after all this years it is in my heart and now and then I play it again. The story is amazing and for a game released in 2003 it's graphics still look very nice (try playing baldur's gate or diablo II on a 32'' screen and you ll see what I mean).
  61. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This is the best game of all time, best RPG, incredible story, great characters, perfect gameplay and I could go on like that. Everything is perfect about this game and if you are a SW fan, you can't find anything better. And even if you are not, you will still have a blast.
  62. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    If there was one thing in all of the Star Wars media that got me hooked into this universe, its KOTOR. This game sucked me right in and soon I was living and breathing Star Wars. Filled with a cast of unforgettable characters, great storytelling (with one of the best OMG moments in gaming history), and solid gameplay; KOTOR is still the greatest RPG ever made!
  63. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Firstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played itFirstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played it again for the second time (I first played it after its release in 2003), and finished it yesterday with a total playtime of 45+ hours, and I regret not a single second of gameplay. The story, characters and setting are masterly created, with an epic soundtrack, spectacularly flawless voice-acting (I genuinely feel like I know the characters, in particular Carth Onasi, Mission Vao, Juhani, Jolee Bindo and Bastilla Shan, as people, and almost as companions). Do yourself a favour and get this game. Expand
  64. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    7 years after the release, this game may still be the best single player RPG out there, or at least among the top. The storyline is intense. The characters are unforgettable. Every aspect of the game rocks. The game has a high replay value due to all of the RPG decisions you make, and end the end it may be the best Star Wars game to date.
  65. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    i played this game back when it was released and i actually liked this game. the story plot i didnt pay attention to but the gameplay was awesome. i played on the original xbox and the fighting was smooth. on pc i dont know it might suck. but xbox version rocked
  66. May 3, 2012
    10
    The Best Star Wars game ever! The story just great and unforgetable. Maybe the fight is slow when you played the 3.921.034th times over, but put that away this game is great and everyone should play with this at least onece in his/her life.
  67. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It has everything; Good game play, writing, plot, really in depth characters and the one of the most satisfying endings I have come across. An absolute jewel.
  68. May 17, 2011
    10
    Knights of the Old Republic is the best game I've played. The story is simply brilliant, the gameplay is bundles of fun, and the characters are so real... which is amazing considering it's sci-fi!
  69. May 27, 2011
    10
    BioWares masterpiece. Fantastic RPG. Supreme story, characters , combat ...everything is done soooo good, that i can only rate this game with 10. Oh, and its Star Wars :)
  70. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    There are very few games that I would describe as "essentially perfect". This game is one of them. I have never played a better classic RPG, and certainly never a better classic RPG that also had a story to rival the original Star Wars movies. I cannot recommend this game enough. If you like a great story with great characters and deep gameplay, then you must play this game.

    But if you
    There are very few games that I would describe as "essentially perfect". This game is one of them. I have never played a better classic RPG, and certainly never a better classic RPG that also had a story to rival the original Star Wars movies. I cannot recommend this game enough. If you like a great story with great characters and deep gameplay, then you must play this game.

    But if you are one of the children who require fast, furious and shallow gameplay with no reading required of you then I suppose you must skip this title and go back to Call of Battlefield 7.
    Expand
  71. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW willThis is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW will see lot of familiar places. Player cannot choose any race but human this is little bit shame, but no worries shortly you will find lot of companions, so you would enjoy playing as wookiee or android. As it is common for BioWare every companion have his own agenda and history and would by stepping into conversation when he think he have something to say. As the story will proceed you will be getting more informations from their past and from time to time they will ask you to help them. The story is really great and with twists and stuffs that make RPG good RPG. It will lead you to different planets each is completely different world with own culture, flora, fauna and inhabitants. Main quest is pretty long and there is also lot of side quests I spent 40 h on first play through. The game have good repeatability as you can choose if you are going to complete quests with affliction to light or dark side of the Force plus there are also different possibilities how to solve problems based on yours skill as persuading, stealth, repair, computers, demolition each have its own use an there is now skill that would be there just for numbers as it in many games. The fighting system is intuitive. Fights with easier opponents may feel bit dull, but at least they are quick. You are able to use different items as grenades, mines stimulants, different skills for shooting and melee weapons and also force powers as stun, push-back or throwing your lightsaber.
    Graphic is pretty good and in full HD resolution still look really good as this from 2003. I think this is one of the best RPG ever made a have all those things that nowadays sand box RPG lack depth, emotions you really like some characters and you don't do quests just for money, but you really wan't to help somebody or stop that bad guy.
    Expand
  72. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This is a game that shows how and why console games can be excellent games; classics, even.

    The PC port is pretty good, as the story and gameplay loses none of its excellence through the transition. This is one of those rare things: a perfect game.
  73. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    The very first RPG I ever played. And goddamn, couldn't have started off on a better foot. This is sorta like deciding to watch your very first superhero movie and picking The Dark Knight. Everything that comes after just seems like a letdown. That's kinda how I feel about KOTOR. And you've gotta know this about me, I **** hate Star Wars. Never been fond of it. But this game... this storyThe very first RPG I ever played. And goddamn, couldn't have started off on a better foot. This is sorta like deciding to watch your very first superhero movie and picking The Dark Knight. Everything that comes after just seems like a letdown. That's kinda how I feel about KOTOR. And you've gotta know this about me, I **** hate Star Wars. Never been fond of it. But this game... this story just sucked me in and never let go. I absolutely had to keep playing to find out what was going to happen to these characters I'd become attached to. To do this to me, someone who had never played RPGs, didn't like em, and had no interest in Star Wars either, well... that's just about the highest compliment I think I can give. Too bad its sequel couldn't match the great story of the first one. But alas, lightning in a bottle only happens every once in a while. Expand
  74. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    I just lol at the people who give it a negative rating. They must be hardcore star wars nerd with unbelievable high standards... I can already see one....This game really does deserve its rating.
  75. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I actually played KOTOR 2 before I ever heard of KOTOR; Subsequent to completing KOTOR 2 I scoured every Wal-mart and Futureshop in hopes of finding the first game of the series. I was pleasantly rewarded while I was one day rummaging through a platinum hits bin, and at that point in time I had no idea what I was in for. KOTOR is my number two Star Wars gaming experience (just falls shortI actually played KOTOR 2 before I ever heard of KOTOR; Subsequent to completing KOTOR 2 I scoured every Wal-mart and Futureshop in hopes of finding the first game of the series. I was pleasantly rewarded while I was one day rummaging through a platinum hits bin, and at that point in time I had no idea what I was in for. KOTOR is my number two Star Wars gaming experience (just falls short of SWG in its prime) and perhaps the best RPG I've ever played. The story is perfectly immersible, I really found myself believing I was some heroic amnesiac turned galactic saviour, and I also found the companions to be compelling and well written characters. The plot kept me hooked and the twist left my jaw dropped to the floor. KOTOR has aged well for a game released in 2003 and I'd recommend any Star Wars fan or gamer play it at least once. Expand
  76. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    Best Star Wars game, that made finally a honor to the Lucas trilogy and to RPG genre together. The story greatly describe a situation when sith and jedi made the history of Republic and themselves. Bringing the best of pc gods Bioware, story, characters acting and completely done traditional rpg motto: choose your way. and this time also, choose your path, the force will be with you.
  77. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Great game! The storyline, the diverse locations that can be explored, and the general gameplay make this game stand out above almost all others. It I had to make a list of my top ten favorite games of all time, this would definitely make the list. It's a must play for any RPG fans, and really for any fans of video games at all.
  78. May 23, 2012
    10
    Ok, I played this game back in 2004 or something and me and my brother played it over and over and over, and it was fun, but I didnt really get what the stats or anything meant so I was pretty **** at the game. I just played it and now I love it even more because I actually stand a chance at beating it! (I never beat it before). Truly a must play if you love Bioware and Star Wars
  79. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    I remember when I 1st heard about this game I had taken a long hiatus from Star Wars for years I got an Xbox specially because I wanted this game after I saw it won game of the year on spikeTV. I couldn't put this game down for a months I did everything and than did it over again. Game of the Year yes I would even consider it the game of the Decade along with CoD4.
  80. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Even on today's standards this game is excellent! Graphics are not really at todays level, but what can you expect from game which was released in 2003. Gameplay and storyline are something for other games to look up to. If you haven't been introduced to KOTOR, do it now! It's on sale in many places under 10 bucks.
  81. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Okay, anyone who doesn't like this became assuming its boring is a noob at this game. For you people who thought it was boring and is a noob, learn how to experience this game. I had a hard time getting use to the experience of the game when I first played, but its the greatest Star Wars game EVER!
  82. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    This game has the best story of any game I, being quite an active gamer, have ever played. This is a masterpiece, and anytime anyone mentions the best game ever, this immediately comes to mind. Sure, it may have a few glitches and bugs, but these are more than compensated for.
  83. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Ladies nad gentlemen, that's BIoWare at it's best. Probably the best Star Wars cRPG. It has awesome climate and plot with great mystery. By the way, it's set nearly 4000 years before the movies, so every charater is made from basics. I can also say that some of them are as charismatic and interesting as the ones from films. The soundtrack has Star Wars quality- what else do I need to say?Ladies nad gentlemen, that's BIoWare at it's best. Probably the best Star Wars cRPG. It has awesome climate and plot with great mystery. By the way, it's set nearly 4000 years before the movies, so every charater is made from basics. I can also say that some of them are as charismatic and interesting as the ones from films. The soundtrack has Star Wars quality- what else do I need to say? It's game from 2003, so visually it doesn't make any impression. Still, it has amazing animations of sword fights. Oh, there is one disadvantage: it's too linear. There isn't even any imitation of open world or a bit of non-linearity here. Still, if you're Star Wars fan or you like cRPGs- you cannot miss it. Expand
  84. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    The second best star wars game to his day, the first one is IMO was the sequel to this, but that's another matter, fun tactical combat, AMAZINGLY well done story, phenomenal voice acting (Jennifer Hale) the dialogue tree, being able to become a total dark side bad-ass! overall one of the best Rpgs you can get your hands on don't even think twice about buying it if you even slightly likeThe second best star wars game to his day, the first one is IMO was the sequel to this, but that's another matter, fun tactical combat, AMAZINGLY well done story, phenomenal voice acting (Jennifer Hale) the dialogue tree, being able to become a total dark side bad-ass! overall one of the best Rpgs you can get your hands on don't even think twice about buying it if you even slightly like Star Wars or role playing games... Expand
  85. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Probably the best star wars game i've ever played, the story is way better than the movies. Forget about reviewers who rants about this masterpice.
  86. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one of those you won't be able to put down. Rightly so to. One of the best games ever.
  87. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    To start with, the game does have it's flaws, it does however take a very petty person to majorly mark down such an incredible work for a few minor blemishes that honestly exist at face value.

    First of all, the story is incredible. I don't think anyone will deny this. As an RPG, this is what you should be looking for in the game primarily. Completing the game for the first time while
    To start with, the game does have it's flaws, it does however take a very petty person to majorly mark down such an incredible work for a few minor blemishes that honestly exist at face value.

    First of all, the story is incredible. I don't think anyone will deny this. As an RPG, this is what you should be looking for in the game primarily. Completing the game for the first time while doing most of the side missions took me about 35 hours. This game is the only one I have ever played whose story has had me up until unheard of times in the morning to discover what happens next. You should also be looking for a good progression system, and this game certainly does have that, making you feel majorly rewarded for levelling up as it grants you specific but significant bonuses.

    The progression is also where the games first vice lies however. As once you have a handful of force powers the game has a significant drop in difficulty if you are a meta gamer, which you probably are if you're on meta critic and/or interested in a 9 year old game. The difficulty can be reduced by a meta gamer to the point that you will probably find the final boss and mission easier than the opening tutorial of the game. I do not know whether this was intentionally done by Bioware or not to further the sense of progression and your character's developing power, but it is certainly broken as the final boss was unthinkably easy, with minor minions earlier in the game giving me a harder time. Personally, I actually like this as it does give you a sense of progression much greater than most games, when you go from desperately chewing through medkits to kill a couple of thugs to easily tossing groups of high ranking enemies (rancor) aside with 2 or 3 force powers you feel like all you've done has meant something for you personally as the player, on top of the compelling plot which has many choices and a lot of well acted, branching dialogue.

    The game is paced perfectly too, you always feel like you're doing something (and for a good reason, this game features no quests that feel like arbitrary "Kill X enemy" missions, all of them are unique and compelling) and something new and interesting happens regularly so long as you don't dawdle, giving you a constant stream of interesting dialogue and missions that can last you around 35 hours.

    The final thing I would like to mention is the astonishing attention to detail and clear hard work that was put into the creation of this game, unlike most blatant shameless cash ins that we are so accustomed to now. For instance, there is a cantina called "The Drunk Side" the name of which you would only discover by stopping and clicking on the sign, which most players probably wouldn't. I found that rather amusing, and it obviously is completely unnecessary, but Bioware did it for that extra polish and layer of good will. They also present you with a vast array of 'Idiot Buttons', that is, opportunities to press/say things that will cause you to be insta-killed often in ways that may amuse the player just due to how idiotic the events were. It is not only brilliant that Bioware allows the player to do silly things like those,
    but that they allow you to fail is the real stinger here.

    Anyway, that is the end of my ridiculously large wall of text. I would like to point out that everyone that gave this game a score below 5 is clearly trolling and/or stupid, as this is a masterpiece of a game the likes of which I doubt we will bare witness to again for some time.
    Expand
  88. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I was a big fan of Bioware rpgs, but this one slipped under the radar and I missed it. Just bought it very recently.

    At first I was slightly underwhelmed. Graphics, while not bad, are clearly from a previous generation of machines. I found combat somewhat uninteresting. But I said I would keep on going, because I could see that there was something there. And I am so glad I did.
    I was a big fan of Bioware rpgs, but this one slipped under the radar and I missed it. Just bought it very recently.

    At first I was slightly underwhelmed. Graphics, while not bad, are clearly from a previous generation of machines. I found combat somewhat uninteresting. But I said I would keep on going, because I could see that there was something there.

    And I am so glad I did. Combat I got used to, and it becomes far more enjoyable after you advance the plot a bit. Characters were great. The game became really, really fun. But the story...wow...it blew me away. It could be a movie. I cannot think of another rpg that compares.

    I don't know how I missed this, but I am so glad I managed to put that right.
    Expand
  89. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This is the game that got me in to playing bioware games, and rpg's in general. It has one of the greatest stories ever in a video game, and also one of the greates star wars stories. The game also has a nice little progression system and good turn based combat, though it may be a little to easy at times. It's a game with a lot of replay value, and it's nice to see the consequences of yourThis is the game that got me in to playing bioware games, and rpg's in general. It has one of the greatest stories ever in a video game, and also one of the greates star wars stories. The game also has a nice little progression system and good turn based combat, though it may be a little to easy at times. It's a game with a lot of replay value, and it's nice to see the consequences of your choices. Expand
  90. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    simply the best star wars game i've ever played. This is my kind of story based RPG. It does have some annoying qualities but the good far out ways the bad in this situation. If your only into hack and slash and shoot em' up games this is not for you. If you love story based/character driven RPG's this game is for you. If you love the star wars universe this game is for you. all i want nowsimply the best star wars game i've ever played. This is my kind of story based RPG. It does have some annoying qualities but the good far out ways the bad in this situation. If your only into hack and slash and shoot em' up games this is not for you. If you love story based/character driven RPG's this game is for you. If you love the star wars universe this game is for you. all i want now is KOTOR 3 Expand
  91. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    Just this: a lot of the current games out there still can't compete with KOTOR in terms of narrative and story-telling. Definitly a must-have for the RPG lovers.
  92. May 3, 2012
    10
    The best RPG i have played yet. This game really takes you deep in to the Star wars world and has a amazing story. Dont miss out if you like RPG!
  93. May 10, 2012
    10
    Only few games have got me as immersed in a story as Knights of the Old Republic did. This game is brilliant in every aspect and deserves a full score.
  94. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is seriously one of my favourite games of all time. Sure it's a bit dated, with a more primitive NPC dialogue system, and the graphics are a little out of date. But this game still holds up. You can mix and match party members for different fighting styles, talk to your NPC companions which are well written and feel like real people. I do have a few gripes about it though, the customization is a bit lacking, you choose from a set of heads, then you choose from 3 different classes, which don't really matter because you're forced to become a Jedi. Blasters are pretty much useless, because you're forced to use a light sabre. I feel if this game got an HD remake, with combat like Dragon Age, along with the character customization, better NPC interactions, and more items to mix and match, it would be a near perfect game. The story in this game is amazing, it has a major plot twist that you wouldn't expect. No matter the flaws of this game, it will always be one of my favourite games of all time. It's a must buy for any Star Wars or RPG fan. Expand
  95. May 16, 2012
    10
    Does no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of aDoes no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of a game on one rating site. I mean, jeesh! If you didnt like the game why waste so much more time and effort on it? Must have a pretty pathetic existance(which is where my sympathy comes in lol). Expand
  96. May 26, 2012
    10
    As far as I am concerned this is the greatest PC masterpiece of all time. The plot, voice-acting, game play...everything, is absolutely stunning. I recently completed this for the 12th time and I know I will still go back to it over the summer.
  97. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing thisThis is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing this game. That might be a con to some, but to me that just means you get to enjoy the game for a long time. All of the characters have great and easily identifiable personalities. There are different paths you can choose with your party members, so choose wisely. The game is played as a third-person turn-based RPG. Don't get frightened by turn-based, because it can be both fast and slow. It also helps you out by auto-pausing at different times (such as an enemy sighted). It's really easy to understand and different from other games. In addition to all of that, the graphics are amazing, especially for a game made just eight years ago! I really hope if you are planning to get this game you enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
  98. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Probably my favourite game, most of the people who have submitted negative reviews are criticising the gameplay, I guess you gotta know what you're getting into, they clearly didn't.

    While it has it's flaws, I just love the game. The gameplay isn't full of action, but it's still one of the best games I've ever played.
  99. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    ok so thei might be alot wrong with this game but for me their is alot more right, I ve played this through several times and the fact ive still never gotten sick of it is enough for me!!!!
  100. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, and with the very cheap price tag now you can't go wrong. To add to it all of the mods (restored content and improved graphics) you can find available makes this a game everyone should play at least once.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. The level of control that you have over your characters' actions is truly remarkable... Simply put, this is the best thing to happen to Star Wars since the original trilogy. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. This is a class act that builds and extends the Star Wars game franchise and PC gamers are getting something their kindred XBOX owners loved to bits and will not be disappointed in any way.
  3. It offers some pretty fundamental improvements over the Xbox version and stands as one of the best PC RPGs out there.