User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1259 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisM.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one of those you won't be able to put down. Rightly so to. One of the best games ever.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The best thing to have ever happened to Star Wars. KOTOR's story is unlike anything else. Any true Star Wars fan or fan of video games in general needs to get over the aged gameplay elements and graphics in order see one of the most genius video game stories in history.
  3. MarkO
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed KOTOR is truly a great rpg. The game immerses the player in the Star Wars universe, and It has some of the best voice acting and stories that I have heard in an RPG to date (and this is 2010). There's actually a focused and captivating story unlike most rpgs in the market today. I didn't really find any problems with the interface or gameplay (for its time). I really enjoyed Candorous' stories of the Mandalorian Wars, for example. They were compact with imagery and none of the dialogue seems superfluous. I seriously don't understand why this game should get anything less than a 9. I have played nearly every Star Wars game to date (and certainly many rpgs) and KOTOR is definitely one that sets the standards high. Don't be fooled by the low reviews. If you're a fan of rpgs, this is a must have. Expand
  4. BryanN.
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This was the best game i ever played in year 2004 as i 'received' it late...it was aat the end of the year when NFSU2 came out. After playing KOTOR for a couple of hours, i completely forgotten NFSU2 and whenever i switched on the com, it would be KOTOR until i finished the old game. This is one superb game, with excellent and amazing story line.
  5. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    I originally completed this when it first came out and remember enjoying it thoroughly, six or seven years down the line and I picked it up on Steam for a bargain £3 to replace my knackered CDROM copy, and decided to give the game a replay. Initial thoughts: the years have not been kind to KOTOR, however perseverance opened up a truly brilliant (Star Wars) game - the datedI originally completed this when it first came out and remember enjoying it thoroughly, six or seven years down the line and I picked it up on Steam for a bargain £3 to replace my knackered CDROM copy, and decided to give the game a replay. Initial thoughts: the years have not been kind to KOTOR, however perseverance opened up a truly brilliant (Star Wars) game - the dated visuals haven't done the game any favours but they don't hinder one's enjoyment of the title either, this kept me hooked for a full 22 hours. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    The first attempts at play through in this game were rough. ( I knew this was an RPG from the get go however. Any one who picked this up back when it was new expecting JK series game play was a moron.) After sitting back and examining how i was allotting points for stats and skills however I managed to create a character that played through to finish the game. I realized a few things.The first attempts at play through in this game were rough. ( I knew this was an RPG from the get go however. Any one who picked this up back when it was new expecting JK series game play was a moron.) After sitting back and examining how i was allotting points for stats and skills however I managed to create a character that played through to finish the game. I realized a few things. Bioware makes challenging games. They really push the boundary of: How much will I let myself get immersed and what mechanics will i explore? There is a wrong way to play and select stats and abilities and this is a good thing. There is still choice. You just have to know what you are doing to create the character you want to play. I like this game more than dragon age origins admittedly because it is a bit more forgiving if you get yourself in a sticky situation. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything.All I would like to say is that this game ROCKS!!!!! Justin K has no idea what he is talking about and must be about 4 years old. This is an instant classic, with an INCREDIBLE storyline (amazing plot twist about 2/3 through thje game). In fact, its nice that you don't start off as a Jedi, because than everything would be so easy! Plus it would make the storyline worse, if anything. And Mr Justin K stated that all missions require killing someone. OK.... since when is Star Wars about being a Pacifist? Secondly, I know many missions that don't require action. What about the murder case that you can act Arbiter in on the planet Manaan? What about swoop racing or pazaak playing? Justin K.'s review couldn't be further off. This is the Star Wars Game for Star Wars haters, and the RPG game for RPG haters. If you haven't bought this game yet, and you call yourself a gamer, I'm sorry, but you aren't a gamer. This is a true classic. Grand Theft Auto is not a true classic. Expand
  8. RobC.
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some KOTOR is one of the best-designed games I have played in a long time. I have recently been playing both Morrowind and KOTOR and between the two, I have been very busy. KOTOR was, at first, frustrating with the combat system. Once I turned off the auto-pause feature, it quickly turned my interest into high gear. No one company will ever make the "perfect" RPG. There will always be some aspects to be included or left out of every game. This is the main reason I play both ESIII and KOTOR. If I feel like slaughtering a village, ESIII, if I feel like journeying into Star Wars friendly territory, KOTOR. In my opinion, both are excellent games, despite the miniscule flaws. Expand
  9. Majeure
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    A simply fun game, great for RPG and non-RPGers alike. For the most part, was pretty easy (even the final battle wasn't a challenge) and has one of the best stories you can get, with some interesting plot twists. Recommended for [hardcore] fans and non. The only complaint of mine would be that the beginning is a little bit to rushed. Overall, I say everyone should give this game a try.
  10. MartinF
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best Star Wars game ever made, and on top of that at least one of the top 10 RPGs ever made as well.
  11. SeanM
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    The best Star Wars based game ever, hands down. One of the best RPGs of all time. The depth of character and choice-paths expressed in this game are hard to find even today.
  12. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible! There were so many details in every world and I loved the way that you could personalize each character. Atmospheric, captivating and the music was terrific.
  13. Andrew
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Too many people seem to have reviewed this game without even getting into it. Those with a little patience (couple hours tops) can experience one of the best and most accessible (fun) RPG's made in the last 5 years. Everything you ever wanted to do from Star Wars, and it even fits well into the SW universe (for all those who care). A true must-play.
  14. ArygoV.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Nice story, nice game. Would be better if the game play was not like an rpg type game, I'm still waiting for something like jedi knight : jedi academy, it's more fun.
  15. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This was the first RPG I ever played and even today compare any RPG I play to this one. Great story with a truly suprising twist, realistic fighting that I wish more RPGs had, and great characters are the staple of this game. The only downside: morality really doesn't affect the ending.
  16. May 15, 2012
    8
    Ok this game doesn't deserve a 10, since its 2012 now and its old a relatively small. But what time doesn't improve (Like graphics, financial support) is simply perfect in this game. This is the ONLY game I've known that actually give you choices that you need to think about. The star wars ultimate Dilemma, Dark Side or Light Side, come in this game stronger then ever- You will faceOk this game doesn't deserve a 10, since its 2012 now and its old a relatively small. But what time doesn't improve (Like graphics, financial support) is simply perfect in this game. This is the ONLY game I've known that actually give you choices that you need to think about. The star wars ultimate Dilemma, Dark Side or Light Side, come in this game stronger then ever- You will face situations when you actually think- "hey, The Jedi code is to tense, Nothing will happen if I just use my force for little personal gain this one time" And you actually feel the burden of being a Jedi. (Why pay 500 credits for parking when you can just "convince" someone you don't need to un-violently?, This is one tiny example). Until today I have never seen choises in games so real and also effect the story line so deeply. Dialogue in this game is very advanced. Most of the times there are actually right and wrong answers and failing them will not come unforigiven. (Ever been put on trial in a RPG? this is one true masterpiece!) Plus it's Brilliant idea to use the Jedi ability to understand foreign language to cut off text acting- Personally I don't mind if the voice is total rubbish to me as long as the actual text is rich and developed. Character building in this game is great- you decide for you and your companions what are they going to be good at (Jedi are divided into three classes- depending on the light sabre skill and their force manipulation skill). There are many options and you are not going to use them all in one go. Plus the inventory allows many more modification for your weapons gadgets and robots. And of course- The storyline, which make this game a MUST for anyone who really loves star wars, even you ignore the effect of your choices on the plot. Expand
  17. KingslerL.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent and beyond.
  18. PatG.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Star Wars forever!!!!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This is a great RPG, very good gameplay, much to do, good storyline for the star wars fans, some nice mini-games - In short: The best RPG of this year.
  20. LoganG.
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    Great all around, except for many instances of horrible framerate and crashes on a computer with a processor and graphics card much higher than the system requirements.
  21. MatthieuR.
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    This just in: Igor is a fool! This game rocks, on any platform. Amazingly deep and immersive, I love this game.
  22. JeffR.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Hands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to beHands down one of the best games i've ever played, and easily the best game of the year. you may notice that the only negative review at the bottom is from someone who hasnt even played through much of the game - and when you go into playing a game expecting it to be exactly the same as another that you really enjoyed (in this case neverwinter nights), you set yourself up to be disappointed every time it is not. i went into KOTOR with no real expectations, and was incredibly pleased with what it turned out to be. an incredibly immersive plot in which i truly cared about the main characters, well written and well acted dialogue that was able to make me laugh out loud or raise the hairs on the back of my neck, a fantastic, extremely believable story with some very well placed twists, a world that was expansive and open-ended, and a combat system that rivals the best i've ever played with. igor below pointed out its differences from NWN as faults, but in truth he's really comparing apples with oranges - it was necessary that your character be restricted to the one race because the plot would simply not work if you were a wookie or a twi'lek. you are able to fashion a class for yourself by choosing specific feats and powers, and are not restricted at all to a certain path that you chose at the beginning of the game. the further down the road you go the more advanced and specialized weaponry becomes available, but would it really be conducive to the star wars universe to have hundreds of different kinds of blasters, all with their own name? i feel genuinely bad for igor that he's unable to appreciate this game for what it is, all because he didnt want to be playing KOTOR; he wanted to be playing NWN. i've found that the interface is very inuitive after a few hours of use, and the game is graphically incredible. all in all, KOTOR is an amazing and inspiring game the likes of which are very rare to come by. do yourself a favor and check it out if you have the 60+ hours to spare, as it will not be soon forgotten. Expand
  23. BennettM.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    Rob B. is a moron. I give KotOR 50/10.
  24. J.-P.R.
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    Best story ever!!! Just try not to shudder when the plot unfolds, and not to pause when confronted to moral issues.
  25. RalphW.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    This has been the best game I have played in ages. I can nevr sit through RPGs because they usually tend to get boring. With this one I defintly had that old familiar feeling of, just another ten minutes. The story grabs you and transports you to another universe. My only main criticsm was the inventory system and that I found the final battle frustratingly hard.
  26. WillV.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    I am not a fan of RPGs. I didn't even finish Neverwinter Nights. But this game is an exception. I love it!
  27. DionA.
    Mar 19, 2004
    9
    Anyone who gave this game any lower than a 9 has no bran. It's as simple as that.
  28. WilliamT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played.
  29. MarioB.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Great game!!! two thumbs up!
  30. JurijG.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Path you'll choose is being known. Not me to be your guide, your deeds make what you are.
  31. Chimp
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this Absolutely amazing. The gameplay is amazing, but the Star Wars feel is so well done, especially the alien voice. Tons of things to do including numerous sidquests, such as collecting bounties, helping people find lost droids, to name 2 out of about 400. The best computer RPG ive played in years. However: I still think Call of Duty should of won Game of The Year in PCGAMER with this definitely RPG of the year. But if you even remotely love RPGs, and you have a computer or XBOX, you would be foolish to get the game, as the most it can cost is $20. Expand
  32. PenguinRobinson
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i First of all let me say something. you CAN NOT really review this game until you play it through at least once. About mid-way through the game i thought it deserved a 9, but after beating it i want to give it a 20. Yes, you can choose light or dark side. The story is amazing. But the best part about choosing your path is how you make the decisions. For instance- I made a character who i was intent on being absolutely dark side the whole game, as dark side powers cost cheaper that way. So I was as evil as possible.......but somehow on the wookie planet of Kashyyk i just couldnt be mean to the wookies. so for then i momentarilly gained some light side points! you actually feel the moral decisions. now THATS good roleplaying. as someone said below it is a bit easy, including the final battle, and i agree, but i like it that way. its cool being an amazingly powerful jedi (or sith) who can destroy 6 enemy sith by himself. also some people have complained that there is no jumping. this game is techincally a 3d version of the baldurs gate style of playing, and there definitely wasnt jumping in that. however you CAN use force jump where your character jumps up to about 30 feet to the enemy with his lightsaber. its really cool. My only complaint is that once you get to a point where you can choose to go to a certain 4 planets, these individual planets dont have enough on them, especially tatooine. i can accomplish all the tasks on them in around an hour, but the first planet takes about 4-5 hours. This game has great replay too. There is a different ending for light and dark side. I have only played the dark side, but I am going to replay it as light side! The dialogue is very well written too, the characters are really good, and i encountered very few bugs, most of them minor like getting stuck or not being able to open a chest that says it can be opened. this game is cheap, so buy it NOW! Expand
  33. FrederickS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of gaming in the Star Wars universe.
  34. NickS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats i want to point out a few things. 1) it may be a point and click but there is lots of stadegy and you must forge a good charicter. i love it, best rpg (except NWN) 2) did anyone but me notice that "lumpem F." and "Rob B." both said "Flawless graphics... great story... one problem... etc." exactly the same? and also, one was rated 3 and the other was 2 but said "yes, only 3" meaning thats the vote he ment. i smell something fishy, i dont like this. this game definatly diserves a better total than 8 point something. this game rocks. Expand
  35. BrentM.
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    An epic storyline, with an interesting and fun playstyle. So much to explore, yet finding an end to it is so rewarding.
  36. MetaPhysical
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    The pinnacle of Star Wars gaming, KotOR takes RPG gaming into a seamless world with an amazing plot riddledwith twists and turns, an impressivly playable combat system, and excellent interactivity.
  37. NicholasG.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    The game I love. The gem. The pearl. It has its own power, its own spirit, its own bugs. Take a ride into this world, take a role in it and you will live there. You will live with it after your mission is over. An RPG in its heart.
  38. NickC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A testament to RPG's world wide this game was so amazing in everything that was presented. The action, mystery, decision making, plot twists, and lets not forget amazing force powers
  39. MikeK
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to One of the best games I've ever played. If you're looking for a shooter game, THIS GAME IS NOT IT. This is a game with intelligence, a developed plot-line, intriguing characters and side stories and an awesome conclusion. The graphics are good for the time, the levels and worlds look amazing, and the aliens and weaponry are all you'd expect from a Star Wars universe. Not to mention the combat system is very fun if you actually understand it. Naturally, with it involving more than pointing and clicking, that's probably not most of you. ;) Expand
  40. GenevieveF
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    This was the first Star Wars game I played, and I was and still are amazed over the game play,the story line and the way you can played it without getting bored. Absolutely a great game.
  41. Kajemby
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    I agree with Ome Gee. If you bought this game thinking it was something other than an RPG, maybe you should learn to read. No, really, as the box has RPG all over it, as does the Steam download. Also, Bioware only make RPGs', so expecting anything else was a little silly. So, yeah, as an action game it would score low, but as it is not a third person shooter, these scores are not I agree with Ome Gee. If you bought this game thinking it was something other than an RPG, maybe you should learn to read. No, really, as the box has RPG all over it, as does the Steam download. Also, Bioware only make RPGs', so expecting anything else was a little silly. So, yeah, as an action game it would score low, but as it is not a third person shooter, these scores are not valid. If it was scored low as an RPG however, I respect that peoples tastes are different. Personally I think it is a brilliant game, with a great storyline, and a lot of tactical combat. The only problem that I had with it on the first play through is the level cap, but if you play it through again, then you can plan your character better. Also I understand that the cap was for gameplay balance towards the end of the game. Definately give this game a chance. Expand
  42. JonA
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that The people who gave this game 0's failed to realize that the game is an RPG. Do yourselves a favor and learn to read. The game is one of the most amazing gaming experience I have had in a while. The story is gripping until the end. There are various plot twists, one in particular is in the same league as "Luke, I am your father" (Just do yourself a favor and do not read anything that could possbly ruin the story for you...believe me, the plot twist is that awesome). The depth of each character and each setting is so deep that you'll constantly want to hear more about them. The gameplay is unique and feels like an MMORPG. It is turn based, but not in the Final Fantasy sense. Anyone expecting a hack n' slash game (like most of the people who gave the game low scores) look elsewhere. But for those who want a deep gaming experience, trust me this is one of the best of all time. Expand
  43. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    This is by far the best RPG i have ever played. The only thing it misses is widescreen support. But so does almost all good games so i wont base my score around that.
  44. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    There's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions andThere's too much text in dialog, but you can skip that. The combat could have been more involved for shooter kids, but it serves right at being fully stat-based (as an RPG should, anyway). Your moves shouldn't matter too much apart from your built character, so these complaints about the game being "for kids" I can see as biased. Apart from all this, loved the variety in missions and story. The age of it all hardly makes any difference. Having said that, producing a current-gen game of same amount varied content would require too much resources with all the hi-def visuals developers overuse these days. If you love Star Wars, love RPG, aren't a fan of purely reaction-based (first person) games, this is your cup of tea. Expand
  45. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Its DnD and Star Wars, come on now. Jedi are a little broken but otherwise the rpg system is great. It's also nice that the game is set in a time period way before anything from the trilogy so it doesn't have to rewrite stuff. The characters are great, the story is amazing, what else do you need?
  46. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This game had one of the best stories I have experienced in a game, I hated the turn based combat and still loved this game because of the story and the cool cast of characters.
  47. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing
    in all honesty, this game was boring, the action was you target one person and wait for the turns to go by, so more of a turn based combat scenario, and i didnt really here much music to keep you playing....
    the story was what kept me in the game, and the several different ways to end the game its really story based more than anything.... fun-6, story-10, gameplay-8, and theirs nothing more but heres a thing to add, voice acting-7, map design or the background-9
    Expand
  48. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Knights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects areKnights of the Old Republic is one the best Star Wars games I've played. It has great plot, fancy graphics (they look fine even for 2012), solid RPG system and good characters. The main flaw is a combat system: it doesn't have too much features, but the player must fight carefully, using all the skills and weapons his characters have. Characters' animations are quite good and effects are nice. Every Star Wars fan and RPG fan should try it. Expand
  49. AnonymousMC
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    this is the game i will tell my kids about and i will hopefully never forget, every feat in this game is intriguing and the characters are classic the graphics are great for its time the problems that i encountered are none i can complain about if only the soldier gunnerey class was better
  50. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films. This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this: Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though
    this is still the best game i have ever played.
    I used to play RPG's on the odd occasion and i hated starwars.
    This game made me love RPG's and *like* star wars films.

    This has one of the most engrosing stories and flushed out (if annoying at times) characters. If you played Mass Effect and like it, i can tell you this:

    Mass Effect is a poor mans KOTOR. (even though Mass Effect was awesome too just cannot hold a candle to KOTOR)
    Expand
  51. Chris
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    If you have played NWN, or any other rpg that had a similar interface and enjoyed it, This game is for you! It takes the classic story and features of starwars and incoroprates it into a great game. After seeing some other reviews from other players, who gave it a low score, is truly pathetic. Complaining about a point n click game. Obviously someone dosent know anything about role If you have played NWN, or any other rpg that had a similar interface and enjoyed it, This game is for you! It takes the classic story and features of starwars and incoroprates it into a great game. After seeing some other reviews from other players, who gave it a low score, is truly pathetic. Complaining about a point n click game. Obviously someone dosent know anything about role playing??? None-the-less I would have ranked this game 10, but the only thing that kept it back was some clutter on the user interface. Expand
  52. FlaccidMember
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    This game is a pretty good mix of Baldur's Gate story and the action of NWN's singleplayer. While it doesn't succeed at having as great a story as the BG games, it is a TON better than the stuff from Ep. 1 and 2 in the movies. Overall Great Game.
  53. Sintax
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    Best rpg since deus ex - period.
  54. LordJ.
    Nov 25, 2003
    8
    Don't listen to Igor. This game is amazing.
  55. PetertheGamer
    Nov 26, 2003
    9
    Loads of fun, but very buggy. On my machine it crashed every 2 hours.
  56. MathijsB.
    Dec 24, 2003
    8
    Its a great game. But Neverwinter Nights is better :)
  57. HashamA.
    Dec 21, 2003
    7
    Very little can be faulted about this game in terms of gameplay or storyline. The voice acting in particular is truly genuine. However, due to the massive amount of bugs in this game it can be incredibly frustrating. If i said a crash every five minutes (at certain points in the game, not throughout) I would not be exaggerating. Having said that I eagerly await KOTOR 2 (and sincerely hope Very little can be faulted about this game in terms of gameplay or storyline. The voice acting in particular is truly genuine. However, due to the massive amount of bugs in this game it can be incredibly frustrating. If i said a crash every five minutes (at certain points in the game, not throughout) I would not be exaggerating. Having said that I eagerly await KOTOR 2 (and sincerely hope they release something stable this time round). Expand
  58. FatZilla
    Dec 10, 2003
    9
    Igor - I think you should sit down and get to know the game before you start to THINK you know anything about the game! "There are only 3 classes (and 3 jedi classes which you can't unlock until far far into the game)" You haven't even passed Taris? and still you think you know all about the game! That is just lame... The Uniqe thing about this game is that you DON'T need Igor - I think you should sit down and get to know the game before you start to THINK you know anything about the game! "There are only 3 classes (and 3 jedi classes which you can't unlock until far far into the game)" You haven't even passed Taris? and still you think you know all about the game! That is just lame... The Uniqe thing about this game is that you DON'T need anymore than the 6 classes... you have everything you need, with all the skills you can improve, that makes up for all the "missing" classes you speak of... Of the main characters I have: a droid computer expert, a strong warrior, a warrior healer, a twi tech and 4 different jedi's each with different powers! There is no need to have 20+ classes, and that was plain stupid to even suggest it, and compare to SW Galaxies!!! This is a single player game for christ sake, with a main story!!! Galaxies is a whole world, trying to reflect different lives you can live! Well if you were even smart enough to notice, this doesn't work well in single player games, to be a bountyhunter or a smith.... I don't know about you, but I can never in my wildest dreams see a bounty hunter save the galaxy or become a jedi knight. You have the choice in the game(if you go the dark path) to make money collecting a few bounties as a side quest. The game dosn't use the Neverwinter Nights engine, this one is much more complex. If you notice then you will see light shining back from the twi'leks skin and so on. I can't even believe you would say that it uses the same graphics engine as NwN... when you get close to the grapichs in NwN you wil see how bad it really was, even in the highest resolutions. Besides the NwN engine was never constructed to run the HUGE inviroments in SWKotOR! It was totally crazy to even suggest it is the same engine! "You can only be human. Thought you could be one of those Twi'leks or Wookies? Well too bad, you can't even choose your race (NWN had 8). That's sad, because even in Jedi Academy there are 6 races you could choose from and that's an FPS" You want it to be like Jedi Academy?? Even if you choose another race, it is just another skin.. no different voice, nothing special, not even another name! If you took your time and compleeted more than just the first 5% of the game, you would know that you get to have many different races and caracters on your ship (9 besides the main caracter) and that you can take control over them as you pleese. Your main caracter is the one who speaks to people but you should be fine with that because in JK it is only the action it is about, so action only with a wookie in KotOR should not be your problem. "combat is supposed to have variety, a strategy of executing the right moves at the right time, and so far the only thing I see myself doing is changing to melee weapons when the enemy gets in point blank range of one of my party members" Well thanks for pointing another great thing about KotOR out. If you choose hard difficulty the game can be hard enough... and there will be a time when you have to change strategy... but my team goes like this: 1 melee, 1 middlerange with 2 blasters, and a sniper (long range). some places in the game you have to go alone and that changes everything. I agree in that Taris is the planet that takes most time and can be long sometimes, even though it is still great. But after Taris I couldn't stop myself again, I just had to see what happened next. The game took 50 hours to complete and I don't think I got all sidequests... a game that long and that good is very hard to find today. Well im off... got to play KotOR again to see how the dark side is :D Igor-->nothing personal, I juist think you should know something about a game before you go on and talk about it. Expand
  59. DrewL.
    May 14, 2004
    9
    I think a lot of the negative comments on here are because people want a different game. Some want FPS, others want Tekken, one would rather play Neverwinter Nights. Fine. But this is a Star Wars RPG with a strong storyline. The story (no spoilers) means that the player PC MUST be Human. There are no Dwarves or Elves here. However, you have total control over 9 other potential party I think a lot of the negative comments on here are because people want a different game. Some want FPS, others want Tekken, one would rather play Neverwinter Nights. Fine. But this is a Star Wars RPG with a strong storyline. The story (no spoilers) means that the player PC MUST be Human. There are no Dwarves or Elves here. However, you have total control over 9 other potential party members including Twileks and Wookies. This is a great game with tremendous graphics that sucked me in for five straight days while I completed it. Now I'm starting all over again from the beginning and it is just as fun. The only complaint I have is that later battles are comparatively easier than early ones because the encounters are non-linear and don't seem to "level-up" along with the characters. Expand
  60. MattM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    This game is almost perfect except that the combat gets a little lengthy and as William said that Malak is made up and it ruins the Exar Kun story.
  61. B.Bhatti
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    The only thing that detracts from this game is the constant, absolute CONSTANT running around you have to do. Despite this, the game excels in every area, attracting non-RPG players to a simple interface and control set up. Trust me, the only things you will need to run this game are your mouse and a space-bar (for quick pause). The story and music were excellent (the music won an award The only thing that detracts from this game is the constant, absolute CONSTANT running around you have to do. Despite this, the game excels in every area, attracting non-RPG players to a simple interface and control set up. Trust me, the only things you will need to run this game are your mouse and a space-bar (for quick pause). The story and music were excellent (the music won an award from PC Gamer) and this game also ended up with GOTY from PC Gamer. Character creation is a tad bit shallow, but once you get past that, the great story starts. Oh and the beginning is a bit slow, but dont worry as soon as you get out of the apartments, the fun will start! Expand
  62. John
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    While I do not believe this game deserves full marks, as I was expecting something greater from the makers of "Baldurs Gate", this is undoutably a great game (unless, like me, you're a more 'hardcore' fan of rpgs). This game tries to cover it's linear nature poorly, so it really isn't much more open ended than final fantasy, unless you count the fact that you can While I do not believe this game deserves full marks, as I was expecting something greater from the makers of "Baldurs Gate", this is undoutably a great game (unless, like me, you're a more 'hardcore' fan of rpgs). This game tries to cover it's linear nature poorly, so it really isn't much more open ended than final fantasy, unless you count the fact that you can either be on the darkside or the lightside. Also, on my version, there is a bug which stops you from progressing (on tattoine near the entrance of the sand peoples hq), and while I'm sure there is a patch for this, I have not yet aquired it. I reccomend this for novice rpg-ers, but for more experianced gamers out there who are looking for a more freeform, and generally better rpg, stick with elder scrolls 3 or neverwinter nights, as they have not been tainted by previous release on the xbox. Expand
  63. DavidB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    The storyline is very intriguing. Wish we could of seen what happened after the ending squence. ( where did the characters go...) But still an amazing game.
  64. Dalek
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    It was an ok game, but not my type. I hated how it just pushes you into the game and it seems confusing, they kind of seem like The Movies characters. This is like World of Warcraft except Star Wars style and it's free. But I like the dueling arena and how you can go into peoples 'apartments' and steal their stuff. Evil or good?
  65. OmeGee
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Giving this game a bad score for being an RPG is silly, giving a game made in 2003 a bad score for not having next gen graphics a bad score is silly. KOTOR is a wonderfully deep RPG based in a living Star Wars universe. The game is wonderful. The only reason it didn't get a perfect score is because I found the controls to be less than intuitive. Otherwise, this is a spectacular game.
  66. May 3, 2012
    10
    The best RPG i have played yet. This game really takes you deep in to the Star wars world and has a amazing story. Dont miss out if you like RPG!
  67. May 6, 2012
    9
    Best game ever made. Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Get it right away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. May 10, 2012
    10
    Only few games have got me as immersed in a story as Knights of the Old Republic did. This game is brilliant in every aspect and deserves a full score.
  69. May 16, 2012
    10
    Does no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of aDoes no one edit these reviews? It seems fairly obvious that the same troll created multiple Metacritic accounts to leave very low reviews. Anyway, I havent played the game yet but at 7 bucks(which is what it is on Steam atm) you really cant go wrong one way or the other. I guess I also feel kinda sorry for the guy who created all those accounts simply to bring down the rating of a game on one rating site. I mean, jeesh! If you didnt like the game why waste so much more time and effort on it? Must have a pretty pathetic existance(which is where my sympathy comes in lol). Expand
  70. May 26, 2012
    10
    As far as I am concerned this is the greatest PC masterpiece of all time. The plot, voice-acting, game play...everything, is absolutely stunning. I recently completed this for the 12th time and I know I will still go back to it over the summer.
  71. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a "typical" game with typical values you know from golden age of Bioware / Black Isle. Good story, good for the time graphics, and more. KOTOR not only represents what is well known from Star Wars sage but expands the lore with new stories, new heroes and more. When you check a Star Wars Wiki it is easy to spot how some of the era was firstStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a "typical" game with typical values you know from golden age of Bioware / Black Isle. Good story, good for the time graphics, and more. KOTOR not only represents what is well known from Star Wars sage but expands the lore with new stories, new heroes and more. When you check a Star Wars Wiki it is easy to spot how some of the era was first explored. It is certainly more value than several other games "rehashing the well known stories". Expand
  72. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing thisThis is my all-time favorite game. Every game I play I try to rate on a scale of zero to SW: KOTOR. It will probably blow your mind too. This game has everything you want in a game: a terrific and immersing story-line, top notch voice-acting, a unique type of mechanics, and beautiful, memorable graphics. The game isn't a game that you finish in mere hours. You can spend days playing this game. That might be a con to some, but to me that just means you get to enjoy the game for a long time. All of the characters have great and easily identifiable personalities. There are different paths you can choose with your party members, so choose wisely. The game is played as a third-person turn-based RPG. Don't get frightened by turn-based, because it can be both fast and slow. It also helps you out by auto-pausing at different times (such as an enemy sighted). It's really easy to understand and different from other games. In addition to all of that, the graphics are amazing, especially for a game made just eight years ago! I really hope if you are planning to get this game you enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
  73. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Probably my favourite game, most of the people who have submitted negative reviews are criticising the gameplay, I guess you gotta know what you're getting into, they clearly didn't.

    While it has it's flaws, I just love the game. The gameplay isn't full of action, but it's still one of the best games I've ever played.
  74. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is seriously one of my favourite games of all time. Sure it's a bit dated, with a more primitive NPC dialogue system, and the graphics are a little out of date. But this game still holds up. You can mix and match party members for different fighting styles, talk to your NPC companions which are well written and feel like real people. I do have a few gripes about it though, the customization is a bit lacking, you choose from a set of heads, then you choose from 3 different classes, which don't really matter because you're forced to become a Jedi. Blasters are pretty much useless, because you're forced to use a light sabre. I feel if this game got an HD remake, with combat like Dragon Age, along with the character customization, better NPC interactions, and more items to mix and match, it would be a near perfect game. The story in this game is amazing, it has a major plot twist that you wouldn't expect. No matter the flaws of this game, it will always be one of my favourite games of all time. It's a must buy for any Star Wars or RPG fan. Expand
  75. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    I may be biased since this is my favorite video game of all time, but this game is truly amazing. The first game that ever made me consider video games as a means of storytelling. A lot of people who complained about this game don't really seem to have an understanding of the game's mechanics. It's fun, I still play it after 9 years of owning it, and the story is probably the best in theI may be biased since this is my favorite video game of all time, but this game is truly amazing. The first game that ever made me consider video games as a means of storytelling. A lot of people who complained about this game don't really seem to have an understanding of the game's mechanics. It's fun, I still play it after 9 years of owning it, and the story is probably the best in the Star Wars Universe. There aren't too many ways this game could have been better for its time. Expand
  76. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    One of the best Star Wars games ever made, KOTOR introduces an amnesiac protagonist ready to face his destiny. The best part is that we control his path in the story with moral choices with options to choose, in which they will reveal the light or dark path of our character. If the developers created a more complete character creator, this game would be just magnificent.
  77. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This game is a monster. I can still grap it and finish again... spend LOTS of hours on this game.. it's epic! You build your very own Jedi, hang around at pubs and drink beer :D travel around and search for components to build up lightsabers... MANY opportunities.

    If they made a new game like this one these days, Metascritic would go crazy about this game ;D for real. It brings good memories.
  78. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    I made an account on here just so I could write this review. I even went through all the reviews and clicked the good ones and bad ones, because people need to know that this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. If you don't like Star Wars or never cared for it, and want a solid RPG, this is your ticket. If you like Star Wars and have been a fan for who knows how long, then nobody hasI made an account on here just so I could write this review. I even went through all the reviews and clicked the good ones and bad ones, because people need to know that this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. If you don't like Star Wars or never cared for it, and want a solid RPG, this is your ticket. If you like Star Wars and have been a fan for who knows how long, then nobody has done anything greater in the gaming industry for you than this. Play this game. It's a masterpiece, it's well written, loads of fun, and not only that, but you can mod the game with mods from Filefront and add tons more replay value to it. You're not just staring at a game my friends; you're staring at an exquisite work of art. Expand
  79. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This is so amazing this will stick with you for a long long time after you finish it. This is a true masterpiece when someone should think of what is a good R.P.G. K.O.T.O.R. should be the first thing to come mind. Great combat mechanics AMAZING STORY unmatched this might be my favorite plot a game has thrown to me so far just stunning and i love game that give you a choice and there isThis is so amazing this will stick with you for a long long time after you finish it. This is a true masterpiece when someone should think of what is a good R.P.G. K.O.T.O.R. should be the first thing to come mind. Great combat mechanics AMAZING STORY unmatched this might be my favorite plot a game has thrown to me so far just stunning and i love game that give you a choice and there is no good ending both endings are good you can play the way you want and get the ending you deserve you don't need to be super careful about that you say because even if you go with the technically bad ending its fantastic also it does what mass effect did wrong with the dialogue when you click on a dialogue option you will say exactly what's written that's what's brings us to the voice acting which is truly the best I've ever heard it makes me want Bastille's babies that much more and there are so many memorable characters who leave a lasting impression and so many wonderful places to go and explore with wonderful level design filled with side quests and brimming with secrets just such a wonderful game this game is a true gem in an industry that's full of terrible reboots and sequels (including this game's sequel) but this is one of those games where if even if the next 100 to come are terrible you still had this one glories game this is currently the pinnacle of gaming and i don't see it being topped any time soon. Expand
  80. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games ever made. If you're not a fan of the combat then the amazing storyline will be the ultimate drug which will keep you playing until the end. KOTOR is the only game I've ever played through more than twice.
  81. May 16, 2013
    10
    Where to start? Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic is, and has been since I first finished it, my absolute favorite game. For ten years, this game, despite all of the other awesome and fantastic games I have played, still manages to be number one. Why? Because this game has what any game should, both quality and quantity.

    I remember picking this game up on my Xbox for the first time.
    Where to start? Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic is, and has been since I first finished it, my absolute favorite game. For ten years, this game, despite all of the other awesome and fantastic games I have played, still manages to be number one. Why? Because this game has what any game should, both quality and quantity.

    I remember picking this game up on my Xbox for the first time. I didn’t know what to expect. I have been a Star Wars fan forever, since I saw the first movies. It was praised by critics and reviewers, so I figure I would try it. Little did I know that I would be playing a game that would inspire so many good memories in me.

    I’ll start with the meat of the game—the storyline. This is probably one of the best stories I have ever experienced. It flows quite easily and was very immersive. This game introduced me to the whole “Old Republic” era of Star Wars, and as of now it is actually my favorite. This game introduces you to a story that you will love and really get involved in. It also gives you choice, such as a multitude of dialogue options which can affect the game in the end. I’m always a fan of the option to give as much choice as possible to players. There is also a very surprisingly plot twist at the near-end of the game which really makes the story pop.

    The gameplay is also great. It’s sort of a fast-paced turn-based style of combat. I feel the difficulties are pretty balanced, none too easy and none too hard. The level up system is alright, but can be made better with mods (which I will discuss later on). The different skills and whatnot are very helpful throughout the game, such as Computer Use which allows you to hack into terminals and do a variety of things or Repair where you can repair broken droids to assist you in combat in that area. Combat is just very smooth and I was very happy with how they brought lightsaber battles to light.

    The graphics are, in my opinion, really good for its time. You won’t be seeing HD textures or Skyrim-quality graphics, but really in 2003 there were few games that actually looked as good as KOTOR. But even today, it’s not all that bad looking. Planets are pretty good looking and heads for models are detailed.

    This game really shines on the PC, and the reason why is because you can mod it. The KOTOR Filefront has thousands of mods which you can easily install to improve the game, either gameplay-wise or cosmetic-wise. I love it when a game has modding capabilities, and BioWare was kind enough to make this game easily moddable. I always mod it when I play it and it makes gameplay even better than it is vanilla.

    This game is a standard for all role-playing games. This is what a role-playing game should feel like, fun and never boring. It’s a must have in my opinion if you like stories and Star Wars both. I have so much nostalgia when I replay this game. I hope you all love this game as much as I have.
    Expand
  82. May 23, 2013
    10
    Still after so many years this is the best RPG I have ever played. I have finished it several times and every single one it was a great adventure. I wish Disney would allow some companies to make a continuation. This is also one of the best Star Wars game ever. So if You are a SW fun and/or You like really nice RPG You have to play KOTOR. Even now, ten years after the premier graphics areStill after so many years this is the best RPG I have ever played. I have finished it several times and every single one it was a great adventure. I wish Disney would allow some companies to make a continuation. This is also one of the best Star Wars game ever. So if You are a SW fun and/or You like really nice RPG You have to play KOTOR. Even now, ten years after the premier graphics are acceptable and gameplay is not tiring at all. Expand
  83. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Probably the best Star Wars game of all time, and one of the greatest role-playing games ever produced. You get an incredibly engrossing story with tons of customization. This means you get tons of different feats, powers, equipment, weapons, etc. to use at your disposal, along with three classes to choose from at the start. With so many side quests to do and decisions to make (leading youProbably the best Star Wars game of all time, and one of the greatest role-playing games ever produced. You get an incredibly engrossing story with tons of customization. This means you get tons of different feats, powers, equipment, weapons, etc. to use at your disposal, along with three classes to choose from at the start. With so many side quests to do and decisions to make (leading you towards the light side or dark side, with multiple endings too), no single playthrough will be the same. That's really saying something especially considering that the game is about 40 hours long, so there's definitely some very hefty replay value.

    The way that Bioware let us be who we are as a person (all set in the glorious Star Wars universe) is simply astounding. There are tons of planets to visit, and it's pretty amazing to see all of them come to life. There are tons of characters to talk to on each planet; some can give you advice, some gamble, some give you quests, while others will even fight you. Many characters (particularly my party members) are extremely memorable like the fan favorite HK-47, for example. I found myself become very attached to some, and the interaction is basically limitless. By the way, the voice acting (which you'll be hearing quite a bit) is incredible. The lip syncing is pretty good as well. And of course, the graphics are great, especially for the time.

    This is an RPG, so you will continuously get stronger, and I felt extremely powerful by the end. The fighting system is excellent. Basically, you choose the moves you want to perform before fighting and the battle plays out in real-time. A die is rolled in order to decide whether your attack will land or not. All in all, it works very well. Everything is pretty smooth, and I didn't encounter many glitches. If you're going to buy it on Steam, be wary of playing it on Windows 7, as there could potentially be TONS of glitches.

    All in all, this is a groundbreaking, near-perfect game that will forever stand the test of time. In my mind, it will probably be considered a classic in a few years from now. It's that good. If you haven't played this Bioware masterpiece yet, then GO PLAY IT NOW. Even if you're not a Star Wars fan. You'll love every bit and will never forget it!
    Expand
  84. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW willThis is one of the classic BioWare RPG. Do I have to say more? This is the first time they are leaving D&D as base of their RPG. The game is still based on pen & paper like rules and feels like sci-fy version on D&D. The story is happening in the universe of Old Republic (the is long before Star Wars movies) so creators have enough space for their own creativity, but still fans of SW will see lot of familiar places. Player cannot choose any race but human this is little bit shame, but no worries shortly you will find lot of companions, so you would enjoy playing as wookiee or android. As it is common for BioWare every companion have his own agenda and history and would by stepping into conversation when he think he have something to say. As the story will proceed you will be getting more informations from their past and from time to time they will ask you to help them. The story is really great and with twists and stuffs that make RPG good RPG. It will lead you to different planets each is completely different world with own culture, flora, fauna and inhabitants. Main quest is pretty long and there is also lot of side quests I spent 40 h on first play through. The game have good repeatability as you can choose if you are going to complete quests with affliction to light or dark side of the Force plus there are also different possibilities how to solve problems based on yours skill as persuading, stealth, repair, computers, demolition each have its own use an there is now skill that would be there just for numbers as it in many games. The fighting system is intuitive. Fights with easier opponents may feel bit dull, but at least they are quick. You are able to use different items as grenades, mines stimulants, different skills for shooting and melee weapons and also force powers as stun, push-back or throwing your lightsaber.
    Graphic is pretty good and in full HD resolution still look really good as this from 2003. I think this is one of the best RPG ever made a have all those things that nowadays sand box RPG lack depth, emotions you really like some characters and you don't do quests just for money, but you really wan't to help somebody or stop that bad guy.
    Expand
  85. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Best RPG of all time, replay value of over 10 years and the massive mod collection constantly enhances the experience. No doubt, this game deserves a 10/10
  86. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    A legend, this game changed the whole RPG genre and started the Bioware RPG domination. Writing cons is faster so lets get to it: Fights are boring, back in 2003 it was something new and great but after 10 years it revelaed its true boring nature. Graphics werent amazing even in 2003 and now they look bad. I had something more on my mind but i cant remember what, this game is the best SWA legend, this game changed the whole RPG genre and started the Bioware RPG domination. Writing cons is faster so lets get to it: Fights are boring, back in 2003 it was something new and great but after 10 years it revelaed its true boring nature. Graphics werent amazing even in 2003 and now they look bad. I had something more on my mind but i cant remember what, this game is the best SW game ever released and its one of the best games of history. Expand
  87. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Overall a fantastic game. Easy to play, very entertaining. Storytelling, characters, plot, lore are absolutely great. Maybe a bit too easy on normal difficulty, and sometimes a bit lengthy due to a lot of running around in the same areas, but still one of my all time favorites. The sequel is good, but not a match to this game.
  88. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, and with the very cheap price tag now you can't go wrong. To add to it all of the mods (restored content and improved graphics) you can find available makes this a game everyone should play at least once.
  89. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Quite simply the greatest game I've ever played. So much joy to be had in this game. It is timeless. I've played this through at least 4 times and I don't replay games often. This game reminded us all about how good Star Wars could be.
  90. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time i played it on the original xbox and have beaten over 8 times over the past decade (i still have the original game with the xbox). This game i feel is timeless my reasons being is it has superb story telling, character development, difficult choices, deep history, great voice acting and if you are hardcore about star wars it flushes out the universe soThis is my favorite game of all time i played it on the original xbox and have beaten over 8 times over the past decade (i still have the original game with the xbox). This game i feel is timeless my reasons being is it has superb story telling, character development, difficult choices, deep history, great voice acting and if you are hardcore about star wars it flushes out the universe so beautifully with a setting fresh and interesting. If enjoyed a more strategic combat than this has it, or you can adjust some setting to make it a little more fast pace. I have never played the PC version but this game is a must play its a classic that really pushed story telling to a whole new level. Expand
  91. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    The KotOR series is one of my favourite series. When I first played the game, I had high hopes for it. The game impressed me, despite its age. Few games give as many choices, plot twists, and lovable characters. Sadly, I did get stuck and ended up looking up a quick guide, which ended up spoiling a bit plot twist.
  92. MrZ
    Dec 1, 2013
    10
    This is by far one of my personal favorites. I played this game years ago when I purchased the Star Wars Best of PC pack and was hooked. As a young Star Wars fan, when I started playing it, I was absolutely immersed in the story. Since it takes place long before the movies, it brings about a new and interesting story. Although not the best by today's standards, I still play it to this day.
  93. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    If i had to describe the game in one word it would be "masterpiece". it is amazing how this game has a better story and more interesting characters then the Star Wars prequel trilogy that opens up the star wars universe in ways you couldn't imagine at the time. The RPG style gameplay works to perfection with an addicting leveling up system that makes you want to keep playing.
  94. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic gives you an incredible level of control over your character. You feel a true connection to them as their path is chosen by you, the player. Their story is yours to craft however you want. The graphics for this game, especially in the cut scenes, are phenomenal for it's time and some still stand up today. The story driven elements are perfectly suitedStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic gives you an incredible level of control over your character. You feel a true connection to them as their path is chosen by you, the player. Their story is yours to craft however you want. The graphics for this game, especially in the cut scenes, are phenomenal for it's time and some still stand up today. The story driven elements are perfectly suited to it's light side dark side karma-like mechanic. The combat system is very innovative allowing for strategy rather than charging opponents head on - very unique design. Gameplay is slick and easy, and there aren't enough words for how I would love to compliment this game. A very trademark game of Bioware. The best Star Wars video game ever and my all time favorite game. Expand
  95. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i absolutely love this game,this is the perfect RPG
    the story makes you feel like you're part of it,
    the work that Old Bioware did here was a masterpiece,the characters are done brilliant,the Revan Plot twist was one of my biggest 'Wow' moments in my gamer life,the story is done very well
    the gameplay is good for a RPG,the romance with Bastila was good and funny at the same time
    my favourite character was HK-47 with his dark humor
    suggestion:go buy it now with Kotor 2,this is what modern RPGs should take inspiration from.
    Expand
  96. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    This is and has always been my favorite game ever,When i was just a kid about 7 i was given this game for my birthday
    and ever since then I've played it over and over,This is the game that got me into video games This is the game that got me to love star wars,I love everything about this game,some people might find it not as amazing as me but i do recommend that you buy and play this
    This is and has always been my favorite game ever,When i was just a kid about 7 i was given this game for my birthday
    and ever since then I've played it over and over,This is the game that got me into video games This is the game that got me to love star wars,I love everything about this game,some people might find it not as amazing as me but i do recommend that you buy and play this Amazing,Breathtaking,Beautiful Experience of a Game.
    Expand
  97. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Well, what can I tell you about this game?
    I can tell for sure it is my favorite!
    I can tell that I have played thought the story for something like 10 times since 2004.
    I can tell that you need to arm yourself with all the best modifications(textures, resolution, cut content) and start this FANTASTIC journey right now!
  98. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    Fun ass game, intriguing story nice graphics for its time (come on guys it's a 2003 game.) and interesting planets and people. What the **** is there for me not to like?
  99. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    KotOR was not without its flaws, but a great classic nonetheless. Systemically, it borrowed from thew Baldur's Gates and other 'pause and plan' combat RPG's... The pause and plan combat is definitely not for everyone, but I enjoyed it. The characters were the stars of the show. I mean, HK47, mirite?
  100. RutgerdeB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    This game is really insane!! A game for anyone who love to game. A good RPG, great action and afcourse: it's all in the Star Wars world!!! i recommend it to anyone who wants to buy a game at this moment! you won't regret!
  101. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Firstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played itFirstly, I want to clarify that these are not "rigged votes", as the KOTOR haters seem to be claiming them to be. If you read the sparse 0-rating reviews below, you'll notice some common factors: a general impatience with games and a lack of appreciation for anything that requires more player input than simply clicking left-mouse to attack. Simply put, KOTOR is a masterpiece. I played it again for the second time (I first played it after its release in 2003), and finished it yesterday with a total playtime of 45+ hours, and I regret not a single second of gameplay. The story, characters and setting are masterly created, with an epic soundtrack, spectacularly flawless voice-acting (I genuinely feel like I know the characters, in particular Carth Onasi, Mission Vao, Juhani, Jolee Bindo and Bastilla Shan, as people, and almost as companions). Do yourself a favour and get this game. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. The level of control that you have over your characters' actions is truly remarkable... Simply put, this is the best thing to happen to Star Wars since the original trilogy. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. This is a class act that builds and extends the Star Wars game franchise and PC gamers are getting something their kindred XBOX owners loved to bits and will not be disappointed in any way.
  3. It offers some pretty fundamental improvements over the Xbox version and stands as one of the best PC RPGs out there.