Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic PC

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1475 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Engage in this saga set in the Golden Age of the Republic - over 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film, when both Jedi and Sith number in the thousands. With the Galaxy reeling from a recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on. YourEngage in this saga set in the Golden Age of the Republic - over 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film, when both Jedi and Sith number in the thousands. With the Galaxy reeling from a recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on. Your actions determine the outcome of this colossal galactic war - and your destiny as a Jedi. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s rare that I get so excited over a game, but the interactive storyline, the solid gameplay, and everything else managed to make me a firm believer that the future of Star Wars will be bright one.
  2. No other Star Wars game, including "Star Wars Galaxies," has done a better job of completely immersing you in the Star Wars universe. It's impossible to finish the game without somehow feeling like your actions have made a difference.
  3. The only thing missing from this masterpiece is the fact that once you finish playing the game, you can’t watch it as a movie!
  4. The battles look absolutely outstanding.
  5. The deepest foray yet into the Star Wars universe and well worth the price of admission.
  6. Not only one of the best "Star Wars" titles to date, but it is also one of the finest games in recent memory.
  7. 80
    It’s a testament to the strength of Knights’ original design that it manages to be gripping and engaging while in the midst of distracting technical problems.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 266
  1. ChrisM.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one This game is bloody awesome. No doubt about it. An involving story, deep gameplay mechanics and great graphics all put together. This is one of those you won't be able to put down. Rightly so to. One of the best games ever. Expand
  2. FrederickS.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of gaming in the Star Wars universe.
  3. Jan 2, 2016
    10
    KotOR is one of the most memorable games of all time. The first time I played it, was at least 10 years ago, but as soon as you mention any orKotOR is one of the most memorable games of all time. The first time I played it, was at least 10 years ago, but as soon as you mention any or the planets or characters, memories come flowing back as if it was yesterday. Just think for a second about Manaan, Kashyyyk, Rakatan, Taris, Bastilla, the Star Forge, Ebon Hawk, ect. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is my second favorite game of all time, i am a big rpg and si-fy fan so i guess this was i match made in heaven. Yes the controls andThis is my second favorite game of all time, i am a big rpg and si-fy fan so i guess this was i match made in heaven. Yes the controls and graphics are outdated but there is nothing an hd remake cant fix. just have Dice use the frostbite engine and i will be happy. i want to see my hd remake. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    A really great game with a great cast and amazing twists this game is considered the best for a reason. However it has the black and whiteA really great game with a great cast and amazing twists this game is considered the best for a reason. However it has the black and white mentality and it doesn't have real moral problems. All actions are considered good or evil which makes it a bit one dimensional but it still is a masterpiece and is a must play for all star wars fans! Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of my all-time favorite Star Wars games. I love how it tells the story of what happened before any of the movies ever took place. The story follows your character who has no memory of his life, and goes out to find out. It turns out he is very sensitive in the force, and has the skills of a Jedi. Meanwhile, the game's main villain Darth Malek is looking for an ultimate weapon to power his Sith fleet. This game also has multiple endings depending on your choices in the game. If you make good choices (such as saving the lives of others, or helping the needy), then you follow the path of the Jedi, but if you make bad choices (killing the needy, torturing people), then you go onto the Sith. Making these choices will change not only your personality and traits, but also how events in the game will play out. I would give an example, but that would be spoiling too much. As for the gameplay, it is excellent. You have a lot of freedom to make choices in the game (not total freedom, but freedom enough), and you can have a lot of fun doing it too. The combat may be turn-based like in any other RPG, but you wouldn't know it from how graphic it is. There are many animations your character can do in combat, and it all makes it look so real. This makes the combat in this game much more enjoyable. The graphics are enjoyable as well. Everything in this game looks very bright and colorful. Overall, this is an excellent Star Wars game. However, believe it or not, this is not my favorite Star Wars game (that would be Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy). The only real problem I have with this game is its sequel. Unlike most people, I think that KOTOR II kind of, uh, sucks (read my review of that game for more details), but who am I to think that the first game is bad just because of its sequel? Overall this game is flawless, and it should not be judged by KOTOR II. Expand
  7. NicolasM
    Oct 18, 2009
    0
    Probably the worst star wars game ive ever played...Combat is extremely boring, the graphics suck, there is absolutely nothing interesting Probably the worst star wars game ive ever played...Combat is extremely boring, the graphics suck, there is absolutely nothing interesting about the gameplay, and there is way too much reading to do...the jedi academy games are better in every way Expand

See all 266 User Reviews