User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 300
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    6
    This game probably seemed a lot cooler back when it was first released, but it's still highly playable and mostly fun. It feels a lot like Halo, but with some squad-based elements tacked on. And it's really not as short as other reviews would have you think--8 hours is pretty standard for an FPS. The action is good, if a bit too scripted and linear. Its major problem seems to be theThis game probably seemed a lot cooler back when it was first released, but it's still highly playable and mostly fun. It feels a lot like Halo, but with some squad-based elements tacked on. And it's really not as short as other reviews would have you think--8 hours is pretty standard for an FPS. The action is good, if a bit too scripted and linear. Its major problem seems to be the lack of variety: levels go on forever; there are only three locales; only about three types of enemies; you can only have one pickup weapon at a time; endless door breaches. Regardless, the action is pretty much constant and the squad commands work well once you remember the keys and icon meanings. The graphics are still decent even by today's standards, even though the bump maps are a bit low-res. Sound and music were okay--nothing special. Voiceovers were good and occasionally humorous. Controls were fine. And finally, stability was great. Overall, a good take on Star Wars combat, and I'm glad I played it even if I could only take about an hour of the nonstop / tedious action at a time. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    Playing this game in 2013, I can imagine that this might've been good for it's time. These days, the graphics are dated, the gameplay feels clunky, and there's honestly nothing spectacular about it. I gave it a shot, but it just didn't stick with me.
  3. J
    May 9, 2005
    7
    This game was good but would never match up to Halo 2 or Half Life 2. The storyline was good, but short and it ended in a funny way. The ending when he says hes sending you back, you THINK its the next level, because the game was so short. Then it cuts to the ending, and you loose all interest in the game. The multiplayer aspect didnt match up either. Two skins and you had to beat single This game was good but would never match up to Halo 2 or Half Life 2. The storyline was good, but short and it ended in a funny way. The ending when he says hes sending you back, you THINK its the next level, because the game was so short. Then it cuts to the ending, and you loose all interest in the game. The multiplayer aspect didnt match up either. Two skins and you had to beat single player to play multiplayer. Another short game, atleast it was better then SWG Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    7
    Over all great game. I really enjoyed it and the graphics are not to shabby. Sadly I dont ever recall anyone ever using the same graphics from this game. The story is driven, action packed, nice music for the cinematic experience. My only and 100% only gripe about the game is that the Multiplayer SUCKS. Besides that Id give the single player alone a 9. Bad Multi a 7.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    5
    Barely passable. I never use cheat codes but this games forced me into it in order to experience it with any semblance of enjoyment. The trailers showcase the most exciting portions at the beginning of the game but later levels are a drag except for a boss fight here and there.
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    "Star Wars Halo" sums up this game pretty well. It seems to try hard to copy the mold of many other FPS games without actually innovating and making a better product. But if you like those type of games you will enjoy Republic Commando. Bear in mind the game is quite short and the multiplayer is lackluster. If this wasn't a Star Wars game it would be a 6/10.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    Once upon a time there were good Star Wars games. Even though this takes place in the awful prequel trilogy, the engaging squad-based gameplay more than makes up for it. The sound and environmental effects are immersive, even for it's age. Even though you're a cookie cutter clone trooper squad they continue to throw new weapons at you throughout the game from dead enemies to break up theOnce upon a time there were good Star Wars games. Even though this takes place in the awful prequel trilogy, the engaging squad-based gameplay more than makes up for it. The sound and environmental effects are immersive, even for it's age. Even though you're a cookie cutter clone trooper squad they continue to throw new weapons at you throughout the game from dead enemies to break up the monotony. It also tends to poke fun at itself, with squadmates remarking about the repetitiveness of certain mission objectives. This was a nice find on sale and is definitely worth checking out if you're into Star Wars or even just squad combat FPS games. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    Cool game. Nice idea - you play as commando and command 3 others specialists. However, it might be just me (or it might be the fact that i played this game 7 years after release!), but the game it a little too blend, and also became too hard too fast.
  9. May 11, 2013
    7
    Mmmm.... There's some few thing's I can say about this just don't know where to start. Well I like it how you can put mods on here very easily. The online games is pretty good and very hard to beat people. It's just after the 1st time you beat the campaign..... there's just nothing to do after. Except play it over and over again. And don't even get me started on glitches. When I load up aMmmm.... There's some few thing's I can say about this just don't know where to start. Well I like it how you can put mods on here very easily. The online games is pretty good and very hard to beat people. It's just after the 1st time you beat the campaign..... there's just nothing to do after. Except play it over and over again. And don't even get me started on glitches. When I load up a game I start at the first of the level? I don't even know how that happens. Not only that I can freaking kill myself, where I was when I saved I can just kill the white clone (Apparently me) standing there. And sometimes I just fall through the floor when I'm walking across on the ghost thing ship level. And stop with the mutiplayer hacking. Other than that stuff and glitches it is one of the most epic games I ever played. Expand
  10. Jul 3, 2014
    5
    Republic Commando is a great idea when it works. However, the game suffers from a lot of problems. Organic enemies are incredibly easy to bring down, while robotic enemies will chew through most of your ammunition in slow, drawn out, frustratingly difficult and unsatisfying fights. At one point, a glitch left one of my squad members stuck behind, which made the following mini-boss battleRepublic Commando is a great idea when it works. However, the game suffers from a lot of problems. Organic enemies are incredibly easy to bring down, while robotic enemies will chew through most of your ammunition in slow, drawn out, frustratingly difficult and unsatisfying fights. At one point, a glitch left one of my squad members stuck behind, which made the following mini-boss battle intensely difficult. Graphics haven't held up well at all, with an over faded atmosphere extending into long, protracted, homogeneous levels. When your squad gets into position and a real fire fight starts, the game suddenly becomes very fun again, with you directing AI squad mates in the heat of the battle, but these moments are too few and far between. Expand
  11. May 15, 2015
    6
    The game is a fps situated in the Star Wars universe. As extra you have to command a team, which is a critical element of the game play. I had hopes for this game but I was a bit disappointed. First of all it is buggy: screen resolution didn't work and you had to set the bump mapping on low to prevent crashing. Graphically it wasn't top either, which may be related to previous point. TheThe game is a fps situated in the Star Wars universe. As extra you have to command a team, which is a critical element of the game play. I had hopes for this game but I was a bit disappointed. First of all it is buggy: screen resolution didn't work and you had to set the bump mapping on low to prevent crashing. Graphically it wasn't top either, which may be related to previous point. The team element is sometimes very annoying since they sometimes do not react very well. The biggest complain I have is about the weaponry: the laser guns are not precise and do not have a big impact on some enemies. On top of that some are way too strong. On the other hand I prefer this over boring light saber duels. The music is pretty good. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 82
    Presentation is really what carries Republic Commando farther than it could have gone on its own. It comes with a grand score, good voice work, lovely animation, and great artistic style and polish.
  2. A pedestrian and unimaginative multiplayer mode is the only notable flaw in a game that otherwise plays, looks, and sounds fantastic.
  3. 88
    The game’s artificial intelligence is impressive, and utilising the commands and setting team command points through the levels really makes it feel like you’re working through the game with real people who actually know what they are doing.