Star Wars: The Force Unleashed - Ultimate Sith Edition Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed casts players as Darth Vader's "Secret Apprentice" and promises to unveil new revelations about the Star Wars galaxy. The expansive story, created under direction from George Lucas, is set during the largely unexplored era between "Star Wars: Episode IIIStar Wars: The Force Unleashed casts players as Darth Vader's "Secret Apprentice" and promises to unveil new revelations about the Star Wars galaxy. The expansive story, created under direction from George Lucas, is set during the largely unexplored era between "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith" and "Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope." In it, players assist the iconic villain in his quest to rid the universe of Jedi - and face decisions that could change the course of their destiny. Unleash and upgrade the Secret Apprentice's four core Force powers - Force push, grip, repulse and lightning - throughout the course of the game, and combine them for ultra-destructive, never-before-seen combos. The Secret Apprentice doesn't just Force push enemies into walls - he Force pushes enemies through walls. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. More than a year after the console versions, the Ultimate Sith Edition arrives for PC. The game suffers from problems with controls and balance and because it’s a quite linear game. But it’s Star Wars, nicely presented, with great atmosphere and new missions. And that’s more important in this case.
  2. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed arrived with a one year delay on a PC, but nevertheless does not introduce any major news, except for an additional level and two unedited seen on consoles. The graphics are suffering from a bad optimization and feels the weight of years, although on balance is sufficient and is gifted of a great physics engine for the simulation of the Force. As for the gameplay, despite the repetitiveness is feels, the fun that can give handle a lightsaber and use the Force, balances the all. Moreover, thanks to a good storyline the atmosphere of Saga was returned faithfully. Also remain unchanged all the defects of the control system imprecise and at times frustrating already seen a year ago on the console. Ultimately, despite the myriad of action securities much more attractive and "new" published in recent months, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed is a good title. Recommended to fans of the saga.
  3. 75
    It doesn't fix or change anything in the original game - it just gives you a few more levels and some new skins. If you don't already have the game, give it a look. If you do, you might just want to go the DLC route.
  4. PC Zone UK
    62
    A series of spectacularly presented levels. [Feb 2010, p.68]
  5. PC Gamer
    60
    Mediocre. [Jan 2010, p.80]
  6. Total PC Gaming
    60
    Only casual types will enjoy up to its conclusion. [Issue#28, p.54]
  7. A plentiful amount of technical bugs and lazy development for the platform make for a frustrating experience despite there being a fun game buried beneath.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. AlecM
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    All the reviews are quite silly. Why? Because all they needed to do was instal the patch that came out just a few days after the game. It All the reviews are quite silly. Why? Because all they needed to do was instal the patch that came out just a few days after the game. It runs just fine and is a great inovation in gaming with amazing graphics, great voice acting, and the smartest AI anyone has yet seen. It's sad to see that when some one comes out with a good game it gets shot down because reviewers can't wait/look for a verry speedy patch. The game is realy verry fun with a lot of replayability and crazy force powers. If you can't stand a game thats not a FPS or RPG then this isn't for you. But if you like Star Wars, good acting, and inovation. Then this is your game. May the force be with you and all that Jazz. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2015
    8
    In my opinion, this is one of the best star wars games of all time. I played this game on the PS3 in 2009, and now I played it on the PC inIn my opinion, this is one of the best star wars games of all time. I played this game on the PS3 in 2009, and now I played it on the PC in 2015, albeit with an XBOX 360 controller. I just got off a run of playing through all the Dark Forces games, and as I was playing through Jedi Outcast, I realized that I would rather play a game with real force powers and didn't involve running around looking for switches to flip instead of actually fighting. So I stopped playing Outcast and switched to this game. It was much more exciting and much more fast-paced.

    The plot is definitely the strongest point of the game- a few of the negative reviews mention a forced romance with the main character, which I feel is a legitimate complaint, but I think the story excels in every other area. The game is decently paced, although it could even stand to be a bit longer (which I rarely say about games because they generally have so little to say but try to say it in the longest way possible).

    Even though the targeting on some of the Force powers is clunky, I feel like the game does the best it can by trying to auto-aim a bit whenever you throw items. It does work most of the time, but it does have its misses. I do enjoy using it to take out AT-ST's while behind cover using the homing on Force throw.

    The biggest appeal of the game for me was being able to walk into a fight and decide one-by-one how I wanted each enemy to die in the coming battle: impaled by a lightsaber? Hacked into pieces? Collateral damage in a Force throw? That was the true enjoyment of the game for me. Once the last levels came around and the enemies were tougher and resistant to Force powers and lightsabers, I did feel more helpless and wish they had a more consistent way to deal with powerful enemies.

    Overall, the game does give a great impression of what it feels like to be a powerful Jedi. Sometimes it feels like the lightsaber is relegated to being a baseball bat, but overall the impression is strong as you fight through hordes of stormtroopers without a scratch.
    Expand
  3. CrowBar
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    Yes, there are some flaws. One that stands out, taking down the Death Star "boss." Extremely long and boring and ultimately frustrating. But Yes, there are some flaws. One that stands out, taking down the Death Star "boss." Extremely long and boring and ultimately frustrating. But beyond that, this is a damn good game. Its true, it pisses all over Star Wars lore. I dont recall Luke ever battling Vaders apprentice in Hoth, but gamewise, its good. SImple as that. The powers are very cool. Its incredibly satisfying to impale a force held trooper with your black lightsaber. The little additions, such as costume and the different gems and colours for lightsabers add to it. If your a fan of Star Wars, but not a fanatic, you'll truly enjoy this game. Expand
  4. May 7, 2014
    4
    I started playing this and couldn't figure out why the reviews put it in such poor light, but now that I've sunk a few hours into it, it'sI started playing this and couldn't figure out why the reviews put it in such poor light, but now that I've sunk a few hours into it, it's easy to see why the scores are so low. Basically it's a game with so much potential packaged with a greater level of disappointment. It was ported by very, very lazy people who were probably coding with one hand, while holding their junk with the other.
    This is one of the worst console ports I've seen on PC. It's worse than GTA IV and is trying to rival Viking: Battle for Asgard. There are a few reasons why it's such a bad port. The graphic optimisation for the game is terrible and should be running far smoother. Because the graphics aren't optimised, it also doesn't take advantage of many of the wonderful options available on PC to make a game look amazing. Users also can't choose these many options to optimise performance on their PC's, so many users are unable to play the game on their lower end systems.
    The controls are very clunky. Objects picked up and thrown with the force hardly ever seem to go in the right direction. Targeting is hit or miss and often the most random objects are selected, rather than the creature standing RIGHT IN FRONT of you currently slaughtering away. Momentum clearly doesn't exist and this makes jumping very hard. Double jumping sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.
    The menus are clunky and the game house NO mouse cursor for menu selection. Basic things like making sure the combo menu is easier to navigate to and read quickly aren't included.
    One of the biggest pissoff factors has to be the "even though you've changed your controls to suit your style of play, all of the messages throughout the game will show the original controls". This would be fine, except that all big creatures and bosses have finishing moves that require button mashing combos that show the original keys and make for tedious and difficult gameplay. Then there's also the combo menu, which shows all of the original keys.
    The camera is below average during normal gameplay and absolutely abysmal during boss fights. The camera works on console, but this is a PC PORT!
    All in all, this game leaves me constantly fighting through everything other than the actual enemies in game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    3
    This was a big disappointment - clunky controls and technical problems I could handle but the HORRENDOUS user interface port and overallThis was a big disappointment - clunky controls and technical problems I could handle but the HORRENDOUS user interface port and overall shoddy gameplay did it in. I gave it a few good hours of effort but it was too much. Played on Patch 1.2 Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    3
    This new Star Wars game really was just swimming in mediocrity. The developers who made this were clearly pretty lazy not to include mouseThis new Star Wars game really was just swimming in mediocrity. The developers who made this were clearly pretty lazy not to include mouse support for the menu. The game's combat is OK, but it gets very repetitive as you go on. The frame rate usually suffers from drops to 20 fps or lower. The visuals are muddy, but endurable and textures are mediocre. The targeting is nearly impossible, and the story is very linear. How this game manages an okay score is beyond me. The only thing going for this, and how it salvages 3 points is because they had a good concept, and it shows at some points, but Star Wars: The Force Unleashed does no effort to escape its immense mediocrity. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2017
    0
    This is a completely ****ed up game. I give this game a complete ****ing zero rating. And here's why you need to NOT buy this game:

    COMBAT
    This is a completely ****ed up game. I give this game a complete ****ing zero rating. And here's why you need to NOT buy this game:

    COMBAT
    * You're a Jedi warrior. So powerful right? Wrong! In this game ALL your powers are limited to a very short distance. Lightning is limited. Push is limited. You can't pull. Grip takes a lot of time. Your enemies on the other hand are hiding in unreachable areas - for example high up on the roof behind a fence. You can't target them because your camera doesn't turn that way. You can't target them either which is the next problem.

    * Targeting system - The bl**d su**ing Jedi prioritizes the SCRAP METAL parts over all the enemies, the bosses, the henchment, the door lock which is your mission. Out of all these things he selectively picks up the SCRAP METAL for targetting. So your lightning hits the metal while henchmen beat the hell out of you. Push goes to the metal. All your punches, light-saber swings goes to the metal pieces. Meanwhile the boss is beating you, snipers are targetting you from outside the screen, the ground is shaking and ALL your jumps are in the wrong direction.

    CONTROLS + KNOCKED-DOWN:
    Except movement ALL fighting buttons - lightning, grip, push have a 2 second delay. Yes 2 seconds. Not even 1 second delay but a whole 2. Okay so that is about the controls.

    About the fights ALL enemy punches will stop whatever you are doing and Knock you down. So if you just about to shoot Force push (maybe in a milli-second) and an enemy hit you you won't release all that power. Instead you'll fall down on the ground taking a hit.

    Now combine both these points together and the 3rd level onwards, about 90% of the fights in this game will be this. You meet a bunch of enemies. 3 guys knock you down. Your character is out of control. By the time he gets up he has already been hit 4-5 times. The moment you get the controls he gets hit and falls down again. So throughout the fight he endlessly stays down.

    SNIPERS:
    This is the most annoying part of the game. What is greater than a Jedi? According to this game it's a sniper rifle and mini-gun blaster rifles. So lets say you are on teh ground doing your knocked-down routine. You get up, fall down, get up, fall down etc. Suddenly a scope reticule will appear on you. When this happens you nkow that a sniper has aimed at you. And once the sniper does this he can target you THROUGHOUT that area. Yes you read that right. THROUGHOUT! Even behind a WALL! (Patch ***ing 1.2 - which is their latest patch which is after fixing bugs).

    This glitch makes the sniper guy the most powerful creature in the game. And the levels literally have dozens of snipers. So what you need to do in the levels is abandon everything else and first try to kill the sniper. Becauase once the scope reticule has appeared on you then the sniper wont allow you to hit a single unit.

    My workaround for this was to use a cheat trainer that gave me infinite lightning, infinite health etc. And still the game was a major pain in the a**. You fall-down, get up, fall-down, get up and try to look around for where the ***k the sniper is but you can't turn the camera because it's fixed. So you do the **** double jump and spot him - usually on some ledge. You jump + Force lightning = doesnt work. He is targetting the scrap pieces on the ground. Jump + Force Push= doesn't work. Still targetting the ground. You try to climb up but you can't. Max you can do is just keep jumping to spot him.

    THE ONLY COMBAT:
    The only way to fight is to pick up those ****ing scrap pieces and hit people with them. He always gives the highest preference to scrap pieces. So you force grip them and then throw them in a general direction hoping that it will hit the enemy. In most of the times it doesn't hit anyone. So you keep throwing the metal objects at the sniper. You throw once.. knocked-down, get up, knock-down, get up, knock-down, get up... try Twice.. it didn't work again. knocked-down, get up, knocked-down, get up... try Thrice. Still didn't work. Like this yuo need to try about 5-6 times and it will finally hit that ONE sniper. Don't forget there are OTHER snipers too!! Now repeat the whole process with the other sniper.

    BOSSES + HENCHMEN can interrupt Jedi Force Powers:
    While you're doing all these things EVERYONE around you is just beating the crap out of you! If you are using lightning on them then they don't fall down. Instead they will take out their gun and shoot and you get knocked-down again. I mean WTFF! A single blaster shot is enough to get the Jedi on the ground. Meanwhile you throw your light saber at them and they block it. They can block a F***ING LIGHT SABER! Even if you charge your light saber and throw it they can still block it. How is that even possible?

    Nobody dies from a single stroke of light saber. And I'm talking about the least game difficulty - the casual difficult setting. For the most ordinary henchmen you need 4 lightsaber stro
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews