Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    Although in terms of gameplay mechanics The Old Republic closely resembles World of Warcraft, it's not just another MMO. It's a full-blooded RPG that makes your character important from the start and tells stories that are worth following. It also allows you to enjoy them alone if you're not keen on that whole multiplayer thing. There are a lot of unknowns in TOR's future but I keep my fingers crossed for it to be bright. [February 2012, p.50]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    95
    In a perfect world the review of an MMO game should be written a year after its debut, but it is how it is - the gamers want to know what they are getting into as fast as possible. How do I grade this game then? Very highly, because BioWare has developed an excellent game. It has great attention to detail, it's carefully thought out with a great world, good mechanics and a lot of cool little things that change this MMO into something new and uncommon.
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    95
    BioWare have remarkably pulled a rabbit out of the hat with Star Wars: The Old Republic. While they haven't revolutionised MMO gameplay as we know it, they have delivered one of the best looking, most playable and most polished MMOs in history -- in fact, a level of polish you just don't expect from the genre.
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    94
    The Old Republic hasn't raised the bar for MMOs, it completely reinvents the genre entirely.
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    93
    SW:TOR reminded me more of Lord of the Rings Online than World of Warcraft: it's likewise an exquisite MMO that fools you with its pacing, its narration, its rhythm and immersion and you forget that you are playing with thousands of gamers in a server. You have a sense of playing a single-player game like Knights of the Old Republic, with the optional feature of joining other players, rather than a frenetic MMO, where you race to win loot and gain levels.
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    93
    An achievement as an RPG and an MMO, The Old Republic offers something bold and new for gamers. Don't miss out.
  8. Dec 23, 2011
    92
    Huge, colossal and epic. Maybe The Old Republic isn't the most innovative MMORPG out there, but BioWare has constructed a brilliantly assembled videogame. A must-have for genre fans and also for Star Wars enthusiasts.
  9. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    The game has a few flaws here and there, but fewer than most MMOs do at launch and certainly not enough to make the game anything but a highly recommendable MMO title with a significant and enjoyable body of content.
  10. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  11. 90
    Addiction alert! Visiting galaxies far far away may lead to total addiction and loss of real-life interest. [Jan 2012]
  12. Feb 8, 2012
    90
    Best of all, the game is undeniably a BioWare production. The story progression for each class-eight in all-would make a respectable standalone game. Put together in this massive shell, it's a revelation.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    While Bioware might be called out for playing it a bit safe and sticking to an already familiar MMO formula, the game still has plenty to keep both Star Wars and MMO fans engaged. If you're looking for a fleshed-out MMO that isn't as overcrowded as WoW, then this is the game for you.
  14. Feb 1, 2012
    90
    This MMORPG is of excellent quality. It has its flaws indeed, however, none of its key features is poor or faulty. On the contrary: the game is based on things that are working perfectly. An exceptionality of the game is underlined by its "campaign" mode that may easily be a substitute for a classic single player game.
  15. Jan 29, 2012
    90
    An online role-playing game that is unlike anything else you've played in the genre so far. That alone makes it worth checking out, but with some surprisingly balanced player versus player content right out of the gate, and content updates rolling out already, you'd have to be mad to pass this one up.
  16. Jan 27, 2012
    90
    Eight separate Storylines would be extraordinary for every singleplayer-game. Add to that the excellent dialogue and you have some real competition for World of Warcraft. Not bad for an MMO that young.
  17. Jan 17, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, The Old Republic is an extremely addicting game with an amazing story, beautiful music and voice acting, and an engaging and fun gameplay. The bugs and glitches along with the monthly subscription fees might turn off some people to the game, but I still highly recommend it.
  18. Jan 16, 2012
    90
    BioWare lived up to its promises to make story really matter in an MMO context with The Old Republic. Here, your characters are so much more than just avatars with stats.
  19. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  20. 90
    It may carry a lot of the same foundations as other MMOs but BioWare has given the genre something it has desperately needed - actual RPG - and that can only spell good things for us all.
  21. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    If you're sick of WoW but don't mind a game that doesn't fully reinvent the grinding wheel, this is most definitely worth a shot. If you're a KOTOR fan who doesn't care for MMOs but wants to see a continuation of the story, you'll find quite a bit of it here with plenty of references to the original game's plot and characters - but be aware that it's not nearly as easy to play this game solo-only as you might like.
  22. Jan 6, 2012
    90
    A stand-out, wonderfully crafted MMO. The story elements deliver on every front, the vocal performances are excellent, and some genuinely clever innovations have been applied to PvP combat. There's also a massive volume of content to keep you hooked for a long time. But it's important to keep in mind that The Old Republic doesn't stray too far from standard MMO mechanics.
  23. Jan 3, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, it's an MMO worth playing. If you're new to the MMO genre, a fan of Star Wars, or just someone who likes massively multiplayer madness, this one is for you.
  24. Dec 29, 2011
    90
    While not perfect, The Old Republic is probably the most polished MMO on the day of release. EA, LucasArts and Bioware's combined efforts brings us the best of the Star Wars universe and the golden dream of every fan of the saga. Jedi or Sith, this game blasts your brain away.
  25. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    It's finally possible to buy your own speeder and and get that wookie friend you've always dreamed about thanks to Star Wars: The Old Republic. Undoubtedly already one of the best online RPG's ever.
  26. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    The Old Republic is here to stay, and offers epic galactic adventures making the most of the Star Wars universe. Although it doesn't evolve the gameplay of the genre, with a very conservative style, it takes a leap in improving the narrative, successfully achieving to tell a great story. We are eagerly waiting for updates and improvements in the future.
  27. Dec 27, 2011
    90
    If the idea of a Star Wars MMO appeals to you, The Old Republic will be worth the cost of admission.
  28. Dec 27, 2011
    90
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is not an innovative game, pushing forward the concept that World of Warcraft has started all those years ago. However The Old Republic has a ton of content, big open worlds and some fantastic storylines, making it a must have game for all Star Wars fans.
  29. Dec 23, 2011
    90
    The Old Republic focuses heavily on the story which is what makes leveling fun. However once you reach the level cap the game gets far too repetitive too soon.
  30. Jan 18, 2012
    89
    SWTOR: Bioware did it! Their first step into the "World of MMORPGS" is quite well done. Though the graphics in Star Wars: The Old Republic are not up-to-date and the game-mechanics are "business as usual", the game offers so much fun and exquisite entertainment. Especially the Story-Telling is awesome - every quest is told with good voice-actors. Nice Star-Wars-classes, funny PvP-arenas, nice space-opera-missions - definately a MMORPG with a very good start and so much potential for improvement in the further months/years.
  31. Feb 15, 2012
    88
    A mammoth Star Wars epic with unlimited potential. Expect this to age like a fine wine. [March 2012, p.84]
  32. Dec 22, 2011
    88
    If World of Warcraft marked the beginning of a new era for the MMO industry back in 2004, then The Old Republic will no doubt be long remembered as the title that helped bring that era to a close on an astoundingly high note.
  33. Jan 16, 2012
    87
    Every couple of years we get an MMO whose level of hype and expectations are greater than the game could ever aspire to be and the same remains true for Star Wars: The Old Republic. Even so, the game is simply exceptional. If you're a Star Wars fan, a fan of BioWare RPGs, and you don't mind a themepark styled MMO, you will undoubtedly have a great time in the world BioWare has created with Star Wars: The Old Republic. BioWare has successfully fused the foundation of a solid MMO with their industry-leading story telling capabilities to create a final product that convincingly makes the case that as great as many MMOs have been, we've definitely been missing a significant piece of the puzzle for all these years.
  34. Jan 13, 2012
    87
    The heavy emphasis on story-telling, coupled with the great voice acting, solid gameplay (outside of the space-based ship missions), good graphics and stellar sound track makes for an experience you have to try for yourself. If you are a Star Wars fan, an MMOG fan or a fan of past BioWare single-player RPGs, then you need to give this game a try.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2454 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    My experience in this game has been a level 40 something imperial agent and just a myriad of other lower level everything

    Okay, first thing
    we see in the game and this is a major bleh for me. The Character Creation. It is absolutely dreadful. Obviously its not on the level of suckiness that you see in your average F 2 P Korean Grindfest, but not by alot, especially if you've played any Bioware game in the past. There are only 4 body types for men, and they are each varying degrees of awful to meh. Theres Shape 1, which is Justin Beiber (and what is used for "kids") Shape 2 which is your average Bruce Lee build, theres Shape 3 which is Big Mc Large Huge and Shape 4 which is Lord Lard Ass. Shape 4 is absolutely awful, and for Sith Warriors, is the shape of your Master, which, if you look at his Wiki, is not how he should look at all. It makes no sense.The races are...well...everything is just "Human but" Obviously this was done for cutscenes and voices (No wookie would talk like your character) but there are still races like Togruta or Nautolan that would be fine but are not in. Chiss are pretty sweet however. There is no long hair, at best you have hair that goes down to your chin. I guess this is because it would be too graphics intensive? Complexions and Scars aren't so bad, shame you can't stack them. And yes, no sliders still, you choose predetermined faces. For a game where you spend alot of time looking at your character in cutscenes, the amount of corner cutting in CC is disappointing. It should have been one of the top five priorities. The number of unique models in this game, NPC wise is also staggeringly low.

    The graphics were no doubt simplified to accommodate as many systems as possible, like World of Warcraft, I understand that. But if that is the case, why does the game, for me and so many others run like absolute crap?

    It took me about 10 minutes AT LEAST to go from start up to getting my character in play. All my options are on low too. Yet I can play Skyrim and The Witcher 2 on Medium no problem. I understand its an MMO but this is just inexcusable Okay, gameplay. Know World of Warcraft? Good news! You already know how to play 85% of the game! Played KOTOR only? Bad news! Theres nothing from KOTOR in this! Its your standard MMO affair. Tanks, Heals, DPS, Burst Damage, DOT, Taunts, Rotations, ETC. If you're used to MM Os then you're in luck. It does that pretty well, although tanking as my Jedi Guardian has been a fittingly in character practice in patience. You dont get your first taunt until 15, and it has a long cool down. Your robot companion tanks better than you. The gameplay is the same tired WoW gameplay, and the game suffers big time for it.

    The missions are the biggest flaw in this game. Every quest is a variation of "Go here, kill stuff along the way for bonus maybe, kill boss or interact with object" or "Collect 5 blah blah blah" with varying degrees of logic in their drops,.

    All the flavor in the world, which does help a little, doesn't change the fact that is every quest. But maybe that is nit picking. Your choices in quests rarely matter as well.

    Story is this game's real saving grace, and why it goes from "Mediocre MMO" to "has potential." Imperial Agent's story was a freaking blast. But after you finish all the storylines, if you even do that, what next? Endgame in this game is pretty much non existant. one mediocre raid...

    And yes, Bioware continues the proud tradition of Dark Side = Stupid Evil Jerk Ass . I was hoping DS Jedi Knight would mean "Emotional and prideful" but nope, just "AHAHA LOOK HOW EVIL I AM FOR NO REASON"

    One issue isevery faction goes through the same planet order. Your Bounty Hunter and Sith Warrior's planets after the first one will be the exact same, as will the quests, save for your personal quests. This will make replay value for someone like me who can't stand doing the same thing again very difficult. Also this makes the whole "KOTOR 3-11" claim bull crap. Class storylines are only 20% of the game. Everyone shares about 80%

    And one of the best features I would list was removed.. Your armor could be matched to the color of whatever your chest piece was, avoiding clown armor. They removed that... All in all ,the story of this game is pretty decent, and had me hooked for the first 2 weeks. Sadly, the gameplay made it where it was a chore. I was FORCING MYSELF THROUGH GAMEPLAY for the story. Thats unacceptable for an MMO, where gameplay should always be important.

    Maybe this game will improve in the future, but for now, this game is just another WoW clone, in space, with kinda cool cut scenes, and with less content. Cant search the AH, no dual speccing and respecing is EXPENSIVE. There are just so many features you should expect missing. It attempts to be like WoW, without the things that made WoW popular. It just has neat storylines. But that is all it brings to the table.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    3
    I had high hopes for this game and then it came out, IT HAS THE SAME GAMEPLAY AS EVERY OTHER MMORPG OUT THERE!!!!! seriously i know that hotkeys are probably the only way to play an mmo but still they should have found something new. The graphics, OMG THE GRAPHICS are so terrible, rather than making **** graphics so that even the worst pc can run this they should have made this game so graphically demanding that only the highest end pc's could run this! that way there would be no casuals amiright /v/? In the end what you get is your fairly decent mmo but with a star wars skin slapped over it, and a Bioware sticker. Full Review »