Star Wars: The Old Republic PC

Star Wars: The Old Republic Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2721 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personalIn Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    This may be one of the best games I have ever played

    This is my first review, but I feel for the first time in a while, that I want to
    This may be one of the best games I have ever played

    This is my first review, but I feel for the first time in a while, that I want to express how amazing this game is. I have played almost every mmo, I have owned almost every system, and lately I have been feeling really unsatisfied with the value of games. I just bought evolve on the ps4 and that was sort of my last straw. I used to play wow and for a few years and I felt like I got a good value out of that game, which is the bar I compare other mmos too. So let me say that this game is on an entirely different level than wow, it is so much better and more complete. This may be one of the best games I have ever played. If this game was launched as a single player game, I would have bought it. The fact that it is also an mmo, just amplifies the awesomeness. For $15 a month, entertainment does not get much cheaper. Give this game a shot, it has a f2p option and its just too good to miss out on. This game is nothing like your standard mmos, the depth is out of this world. The amount of content available is incredible. You can get lost in almost any aspect of this game: decorating your stronghold, space fighter, pvp, pve, the story, crafting, or just exploring this cool world.

    For the many of us out there that have been looking for a game that is not just great, but actually worth the price of admission. Look no further, this is it.
    Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely exactly what I expected, excelled expectations. The mostly negative reviews I have been reading is the reason why WoWThe game is absolutely exactly what I expected, excelled expectations. The mostly negative reviews I have been reading is the reason why WoW ended up sucking after a few years of whiny players wanting easy buttons. The graphics are nice and pvp is still in the making. I find it challenging and what I wanted instead of some pimple faced kid complaining on the forums and the devleopers caving in is not yet done, and hopefully never will be. This has much room to expand and my guild and I just quite WoW a while again and found this breath of fresh air. To the idiots saying this is a sorry attempt at a dumbed down wow clone, please go back to playing with blizzards genitals as WoW is a completely retarded dumbed down version of Everquest.... Ohh no! over easy dumb raids and gladiator is soo hard! Merc Glad btw. Character creation is simple. Gameplay is great, but with updates it only can get better. Unlike wow in which caved into morons. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story,This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    The game is good till you reach top level, then it dies...the game will be better if it had a Looking For Group feature which it doesn't andThe game is good till you reach top level, then it dies...the game will be better if it had a Looking For Group feature which it doesn't and also I wish it had Dual Spec then I would have given it a 9. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    I am so disappointed in this game. It is exactly like people say, it's the same old MMO. It's a grind, and worse than most because theI am so disappointed in this game. It is exactly like people say, it's the same old MMO. It's a grind, and worse than most because the worlds, although "open", are supremely linear. The replayability is near impossible past level 20 because all of the content is the same. My biggest issue is the lack of permanence in the game. Absolutely nothing I do in the game effects the world in a greater capacity past 10 seconds. So it's basically a single player KOTOR experience with MP added in. I wanted to love this game SO much...I tried, for months...I tried. But it's a freakin grind...and the PVP is so lollypop that it's a mere distraction from the grind. This is a HUGE fail. I gave this game a 5 because I had a lot of fun for the first 15 levels of a few characters...but once you get into the 20s, it's just the same old. Integrate a permanence, a feeling that I'm effecting the greater world, the greater battle, and I'll come back, but until then, I'd rather play BF3, Skyrim, or EVE. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    3
    Not usually a SW fan a friend convinced me to level with him and so I agreed to trial and tried to like it for his sake. This did not happenNot usually a SW fan a friend convinced me to level with him and so I agreed to trial and tried to like it for his sake. This did not happen however. What I ended up getting was a poorly disguised WoW clone with little to no innovation for the genre and a few steps back. It is also a very ugly game and the textures and model work would not look out of place in a game of several years ago. Race choices are the same human shape with one special head feature/colour. Want to play as an interesting race? Too bad! Firstly, the acclaimed quest dialogue. After a brief cutscene and a chat with someone I promptly forgot, where I had to choose an option that had zero effect other than the next line of flavour text, I was sent into the MMO standard Kill X amount of Y because I said so quest. Then it happened again. And again. "Within minutes of starting the game you're doing things you wouldn't expect to be doing in other MMOs" is an outright lie. No, you're not. It's boring like every other MMO. On the first planet this is OK, it's initially pretty cool to have all this dialogue and OK to have a slow start. Midway through the second planet though, when things didn't pick up, the poorly written story, reused lines and the occasional voice actor change mid-dialogue grated on me so much I spent the entire rest of my time pressing space bar to skip through all of it, pausing only to select the comedy option or the ones that give me light/dark side points because otherwise conversation has little to no effect (indeed I can only remember one instance of a choice having any effect outside of the same conversation and no quests having any lasting effect) which makes me question why the dialogue wheel is even there, it could easily be replaced by an â Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2015
    0
    Content great, stories are fantastic, but do not trust this company with your money. I have played many games, but never have I felt this downContent great, stories are fantastic, but do not trust this company with your money. I have played many games, but never have I felt this down trodden as a customer paying wages of people who care nothing. Customer care none existing. Huge patch issues, can take ages to patch, patching can burn through huge amounts of allowance, and when you file a ticket, you will be ignored. The company knows about problems, but does not fix them - a true shame, this game could be outstanding, but with a company in charge which treats their customers like dirt, it is not a place to carry one's wallet to. Expand

See all 1438 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.