Star Wars: The Old Republic PC

Star Wars: The Old Republic Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2667 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personalIn Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: LucasArts, BioWare
  • Genre(s): Sci-Fi, Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Sci-Fi
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Inquisitor vs. Trooper - Star Wars: The Old Republic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    To put it simply, the game is just superb. Everything is working properly and carried out well. The stories of each class grip you firmly asTo put it simply, the game is just superb. Everything is working properly and carried out well. The stories of each class grip you firmly as they take you in to the world of star wars. Plenty of endgame material too so no need to worry about that. Really had (and still having) a blast playing this game! Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely exactly what I expected, excelled expectations. The mostly negative reviews I have been reading is the reason why WoWThe game is absolutely exactly what I expected, excelled expectations. The mostly negative reviews I have been reading is the reason why WoW ended up sucking after a few years of whiny players wanting easy buttons. The graphics are nice and pvp is still in the making. I find it challenging and what I wanted instead of some pimple faced kid complaining on the forums and the devleopers caving in is not yet done, and hopefully never will be. This has much room to expand and my guild and I just quite WoW a while again and found this breath of fresh air. To the idiots saying this is a sorry attempt at a dumbed down wow clone, please go back to playing with blizzards genitals as WoW is a completely retarded dumbed down version of Everquest.... Ohh no! over easy dumb raids and gladiator is soo hard! Merc Glad btw. Character creation is simple. Gameplay is great, but with updates it only can get better. Unlike wow in which caved into morons. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story,This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    Positives: SW:TOR is a fine MMO offering that had a smooth launch but inadequate endgame, which is about as much as you can hope for from aPositives: SW:TOR is a fine MMO offering that had a smooth launch but inadequate endgame, which is about as much as you can hope for from a modern MMO.

    Negatives: Some of the class design choices went too far trying to differentiate from accepted 'trinity' ability distribution (a stealth healer with DPS? kind of OP. A pure Tank class that doesn't have effective mob gathering skills? Not a good idea.) The story is very well done, but becomes tedious on subsequent play through. After reading some of the reviews here and on Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, I think I will be avoiding 'User reviews' on Metacritic from here on. The hyperbole of the reviews and the flimsy justifications for the extreme positions are not entertaining nor a good guide to whether or not anyone should purchase a game, which I think should be the most useful thing about them.

    I justify a score of 7 because I was thoroughly entertained for my first play through and I am regularly raiding with my guild. I would highly recommend a guild for grouping and endgames. As with every MMO ever, pug tanks will make you want to perform seppuku.

    A zero through three should only be given to a thoroughly broken game, not because the game designers made a perfectly acceptable design decision that you didn't like. A ten should only be given to a game that cures terminally ill children and creates a bridge to Valhalla.
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    5
    Mass Effect meets MMO meets Star Wars. And while this sounds like it almost HAS to be a 10, it's not. Not by a long shot.

    The MMO part is
    Mass Effect meets MMO meets Star Wars. And while this sounds like it almost HAS to be a 10, it's not. Not by a long shot.

    The MMO part is old. There is simply nothing new, everything has been here before in MMO land. It's the same point-and-click interface that we've known since the days of Everquest and that was already stale in WoW. The only "new" part is that the boring stuff (like selling craploot) is dumped on your sidekick. Yes, every class is a pet class and everyone got a sidekick. Which sounds great, hey, while I go and play the game, I send the drone to do some boring menial work. Nu-uh. Imagine Warlock without blue blob. That's how efficient you are without your sidekick. So, in a nutshell, what it means is that everyone is a pet class. And the whole "genuinely new concept" ends right there.

    Then, the Mass Effect part. A metric ton of dialogues, a storyline with a detail level that is unparalleled in the MMO world... which is nice until you do some group quest for the n-th time and still have some guy in your group that doesn't skip the cutscenes that you can by that time recite verbatim because you have heard them n-1 times. And who doesn't know that choosing the "wrong" answer leads to even more and even longer dialogues.

    Then there's that idea, just like in Mass Effect, that you may forge your character's path with his answers to dialogues, join the "light" or "dark" side, make friends or enemies... which is really exciting until level 10 when you get your first sidekick and notice that your answers affect your sidekick's opinion about you. And his opinion in turn affects his efficiency. And the difficulty of the game is geared to having a more or less "loyal" sidekick. So can the idea to "choose your own path", you better choose the path your sidekicks want you to. The idea that you can choose your character's "light or dark" path falls flat on the face here.

    Oh, to be fair, you can "buy" their love with gifts. If you can afford them. I foresee a nice source of income for goldsellers in the days to come.

    So what's left when you strip the new game smell is a standard MMO without too much that makes it stick out from the crowd, neither negatively or positively. It's a solid MMO, mostly balanced (for PvE at least), with mostly working quests and a lack of serious endgame content, just as you would expect from an MMO that's fresh on the market. If you like Star Wars or if you liked the story elements of Mass Effect and like MMOs, you should give it a spin, if you're just looking for a new and fresh MMO with new elements that aren't staler than a week old loaf of bread, look elsewhere.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    3
    This game had a lot of potential but unfortunately it was released early and many key features were not thoroughly tested. Cheating in thisThis game had a lot of potential but unfortunately it was released early and many key features were not thoroughly tested. Cheating in this game is rampant and customer is some of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of witnessing. I have repeatedly reported credit farmers for a week straight several times and day and nothing was ever done. These people were allowed to operate with impunity and when I attempted to interfere with their credit farming I was the one who ended up suspended. The lag is terrible in this game and the pvp is a borefest. I have seen finger painters create more interesting art than what is found in this game. All in all I am very disappointed with this game and its abject failures in all the important areas needed for a successful MMO. Expand
  7. May 11, 2017
    0
    Well what can i say BIOWARE and EA ? WORST combination EVER!! the game clearly wants to take your wallet and empty it like you didn't evenWell what can i say BIOWARE and EA ? WORST combination EVER!! the game clearly wants to take your wallet and empty it like you didn't even work for that money, the game always FORCES you to subscribe(no pun intended) and pay a **** of money i mean you can't even send mails, F***ing MAILS which is something ESSENTIAL to exist in a MMO game but NO you have to pay even for the mail, event items are useless you have to pay for FREE ITEMS too, CLEARLY YOU CAN'T ENJOY THE GAME UNLESS YOU ARE A BILLIONAIRE. Expand

See all 1346 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.