Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2491 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Truly amazing. An online gaming experience that can be played as a group experience or as an individual self contained story. Bioware rewards subscribers, but the core experience remains even for free to play players. The star here is the individual well written and rewarding stories for each playable class. There are interesting and not-too repetitive (it's an mmo, repetition is part of the genre) missions. Further, players are rewarded for interacting with other players and for exploration. Any problems are minor. The only true frustration is how difficult the optional datacrons can be to obtain. In earnest, this is the best MMO I've ever attempted. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    First off, I've been playing MMO's for a LONG time, I've spent more time in WOW and EQ2 then I'd like to admit. This game hands down trumps them all, polished combat system , graphics and Dragon Age style voice over quests keep you consumed in the games lore. The fact that each character class has its own deep story from level 1 to 50 gives the game PLENTY of playtime until an expansion or add on comes out, and that's not including the competition driven PVP!! The game has some bugs but need I remind of the plagues that infested WoW vanilla and tbc?? The game's interface and play style are similar to WoW which makes it easy for Azeroth vets like myself to dive head first into the game without issues. I don't consider myself a "Star Wars fan" but this game has captured my attention like no other has in the past. Same could be said for my entire 80+ person WoW guild, 3/4 of the guild is now faithfully playing SWTOR and has permanently cancelled their WoW subscriptions!! Well done Bioware! Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    This game is a solid MMO and if you enjoy MMOs and Star Wars you'll be fine. The voice acting is great and the story lines are very enjoyable. However, that's about as far as this game goes in terms of giving you something new and refreshing. The voice acted story lines still give you quests that you've been doing for the last 10 years in MMOs. Go kill, go gather, go destroy structure, go retrieve/place/find item, go talk to/locate/rescue person. As you progress further into the game and the story comes up less and less you're left with any other MMO on the market. Throw in some early launch bugs and a lot of load screens (traveling especially will require you to load from screen to screen to screen) and it's easy to lose interest. I give this rating an extra point for the smooth launch, placing it at a 7 overall and 6 in terms of being an "innovated MMO experience." Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    The experience is polished. However, that experience is the same type of grind-heavy content we've seen in every MMO since 2004. PvP is tacked on, companion-focused PvE is a chore, crafting is tacked-on and useless as well. The stories range from OK to awful with no feeling of impact on the game or your character. Choices in the story feel more like selecting a quest reward in WoW than they do like a compelling story choice from Bioware's other games. All that being said, now that it's going F2P it's worth a free download if you are a Star Wars and Bioware fan - but don't expect to stick around long after you finish your story - if you can stomach it that long. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    3
    I wanted to like this game. I really, really did. But in the end, instead of a true successor to the excellent Knights of the Old Republic series, I got a Star Wars game with medicore graphics, sluggish, repetitive gameplay, and hours upon hours of voice acting delivered by one of the most lukewarm casts of actors I've ever had the displeasure to be trapped in a digital room with.

    To say that it is a WoW clone is a bit too derisive, but not all that far from the mark. For a game and IP with such potential, it is immensely disappointing to see a product that has taken absolutely no risks, has little innovation to speak of, and somehow manages to let down expectations at practically every turn. SWTOR brings absolutely nothing to the table that has not been done before, and better, by previous MMOs or single-player RPGs.

    In regards to story and dialogue which have, in the past, been a golden seal of Bioware craftsmanship, SWTOR is the perfect example of how far this previously illustrious developer has fallen. Excessive instancing, badly coimpressed sound files, and flat-out fanfiction-quality writing mar nearly every conversation from sidequest to "epic" class story.

    The worst part of it all, perhaps, is that it falls to the individual users to make these criticisms, while "official" reviewers are buried in threats of boycott from EA and out-and-out bribery for a high score. Not to mention the multiple, and documented, cases of Bioware employees posting their own reviews as supposedly impartial and unaffiliated users on these forums.

    In short, a perfect microcosm of so many of the problems that plague the modern gaming industry. A disappointment for Star Wars fans and MMO players alike, please do yourself a favor and don't be taken in by the hype. Spend your time playing other, better RPGs, and lament the loss of the KotOR 3 that could have been.
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    Summary... OK as an MMO. Diabolical support from staff that don't care. I pre ordered Collectors edition to support the game and still had to beg on twitter to get early access(that was advertised). Now everyone can get the "exclusive" in game items for £3. DO NOT BUY CARTEL COIN CURRENCY. I bought some cartel coins to support the game thinking I would not be shafted twice but I was wrong. Broken item was not refunded as expected and so I cancelled subscription. They just don't want my money and ignored me until my subscription expired. Currently unable to talk to them so will have to pay £8 for 30 days of being ignored or just go directly to my bank for refund. DO NOT SPEND ANY MONEY ON THIS GAME. I'm bitter so I will go around review sites repeating do not buy into the Free-To-Play model that destroyed a semi decent MMO. Expand

See all 1382 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.