Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2501 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    I have played various of MMO games and to be honest this game just blew my mind. It offers 8 different character stories were you get to pick decisions very like the original games instead your character actually has a voice. The combat is still fun even if it's on the same engine as star trek online (which is also good). I guess people don't like this game because of Reven being in the game or they think that it's another wanna be world of Warcraft which in my opinion became a pile of crap. In all the game is enjoyable for any star wars fan especially those who played the original knights of the old republic games. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This is the first time I've done a review, and I'm doing it to encourage you to try this game out. I've been gaming since PC's were invented and I've never played a game like SWTOR. Graphically it's outstanding. Gameplay is outstanding. The writing is universally great and it works whether you play as a solo type or a person that likes grouping. Space combat is flying "along a rail" and fun, the crafting options are really extensive and by letting your companions do the work, lots of fun. Speaking of companions, they make the game in my opinion. You get at lvl 10 your own little team, and frankly the companion AI is as good as most players. Definitely on my top 10 list of all time. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    The thing that defines and separates The Old Republic is story. The whole game is wrapped around it both for good and ill. If you like RPG's then you will likely enjoy TOR because at its heart that is what it is. It borrows its format from other Bioware games where your choices shape the game for you at least to a point. The stories in most cases are enjoyable however there are some themes on the Imperial side that become trite. Primarily the Empire in many cases comes off as completely incompetent. I believe that this was done in an attempt to make the player feel heroic. The game play follows the successful model of WoW. Some people criticise this but I find it handy. This game doesn't have a steep learning curve because its play style is already familiar. You can jump in and enjoy the story and the game play right away. Sometimes the game play lacks challenge. However I beleive that is because due to the large number of quest on each planet. If you do all the quest on a planet you will out level the next planets quest. Throw in exp for falshpoints, or pvp or space combat and you can make the game very simple. if you out level the game try doing heroics solo and you will find some challenges. The crafting system is very similar to wow but does have a nice wrinkle to it with the ability to reverse engineer items in order to get better schematics. it offers a little more than WoW in crafting but doesn't become burdensome. The companion system has its ups and downs. While companions stories become interesting you constantly have to be concerned with your faction with them. Some of the companions abilites mesh better with certain class choices. Also your morality choices can please or displease your companion. If your making them happy its all gravy. if your not making them happy you sometimes feel a little animosity towards them. The games reliance on story while its biggest strength does have a few issues. It makes the game very linear. You are pushed along a certain path. You can deviate a bit but largely there is one way to go. So there is less freedom in this game during leveling. However this is something most MMO's suffer from. The gear system is very familiar as it borrows greatly from wow. There are a large amount of armors in the game and the modification system allows for players to customize their gear and if they care to put in the time they can maintain a certain look. The system was far more robust in beta but regrettably they have dumbed it down. Still you do have a lot more options to customize your appearance. They are reportedly coming out with a more robust system for altering the color of gear. They have abandoned their "fit to chest" option for this system. It is a little disappointing but if they come through with their promise then it will be worth it. One criticism I have is that the game revolves around story which is a huge draw for roleplayers. Yet many roleplaying tools are sadly missing from the game. You cannot sit in chairs, many emotes do not have animations and such. I am hoping that this will be addressed. All and all I think the game has a lot of [promise. However there are many things still missing. To be fare it is unreasonable to assume that a new game will have all the features of games that have had years to establish themselves. I have give the game a 7 because while I find it enjoyable I think Bioware has a lot of work to do for the game to reach its potential. I am willing to give them that time. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    I levelled a jedi sage (healer lvl 34) and a Vanguard (tank lvl 30ish) and honestly felt disappointed.
    The novelty of full voice acted quest
    givers wears off fast. There are no choices in quests and you're soon left with the usual kill x of y.
    Story quests are shallows too. No twists and unlikely characters. As far the game goes it's the usual holy trinity system. Been there, done that. My playing experience was hindered by the lack of a LFG tool, now implemented, that basically meant having to suffer ungodly pain to form a group. My advice is pass on the one unless you're a die hard star wars fan. In that case the settings might be enough to keep you entertained
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    3
    Yes, this game is more innovative compared to FPS. Mr. Ohlen is the biggest joke in the entire game development industry. The game is built around amateurish 3D engine for hobbyists. Frankly, if it succeeds that tells a lot about modern day gamers and how can they be easy duped into buying vaporware. Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    Summary... OK as an MMO. Diabolical support from staff that don't care. I pre ordered Collectors edition to support the game and still had to beg on twitter to get early access(that was advertised). Now everyone can get the "exclusive" in game items for £3. DO NOT BUY CARTEL COIN CURRENCY. I bought some cartel coins to support the game thinking I would not be shafted twice but I was wrong. Broken item was not refunded as expected and so I cancelled subscription. They just don't want my money and ignored me until my subscription expired. Currently unable to talk to them so will have to pay £8 for 30 days of being ignored or just go directly to my bank for refund. DO NOT SPEND ANY MONEY ON THIS GAME. I'm bitter so I will go around review sites repeating do not buy into the Free-To-Play model that destroyed a semi decent MMO. Expand

See all 1387 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.