Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personalIn Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Excellent MMO game. Enjoyable endgame, the new Space Combat is very fun, and the storylines are very well written.. Character customizationExcellent MMO game. Enjoyable endgame, the new Space Combat is very fun, and the storylines are very well written.. Character customization could admittedly be better, and the restrictions for Free-to-Play members can be rough. But, if you enjoy Star Wars, endgame Raiding, space combat, or games with a story, you won't regret spending time with SWTOR. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game has easily the best levelling experience in any mmo I've ever played. Maybe, for people with 12 hours a day to play, they'll growThis game has easily the best levelling experience in any mmo I've ever played. Maybe, for people with 12 hours a day to play, they'll grow bored once they blast through. But, for someone with a job who plays one or two hours a day, I'm nowhere close to running out of content, and am never bored as the story I love in regular RPGs is in this game rather than constantly killing 12 boars for some jerk I'll never meet again. Perhaps a bit linear- in fairness most RPGs are linear, and stories tend to be linear.

    If you like having a huge world where you can just do anything (like kill 12 boars in a snowy place, or in a forest, or in the sea for some reason) you'll love GW2 instead which is free roaming mediocrity. I expected this game to be a mostly single player story with the option to multi play- and got exactly what I wanted.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story,This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    7
    SW The Old Republic is quite the achievement for the newcomer into MMO's (BioWare/EA). It's essentially WoW with lightsabers. But for everySW The Old Republic is quite the achievement for the newcomer into MMO's (BioWare/EA). It's essentially WoW with lightsabers. But for every great achievement found in this game, there seems to be a drawback. The leveling process is fairly well done (not too hard, not too easy) and the space missions are a great change of pace while questing. However, it's like BioWare took much of what made WoW great but left a lot of the nuances that allowed the MMO giant to streamline group play and get people into special dungeons/instances (called Flashpoints in TOR). The voice acting is a nice touch and cutscenes are a welcomed element, giving more attention to things like the story that you play through depending on your class chosen. Then there's the light side/dark side choices you can make, which may lend a lot of replayability to TOR. But still, that's if you get hooked enough to continue on. After leveling a 50 and a couple alternative classes AND doing all the latest & greatest in Operations (raids) and Warzones (battlegrounds/PvP) often, TOR has steadily become less and less glamorous. The point that took me years to hit with World of Warcraft has only taken me roughly 4 months to hit in TOR. And while it's been a good investment, I feel this game will only be a flash in the pan for the mass majority. I'd be more interested to play Guild Wars 2, TERA, or the upcoming Elder Scrolls Online at this point to experience the MMO genre. But all that to say that SWTOR is good, it's just not the great competitor to WoW that everyone hyped it to be. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    5
    i played for a month but i dont know what to think about this game, it was fun from the start, but i find it hard getting into the game andi played for a month but i dont know what to think about this game, it was fun from the start, but i find it hard getting into the game and play it. It feels like a torture to level up, but afterall it was a good MMO which some people prefer over other games and i respect that. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    3
    Got to level 35 and I am done. It is just not very fun. The best part is the voice acting and the atmosphere because I love star wars. I doGot to level 35 and I am done. It is just not very fun. The best part is the voice acting and the atmosphere because I love star wars. I do not like the cartoony looks of the game, didn't think it would annoy me but it sure does. The combat is not fun at all. The world doesn't feel like a large populated world. I wasn't even a kotor 3 supporter and now I wish they would have made that instead. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2015
    0
    I quit this game because of the Cartel market. It killed crafting and basically made the game pay to win. Yea it puts more money in theI quit this game because of the Cartel market. It killed crafting and basically made the game pay to win. Yea it puts more money in the coffers of EA and Bioware, but at what costs. It waters down the came removing the essential elements of crafting from the MMO. Basically the Cartel Market IS the defacto crafters. They provide everything from Armor, Weapons, Mounts, Color Crystals, Pets, Furnishings, and Ships. There's nothing left for crafters to craft except a few meaningless trinkets and Augments and MK kits. If you are a MMO fan I suggest you look elsewhere. The only thing this game has going for it is the Star Wars name. Expand

See all 1408 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.