User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2781 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OwenM
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    Amazing game. Lengthy campaign with plenty of replay value in trying to get all the achievements, amazingly addictive multiplayer, and potentially infinite mods changing the game in every way possible. This has more value than almost any other new game release.
  2. BrianB
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest RTS games I have ever played is in my hands and installed on my computer. I have the original Starcraft and Brood War and those games have nothing compared to Starcraft 2. STORY: Everybody complains about no Protoss and Zerg campaigns in Wings of Liberty but there is no need . 26 missions (plus a bonus mission that I played) makes up for a long single player and really One of the greatest RTS games I have ever played is in my hands and installed on my computer. I have the original Starcraft and Brood War and those games have nothing compared to Starcraft 2. STORY: Everybody complains about no Protoss and Zerg campaigns in Wings of Liberty but there is no need . 26 missions (plus a bonus mission that I played) makes up for a long single player and really engaging story. The story was awesome. You do get to play some Protoss missions but overall the story is so engaging it is hard to stop playing and go get some sleep! SOUND: Sound is amazing! The original Starcraft nostalgia is there with some of the music being remixed to the newer setting. Even the units pretty much sound the same if not better. Great Sound. Graphics: One of the best for an RTS game. Do expect to play this game on some integrated graphics at decent frame rates with more than a couple of dozen of units. Some level are just plain beautiful and worthy of high praise. Blizzard has done a quality job in the graphics department. GAMEPLAY: A lot of people are saying this game is a rehash of the original but they are so wrong and I don't even think they played it. Now remember those cliffs that helped create a natural defense that would only be conquered by air units, well now some units like the Terren Reaper can fly up those cliffs with ease. This changes the gameplay up a bit and it is refreshing . But it does have the same Starcraft feel and isn't hat supposed to be what we all wanted in the first place? Why change the formula up when it has been proven to work? New units replace some of the old units from Starcraft and Brood War and to say I like these better than the old units.Multiplayer is such a blast and even better than the original. Too bad for no LAN support but I won't miss it. I don't live in South Korea anymore playing in the PC game rooms that is better with LAN. Most people won't miss it and the same goes for me. If your a fan of the original Starcraft then you gotta get this one. All others some play and see for yourself. I wouldn't really judge this game by what other people are saying, especially all the negative ones that give this game a 0 or a 1 because I feel they wanted features they wanted and since it doesn't include it they bash the game. You can't review what is not there. Best just to go out there and try it! Find someone who has it and ask if you can get their guest pass that was included with the game and see for yourself. You won't regret it! Expand
  3. DanD
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game balance. The new units add a lot of new strategies as do new mechanics such as destructible rocks, xel'naga watch towers and the addition of a second gas node at every base. As a die hard fan of SC:BW I went into this game with very high This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game balance. The new units add a lot of new strategies as do new mechanics such as destructible rocks, xel'naga watch towers and the addition of a second gas node at every base. As a die hard fan of SC:BW I went into this game with very high expectations and I can tell you that it lived up to every bit of it. The campaign, im sure is fun if youre into that sort of thing, I myself went straight for the multiplayer, which is excellent with the brand new ladder system. Gone are the days where you play against people significantly below or beyond you in terms of skill . My only complaint is the lack of clan support which the original enjoyed. I think it'd be great if people could make clans to make it easier to connect with other skilled people for team matches, such as 3v3s and 4v4s. All in all, if you even sort of enjoyed BW you will love SC2. Stop reading this and buy it now. Expand
  4. JeancarloG
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    After 12 years of waiting it is finally here. Having just started playing the campaing and already a beta vet, i can say that this game delivers on all its promises and even adding some surprises. So, fan or not, totally check this game out.
  5. JasonK
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Also, the menu setup is beautiful. It's different than any other Blizzard game, which is slightly disappointing, but it is beautiful.
  6. DanielH
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    I played the beta for months, and just finished the single player storyline after about two weeks of play. It's the most balanced RTS I've ever played, and the graphics, gameplay, and storytelling are top-notch. Best game of the year so far.
  7. PierreN
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    A worthy successor to Starcraft 1. The length of singleplayer is almost the same, and longer with the amount of extra missions. Multiplayer is more accessible to both hardcore and casual players, and allows more tactical gameplay. A must-try for both RTS fans and other gamers.
  8. AlvaroV
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Direct to the point. The gameplay is great (single and multiplayer), you can make your own maps, you can play alone, simple and intuitive interface, very good performance for any actual machine configuration. I gave 10 because there is no weak point on the game.
  9. ZenM
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    It was a long time coming, but for fans of Blizz and SC I think this is just what we asked for. Only downside is that Battle.net isn't all it could be. No chat, no real support for tournaments, etc. Hopefully that will change in time. Thanks to the amazing beta the game is well-balanced for multiplayer even at lunch, and the campaign is well done. I'm looking forward to seeing It was a long time coming, but for fans of Blizz and SC I think this is just what we asked for. Only downside is that Battle.net isn't all it could be. No chat, no real support for tournaments, etc. Hopefully that will change in time. Thanks to the amazing beta the game is well-balanced for multiplayer even at lunch, and the campaign is well done. I'm looking forward to seeing how the story goes. Expand
  10. PacManP
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Turns out the 12 year wait WAS worth it. SC2 is immediately familiar to old school fans and yet still up to date with the visuals and improvements to the RTS genre that have occurred since the last Starcraft was released. The addition of the RPG elements only enhances the experience.
  11. AlanG
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Epic. Like other reviewers have said this game lives up to the unusually high expectations, and exceeds them in many areas. Look forward to frequent support and patches from Blizzard, as well as loads of new content, both official and from the fan community.
  12. JzM
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    The single-player takes a long time to start swinging but the instant-on multiplayer action more than makes up for it. Not quite at the level of the original yet, but tactics are constantly evolving and with the base provided it's pretty hard to see this game as anything other than pure awesome.
  13. SaikoM
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    A game that has (currently) a 96 critic rating and an 86 user rating? It's sad that people will just vote the game a 0 if: 1) Their computers can't handle it (looking at you, Gary K); 2) They don't know how to get around real ID; 3) They think the single player is short or they're getting shafted because it's only the terran campaign. I'm not a fanboy but A game that has (currently) a 96 critic rating and an 86 user rating? It's sad that people will just vote the game a 0 if: 1) Their computers can't handle it (looking at you, Gary K); 2) They don't know how to get around real ID; 3) They think the single player is short or they're getting shafted because it's only the terran campaign. I'm not a fanboy but I'm going to sound like one, other than TF2 I don't think there is any game on the market that has as much replayability and 'bang for the buck' as this. The single player alone will take you 20 something hours if you have to retry a couple of missions, the multiplayer sets you up with people of your level after the 5 placement maches, and if you're an achievement whore, you'll literally be playing the game at least a year before you get all of them. 10/10 easily, game of the year Expand
  14. MichaelB
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Incredibly fun, in every aspect. Matchmaking in multiplayer keeps those of use in the mid-range skill level from being stomped too often, and from being bored to tears fighting opponents with no chance of competing. I can't begin to applaud the single player campaigns as well as they deserve. One of those games that really makes you sit back and wonder, "Why is this just now being Incredibly fun, in every aspect. Matchmaking in multiplayer keeps those of use in the mid-range skill level from being stomped too often, and from being bored to tears fighting opponents with no chance of competing. I can't begin to applaud the single player campaigns as well as they deserve. One of those games that really makes you sit back and wonder, "Why is this just now being included in these games?" The campaign truly lets you play your way, upgrading your units and building to customize the things you personally choose to use most often. I'd give it an 11 if I could, I strongly advise anyone who likes RTS games or has wanted to try one to play this game. Expand
  15. JordanB
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Back in 1998, I was playing Warcraft II before Starcraft came along. Starcraft really swept me off my feet. The story had a surprising level of depth. The game play was addictive, both online and off. The graphics were quite good. This game had everything going for it, and I wanted more, even after the Broodwar expansion. Twelve years later, Blizzard delivers. The story is somewhat Back in 1998, I was playing Warcraft II before Starcraft came along. Starcraft really swept me off my feet. The story had a surprising level of depth. The game play was addictive, both online and off. The graphics were quite good. This game had everything going for it, and I wanted more, even after the Broodwar expansion. Twelve years later, Blizzard delivers. The story is somewhat predictable at times, but the ride is enjoyable regardless. All the units, even the new ones, feel somewhat familiar (a pro and a con). The game runs on a ton of different computer specs., but it's important to check to see if you meet them before purchasing. The graphics are superb, and the cut scenes, in game and pre-rendered, pull you into the universe. The multiplayer is challenging, yet fun. There is no LAN support, sadly; I know many friends that refused to by it because of this. The campaign focuses primarily on the Terrans. The Zerg and Protoss campaigns will release in separate expansions later on. This may be a con for some people. If you like Starcraft, you Expand
  16. BrettK
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    I remember when I first played Starcraft, and how I was absolutely addicted to it, and I think this is the first sequel that I've played that has actually matched the original experience. It actually made me feel like a kid again, especially when I realized it was 10 at night and I hadn't eaten supper yet.
  17. CoryL
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Awesome game indeed. Well worth waiting for, and I love the graphics. Gary K, you must be quite the character to give a game a 0 for not having a good enough computer to run it. You say the balancing is way off... I have to congratulate you. You must be one of the smartest men alive to by a few moments of playing the game, you can tell it's unbalanced, and that the team of Awesome game indeed. Well worth waiting for, and I love the graphics. Gary K, you must be quite the character to give a game a 0 for not having a good enough computer to run it. You say the balancing is way off... I have to congratulate you. You must be one of the smartest men alive to by a few moments of playing the game, you can tell it's unbalanced, and that the team of intelligent, dedicated people balancing this game in every aspect for several years are all wrong. I suggest you sign up for a job at Blizzard. Expand
  18. JimmyP
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    The people giving low scores to this game know nothing about gaming. This is STARCRAFT "2" - why would you expect anything like company of heroes? Starcraft was and is the most successful RTS franchise in the history of gaming and rightly so. Why would they try to change and innovate the game play? This is the perfect sequel. It is the first starcraft with a vastly improved game engine, The people giving low scores to this game know nothing about gaming. This is STARCRAFT "2" - why would you expect anything like company of heroes? Starcraft was and is the most successful RTS franchise in the history of gaming and rightly so. Why would they try to change and innovate the game play? This is the perfect sequel. It is the first starcraft with a vastly improved game engine, battle.net, and the addition of a number of cool units and features - which is exactly what a sequel should be. WHY would they change one of the most successful games in the history of computer gaming? So many games have been ruined with lousy "innovative" sequels. If you're looking for innovative, buy a new, innovative game - not a sequel. There are plenty out there. If you're looking for another 5-10 years of fun and insane multiplayer on battlenet - buy SC2. Blizzard does everything right, this is just another example. Although, not including all 3 campaigns in an expensive game is definitely a little ridiculous. If your framerate drops while playing this game, you need new hardware. It is far from hardware intensive. If you think your FPS drops playing SC2 - try a new FPS. Expand
  19. MarkC
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    This version of Starcraft has got so much more to it than the original ever had. For one updated graphics that look -amazing- when on Ultra high. The battle.net system is better than ever apart from the lack of chat rooms. If you're a newbie like I was you'll find that the matchmaking system is perfect for newbies and veterans alike. You'll always have a close battle unless This version of Starcraft has got so much more to it than the original ever had. For one updated graphics that look -amazing- when on Ultra high. The battle.net system is better than ever apart from the lack of chat rooms. If you're a newbie like I was you'll find that the matchmaking system is perfect for newbies and veterans alike. You'll always have a close battle unless it's your very first game etc. The storyline in the campaign is very deep, and while some idiot reviewers complain we have to pay for two expansions just to see the Protoss/Zerg storylines they forget to mention that we have 26 missions in SC2 for Terran and probably will be the same for the Zerg/Protoss Expansions. Whereas SC1 did let you do all three race's storys in one game, they each only had 10 missions a part. I'd prefer 90 missions apart 3 games than 30 missions in one. Don't be swayed by all the reviewers here bashing it when you see them bring up Bobby Kotick or Activision. They have nothing to do with Blizzard's games. Read all the truly positive reviews and enjoy this game for what it is. It's an amazing RTS with a great story mode, badass graphics, and a never ending fun online experience. And contrary to some reviewer's beliefs, the critics who gave this a high rating aren't being paid. They just know a good game when they see one which is rare these days since everything else is crap. Also yes it does cost $60, but that's expected and fine. Games stayed at $50 for the past 15 years while people were paid more so in reality it's the same price it always has been. Expand
  20. joeyg
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    Starcraft II has certainly been long overdue, but the immense waiting has really paid off. Blizzard have another jewel to add to their crown, and it
  21. Loriftw
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    The wait was worth it. StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty delivers on all fronts with unique singleplayer missions, a gripping story for the campaign and excellent multiplayer. Prepare yourself for the definitive RTS of the decade. StarCraft II is the new standard and will cast a shadow over all RTS titles that follow for quite some time.
  22. CaleS.
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    I love RTS games it's my favorite genera and I've played them all. So when StarCraft 2 was finally announced to be released a year ago I was skeptical. After playing it and beating the single player campaign I can say that it is the single greatest RTS i've ever played. No other RTS has ever had this good a story and presented it in such a polished form.
  23. BenH
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    Well its still starcraft but expertly polished, upgraded and an amazing game. The weighting between the races is perfect (If you know how to use them) This game will put RTS gaming back on the map. What i find sad is that Absolute Games basically rated this low as they believe the Genre is no longer current. What the hell, reviewers like that should not even be allowed to review on a site Well its still starcraft but expertly polished, upgraded and an amazing game. The weighting between the races is perfect (If you know how to use them) This game will put RTS gaming back on the map. What i find sad is that Absolute Games basically rated this low as they believe the Genre is no longer current. What the hell, reviewers like that should not even be allowed to review on a site like this. Their reviews are consistently way off the mark. Expand
  24. ChrisB
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    Epic game, love it so far. Finished the campaign on hard, will go for a second ride on brutal. The multiplayer will keep me occupied for the coming months/years - finally I have a truly competitive game, which doesnt seem to have a skill ceiling.
  25. MBand
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    Excellent game, the campaign is stunning in both the way it looks but also the innovation. Gone are the days of an RTS campaign being 'Destroy the enemy bases', with the bases simply getting more varied and numerous as the campaign goes on. Starcraft 2 changes this by giving the player optional objectives, time based missions and a whole host of other things to do that really Excellent game, the campaign is stunning in both the way it looks but also the innovation. Gone are the days of an RTS campaign being 'Destroy the enemy bases', with the bases simply getting more varied and numerous as the campaign goes on. Starcraft 2 changes this by giving the player optional objectives, time based missions and a whole host of other things to do that really make the game that bit better. To all of those who lament it being a terran only campaign i'd argue that i'd rather have the story of starcraft 2 told over 90-ish missions than 30, and that this game has as many missions as the original. Expand
  26. TomN.
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    This game is beautiful, polished, and worth every penny of the 59.99. Full of features, music, artistic touch, and excellent gameplay it is a joy to own. Yet This is more than a game. It is a call to liberty, and take our fallen nation back. Its theme of revolution throughout is something we need in our own society, as the government has become opressive, defunct, and corrupt beyond This game is beautiful, polished, and worth every penny of the 59.99. Full of features, music, artistic touch, and excellent gameplay it is a joy to own. Yet This is more than a game. It is a call to liberty, and take our fallen nation back. Its theme of revolution throughout is something we need in our own society, as the government has become opressive, defunct, and corrupt beyond repair. When voting starts making no difference, The only thing left is a revolution. How much longer are we going to allow the calamity of harsh taxes, false wars, and oppresive oligarchies to ruin us before we stop being cowards, pick up the guns, and take our country back from the plutocracy it has become? Expand
  27. NikoD
    Aug 4, 2010
    10
    It's a perfect combination of RTS and RPG elements. The story itself is great and is being told in a very stylish manner. Graphics are pure awesomeness and so is the gameplay. Everything feels so familiar and yet so fresh. I dunno how Blizzard managed to pull this on off, but it's just perfect in every way. Waiting for the new campaigns.
  28. WoodyF
    Aug 6, 2010
    10
    I'd feel more impartial if I only gave this game a 9 but I have to give it a 10/10! I actually enjoyed the cinematics and single player campaign, I'm about 1/3 of the way through the achievements and I'm still learning new aspects of the multiplayer game daily. Yes, it IS pretty much Starcraft with updated graphics. No, it isn't an epic strategy game like Galactic Civ I'd feel more impartial if I only gave this game a 9 but I have to give it a 10/10! I actually enjoyed the cinematics and single player campaign, I'm about 1/3 of the way through the achievements and I'm still learning new aspects of the multiplayer game daily. Yes, it IS pretty much Starcraft with updated graphics. No, it isn't an epic strategy game like Galactic Civ II or even Warlords. Still, I feel like I got a good value for $60. Despite claims that WoL is only "1/3 of a game", the quantity and quality of missions in the single player campaign (26+ missions depending on how you count them) is easily equal to any single player RTS out there. And be honest... how many of us bought SC2 expecting to spend more than a week playing solo, anyway? Expand
  29. VoidC
    Aug 6, 2010
    10
    Reading all the 0 negative user reviews, i can safely say that they are frustrated pirates and copyright infringers. The game is great, and it doesn't deserve a score lower than 9.
  30. JashinS
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! Marries together storytelling, cinematics, gameplay, multi-player, and beautiful graphics together for one of the most robust and satisfying RTS experiences ever!
  31. FredP
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    The sequel to the best RTS ever is now the best RTS ever. When you look at E-sports, you have a handful of FPS games and StarCraft. Nothing has had the staying power of Blizzard's genre defining game since it launched in 1998. SC2 picks up right where SC left off. Is the campaign epic? yes... Are the races completely different, yet balanced? yes... Is the storyline one fit for the The sequel to the best RTS ever is now the best RTS ever. When you look at E-sports, you have a handful of FPS games and StarCraft. Nothing has had the staying power of Blizzard's genre defining game since it launched in 1998. SC2 picks up right where SC left off. Is the campaign epic? yes... Are the races completely different, yet balanced? yes... Is the storyline one fit for the big screen or some 12 book novel series? absolutely... This game is a 10/10 on even the most harsh of critics scale. Expand
  32. SeanA
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    I was going to write a lengthly review on SC2, but I decided to save you and me some time: You MUST have this game, your life is not complete without it.
  33. MaxDestruct
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Such a quality game in every aspect. This is possibly one of the best purchases I have ever made with respect to computer gaming and believe you me, I have made a lot of purchases in the past. Glad to see Blizzard have not slipped, they still make great games.
  34. DavisK
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing. SC2 had a big shoe to fill due to the overwhelming success of its predecessor, and it far exceeded my expectations. Just like the first SC, I'll be playing this for years to come.
  35. Peet1337
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Incredible game, I hate all those people who rank 0 just for a random fault or because they didn't read the system req. in the box, this game is awsome, and even if it didn't have as much inpact as its precestor, its always good to have a sequel. Best RTS game IMO in a long time, pretty more enjoyable than my all time favourite RON. Sorry if my English isn't that good, so Incredible game, I hate all those people who rank 0 just for a random fault or because they didn't read the system req. in the box, this game is awsome, and even if it didn't have as much inpact as its precestor, its always good to have a sequel. Best RTS game IMO in a long time, pretty more enjoyable than my all time favourite RON. Sorry if my English isn't that good, so please pardon my mistakes. Expand
  36. JamesP
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Simply the most satisfying RTS experience in years, doesn't do much new but what it does is that it takes the Starcraft experience at an enormously amazing level. The multiplayer is as solid as ever but the improvement on the single player makes this games more than a must have.
  37. FoxM.
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Don't fix what isn't broken. Blizzard did the right thing: it modestly updated a great game. It almost feels like a patched re-issue of the original game -- which is a compliment, not a criticism. I am glad that Blizzard did not add a fourth race. The absence of Zerg and Protoss campaigns in the initial release may rub some the wrong way but the multiplayer platform allows all Don't fix what isn't broken. Blizzard did the right thing: it modestly updated a great game. It almost feels like a patched re-issue of the original game -- which is a compliment, not a criticism. I am glad that Blizzard did not add a fourth race. The absence of Zerg and Protoss campaigns in the initial release may rub some the wrong way but the multiplayer platform allows all races to be played. Great work by Blizzard. Expand
  38. TedM
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    I'm about halfway through the single player campaign and I can already say that I got my money's worth. Fantastic storyline, artwork, cinematics, gameplay, sound and music score. Strategy options are endless. Can't wait to get started on multiplayer.
  39. VinceM
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, completely perfect in possible way. Don't listen to Gary K. The game may not be perfectly balanced, but Blizzard always always supports their games to the fullest. The game will be balanced with more input from gamers. Also Gary K is mad because the game will not run properly on his piece of junk PC, but he does not understand that is not Blizzard's fault. 10/10!
  40. SalvatoreC
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Honestly I would give this game between a 9.0-9.5 to be fair. Their are some drawbacks but all in all the game is super solid in everything. The one exception to me is the story is a little poorly convied. I selected 10 because it really doesn't deserve the 0's the whiners are giving it because it doesn't include LAN play. Big woop even the progamers are over it.
  41. JakeH
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Easily the best RTS since the original StarCraft. While the Command & Conquer series has gone downhill minus the Red Alert offshoot, Blizzard has done the right thing by keeping the formula for gameplay the same while updating the graphics and giving a more interactive control to the player in between missions. The voice acting is a blast and very well done. I have not come across any Easily the best RTS since the original StarCraft. While the Command & Conquer series has gone downhill minus the Red Alert offshoot, Blizzard has done the right thing by keeping the formula for gameplay the same while updating the graphics and giving a more interactive control to the player in between missions. The voice acting is a blast and very well done. I have not come across any balancing issues other than neglecting to upgrade units in between missions. Pure glee, nothing wrong with this game whatsoever other than multiplayer can be a handful if you get matched with someone that's been playing for years. Best PC game of 2010! Gary K's review needs to be removed as any PC gamer knows that you need to make sure your PC meets the MINIMUM specifications (and your options match as well). SC2 requires some heavy lifting from your CPU and GPU and just because your hardware is not up to date doesn't mean the game is horrible. Expand
  42. GlennJ
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game deserves nothing but the highest praise possible, the Multiplayer is dead on and the Single player is absolutely fantastic and well worth multiple playthrough's. The game runs fine on highest settings on my 3 year old computer (running 8800GTX and a Core2Duo. The only thing that I don't like about Starcraft 2 are some of the Battle.net features such as there being no This game deserves nothing but the highest praise possible, the Multiplayer is dead on and the Single player is absolutely fantastic and well worth multiple playthrough's. The game runs fine on highest settings on my 3 year old computer (running 8800GTX and a Core2Duo. The only thing that I don't like about Starcraft 2 are some of the Battle.net features such as there being no lobbies, but nothing that can detract from the final score. Great work Blizzard. 12 years of wait, well served. Expand
  43. JamesT
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Having played the multiplayer beta I can happily say that it is well balanced and a ton of fun! Playing the single player now is an engaging treat, the level of polish and detail is just wonderful. Bravo Blizzard! Its been worth the wait!
  44. MaxP
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game is just incredible and well worth the wait. The single player campaign is engaging and and no effort has been spared in the making of this game. Blizzard has done it again.
  45. AlexV
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game is the pinnacle of RTS balancing and gaming. This game is pure fun. Anyone who doesnt give it a good rating is solely basing it on things that dont matter in the actual game. They complain about things like how on ultra mode the game lags, or gets low fps. Or how the campaign only applies to the terran. But if you like RTS games, and like balanced play and lots of depth. Buy this game
  46. JaredR
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game is a great successor to Starcraft. Running on ultra settings it's gorgeous. Despite the lack of LAN support, or the ability to spawn extra copies, this game is still well worth the price of admission. And as far as Gary K. says regarding the game bringing his rig to a crawl, it sounds like it's his hardware more then anything. I rock an AMD Phenom II x4 and a geforce This game is a great successor to Starcraft. Running on ultra settings it's gorgeous. Despite the lack of LAN support, or the ability to spawn extra copies, this game is still well worth the price of admission. And as far as Gary K. says regarding the game bringing his rig to a crawl, it sounds like it's his hardware more then anything. I rock an AMD Phenom II x4 and a geforce 9800 card and have no issues. Stop reading and start playing. Expand
  47. TomM
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Without doubt one of the games of this year, and a brilliant sequal to the hit from so many years ago. By far the best RTS to grace the gaming world in years. Ignore the negative feedback, some people shouldn't be able to rate if they moan that they're stoneage pc's can't perform to what they expect.
  48. LukazP
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    While it may not revolutionize a genre, or even include many of the innovations that have been incorporated into countless RTS' in the twelve years since the release of the original Starcraft, this game succeeds in the same manner that virtually all Blizzard games do: by perfecting a genre and providing its loyal fanbase with a game so polished, so well-crafted, and so entertaining While it may not revolutionize a genre, or even include many of the innovations that have been incorporated into countless RTS' in the twelve years since the release of the original Starcraft, this game succeeds in the same manner that virtually all Blizzard games do: by perfecting a genre and providing its loyal fanbase with a game so polished, so well-crafted, and so entertaining that in contrast, other games appear clunky and pedantic. As someone who has been a PC gamer since 1988, I can wholeheartedly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys video games. You will enjoy it immensely and, notwithstanding the whiny criticisms of pale-faced fanboys, you will find that there is very little, if anything, not to love about this game. Go buy it. Expand
  49. JuaksD
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. Wonderful sound, graphics and gameplay. Very well balanced for a 1.0 version. Both Single player and Multiplayer are a joy to play. This game will make e-sports even bigger worldwide and it has a brilliant future.
  50. KyleG
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Balanced multiplayer (people playing otherwise should give some time to adjust to the different races' gameplay styles before making sweeping claims about balance) and an incredibly deep pool of available strategies for each race leads to one of the best multiplayer experiences in years. Blizzard did it again. Flawless. I will definitely be playing this for years to come.
  51. Roman
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, they campaign is great and the multiplayer is outstanding.
  52. CMueller
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    I am running a system that is almost 7 years old with this game. I have to run with some lower setting, but tearing and lag seem to still be minimal. As a huge fan of the previous title I am glad to see Blizzard has made the gorgeous game accessible even to players with a smaller budget.
  53. AdamP.
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Perfect RTS game, amazing sequel! The single player is a lot better then in the first game, even the multiplayer got some new modes like 3v3 and 4v4 (finally some dedicated maps for these modes besides FFA maps). Great cinematics, awesome cutscenes on the Hyperion, insane map editor. Best Blizzard game so far and best RTS in years! Can't wait for the expansions. EPIC!
  54. JoeyL.
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    The campaign is simply amazing with tons of repeatability. Great varied missions and jaw dropping story and cinematics to go with it all. the scenarios are also challenging and very rewarding to do. The multilayer is addictive as always with hundreds of varied custom maps already up. Tower defenses, fps, dota and dozens of other types of games are up on launch day no less The game runs The campaign is simply amazing with tons of repeatability. Great varied missions and jaw dropping story and cinematics to go with it all. the scenarios are also challenging and very rewarding to do. The multilayer is addictive as always with hundreds of varied custom maps already up. Tower defenses, fps, dota and dozens of other types of games are up on launch day no less The game runs fine even on my old 3 year old laptop, though it takes my 2 or so year old desktop to turn up all the bells and whistles. The game looks great and the effects are amazing as well. The party, friends and voice chat are great. I love that i could add all my facebook friends in one go (although this is optional. All in all this is the best rts thats come out since wc3 and sc1 before it. Hundreds of hours of gameplay for the best 60 dollars ive ever spent. Expand
  55. Jonny
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    I must agree that the 12 year wait has not been wasted. For the first time ever, I am TRULY impressed in the detail, sounds, missions, etc. A couple of the cinematics were so epic, I had shivers and goosebumps...A first for me, and I've been playing games all my life. It is the most polished, ready-to-go game on release I've ever experienced, and the wait and price ell worth the I must agree that the 12 year wait has not been wasted. For the first time ever, I am TRULY impressed in the detail, sounds, missions, etc. A couple of the cinematics were so epic, I had shivers and goosebumps...A first for me, and I've been playing games all my life. It is the most polished, ready-to-go game on release I've ever experienced, and the wait and price ell worth the admission. And with future patches and additions, it's only going to get better. Expand
  56. ZeratulR
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    such a good game, a must have, its flawless, i dont understand the 0's at all, whats this talk of bad story, the story is great if u dont get it gtfo, the story is very interesting, the campaign does not fall short, u guys are retarded, there is no rts that has a better storyline then this absolutely none.
  57. Maladjester
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    I would like to say something to all the people rating this game a 0: If you thought Blizzard would "reinvent the RTS genre" or other such thing, you weren't paying attention. History shows their strategy very well. What they do is polish an existing concept....and polish it, and polish it, and polish it. It's what they did in 1998 with StarCraft 1, and again with WoW, and now I would like to say something to all the people rating this game a 0: If you thought Blizzard would "reinvent the RTS genre" or other such thing, you weren't paying attention. History shows their strategy very well. What they do is polish an existing concept....and polish it, and polish it, and polish it. It's what they did in 1998 with StarCraft 1, and again with WoW, and now again with StarCraft 2. I've got no complaints. What game were you expecting? Expand
  58. IanR
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Ignore the fool that gave the game a 0 because his computer was trash. Excellent game, just as balanced as the original, with loads of polish and a surprisingly good campaign mode.
  59. GARYP
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    The Single Player Campaign is actually very good and thats the first time i've said that for a game in 23years of my life. As for the multiplayer, no other RTS game even come close to the sheer intencity & entertainment that sc2 brings. The strategetic timing/positining/unit composition/micro/macro involved in sc2 is so deep and diverse there is no minor imbalance at all and the game The Single Player Campaign is actually very good and thats the first time i've said that for a game in 23years of my life. As for the multiplayer, no other RTS game even come close to the sheer intencity & entertainment that sc2 brings. The strategetic timing/positining/unit composition/micro/macro involved in sc2 is so deep and diverse there is no minor imbalance at all and the game is only 2 days old. Expand
  60. DougW
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    This was worth the wait. The new Battle.net interface works like a charm and the achievement system has me replaying missions to get better results. Highly addictive gameplay. Anyone who's even remotely a RTS fan needs to pick this up. Nice job Blizzard!
  61. DavidH
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Hell, it's about time. I am writing this review because this is probably one of the most noteworthy games to be released in the past five years or so, and it is getting shit tons of awful reviews. I will address this at the end of things. First off, it is the successor to literally the greatest RTS game ever (it's the national sport of south korea), so how could this game not be Hell, it's about time. I am writing this review because this is probably one of the most noteworthy games to be released in the past five years or so, and it is getting shit tons of awful reviews. I will address this at the end of things. First off, it is the successor to literally the greatest RTS game ever (it's the national sport of south korea), so how could this game not be good? It's been a 12 year gap since StarCraft was originally released, and this game has been in development for around five to seven years (that's a loose value). At E3 in 2007 they showed gameplay previews and have been working on it ever since. Any other game company would have quickly churned out a steaming load of crap when they had the slightest semblance of an actual game... aka back in 2007. Blizzard releases stuff when it's ready, and this game shows that 'it's ready'. I'm glad they took their time. This game gets 10/10, even with a few minor complaints. It is incredibly polished, well thought out, and well executed. Graphics are pretty awesome for an rts (I still zoom in on random stuff just to see the little nuances and details... especially after unit upgrades). I can run it on ultra at 1680x1050 on a rig that cost me around 500 bucks for the graphics card, mobo, cpu, and memory a year and a half ago. So far the campaign is enthralling and very well made. The little things really shine. The achievements are pretty legit and the single player challenge exercises really help to develop some core skills (micro mainly) to succeed on the multiplayer front. The map editor is hugely powerful and will definitely yield some awesome results. I will now address my complaints. /****!!!!!!MAY CONTAIN SPOLIERS!!!!!!!!*****/ My main complaints (disappointments even) are that prerendered cutscenes are recycled from various teasers and trailers released... I had a huge WTF moment during the opening "cinematic". Also, the mid-campaign zeratul cutscene was also unveiled previously. Not game changers by any means, but based on how good Blizzard cinematics are, I was expecting some ridiculous new stuff, but was sort of let down. That is honestly my biggest complaint. Crazy huh? Despite this, between missions there are plenty of scripted dialogue events and some pretty cool news casts, though I wish they could have been a bit more subtle in their portrayal of the UNN newscaster guy as an obvious faux news // disinformation source. I can understand the humor, but it's blatant to the point where it's just over the top and stupidly done (I'm sure there are people who are reading this and thinking: 'it's supposed to be FUD for the masses duh lolololololzzzz so true amirite!!!!'... these people also probably worship South Park... 'nuff said). This has no effect on gameplay though. I think it's also cool how they included original SC units in the campaign, but left them out of multiplayer. During the beta I was super pissed at first that there would be no firebats or medics or vultures (protoss and zerg units were also excluded), but quickly realized that the new units more than compensated in strategic value. I really like the upgrade and research system for the campaign. Researching stim packs or siege mode every mission would get tiresome quickly, so I'm glad that was dispensed with. The difficulty gap between normal-hard-insane is pretty large. I'm attempting everything on insane for the first time, but for around half the missions I've had to go to hard to finish them, and for maybe half of those hard missions I've had to go to normal as to not waste hours of time. The main obstacle is understanding how to effectively complete a mission, and then sticking with it. Normal is a breeze. Hard is more difficult. Insane has the same AI as hard, but I believe the computer gets additional resources. That's how the multiplayer worked, but I'm not exactly sure about the campaign. My only issue with multiplayer is that there are no custom game titles (for the inevitable DoTA comparison, how do we know we are playing -ap -rm and the lot? Also how do I know if a game is lightheartedly made for drunk college kids to dick around on and not really be interested in uber competition?) Bnet2 is pretty good, though the match making placement system for ladder games is sort of effed up... I won four matches and utterly destroyed my opponent, but then got cheesed by the fifth. I got placed in the bronze league (this was when they still had copper during the beta). I'm waiting to play multiplayer after I finish the campaign. We'll see how that goes. I will now address the people who are giving out 0/10 reviews. These people generally fall into a couple of categories: 1. They are legitimate fans of the game who play competetively and recognize the problems with a lack of LAN play for tournaments, and thus have waged campaigns of poor ratings in hopes of getting Blizzards attention. This was an organized movement by various StarCraft sites and leagues such as TL or ICCUP. I can somewhat understand this complaint, as it is an indication that Blizzard (or more accurately perhaps Activision) wants to be in control of "official" tournaments. I believe there were talks of LAN capabilities being available, but only to properly licensed (ie paying) organizations. Most of these people probably bought the game on release, but gave a poor review for their cause. I'm pretty sure we'll see LAN in the future though... if not from Blizzard, then from a third party. A possible solution to this could be to have an initial internet verification of every game client (DRM check), but then have it transfer over to a LAN based game. I honestly couldn't imagine having an internet based LAN party with eight people on one connection... that would be a mess, and I'm hopeful that a solution will arrive (but lets be serious... the days of the LAN are overshadowed by Call of Halo Wars Gritty Destruction: FUll Auto and Farmville) 2. Asshole pirates/cheapskates who want everything given to them for free. They whine about lack of LAN and spawn installs, and the fact that you have to have a Bnet account to play... when in reality they just want to play without paying a cent. Yes, starcraft was originally so successful due in part to it's spawn install, but that was back in the days when high speed internet was not as prevalent, and there needed to be some sort of demo type shareware thing going around. It was so you could play with friends together, socialize, have a good time, and convince people to actually buy the game. After I got a spawn install and realized I couldn't play without my other buddy who owned the game, I went out and bought the retail game. I don't know why these people bother with a review, because they are going to get a pirated version anyways and just play it in singleplayer, LAN, custom games, and probably emulated bnet eventually. I wonder what their rating would be based on actually playing the game??? SC has always been about the multiplayer. The campaigns are great, but multiplayer is where the value and replayability comes from. Tying the game to a bnet account seems to be one of the few methods of DRM that seems to actually work (Valve has a similar system via Steam). Additionally these people will say that you are paying full price for 1/3 of a game. This is the biggest load of crap I've ever heard. The campaign is a full single player gaming experience. It is a full game. The single player campaign should take an acceptable amount of time to complete for a standalone single player experience. I've spent ten hours on it, and I'm maybe 1/3-1/2 of the way through it. I'm playing on insane/hard so things take some time. Yes you can blow through it on easy in probably under ten hours, but that defeats the purpose of the game. Guess what? If you Use cheats, and you can 'beat' it in under fifteen minutes! Amazing! The next games in the trilogy will be expansion packs adding huge campaigns. While I agree it sucks that it is divided up into three parts for each race, the sheer scope of the game warrants a trilogy. They have been transparent about this for around three years I believe, so it shouldn't come as a surprise. I only hope that the future expansions are priced accordingly... perhaps around thirty bucks. These reviews generally sound like: NO LAN, NO CHAT CHANNELS, NO SPAWN, 1/3 OF A GAME @ FULL PRICE, NO BUY!!!!! (that is a pretty accurate summary of all the 0 reviews on amazon and metacritic... wish they were actually playing and reviewing the game!) 3. Legitimate complaints. I've heard some valid issues from a very small minority of people complaining about compatibility issues (that may be the fault of awful/outdated hardware... even though the game scales really well), and the internet connection required to play... the most intriguing was that of a guy who had a yacht he wanted to play on but didn't have satellite internet so he couldn't play on his boat, even in a single player setting. That's a pretty niche issue. As far as compatibility/server issues, I'm pretty sure this stuff will get worked out and solved. Yeah it sucks that it doesn't work, but these things will be addressed. Basically, a lot of the zero star people are not giving reviews based on the merits of the gameplay. I would agree that maybe if people have issues with compatibility, internet connection, graphics, bnet, etc, that they should knock a couple points off the rating, but they shouldn't troll and give out a zero for a game they haven't even purchased/played yet. Despite all these negative reviews, Starcraft 2 is going to be GotY. Expand
  62. SteveX
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    This game is the total package. It has all the core elements from the original StarCraft along with all the new bells and whistles you expect from a modern video game. The multiplayer is well-balanced despite having a larger roster of units...that's incredible! I'm sad the lurkers and medics aren't in the multiplayer, but they were somewhat overpowering in the first This game is the total package. It has all the core elements from the original StarCraft along with all the new bells and whistles you expect from a modern video game. The multiplayer is well-balanced despite having a larger roster of units...that's incredible! I'm sad the lurkers and medics aren't in the multiplayer, but they were somewhat overpowering in the first version. Regardless, the match-making is awesome. B.net 2.0 is great...no more noobs spamming messages to you because you've beaten them hard. I like SC2's DRM as well...you have to be connected online the whole to you play whether it's single or multiplayer, but it's not a problem. As with MW2, there is no LAN play, but that's not even an issue. Their net code is incredible...my roommate and I have played matches against each other and there is no lag whatsoever...so LAN play is virtually "unnecessary". The single player campaign is awesome...I love the cutscenes. I'm playing on an HD 5850, and it looks like a dream. Hands down, SC2 has the best graphics you'll see besides Crysis. Expand
  63. DavidM
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Gary K, dont blame a game for being bad if you computer doesnt reach the minimum specs of the game, you cant rate it as a bad game. im running the game on the minimum specs, and im getting a good 18-24 fps, plenty if you are trying to run things. This is a great game, story is longer than all 3 starcraft campaigns, the time they spent balancing the units was definately worth it.
  64. LailaL
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    This game is great, it is simple to play and hard to master, campaing is not boring at all, every mission is different, and storyline is equal to those of Starcraft and Warcraft 3 - almost perfect.
  65. JayF
    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    Blizzard doesn't try to change the gameplay from the original Starcraft. Blizzard polishes its tried and true formula and creates another addicting Real Time Strategy game. From the beautiful graphics to the fast pace gameplay. Blizzard also adds a nice feature that allows new gamers, or gamers out of touch with the Starcraft universe, to play practice games so that not affect your Blizzard doesn't try to change the gameplay from the original Starcraft. Blizzard polishes its tried and true formula and creates another addicting Real Time Strategy game. From the beautiful graphics to the fast pace gameplay. Blizzard also adds a nice feature that allows new gamers, or gamers out of touch with the Starcraft universe, to play practice games so that not affect your competitive score. Great for Blizzard to bring the RTS scene back from an industry flooded with First Person Shooters. Expand
  66. MichaelH
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    A perfect RTS. Very similar to the original, and for a good reason. The balancing is near-perfect, any pro would say the same. And it runs beautifully on nearly any machine. Except for Gary K's 1999 Windows ME antique. I have it running at low on my friend's laptop; Pentium 4, integrated graphics, and 1gb of ram. 40fps. On MY computer (high settings, 100fps), the game looks A perfect RTS. Very similar to the original, and for a good reason. The balancing is near-perfect, any pro would say the same. And it runs beautifully on nearly any machine. Except for Gary K's 1999 Windows ME antique. I have it running at low on my friend's laptop; Pentium 4, integrated graphics, and 1gb of ram. 40fps. On MY computer (high settings, 100fps), the game looks AMAZING. Beautiful. Buy this. Expand
  67. MLittle
    Jul 31, 2010
    10
    If the quality of this game extends into its two expansions, this will be the finest game in its genre. The multiplayer aspect of the game is so enthralling that I fully expect to spend countless hours working my way up to diamond league, and then staying there.
  68. JonH
    Jul 31, 2010
    10
    Before complaining about the lack of LAN, the lack of a zerg and protoss campaign, etc, just everything that you're getting for your $60 must be considered. You get a full fledged terran campaign which is not only longer than the original game's camapign, but also of much higher quality and production values. You get a map editor which gives you almost the same level of freedom Before complaining about the lack of LAN, the lack of a zerg and protoss campaign, etc, just everything that you're getting for your $60 must be considered. You get a full fledged terran campaign which is not only longer than the original game's camapign, but also of much higher quality and production values. You get a map editor which gives you almost the same level of freedom that the developers had when they designed the game; you could practically write the next expansion yourself if you wanted to. And you get a well-balanced multiplayer with fantastic, unique units, both new and old, with a skill curve much more friendly for beginners and still impossibly high for experts. The game may not be completely perfect, but it's pretty damn close, and it's no question as to whether or not a game with virtually endless and enjoyable replayability is worth your $60. Collapse
  69. VicT
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    After finishing the campaign and having some experience with the multiplayer, after being through the epic story developed carefully over the years and seeing many magnificent battles, I give this a 9.5 I just rounded it up into a ten. It loses half a point for not having some of the great units in the multi-player, but I hope they return in the later expansions.
  70. GazzaC.
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    What can i say.!!..ive never played the first Starcraft but I do love RTS games and this is without a doubt one of the finest and fully deserving of the high marks its getting. Take no note of Gary K's comment he must have poor pc if it crawls as the min specs on this game are failry low..and its far from unablanced!!,..if you like RTS games..then get this..its awesome!
  71. JonnyT
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Fantastic...this game is the best RTS to come out in years! I love the old-school feel to it. Blizzard was smart not to change the formula. I wish we could get other 'old' games done like this. Imagine Stronghold redone...or Warcraft with detail like this...simply amazing.
  72. tp
    Jul 31, 2010
    10
    Best freakin RTS game ever made. If theres one game thats worth 60$, is this. Hell, i'd pay full price for this game even if it only had online multiplayer because thats where all the meat and all the content are at. Multiplayer is where millions will still be playing 10 years from now. For me, the story mode was a bonus. One epic hell of a bonus indeed. And remember, before saying Best freakin RTS game ever made. If theres one game thats worth 60$, is this. Hell, i'd pay full price for this game even if it only had online multiplayer because thats where all the meat and all the content are at. Multiplayer is where millions will still be playing 10 years from now. For me, the story mode was a bonus. One epic hell of a bonus indeed. And remember, before saying this is just 1/3 of a game, 1) blizzard has always made expansion packs. No one complained that blizzard was making a half of a game when they released brood war and the frozen throne and lord of destruction did they? The only difference is that they announced the expansions ahead of time. Complaining that wings of liberty is 1/3 of a game is like telling Lucas that starwars episode I is 1/3 of a movie. 2) This game has 30 missions, the same amount as starcraft 1, so it has as much if not more content than the first game 3) starcraft 1 when it came out was 60$. It cost blizzard a tiny fraction of what it cost to make starcraft 2 today which some say was about 100 million. 4) people who say the expansions are going to cost 60$ each are morons who should be ignored. Expand
  73. MichaelS
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Starcraft 2 is a what RTSs were 10 years ago, without the conveniences of squad systems that streamlined combat, or the get out there and explore the map encouraging systems like control points or reinforcement zones. It has the same heavy focus on base building that the original one did, and yet, it all works together remarkably well. Starcraft II is an absolutely fantastic RTS game Starcraft 2 is a what RTSs were 10 years ago, without the conveniences of squad systems that streamlined combat, or the get out there and explore the map encouraging systems like control points or reinforcement zones. It has the same heavy focus on base building that the original one did, and yet, it all works together remarkably well. Starcraft II is an absolutely fantastic RTS game that's lodged solidly in a kind of old school game play we haven't seen in years. Expand
  74. ZaneB
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Awesome game!! So addictive! My advice to those of you that are new to RTSs' and Starcraft's uber competitive multiplayer: Keep playing and you will get pretty good. Watch pro gamers on youtube for tips. It is EXTREMELY rewarding to win in multiplayer. Now, I'm gonna get back to playing Starcraft II
  75. JoelM
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Starcraft II is just what the RTS genre needed. A shining example of how sequels need not be worse than the original. The polish and attention to detail in this game is apparant and Blizzard has managed to add so many features that even the most content starved gamer will be kept satisfied for months to come.
  76. RemyM
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    This is the best RTS ever. It kept the original feeling from the original StarCraft, yet improved on it. The Single Player Campaign is epic, can't wait for the expansions so I can play the Zerg and Protoss campaigns as well. Blizzard definitely made the right choice by splitting this into three games. They could never have told such an epic story if the 29 missions had to be divided This is the best RTS ever. It kept the original feeling from the original StarCraft, yet improved on it. The Single Player Campaign is epic, can't wait for the expansions so I can play the Zerg and Protoss campaigns as well. Blizzard definitely made the right choice by splitting this into three games. They could never have told such an epic story if the 29 missions had to be divided over all the races. Multi-player is also extremely fun. Granted, it does annoy me that no LAN option is present, but not enough to give it a lower rating. Besides, Battle.net works perfectly. I can play even from behind a strict firewall, something that didn't work in SC1. Expand
  77. JoshB
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    As a huge fan of the original Starcraft, I was very underwhelmed while playing the multi-player beta for SC2. I was not all that excited about it, but still had the game pre-ordered. Well I'm about halfway through the campaign and my excitement for the two expansions is through the roof. It's even renewed my interest in the multi-player. I've played other RTS games since As a huge fan of the original Starcraft, I was very underwhelmed while playing the multi-player beta for SC2. I was not all that excited about it, but still had the game pre-ordered. Well I'm about halfway through the campaign and my excitement for the two expansions is through the roof. It's even renewed my interest in the multi-player. I've played other RTS games since playing Starcraft, my first, but none have ever measured up to SC, and SC2 is light years beyond the original. Expand
  78. ChadO
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    I hate Blizzard as a company, the way they drag things out, lie about release dates, scrap projects with little explanation, and milk products for every dime they are worth... And yet I keep coming back for more. Starcraft II is another perfect example of why Blizzard can make the best PC games in every genre they dabble in. It makes me sick, but #$#$ if I don't love Jim Raynor and I hate Blizzard as a company, the way they drag things out, lie about release dates, scrap projects with little explanation, and milk products for every dime they are worth... And yet I keep coming back for more. Starcraft II is another perfect example of why Blizzard can make the best PC games in every genre they dabble in. It makes me sick, but #$#$ if I don't love Jim Raynor and this new work of art Blizzard labeled an RTS. Expand
  79. JoeJ
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    With all that hype building up to Starcraft2 over this last decade, it puts a tremendous amount of stress on a game
  80. DanB.
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    This game was sick. everything I could have hoped for. Many people that didn't like it wanted elements from other genres added in. Guess what? It's not an RPG/RTS or an FPS/RTS.
  81. LukeH
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    CJ Henry, who gave a score of one, is being childish. He clearly isn't rating the game for what it is, but up against some ideal he formed - holding a grudge! The game is awesome.
  82. RichardD.
    Aug 1, 2010
    10
    Brilliant mission variety, long campaign (its proabably longer to play through than all 3 of the original SC campaigns) I don't care abount missing LAN, I can still play the person sitting next to me over battle.net. Fantastic story and even better multiplayer. Blizzard we salute you for making the best RTS of all time!
  83. AustinS.
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    Firstly, all the people giving out the common complaints, no LAN, one campaign, $60, etc. are idiots, plain and simply. LAN only enables people to play without paying, thus rendering a lower profit and lower incentive to make the game. Yes, it's one campaign, but it's a full game's worth. You have to be a complete moron to think that Blizzard would put out 1/3 of a game. Firstly, all the people giving out the common complaints, no LAN, one campaign, $60, etc. are idiots, plain and simply. LAN only enables people to play without paying, thus rendering a lower profit and lower incentive to make the game. Yes, it's one campaign, but it's a full game's worth. You have to be a complete moron to think that Blizzard would put out 1/3 of a game. They are putting out three games, all with full and entertaining campaigns. On the $60 price point, games have cost $50 for over a decade; since then, the production cost has increased, and the value of the dollar has decreased. $60 now is less than $50 was when games started charging $50. Expand
  84. MartinP
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    I'd rather give this game 100 points out of 10 for reasons I'll come back to after my review. My review can be short, enough people already said it: - The game still has the exact same base principles which made it the best RTS of all times back in 98. - I personally believe the game has even better controls - The challenges and achievements just work really good - The campaign I'd rather give this game 100 points out of 10 for reasons I'll come back to after my review. My review can be short, enough people already said it: - The game still has the exact same base principles which made it the best RTS of all times back in 98. - I personally believe the game has even better controls - The challenges and achievements just work really good - The campaign has an epic story so far (saying otherwise makes me believe you didn't pay attention to it or haven't played the campaign yet). Brilliant CGI to support it too! - Addition of specialization trough research and improvement through hiring mercenaries and buying better hardware work great too. These are the reasons I'd give this game a 10. But I would like to give that score 9 times more to make a 100 out of ten just because I read reviews like: - "People beat me big time in multi-player, lame: score = 1" -- If you can't play it's your problem, don't blame the game for it... - "It's an ok game, but not the best ever. Score: 1" -- So you give good games a score of 1? You mean you want to give it a 5 or 6 but because so many people do like the game you feel like giving it a 1 so the game will get a lower score just like it should have in YOUR eyes? - "Too expensive, especially for only one campaign. Score: 0" -- You get allot more in this game than you'll get in most other games. It's well worth the price. Also only stating the high price and giving 0 points means the same as thinking every other aspect of the game you can think of is just fine but doesn't earn points for the game. Just a couple of reviews I can really get agitated about and made me want to rant. Reviews are opinions, but if you scale the score of your review down (or up like I'd really like to do here since it feels like I need to) your trying to shape the average opinion towards yours instead of generating a fair average opinion. Expand
  85. Anon4800
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    A genius game, best RTS for a long time. If there is supposed to be a minus is that I will have a lack of sleep I belive :P Great graphic, great gameplay, amazing music, amazing story.
  86. MichaelT.
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    An absolute must have for any gamer. The story is epic in scale. Even if you don't enjoy RTS games, this may be the one game that changes your mind. Blizzard has once again delivered, and I will be looking forward to the next two entries.
  87. AndreasG
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    StarCraft 2 builds on the strenght of the core gameplay experience that made games such as SC1 and WC3 top RTS games. Solid strategy, balancing of units and level design have always been Blizzards forte along with engaging story line and mouthwatering cinematics. But this game has so many additional layers on top of the usual features. The hub between missions is spectacular, offering StarCraft 2 builds on the strenght of the core gameplay experience that made games such as SC1 and WC3 top RTS games. Solid strategy, balancing of units and level design have always been Blizzards forte along with engaging story line and mouthwatering cinematics. But this game has so many additional layers on top of the usual features. The hub between missions is spectacular, offering permanent unit upgrades and research options as well as additional story elements. Value for money is excpetional. Expand
  88. ChrisR
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    The game is so massive and deep that it will take most players months to wade through all the content. The wait was well worth it judging by the polish of the final product. The three races are well balanced, each having their relative strengths and weaknesses. Online play is more fun than ever! I've had many games where my starting base gets wiped out, but I have an expo that I can The game is so massive and deep that it will take most players months to wade through all the content. The wait was well worth it judging by the polish of the final product. The three races are well balanced, each having their relative strengths and weaknesses. Online play is more fun than ever! I've had many games where my starting base gets wiped out, but I have an expo that I can turn into a main. "Hell, its about time." Expand
  89. NickJ
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    Okay. I'm getting a bit sick of complaints...So rather than give a true review, I'm going to just address them all. 1) No LAN: Who cares? Who uses LAN anymore? I don't know anyone that does, honestly, and almost all my friends are gamers. 2) Battle.Net: Okay, yeah. It's a bit silly needing to always be connected, but they do have the guest account. You just can't Okay. I'm getting a bit sick of complaints...So rather than give a true review, I'm going to just address them all. 1) No LAN: Who cares? Who uses LAN anymore? I don't know anyone that does, honestly, and almost all my friends are gamers. 2) Battle.Net: Okay, yeah. It's a bit silly needing to always be connected, but they do have the guest account. You just can't earn achievements when playing it, but it does allow you to play offline. But still, if you (like me) have a dedicated internet connection (I'm a WoW player after all), then it's not a problem. I happen to like BNET and all its features, except for Real ID, which is easily turned off through parental controls. 3) Only One Campaign: There's only one campaign, but it's the size of all three campaigns from SC1 put together. 30 missions. 4) Unbalanced Units: I played the beta and it's one of the most balanced games in multiplayer I have played in a looong time. I just suck at it. 5) Graphics Are Choppy: I played on high settings (with most on ultra) and I play on a laptop. It ran really smoothly, probably around 30 FPS. If you're looking to get 60, then yeah, you might not be able to, but when the human eye only detects 26, why bother with more than 30? Expand
  90. RamiroC.
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    After 12 years waiting...they just appeared with the Best Game Ever. Amazing Campaign mode with a lot of different missions. New options between missions New amazing and well balanced units. The worst thing about the game? That you have to wait for the expansion to know what is going to happen!
  91. MikeG.
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    Everything you could hope for to the sequel to what many consider the best RTS game out there. All though battle.net 2.0 may be a work in process everything that is import about the game itself is wonderfully executed. Gameplay is as addicting as SC1, the Soundtrack seems even better, the graphics look wonderful for the style of SC, the campaign is an absolute blast. Even in spite of Everything you could hope for to the sequel to what many consider the best RTS game out there. All though battle.net 2.0 may be a work in process everything that is import about the game itself is wonderfully executed. Gameplay is as addicting as SC1, the Soundtrack seems even better, the graphics look wonderful for the style of SC, the campaign is an absolute blast. Even in spite of Battle.nets limitations the most important thing it needs to do works flawlessly, which is placing you in matches against players of your relative skill level. Expand
  92. JamesY.
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    Starcraft 2 is all about the multiplayer. It's singleplayer is good, much better than MW2 where it's one go and done, whereas this will keep you coming back, because it's just so fun. Custom content is what makes me coming back and back.
  93. DF
    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    The game is fantastic. I received it the day it came out and haven't really been able to put it down since. I'm a very casual gamer, so I was thrilled at the new multiplayer mode as it really helps work you into the game. First, there are "practice" levels with easier map layouts to help ease you into the game, you can play up to 50 of these matches before jumping into the real The game is fantastic. I received it the day it came out and haven't really been able to put it down since. I'm a very casual gamer, so I was thrilled at the new multiplayer mode as it really helps work you into the game. First, there are "practice" levels with easier map layouts to help ease you into the game, you can play up to 50 of these matches before jumping into the real thing. Second, placement matches- you will play 5 matches then get placed with people who are as terrible as you are! this is a big selling point for me because I'm not very good. Third, challenges- there are challenges you can try to master that really show the strengths and pros of each unit for each race and helps give you an idea of what you want to do. fourth-organized computer battles- in the original my friends and I really enjoyed playing computers, but we had to go to custom games set it up etc. Now its just a click away, get you friend and pick the game. fantastic. Th ere are also many different A.I. difficulty levels to make it fun. Fifth- Easy matching- You can quick start a game and don't have to try to join a game first, which is awesome. you can be playing in seconds. I've played a little of the campaign too (which is really why I bought the game in the first place, it says a lot about the game that it's MP has kept me so engrossed). It is fantastic, and the interaction with the environment between missions which highlights the story and lore even more is unlike any RTS I've ever played. That said it IS an RTS which really isn't for everyone, but if you like real time strategy this game is a must buy. Expand
  94. StefanD
    Aug 4, 2010
    10
    Wow amazing the hate from the trolls in this vote board. Starcraft 2 is excellent, if you loved the first one you will love this! Engaging story, excellent graphics (remember this is an RTS and not a FPS you TROLLS!), and great all around presentation!! Highly Recommended!
  95. rockmosh
    Aug 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent game, been waiting for a decade and it was well worth it. I played since the beta and I havent had this much fun in years. This is a full game, dont fall for the illusion that its incomplete just because its part of a trilogy. It has 30 or so campaing missions and the full multiplayer experience.
  96. ErikC.
    Aug 4, 2010
    10
    I think most people need to step back and remember it's STARCRAFT 2, not some new game. Blizzard never has been known for their pushing of new innovated game play and I doubt they ever will. They take what they know works and throw it together into a bundle and polish it to near perfection. That is exactly what SC2 is, Starcraft with a nice new shiny coat of paint. If you don't I think most people need to step back and remember it's STARCRAFT 2, not some new game. Blizzard never has been known for their pushing of new innovated game play and I doubt they ever will. They take what they know works and throw it together into a bundle and polish it to near perfection. That is exactly what SC2 is, Starcraft with a nice new shiny coat of paint. If you don't like Starcraft then you shouldn't review this game because guess what it's Starcraft 2.0. There is nothing really new about Starcraft and I personally like that; I was able to jump right in and enjoy my old favorite game once again. If you wanted different game play then go play a different RTS franchise. The storyline wasn't deep but it was fun, I felt involved within the missions and look forward to the expansions. For all your people out there down rating for what it lacks it's time to look at what it has, and tell me what you find wrong with it then. Expand
  97. GernR.
    Aug 4, 2010
    10
    I don't know why everyone complains: "It's a new sc1". In my eyes, that's the best that could have happened. Starcraft 1 was the best strategygames for years, so why not remaking it, polished up, with a nice competition-system, new units, upgrades and abilities and an awesome editor? Blizzard really did a great job in those things, although the graphics aren't really I don't know why everyone complains: "It's a new sc1". In my eyes, that's the best that could have happened. Starcraft 1 was the best strategygames for years, so why not remaking it, polished up, with a nice competition-system, new units, upgrades and abilities and an awesome editor? Blizzard really did a great job in those things, although the graphics aren't really high end. I myself like that Blizz-comiclook, so I have nothing to complain. Great multiplayer experience, wonderful campaign, awesome game. Expand
  98. AlfonsoG
    Aug 5, 2010
    10
    Fantastic. I've spent plenty of time in the campaign and the multiplayer, both Custom and Ladder and I have to say, I'm completely impressed. Being an avid gamer, that doesn't happen often. Bravo, Blizzard.
  99. TravisS
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Blizzard kept what worked and fixed what didn't. It isn't revolutionary, but it's Starcraft made perfect. After playing through Starcraft and Brood War recently, complaints that this is the same game with new graphics do not feel merited; the campaign is vastly improved, AI and unit interaction is vastly improved, and the interface is nearly flawless.
  100. Nathan
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Finally after all these years... I got it last night at the midnight release and I just stopped playing(14 hours later!!). Well balanced through and through and have had to rework tactics. It is like I am back being a kid again. The campaign is story driven and forces one to rethink the Huge Mob rush, as some have time basis and require micro management to get awards. If you never tried Finally after all these years... I got it last night at the midnight release and I just stopped playing(14 hours later!!). Well balanced through and through and have had to rework tactics. It is like I am back being a kid again. The campaign is story driven and forces one to rethink the Huge Mob rush, as some have time basis and require micro management to get awards. If you never tried it before this is the RTS to give a try, but be warned you will probably lose more often than not in multiplayer. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    95
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    If you are into real time strategy in any form, it's hard to ignore Starcraft II.
  3. Dec 24, 2010
    93
    Perfectly balanced multiplayer with old school elements intact, and rich and dynamic single player campaigns. [Issue#244, p.102]