Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2531 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: StarCraft II continues the epic saga of the Protoss, Terran, and Zerg. These three distinct and powerful races clash once again in the fast-paced real-time strategy sequel to the legendary original, StarCraft. Legions of veteran, upgraded, and brand-new unit types do battle across the galaxy, as each faction struggles for survival. Featuring a unique single-player campaign that picks up where StarCraft: Brood War left off, StarCraft II presents a cast of new heroes and familiar faces in an edgy sci-fi story filled with adventure and intrigue. In addition, Blizzard again offers unparalleled online play through Battle.net, the company's world-renowned gaming service, with several enhancements and new features to make StarCraft II the ultimate competitive real-time strategy game. Features fast-paced, hard-hitting, tightly balanced competitive real-time strategy gameplay that recaptures and improves on the magic of the original game. New units and gameplay mechanics further distinguish each race. Vibrant new 3D-graphics engine with support for dazzling visual effects and massive unit and army sizes. Full map-making and scripting tools to give players incredible freedom in customizing and personalizing their gameplay experience. [Blizzard] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    100
    For anyone else interested in or already on board with RTS games, Starcraft II isn't just an amazing, it's required reading.
  2. StarCraft II, as expected, is an evolution rather than a revolution of the original. True to its roots, the game doesn't lose itself by trying to reinvent a formula that has proven itself (and still is, actually). StarCraft II shines thanks to a flawless production, fantastic gameplay with loads of of little additions and improvements, and an overhaul of its multiplayer side. With a very demanding high-level gameplay but still very accessible to newbies thanks to its casual mode and matchmaking feature, the latest Blizzard baby is another demonstration of the old saying: old friends are the best. Can't wait for the follow-up!
  3. This is the perfect sequel. It reaches a hand out to those who didn't enjoy the first game, while keeping its fiercely loyal fans happy.
  4. Starcraft II has certainly been long overdue, but the immense waiting has really paid off. Blizzard have another jewel to add to their crown, and it's easy to see why. By not veering too far away from the original formula, Blizzard haven't at all 'played it safe' – they've recognized a gaming model that works and then given it a much needed 21st century polish.
  5. And, more to the point, because millions will thoroughly enjoy StarCraft II regardless, thanks to a dense, thrilling, relentlessly clever and class-leading campaign adventure that takes this RTS to the masses in spite of itself. It might be less than half this sumptuous package, but it's a lot more game than almost anything else.
  6. An excellent game that you can consider the chess of the 21st century.
  7. Don't get me wrong. Starcraft II is a fine game. It's just not great.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    It takes everything you loved about Starcraft and makes it bigger, better, and more beautiful. The most notable addition, though, is the campaign. Instead of upgrading on a mission to mission basis, between missions you are essentially playing a point and click adventure that not only looks beautiful, but allows you to get additional information on the story, but it is from here that you can upgrade your arsenal and it stays with you throughout each mission. At first I was upset about only getting the Terran campaign with this single game, but the 30 missions and the promise of at least two more equally large expansions more than makes up for it when they are this good. Expand
  2. RemingtonW
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    There are very few bad things a person can say about starcraft 2. A person really needs to play the game to understand why people have been playing the original for so long. The game is almost instantly fun to play, everything clicks in just the right places the pace is fast and addicting. New additions to the campaign are well implemented and add to the experience. For those out there that are complaining about the price and only one race being available for the campaign need to stop as what is given to you in the game is more fleshed out and better produced then other (full games) Expand
  3. DanD
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game balance. The new units add a lot of new strategies as do new mechanics such as destructible rocks, xel'naga watch towers and the addition of a second gas node at every base. As a die hard fan of SC:BW I went into this game with very high expectations and I can tell you that it lived up to every bit of it. The campaign, im sure is fun if youre into that sort of thing, I myself went straight for the multiplayer, which is excellent with the brand new ladder system. Gone are the days where you play against people significantly below or beyond you in terms of skill . My only complaint is the lack of clan support which the original enjoyed. I think it'd be great if people could make clans to make it easier to connect with other skilled people for team matches, such as 3v3s and 4v4s. All in all, if you even sort of enjoyed BW you will love SC2. Stop reading this and buy it now. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Starcraft 2 is not anything new. It's not revolutionary. It's not new, it's not the first RTS. But it is the same as the last one. Starcraft was amazing and Starcraft 2 has shown that a game doesn't have to be any different to the last one to be amazing. The gameplay of Starcraft 2 is amazing, but not new. Blizzard have taken everything they did right in Starcraft and just improved on it for Starcraft 2. The game is amazing. The game does have its downsides though, The cut scene aren't very action pack and can be quite boring after a while as it is just talking but when you turn the pc graphics up to the highest, your PC will explode but in those few second where its just on fire you can see the beauty of this game. This game is so good, I cannot express that enough. The storyline is beautiful and it's full of amazing characters. The gameplay is amazing and so fast pace when you want it to be. This game is amazing and now Blizzard needs to get going with the next one, Heart of the swarm because one of these games every decade is not enough. I need more starcraft...

    Or Diablo 3...
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Starcraft was one of the first games I've ever played next to Final Fantasy which brought me into the world of gaming. So I had high expectations for Starcraft II - especially since it took so long to release. Starcraft II is not a bad game, but definitely has room for improvement. In terms of the Single Player, they have made it a lot more interesting - taking multiple routes, upgrades and achievements - which all help enhance the playability of the Single Player. The original story was interesting and the Starcraft II story doesn't disappoint. (Not surprising since there is an entire series of novels...) The voice acting was pretty good and I didn't expect much character development for an RTS so it was a bit lacking in that area. They also assume that you're familiar with Starcraft lore and have played the first game. Single player was nicely done, especially for an RTS with a predecessor. The efforts to make it original paid off. Lots of new units, new buildings, new functions and a completely new balance. Which allows for new strategies to be created. This brings us into the multiplayer. I actually liked the single player more because of the customization, and it would have been cool to move this aspect over to the multiplayer but I guess that would complicate the balance of team games rather drastically. The difference in units from the original Starcraft made the multiplayer experience brand new. They seem to have upped the pace of the game so that it wouldn't take as long but the fundamentals of building a sound economy are still there. I played a lot of the multiplayer during Beta and found the existence of some balancing issues still there, but I know they'll be fixing these with patches. The matching and ranking system are a nice addition as well as the improved co-op vs. AI. Achievements made playing SC2 more fun and less of a chore. I found the game to be a bit newbie centered, as in some newbies were able to beat some veteran RTS players because of unit composition, even though the veteran had superior micro and macro management. I noticed this trend to decrease over time through the patches Blizzard has been periodically implementing. Overall a very solid game, but perhaps lacks some of the innovative features of new RTS games that make it exceptional. Splitting the game into 3 games (one for each race) is also very annoying. I don't like that way of marketing even though it increases sales. But I will wait till the other two parts are released and reserve my judgement. Depending on the price tag and the changes it might be justified. Expand
  6. May 9, 2011
    6
    Suffers from being designed for high level professional tournament play, not enough creativity and effort is put into making the game fun and diverse
  7. JacobG
    Jul 31, 2010
    0
    Sc2, same crap, different day with shinier graphics. Gameplay from last decade that is extremely boring. Where are the tactics from the RTS's we have come to love like Company of Heroes. SC2 SP campaign is only interesting because of the story, you dont play it because the missions are engrossing, you play it to get to the next cutscene. Expand

See all 782 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.