Starpoint Gemini Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starpoint Gemini is a tactical space RPG set in a science-fiction universe, which focuses on the control and strengths of individual vessels and their captains.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. 80
    It could have used more variety in the mission area, a bit more content and definitely multiplayer, but it remains a game that gives a player freedom to explore, trade or fight as he sees fit, with little restrictions.
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    73
    If you want to steer your own spaceship through Space but don't like MMOs like Star Trek Online, EVE Online or Black Prophecy, Starpoint Gemini is the singleplayer experience for you.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    69
    A decent game. The premise is unique and interesting, and the mission balancing and level progression is handled very nicely.
  4. Jun 2, 2011
    57
    The problem of Starpoint Gemini: there are no strong points, nothing special, nothing that stands out. It's just an unnecessary game.
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    55
    Starpoint Gemini struggles to deliver a proper space simulation experience: the story is badly told, graphics aren't good, roleplaying and strategic elements are shadowed by a bidimensional universe and a persisent slow feeling.
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    45
    Caught between being a space sim, a real-time strategy game, and a role-playing game, Starpoint Gemini tries to do a little bit of everything, and fails to do anything well.
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    18
    Unfinished, unpolished. [May 2012, p.87]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Music - good.
    Story - good.
    Gameplay - good. Graphics - good. Sound - good. Overall impressions are excellent. It's a fun game, but if
    Music - good.
    Story - good.
    Gameplay - good.
    Graphics - good.
    Sound - good.

    Overall impressions are excellent. It's a fun game, but if you never played it, go straight to Starpoint Gemini 2 which is brilliant!
    Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    My opinion is that Starpoint Gemini is definitely worth playing. It is somewhat slow at the start, but later picks up just fine. It is not oneMy opinion is that Starpoint Gemini is definitely worth playing. It is somewhat slow at the start, but later picks up just fine. It is not one of those new school games that you play without brain and using two controls. It is more demanding, but if you give it enough time, you will be rewarded. Aside from questionable voiceovers and some smaller glitches (most are already fixed in patches), this is a true gamers game. There is no multiplayer, but singleplay is very well composed. Interesting plot, unique characters in the story, vast designed space and a sense of a real living universe. Also, if you dislike the story, you can avoid it completely and enjoy all the space sectors on your own. Possibilities are numerous, roaming around. fighting pirates or members of the official military, trading, mining. Once you earn some credits and experience, you can purchase larger and more powerful ships, and then further customize them using many different ship's and weapon's systems. You also develop your own statistics as a captain (and your crews statistics) as you level up through experience.
    As for the interface system, I think there was room for improvements here. Sometimes it gets confusing because there are so many slots, buttons and ways to combine them. The best way is to check the game's manual if you get stuck.
    Graphics is, in my opinion very solid. Not AA class, but designed with some old fashion charm. Battle effects are awesome, and once you get yourself in the middle of the fight against dozen of ships, all the weapons flying around, special abilities going off and stuff...a real eye candy.
    The bottom line is, I think this is the game for more demanding players. It requires you do some effort to master it, but when you succeed, it will reward you with gameplay rarely seen today. Too bad the developers obviously lacked the logistics to produce the AA class title, but they are on the right road with Starpoint Gemini, and I do hope we will see the sequel. This genre hybrid of the "Starfleet Command meets Freelancer" definiotely has my vote.
    Collapse
  3. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    No doubt, one of the games you will either worship (if you love the genre) or hate (if something is wrong with you). I worship it, it rocks.No doubt, one of the games you will either worship (if you love the genre) or hate (if something is wrong with you). I worship it, it rocks. Go Gemini go! Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This started it and led to Starpoint Gemini 2. This game is not perfect, but considering enthusiasm of developers that brough it to us, I haveThis started it and led to Starpoint Gemini 2. This game is not perfect, but considering enthusiasm of developers that brough it to us, I have to respect it. I still play it and I still love it. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I bought the game when it was on sale even though some reviewers bashed it. I'm happy to report that most of the faults have beenI bought the game when it was on sale even though some reviewers bashed it. I'm happy to report that most of the faults have been patched/cleared (enough that I can no longer find any noteworthy flaws) The game isn't pricey and offers many hours of gameplay replay value because of the RPG system) Just serves to prove that dedicated dev support can save a game. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    It's a solid game, definitely one to get for fans of the space combat/trading genre. It takes a more managerial approach to piloting a shipIt's a solid game, definitely one to get for fans of the space combat/trading genre. It takes a more managerial approach to piloting a ship than a lot of other games - rather than being a fighter jock you're a large ship's captain, and you have an at first bewildering array of ways to customize your ship's performance. As well as your captain's skills and perks, you can hire crew with various abilities, the ships themselves have special abilities, and each ship has a generous complement of misc. slots for adding equipment with specific bonuses, as well as the usual weapons/shield/generator etc.

    Movement and combat are similar in style to the Starfleet Command series or even a sea ship game - it's about moving so that damage is coming into your strongest shield, while managing your own weapon arcs, reload times and power.

    Graphics and sound are pretty, though certainly not cutting edge. Weapon blasts sound and feel substantial as the screen rocks with incoming attacks, though you are bombarded throughout with inane chat from passing ships which quickly gets tiresome (when will they make a space game without this issue, I ask you?).

    The UI is a little awkward in places and tricky to get used to at first (though it's been improved in patches several times now), but these few minor quirks don't stop it from being a solid and enjoyable new space sim with plenty of replay value.
    Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    Buggy, unfinished, crashy mess with Russian voice actors who have absolutely no understanding of English, but that doesn't stop them fromBuggy, unfinished, crashy mess with Russian voice actors who have absolutely no understanding of English, but that doesn't stop them from attempting it.

    The writing is really poorly translated and ends up making the whole thing just a confusing mess. Avoid at all costs.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews